基建项目融资模式探索

作者: Sharmil Bhushan、Jyoti Punjabi,HSA Advocates律师事务所
0
53

建行业对于印度的发展至关重要。未来几年,印度基建行业的融资有望成倍增长,尤其对于2025年要实现5万亿美元的经济目标来说,印度需要在基建上花费约1.4万亿美元。基建项目具有持久性,在建设、调试和运营的每一阶段均需为其提供全部或过桥融资。因此,均衡的融资模式至关重要。

financing
Sharmil Bhushan
合伙人
HSA Advocates律师事务所

绿地项目:在建项目评级通常为BB或以下,这意味着为其提供资金的风险很高。养老基金和保险公司等大型投资者的投资较为保守,且会限制对AA级以下票据的投资。对于绿地项目而言,由于它们不产生现金流,因此无论是通过债券市场融资,还是通过股权资本、准股权资本或结构性资本融资,都有一定挑战性。通常而言,绿地项目的融资仅限于政府、银行或开发性金融机构(DFI)的债务融资。然而一旦某一项目开始运营并产生现金流,其风险就会大大降低,即可转而选择其他融资方案。

棕地项目:长期以来,基建行业一直面临资金短缺的困境。传统的贷方,例如银行和非银行金融公司(NBFC),在基建行业接手潜在不良资产的风险很大。这些潜在不良资产导致几家主要贷方的资本充足性发生问题,从而限制了他们的借贷能力,因此贷方在为此类项目(尤其是棕地项目)提供资金时常常更有选择性。与长期贷款相关的传统风险(例如资产负债不匹配(ALM)问题)也加剧了风险规避倾向。

financing
Jyoti Punjabi
的律师
HSA Advocates律师事务所

为应对此类挑战,政府推出了一系列举措,例如2016年《印度破产法》(IBC)、《解决潜在不良资产的审慎框架》以及对筹资准则的修订。如今,不论是否在《印度破产法》监管框架内,投资者和传统贷方都有机会以具有吸引力的估值获得潜在不良资产。公司、金融机构、另类投资基金(AIF)、基建投资信托(InvIT)和基建债务基金(IDF)等投资者根据融资性质使用不同的结构。

传统和创新性融资:传统的融资来源包括银行、发展融资机构、多边和双边机构的外部融资以及外国投资。创新的融资渠道包括资本市场、另类投资基金、基建债务基金、基建类非银行金融公司和基建投资信托。鉴于在利息、股息和资本收益方面享受100%免税,主权财富基金(SWF)可能增加对基建和绿地项目的投资,从而与国内主权财富基金和机构投资者共担风险。

这两种模式下的项目融资,一般通过将信贷扩展至项目搭建后的特殊目的实体(SPV)来完成。其特点在于无追索权或有限追索权贷款,其初级证券包包括收取托管账户项目现金流的第一笔费用,公私合伙协议项下的权利以及收取项目资产的第一笔费用。担保措施可包括SPV股份的质押和发起人的保证。集团公司可根据结构做出差额补足承诺。

保证金交易是项目融资的先决条件,需要发起人或保荐人通过购置土地或在SPV中投入初始资金的方式提前支付。除了证券和合同提供的安慰函外,诸如担保覆盖率、负债权益比、贷款价值比、控制权变更、重大不利影响和偏离商业计划等财务约定也可列入融资合同中。

对于项目融资机构而言,理想情况是在运行前提供资金。项目投产后,绿地融资机构应通过债券或基建债务基金和基建投资信托等长期投资者进行再融资。此种再融资能够释放大量的银行资金,并将其重新投入到新项目中。此种融资模式使银行能够更好地处理资产负债不匹配问题,而其他投资者也能够获得拥有稳定现金流的高质量长期资产。因此应鼓励使用创新机制,例如贷款证券化、基建投资信托以及提高基建债务基金和开发性金融机构的参与度。当前需要一部法规修正案以提高外国证券投资人的参与度以及外国直接投资流入基建债务基金、开发性金融机构和证券化市场,从而为基建行业提供长期的资金。

作者:Sharmil Bhushan为HSA Advocates律师事务所的合伙人,Jyoti Punjabi为HSA Advocates律师事务所的律师。

policy

HSA Advocates
81/1, Adchini, Sri Aurobindo Marg
New Delhi – 110 017
India
Construction House 5/F Walchand Hirachand Marg, Ballard Estate
Mumbai – 400 001
India
联系方式
电话: +91 11 6638 7000 传真: +91 11 6638 7099
电话: +91 22 4340 0400 传真: +91 22 4340 0444
电子邮件: mail@hsalegal.com
网站: www.hsalegal.com

