恶意注册

作者: 康保罗、黄晖,万慧达知识产权
0
90

《商标法》第四次修订后,不以使用为目的的商标申请是否属于恶意注册申请?

国人大于2019年4月23日通过的《商标法》第四次修正案,对个别条款,特别是《商标法》第四条进行了修改。修改后的第四条规定:“自然人、法人或者其他组织在生产经营活动中,对其商品或者服务需要取得商标专用权的,应当向商标局申请商标注册。不以使用为目的的恶意商标注册申请,应当予以驳回。”

bad faith
康保罗
合伙人
万慧达知识产权

在新修订的第四条(第一款第二句)中,恶意的认定不再取决于在先权利,仅需考察申请人是否缺乏使用商标的意图,如此一来,正好与第一句在本次修订前即强调的注册必须出于取得商标专用权的“需要”有所衔接。

由此产生了一个不可避免的问题:第四条中所述的“恶意”确切含义是什么?是否不以使用为目的申请注册商标这一行为本身即可构成恶意注册申请?抑或除此之外还需要同时存在其他情形才能认定恶意?如是,这些其他情形又分别是什么?

市场监管总局关于恶意商标申请的规定。2019年10月16日,国家市场监督管理总局公布了《规范商标申请注册行为若干规定》,其中第八条阐明了构成违反《商标法》第四条规定的情形。商标注册部门应当考虑三类情况:

  • 第一类情况考察的事实包括:(1)同一申请人申请注册的商标数量,以及该人是否从事过倒卖商标等交易的情况;(2)申请人的经营状况。无商业经营活动,纯粹出于将商标作为商品倒卖的目的申请数百个商标的申请人属于这一类着力打击的对象。
  • 第二类涉及商标申请人的过往状况:申请人是否曾被认定为恶意商标申请人或侵权人。
  • 第三类涉及申请注册的商标本身:即,(1)申请商标是否与他人具有一定影响(如《商标法》第32条规定所言)的商标相同或近似;或者(2)申请商标是否与知名人物姓名、企业字号、企业名称简称或者其他商业标识等相同或近似。

不管怎样,《商标法》第四次修正案首次赋予了国家知识产权局商标审查员依职权驳回显属恶意申请商标的权力。

此外,依据新修订的第四条,任何人都能以注册商标系“不以使用为目的的恶意申请”为由请求商标注册部门宣告该商标无效。

欧盟Sky案

黄晖
合伙人
万慧达知识产权

近来亦有欧盟成员国法院提请欧盟法院对类似案件涉及的相关法律问题作出解释,下文将对比评析中欧做法的异同。

2019年10月16日,欧盟总法务官Tanchev就Sky International AG 诉 SkyKick UK Limited一案中Sky International AG申请在涵盖范围很广的“计算机软件”全类别商品上注册“Sky”商标、但只有在该类别的某些商品上有使用申请商标的意图,是否足以认定该申请在一定程度上系恶意注册申请,向欧盟法院给出意见。

总法务官Tanchev明确认为,申请注册涵盖多种商品的商标,却无目的在所有指定商品上使用该商标的,可以认定为恶意申请:“…申请人寻求不正当地垄断,意图排除竞争对手使用申请人无意使用标志的可能性,实际上是在滥用商标制度。”然而,该意见的结论也留有余地:“在特定情况下,不以使用为目的、申请将商标注册于指定商品或服务上可能构成认定恶意申请的要件,成员国法院尤其需要考察是否有证据显示申请人采用包括滥用商标申请在内的策略以达到阻止第三方参与市场竞争的唯一目的。”

比较和讨论

通过前述的中欧对比,我们发现尽管同为恶意商标注册申请,但二者的情况却很不一样:中国规制的是商标申请的井喷式增长,欧盟处理的则是商标申请人之间的个体冲突。

不过,欧盟Sky案中总法务官提出的一些意见可能对于中国未来处理相应的冲突有所助益。

我们需要牢记,对于主观恶意应当客观考察。因此,确定申请人的意图是关键所在。

譬如,申请人在无意使用的商品或服务上注册商标并不一定说明申请人意图滥用商标制度限制竞争。申请人可能只是希望通过在其核心业务相关的商品或服务上合法注册其已有一定知名度或意图获得一定知名度的商标,来预防竞争对手不当利用申请人的商誉。尽管“防御商标”在中欧都不被承认,但进行防御性商标的注册可能仍是一种合理的策略。

相比而言,欧盟在认定恶意时采用的标准似乎更为严格,几乎没有给申请人留下多少注册防御性商标的空间。而在中国,新《商标法》似乎在有意区分在多个类别的商品或服务上申请注册一个即便短期内不会使用的商标和不以使用为目的申请注册大量不同商标这两种不同的情况。后者也被称为“囤积”商标,这正是国家知识产权局希望施行新《商标法》和《规范商标申请注册行为若干规定》逐步杜绝的有害现象。

康保罗是万慧达知识产权合伙人。其联系方式为电话+86 10 6892 1000转388 以及电邮[email protected]

黄晖是万慧达知识产权合伙人。其联系方式为电话+86 10 6892 1000 转201 以及电邮[email protected]

bad faith

北京市海淀区中关村南大街一号
友谊宾馆颐园写字楼 邮编:100873

电话: +86 10 6892 1000

传真: +86 10 6894 8030

www.wanhuida.com

Bad faith filing

By Paul Ranjard and Huang Hui, Wanhuida Intellectual Property
0
87

After the fourth revision of the Trademark Law, is filing a trademark without intention to use an act of bad faith?

