百慕大领跑软性临时清算

作者: Henry Tucker(邓嘉恒),凯瑞奥信律师事务所
0
232

凯瑞奥信律师事务所资深高级律师Henry Tucker(邓嘉恒)提出,之前被视为最后手段的软性临时清算,如今已成为香港或新加坡上市离岸公司在重组时的常用工具。

百慕大法院率先开展的软性临时清算,一度被视为最后手段。凯瑞奥信律师事务所的资深高级律师Henry Tucker(邓嘉恒)写道,如今在香港或新加坡上市的离岸公司在重组时,软性临时清算已成为最常用工具之一。

董事们不愿主动采用一种不仅表明该公司正在“清算”中、而且经常在英格兰和威尔士被用作“公司法院的核武器”的机制,来紧急罢免面临风险、资产清算的公司董事会。从实质的角度来看,他们也有充分理由有此顾虑。

provisional liquidation
Henry Tucker(邓嘉恒)
凯瑞奥信律师事务所资深高级律师
T: +852 3628 9000
E: henry.tucker@careyolsen.com

董事们对影响重组的关键问题,例如确定清算人身份时应适用哪些境外原则,以及在岸法域是否认可软性临时清算人等,几乎没有决定权。

软性临时清算允许公司董事继续管理公司日常事务,同时公司不受债权人行动的影响,从而允许公司探索重组的可能性。

最近在百慕大和其他地方开展的与临时清算有关的几项判决,使董事会和债权人更加明确了该如何处理这些问题。

任命软性清算人可以避免境外清算指令。任命软性联合临时清算人的最大好处是,可以中止伴随此类任命开展的相关程序。然而,如果该公司于该国领土管辖范围内的大部分业务已在外国法院启动了破产程序,尚无法确定百慕大法院是否会采取指定联合临时清算人的措施。

就北方矿业股份一案而言,事先提交的债权人申请的清算听证会原定于香港进行,在此之前,百慕大最高法院审议了在百慕大任命联合临时清算人的申请。该公司主张自身资产负债表的偿付能力时,得到了大多数无担保债权人的支持,而且在进行债务重组谈判时,该公司承认其并未满足香港无争议请求债务的条件。

尽管有香港的进行程序和未决聆讯,百慕大最高法院仍批准了该公司联合临时清算人的申请,以确认百慕大法院具有可以任命“软性”联合临时清算人的广义权力,从而保护公司在重组时免遭债权人的法律诉讼阻碍。

关于司法礼让原则,百慕大法院考虑到香港法院无权基于“软性”任命联合临时清算人,但可根据请求函承认百慕大法院做出相关指令。在此基础上,百慕大法院得出结论,即可以通过任命“软性”联合临时清算人来协助香港法院。

百慕大法院认为,这将使公司及其大多数债权人能够在百慕大诉讼程序的框架下进行重组,并可能避免对公司的最终清算。该决定还强调了一个原则,即在行使任命联合临时清算人的权力时,应充分考虑大多数无抵押债权人的意愿。

确定联合临时清算人的身份

通常情况下,在公司与债权人之间或债权人与债权人之间,就适格个人在担任联合临时清算人方面存在矛盾观点。不可避免的是,在债权人与董事会关系破裂的情况下,双方都会对不同派系提名的被任命者产生怀疑。百慕大法院现已裁决了一系列与此类问题有关的案件,为债权人和公司提供了明确的方向。

在Up Energy Development Group一案中,该公司提名的联合临时清算人此前已由该公司作为独立重组顾问留用。基于此种所谓的利益冲突,该公司的提名人未能获得多数债权人的支持。尽管法院承认债权人对独立性的担忧,但法院认为,一方面,任命能够与公司管理层有效合作的联合临时清算人尤为重要,但另一方面,联合临时清算人应至少包括一名显然且实际上完全独立于公司的被任命者。因此,法院随同该公司的被提名者又任命了一名独立的联合临时清算人。

在最近关于Agritrade Resources案的裁决中,百慕大最高法院提供了进一步处理此类纠纷的判例。法院主要认为应在简易基础上确定选任联合临时清算人的工作,将实现公司成功重组的目标牢记心中。