Analysing financing models for infrastructure projects

By Sharmil Bhushan and Jyoti Punjabi, HSA Advocates
0
80

The infrastructure sector is critical to India’s development. Financing in infrastructure is expected to grow exponentially over the next few years, particularly as India needs to spend about US$1.4 trillion on infrastructure if it is to achieve its goal of becoming a US$5 trillion economy by 2025. Infrastructure projects are long term and require full or bridging financing at each of the construction, commissioning and operating stages. Balanced financing models are therefore essential.

financing
Sharmil Bhushan
Partner
HSA Advocates

Greenfield projects: Projects under construction are typically rated BB or below, signifying high risk in funding these projects. Large investors, such as pension funds and insurers, invest conservatively and limit investment in paper rated below AA. It is a challenge for greenfield projects to raise financing through the bond markets, or to raise equity or quasi-equity capital or structured capital, as they are not generating cash. Usually, financing for greenfield projects is limited to debt financing by the government, the banks or development financial institutions (DFI). However, once a project becomes operational and generates cash flow, the risk reduces considerably and other financing options then become available.

financing
Jyoti Punjabi
Associate
HSA Advocates

Brownfield projects: The infrastructure sector has for a long time faced a shortage of capital. Traditional lenders such as banks and non-banking financial companies (NBFC) have high exposure to stressed assets in the infrastructure sector. These stressed assets have led to capital adequacy issues for several major lenders, restricting their ability to lend, thus they have become selective in providing capital to these projects, especially brownfield ones. The traditional risks associated with long-term lending such as asset-liability mismatch (ALM) issues, have also led to greater risk aversion.

To meet these challenges, the government has introduced initiatives such as the Insolvency and Bankruptcy Code, 2016 (IBC), the Prudential Framework for Resolution of Stressed Assets and amendments to capital raising norms. Opportunities now exist for investors and traditional lenders to acquire stressed assets at attractive valuations within and outside the IBC framework. Investors such as corporates, financial institutions, alternate investment funds (AIF), infrastructure investment trusts (InvIT) and infrastructure debt funds (IDF) use different structures depending on the nature of the financing.

Traditional and innovative financing: Traditional sources of financing include banks, DFIs, external financing from multilateral and bilateral agencies, and foreign investments. Innovative means of financing include capital markets, AIFs, IDFs, infra-NBFCs and InvITs. With 100% tax exemptions in respect of interest, dividends and capital gains, sovereign wealth funds (SWF) may increase their investment in infrastructure and in greenfield projects, sharing the risk with domestic SWFs and institutional investors.

Financing a project in both models is typically done by extending credit to a special purpose vehicle (SPV) into which the project is folded. It is characterized by non-recourse or limited-recourse lending, in which the primary security package consists of a first charge on project cash flows held in an escrow account, rights under the private-public partnership agreement and a first charge on project assets. Security may include a pledge of shares of the SPV and guarantees by the promoters. Depending on the structure, a shortfall undertaking may be given by group companies.

The prerequisite for project financing is margin funding, which needs to be provided upfront by the promoters or the sponsors either by the acquisition of land or the investment of initial capital in the SPV. In addition to the comforts provided by securities and the contract, financial covenants, such as security cover ratio, debt-equity ratio, loan to value ratio, change in control, material adverse effect and deviation from the business plan, may be written into the financing agreements.

It is ideal for project financing institutions to provide funding up to the pre-commissioning stage. After the project has been commissioned, the greenfield financing institutions should refinance the debt through bonds or long-term investors such as IDFs and InvITs. Such refinancing frees up considerable bank funds and enables their redeployment to new projects. This financing model allows banks to address their ALMs better, and other investors will get access to good quality, long-term assets with stable cash flows. There should be encouragement to use innovative mechanisms such as loan securitization, InvITs and increased participation of IDFs and DFIs. This will require a regulatory amendment to increase the participation of foreign portfolio investors and the flow of foreign direct investment into IDFs, DFIs and securitization markets to provide long-term capital for infrastructure.

Sharmil Bhushan is a partner and Jyoti Punjabi is an associate at HSA Advocates.

policy

HSA Advocates
81/1, Adchini, Sri Aurobindo Marg
New Delhi – 110 017
India
Construction House 5/F Walchand Hirachand Marg, Ballard Estate
Mumbai – 400 001
India
Contact details
Tel: +91 11 6638 7000 Fax: +91 11 6638 7099
Tel: +91 22 4340 0400 Fax: +91 22 4340 0444
Email: mail@hsalegal.com
Website: www.hsalegal.com