在案件中修改对商标使用的诉讼请求

作者: Omesh Puri、Ruchi Sarin,LexOrbis律师事务所
0
163

里高等法院近期审理了D&H India诉Superon Schweisstechnik India一案,并就可以对初次使用商标的诉讼请求进行修改的不同情形做出了裁定。该案来自对独任法官裁决的上诉。

该案中,Superon Schweisstechnik India对D&H India提起诉讼,申请对被告使用Supercrome这一商标发布永久禁令。原告宣称自己的注册商标Superon与被告的商标Supercrome之间存在相似之处,并诉称自2004年起一直在使用Superon商标。然而被告辩称其根据1999年《商标法》的第34节,自2001年起就在使用Supercrome商标。原告申请修改诉讼请求,以证明他们实际早在1994年就采用了Superon商标。原告诉称,该商标的使用源自和原告属于同一集团的一家公司。

Trademark
Omesh Puri
合伙人
LexOrbis律师事务所

被告认为:原告提出的修改是一种“后见之明”,目的是为了反驳被告的书面陈述。商标注册官批准了该修改请求。被告对此向独任法官进行上诉,但法官维持了原判。随后此案上诉到了高等法院并进行了多个回合的辩论。被告声称,商标注册官没有资格批准这一申请,因为商标注册官仅对“正式”修改的批准有管辖权,而该修改请求本质上不能被认为是“正式”修改,因此他逾越了自己的管辖权。故独任法官的判决应为无效。

高等法院认为:独任法官考虑了商标注册官所批申请的案情实质,并做出了独立的判决。法院认为,商标注册官的确逾越了管辖权,但独任法官对上诉的处理已经让这个问题变得意义不大。法院还考虑了在商标侵权案件中,根据1908年《民事诉讼法》法令六规则17申请修改诉讼请求的相关因素。

Trademark
Ruchi Sarin
的律师
LexOrbis律师事务所

基于深思熟虑,修改诉讼请求的权利已经被拓展(庭审已经开始的案件除外)。法令六规则17允许法院在案件的任何阶段批准任意一方当事人修改或修正起诉状/答辩状,只要修改的方式和修改的条文符合公正原则,还特别规定“只要修改对厘清当事人之间争议的真实问题是有必要的,就应当进行修改。”因此,这一条文赋予法院一项责任,即如果修改对厘清当事人之间争议的真实问题确有必要,则应批准修改。

这项规则的限制条款(但书)对已经开始庭审的案件放宽了要求。在这种情况下,只有法院认定,尽管做了尽职调查,当事人仍无法在庭审开始前就提出该问题时,才可批准修改。而在Superon案中,原告申请修改诉讼请求时庭审还未开始。

法院特别指出,关键在于原告所请求的修改,对于厘清当事人之间争议的真实问题这一目的,是否确有必要。法院称,商标初次使用者是涉及商标侵权与转让案件中最有必要审视的问题之一。原告从何时开始使用Superon商标对于如何解决该案争议至关重要,而这足以为批准原告的修改请求提供充分理据。

在判决的过程中,法院援引了历史判例并采纳了这些判决理由,这些判决(包括最高法院在Rajesh Kumar Agarwal & Ors诉KK Modi & Ors, Lakha Ram Sharma 诉 Balar Marketing Private Ltd & Ors,Revajeetu Builders and Developers 诉 Narayanaswamy and Sons and Ors等案件中的判决)为解释法令六规则17提供了指导。法院还引用了其他案例以证明自己的判定明确:在法院庭审开始前就提出申请修改诉讼请求的案件中,不得采用过于狭隘的方式,这样的方式会损害申请人将相关事实呈递给法院的权利。

作者:Omesh Puri为LexOrbis律师事务所的合伙人,Ruchi Sarin为LexOrbis律师事务所的律师。

infringement
LexOrbis
709/710 Tolstoy House
15-17 Tolstoy Marg
New Delhi – 110 001
India
Mumbai | Bengaluru
联系方式
电话: +91 11 2371 6565
传真: +91 11 2371 6556
电子邮件: mail@lexorbis.com
网址: www.lexorbis.com

Amending use claims in trademark cases

By Omesh Puri and Ruchi Sarin, LexOrbis
0
69

The Delhi High Court recently heard, in the case of D&H India v Superon Schweisstechnik India, an appeal from the order of a single judge and ruled on the circumstances in which an amendment to a claim of first use of a trademark can be made.