在Agritrade Resources一案中,法院拒绝任命债权人提名的联合临时清算人,理由为:(i)所提议的联合临时清算人被指控拥有先前公司大股东的机密信息,可能给之后带来诉讼这种不必要的风险(ii)缺乏第二大债权人的信任,可能会削弱其有效开展工作的能力。因此法院下令任命由公司提名的联合临时清算人。

这些裁决凸显了百慕大法院对联合临时清算人独立性和中立性的重视,以及其与公司管理层和重要债权人有效合作的能力。

在岸司法管辖区对临时清算的认可。开展软性临时清算的公司和债权人面临的一个关键问题是,联合临时清算人在多大程度上、以及在什么情况下能够在主要的在岸司法管辖区得到认可。目前,有几项指令明确规定了每个司法管辖区所适用的相关原则,并建议对于无力偿债的公司,百慕大和其他离岸司法管辖区任命的联合临时清算人能够在主要的在岸司法管辖区获得认可。

香港

在有关Re Joint and Several Provisional Liquidators of China Oil Gangran Energy Group Holdings[2020年]一案中,香港原讼法庭法官夏利士(Jonathan Harris)承认了有关开曼群岛法院指定的软性联合临时清算人,并批准了法院此前承认外国软性临时清算的案例。

同样地,夏利士法官在Re Joint Liquidators of Supreme Tycoon [2018年]一案中,承认了英属维尔京群岛最高法院在债权人自愿清算过程中任命的清算人,并向其提供了协助。尽管此案扩大了对债权人自愿清算的清算人的认可和协助范围,但其不会扩展至有偿付能力的清算。正如夏利士法官所提及,国外清算不是集体破产程序,它更类似于Singularis Holdings诉PricewaterhouseCoopers [2014]一案中私人理事会涉及的私人安排。

英国和威尔士

尽管未提及联合临时清算人的情况,Re Sturgeon Central Asia Balanced Fund Ltd一案明确规定了英国法院认可百慕大任命联合临时清算人的情况。英国高等法院对由联合临时清算人单方面申请的初审决定予以承认,但后来在董事提出申请后被撤销。英国高等法院根据英国2006年《跨国破产法令》拒绝承认该公司在百慕大的清算为外国主程序,因为该公司一直处于清算状态且基于公正合理的理由破产。法院认为,英国2006年《跨国破产法令》仅与破产或处于严重财务危机的债务人有关。

美国

在Re Olinda Star一案中,美国破产法院确认,根据美国《破产法》第15章,离岸软性联合临时清算可作为外国主程序,而且联合临时清算人可作为外国代表,从而确认了软性临时清算能够在美国破产制度下得到认可。

美国南部地区破产法院的Martin Glenn法官曾认可了一项申请,该申请由英属维尔京群岛注册成立的公司提出,请求承认软性联合临时清算人。该清算人已被任以有限的权力,监督该公司唯一董事在公司日常业务之外行使权力,并且该公司最终实施了重组。尽管联合临时清算人的权力范围受到限制,Glenn法官仍按照联合临时清算人的主张予以承认。

对于在美国拥有资产或在美国法律规定下存在债务的公司,该决定为其债权人和董事考虑在公司离岸注册地开展软性临时清算提供了重要的先例。

guernsey

Carey Olsen Hong Kong
Suites 3610-13
Jardine House, 1 Connaught Place
Central, Hong Kong
电话: +852 3628 9000
电子邮件: hongkong@careyolsen.com
www.careyolsen.com

Bermuda leads with ‘soft touch’

By Henry Tucker, Carey Olsen
0
53

Earlier regarded as a last resort, soft touch provisional liquidation is today a commonly deployed tool for restructuring offshore companies listed in Hong Kong and Singapore, writes Carey Olsen counsel Henry Tucker

Soft touch provisional liquidation, when first developed by Bermuda courts, was regarded as a tool of last resort. Today it is one of the most commonly deployed tools for restructuring offshore companies listed in Hong Kong and Singapore, writes Carey Olsen counsel Henry Tucker

Directors were hesitant to voluntarily deploy a mechanism that not only suggested that the company was in “liquidation”, but had been most often used in England and Wales as “the nuclear weapon of the companies court” to urgently oust the boards of companies at risk of having their assets dissipated. From a substantive perspective, there were also good reasons to be hesitant.

provisional liquidation
Henry Tucker
Counsel at Carey Olsen
in Hong Kong
Tel: +852 3628 9000
Email: henry.tucker@careyolsen.com

There was little decided authority on issues critical to the success of any restructuring, such as what foreign principles would apply to determining the identity of the liquidators, and whether soft touch provisional liquidators would be recognized in onshore jurisdictions.

