度势进取

0
131

冠疫情后,过去的生活和工作方式一去不复返。熬过了疫情的最艰难时刻,全球一些地区开始尝试复工,并拥抱后疫情时代的新常态,而中国是最先迈入新常态的国家之一。本期《商法》聚焦此背景下出现的新挑战,以及商业和法律界如何迅速调整策略以避免被淘汰。

cover中国工业和信息化部的数据显示,截至4月15日,全国中小企业复工率达到84%,规模以上工业企业平均开工率已达99%。然而,由于国内外疫情防控情况不一,外需下降以及供应链的中断,正成为中国经济新的冲击。

企业各类经营活动重启,法律问题随之而来。本期封面故事《险峰过后?》总结了企业复工后面临的最严峻的议题:“逆全球化”趋势下围绕供应链的系列障碍、云端工作涉及的数据安全和隐私保护合规、高不确定性下的合同履约等等。就这些问题,企业总法律顾问和资深律师分享了他们的经验、思考和建议,并对未来的情况提供了分析和见解。

不少中国企业家对“破产”一词的理解是偏负面的。相比之下,在美国等破产制度相对成熟的国家,更常见的表述是“破产保护”或者说“破产重整”,它是部分企业和企业家甩掉包袱获得新生过程。经济下行叠加疫情来袭,中国破产申请案件的数量预计会进一步增长。在面临财务困境时,企业都有哪些出路?参与破产案件的各方应如何为自己争取权益?破产中蕴含着哪些投资机遇和风险?《峰回路转》整理了近期中国企业和个人破产制度完善方面的新进展。

中国一直是全球领先的医疗保健产品制造地之一。在新冠疫情全球大流行的背景下,相关医疗用品的需求急剧上升。然而,需求的激增使买方面临合规和货物质量上的风险。《疫情下在中国采购医疗用品的挑战》中,化险集团大中华和北亚区合规、取证及商业调研团队合伙人Rosie Hawes为企业解读如何避免中国医疗采购中的陷阱,并进行了案例分享。

受瑞幸咖啡财务造价丑闻和中美紧张关系加剧的影响,先前赴美上市的中概股面临更加严苛的监管。同时,A股和港股陆续更新上市要求和规则,为这些中国企业的回归铺平了道路。《中概股回归》集合了深耕于各法域的资深律师对于该流程所涉各类交易的分析。

Adapt and evolve

0
112

Following the COVID-19 outbreak, past ways of working and living are gone forever. Having suffered the worst of the pandemic, some regions are resuming work and embracing the “new normal”, and China is among the first countries to do so. Much of this issue concerns the roadblocks and challenges thrown up in these troubling times, and how businesses and the legal community must rapidly adjust their tactics – or fall by the wayside.

coverAccording to the Ministry of Industry and Information Technology, as of 15 April, 84% of small and medium-sized enterprises (SMEs) and 99% of sizeable industrial enterprises had reopened. However, due to an unsynchronized situation at home and abroad, the decline in external demand and disruption of supply chains are becoming new threats to China’s economy. Businesses restarting after the pandemic-induced pause are also facing legal problems.

Our cover story, Over the peak, explores the tough issues facing enterprises that are reopening. Obstacles surrounding supply chains, arising from the trend of deglobalization, data security and privacy compliance during remote working, and contract performance under high uncertainty are among the challenges. General counsel and senior practitioners share their experiences, and provide analysis and insight into what lies ahead.

Many Chinese entrepreneurs view bankruptcy as negative, but in countries where the regime is relatively mature, such as the US, bankruptcy protection or restructuring is an accepted concept and a process in which some enterprises can shake off old burdens and start again.

Under the dual impact of an economic downturn and a pandemic, the number of bankruptcy filings in China is expected to further increase. So, what are the escape hatches for companies in dire financial condition? How do the parties in a bankruptcy proceeding secure their own rights and interests? And what are the investment risks and opportunities in bankruptcies? The point of return looks at the latest developments in bankruptcy and restructuring in China.

Mainland China has long been one of the world’s leading manufacturers of healthcare products, and the demand for medical equipment has skyrocketed amid the global pandemic. However, the rush of demand has exposed buyers to compliance and quality risks. In New challenges of medical sourcing in China, Rosie Hawes, a partner at Control Risks’ compliance, forensics and intelligence practice in Greater China and North Asia, offers advice on how to avoid procurement pitfalls with case studies.

Chinese stocks previously listed in the US face tougher regulations amid the accounting fraud of Nasdaq-listed Luckin Coffee, and heightened trade tensions between the US and China. Meanwhile, Shanghai’s A-share market and Hong Kong have updated their listing requirements and rules, paving the way for the return of these Chinese enterprises. The homecoming assesses the various types of transactions involved in this process from senior practitioners operating in different jurisdictions.