Trademark
Omesh Puri
Partner
LexOrbis

The case was brought by Superon Schweisstechnik India against D&H India seeking a permanent injunction against the use by the defendants of the mark Supercrome. The plaintiffs alleged similarities between its registered trademark Superon and the defendants’ trademark Supercrome. The plaintiffs contended that they had been using the mark Superon since 2004. The defendant, however, stated that it had been using the Supercrome trademark since 2001 and relied on section 34 of the Trade Marks Act, 1999. The plaintiffs applied to amend their claim to show that they had, in fact, adopted the mark Superon in 1994. They claimed that such use was derived through a company in the same group to which the plaintiffs belonged.

Trademark
Ruchi Sarin
Associate
LexOrbis

The defendants submitted that the proposed amendment was being introduced by way of hindsight to overcome the case advanced by the defendants in their written statement. The registrar allowed the amendment but the defendant appealed to the single judge, who upheld it. The appeal came before the high court and was argued on several grounds. The defendants argued that the registrar was not competent to adjudicate on the application as the amendment could not be regarded as “formal” in nature and since the registrar only had jurisdiction to grant amendments of a “formal” nature he had exceeded his jurisdiction. In consequence, the judgement of the single judge was vitiated.

The high court held that the single judge had considered the merits of the application that had been before the registrar and had formed an independent judgment. The court considered that the registrar had indeed exceeded his jurisdiction, but held that the way in which the single judge had dealt with the appeal had rendered this issue meaningless. The court then considered the relevant factors in an application for amendment under order VI, rule 17 of the Civil Procedure Code, 1908 (CPC) in trademark infringement cases.

The right to amend has advisedly been made expansive, except in cases where the trial has already commenced. Order VI, rule 17, permits the court at any stage of the proceedings to allow either party to alter or amend their pleadings in such manner and on such terms as may be just, and specifically states that “all such amendments shall be made as may be necessary for the purpose of determining the real questions in controversy between the parties”. The provision therefore places a duty on a court to allow such amendments as may be necessary for the purpose of determining the real questions in dispute between the parties. The proviso to the rule mitigates the rigour of the rule only in cases where the trial has already commenced. In that case, the amendment can be allowed only if the court concludes that, in spite of due diligence, the party could not have raised the matter before the commencement of trial. In Superon, the trial on the issues had not started when the plaintiffs applied to amend their case.

The court made the specific point that all that was required was whether the amendment sought by the plaintiffs was necessary for the purpose of determining the real questions in dispute between the parties. The court stated that prior user is one of the essential matters to be examined in a case involving claims of trademark infringement and passing off. The date from which the plaintiffs were using the Superon trademark was fundamental to the way in which the dispute would be settled and this would be sufficient to justify allowing the amendment sought by the plaintiff.

In coming to its decision, the court cited previous judgments giving guidance as to the way in which order VI, rule 17, should be interpreted and followed their ratios, including the verdicts of the Supreme Court in Rajesh Kumar Agarwal & Ors v KK Modi & Ors, Lakha Ram Sharma v Balar Marketing Private Ltd & Ors and Revajeetu Builders and Developers v Narayanaswamy and Sons and Ors. The court also cited other cases in support of its unequivocal ruling that a court hearing an application to amend the case at the pre-trial stage must not adopt an unduly narrow approach, which may prejudice the rights of the applicant to put relevant facts before the trial court.

Omesh Puri is a partner and Ruchi Sarin is an associate at LexOrbis.

infringement
LexOrbis
709/710 Tolstoy House
15-17 Tolstoy Marg
New Delhi – 110 001
India
Mumbai | Bengaluru
Contact details
Tel: +91 11 2371 6565
Fax: +91 11 2371 6556
Email: mail@lexorbis.com
Website: www.lexorbis.com