On 23 April 2019, the National People’s Congress of China adopted a revised version of the Trademark Law, modifying several articles, particularly article 4, which now reads as follows: “Any natural person, legal person or other organization that needs to obtain the exclusive right to use a trademark for its goods or services during production and business operations shall apply for trademark registration with the trademark office. Any bad faith application for the registration of a trademark that is not intended for use shall be rejected.”

bad faith
Paul Ranjard
Partner
Wanhuida Intellectual Property

In the new article 4, the concept of bad faith is not connected to any prior right owner. It is merely linked to the lack of intention to use the trademark, dovetailing with the concept of “need” in the previous phrase, already present in the old law.

The question that inevitably arises is: What is, exactly, the meaning of bad faith in article 4? Is the simple fact of filing a trademark without intention to use it an act of bad faith? Or is it necessary to prove circumstances in addition to the lack of intention to use, and in the affirmative, what circumstances should that be?

SAMR regulation on bad faith trademark application

On 16 October 2019, the State Administration for Market Regulation (SAMR) published “Certain Provisions for Regulating Applications for Trademark Registration”. Article 8 focuses on how to ascertain whether a trademark application breaches article 4 of the Trademark Law. There are three categories of facts that the trademark authority should take into account:

  • The first category of facts includes: (1) the number of trademark applied by the same person, and whether such person has been conducting transactions (like reselling) any of such trademarks; and (2) the business activity of the applicant. Individuals with no business activities who file hundreds of trademarks as pure commodities for the sole purpose of reselling them are the target of this category.
  • The second category also relates to the trademark applicant’s profile: Whether the applicant has already been identified as a bad faith trademark applicant, or as an infringer.
  • The third category concerns the trademarks themselves: (1) whether they are identical with or similar to trademarks of other persons, having a certain influence (as in article 32 of the law); or (2) whether they are identical with or similar to the name of a celebrity, the trade name of a business, the abbreviation of a business name or other business signs.

In any event, what is definitively new is that the examiner of the China National Intellectual Property Administration (CNIPA) has now the power to refuse, ex officio, the registration of trademarks that obviously fall under the above-mentioned definitions.

Furthermore, with the new article 4, it is possible for any person to request the invalidation of such a trademark at any time, if it can be argued that it has been filed “in bad faith without intention to use”.

Sky case in Europe

Huang Hui
Partner
Wanhuida Intellectual Property

In Europe, cases have recently been submitted to the European Court of Justice that deal with similar issues. They allow an interesting comparison and some additional reflections.

On 16 October, the Advocate General Tanchev delivered to the European Court of Justice the Opinion in the case of Sky International AG v SkyKick UK Limited, examining whether, when Sky International filed an application to register the word “Sky” as a trademark designating the entire category of “computer software”, while it only had the intention to use the mark on some of the products listed in this highly diversified category, such application was made at least partially in bad faith.

Advocate General Tanchev was clearly considering that applying for the registration of a trademark covering a large range of products, without intention of using the trademark for all the products, could be deemed as made in bad faith: “… the applicant is improperly seeking a monopoly to exclude potential competitors from using a sign he has no intention of using. That amounts to an abuse of the trademark system”. However, the conclusion of the opinion is slightly less affirmative: “In certain circumstances, applying for registration of a trademark without any intention to use it in connection with the specified goods or services may constitute an element of bad faith, in particular where the sole objective of the applicant is to prevent a third party from entering the market, including where there is evidence of an abusive filing strategy, which it is for the referring court to ascertain.”

The comparison between China and Europe shows that, despite the use of the same terms (bad faith trademark applications), the situations are quite different. China is facing a phenomenon of trademark proliferation, while Europe deals with a few individual conflicts between trademark applicants.

However, some of the comments provided in the European cases could be useful in the assessment of future conflicts in China. Bad faith should be assessed objectively, keeping in mind that it is a subjective factor. It is necessary to determine the intention of the applicant.

For instance, filing a trademark designating products or services that the applicant has no intention to exploit does not automatically mean that his/her intention is to abuse the trademark system. The applicant may, quite legitimately, wish to prevent competitors from taking advantage of the reputation of his/her trademark – either already acquired, or that he/she intends to acquire – by occupying categories of products or services that have a certain relation with his/her core activity. This is the concept of “defensive trademarks”, a concept not acknowledged in China and EU, yet it remains a sensible strategy for brand owners.

It appears, therefore, that the EU adopts a stricter criterion in assessing bad faith issues, barely leaving any room for defensive registration. But in China, it seems that the new Trademark Law attempts to differentiate the circumstances of applying for the registration of one trademark designating many classes of products/services, some of which may not be used in the short term, and that of applying for the registration of a large number of different trademarks without intention to use them, which are two very different situations. The latter, which is also known as trademark “hoarding”, is the highly prejudicial phenomenon that the CNIPA attempts to progressively eradicate by leveraging the new Trademark Law and the SAMR regulation.

Paul Ranjard is a partner at Wanhuida Intellectual Property. He can be contacted on +86 10 6892 1000 (ext. 388) or by email at [email protected]

Huang Hui is a partner at Wanhuida Intellectual Property. He can be contacted on +86 10 6892 1000 (ext. 201) or by email at [email protected]

bad faith

Yiyuan Office Building, Friendship Hotel

No. 1 Zhongguancun Street South

Haidian District, Beijing 100873, China

Tel: +86 10 6892 1000

Fax: +86 10 6894 8030

www.wanhuida.com