A soft touch provisional liquidation basically means that day-to-day control of a company remains under the directors, but it is protected against actions by individual creditors in order to give the entity the best restructuring opportunity.

Several recent decisions in connection with provisional liquidations commenced in Bermuda and elsewhere have given boards and creditors greater certainty on how these issues will be dealt with.

Appointment of soft touch liquidators to avoid a foreign winding-up order. The primary benefit of the appointment of soft touch joint provisional liquidators (JPLs) is the stay of proceedings that accompanies such an appointment. However, it remained to be seen whether a Bermuda court would act to appoint JPLs where insolvency proceedings had already been commenced in a foreign court with a substantial part of the undertaking of the company within its territorial jurisdiction.

In the case of North Mining Shares, the Bermuda Supreme Court considered an application for the appointment of JPLs in Bermuda in advance of a winding-up hearing scheduled in Hong Kong in relation to a prior filed creditor petition. While the company alleged it was balance-sheet solvent, had the support of a majority of unsecured creditors and was engaging in debt restructuring negotiations, it admitted that it had not satisfied the undisputed petition debt in Hong Kong.

The Bermuda Supreme Court granted the company’s application for JPLs notwithstanding the active proceedings, and pending hearing in Hong Kong, confirming the Bermuda court’s broad power to appoint “soft touch” JPLs to protect a company against legal action by its creditors while they pursue a restructuring.

On the issue of comity, the Bermuda court took into account the fact that the Hong Kong court did not have the power to appoint JPLs on a “soft touch” basis, but could recognize an order of such an appointment by the Bermuda court pursuant to a letter of request. On this basis, the Bermuda court concluded that it could assist the Hong Kong court by appointing “soft touch” JPLs.

The Bermuda court considered that this would enable the company, together with a majority of its creditors, to pursue a restructuring under the framework of Bermuda proceedings, and potentially avoid the final destruction of the company. The decision also reinforced the principle that due regard should be given to the wishes of the majority of unsecured creditors in exercise of the power to appoint JPLs.

Determining identity of JPLs

It is commonly the case that there are competing views between the company and creditors, or between the creditors themselves, as to the appropriate individuals to fulfil the role of soft touch JPLs. Inevitably, where the relationship between the creditors and the board has broken down, there will be suspicions on both sides about the loyalties of each faction’s proposed appointees. The Bermuda court has now determined a series of cases in relation to these issues, providing a clear road map for creditors and company alike.

In Up Energy Development Group, the JPLs nominated by the company had been previously retained by the company as independent restructuring advisers. On the basis of this alleged conflict of interest, the company’s nominees did not have the support of a majority of creditors. While the court acknowledged the creditors’ concerns about independence, the court concluded that, on the one hand, it was important to appoint JPLs being able to work effectively with the company’s management but, on the other, the JPLs should consist of at least one appointee who is both apparently and actually entirely independent of the company. Accordingly, the court appointed one independent JPL alongside one of the company’s nominees.

In the recent decision on Agritrade Resources, the Bermuda Supreme Court provided a further example of the approach it will take to such disputes. The court held primarily that the exercise of selecting JPLs should be determined by the court on a summary basis, with the object of achieving the successful reconstruction of the company firmly in mind.

In Agritrade, the court declined to appoint JPLs proposed by a creditor on the basis that the proposed JPLs, (i) were alleged to possess confidential information of the company’s major shareholder from a previous engagement, which gave rise to an unnecessary risk of future litigation, and (ii) lacked the confidence of the second largest creditor, which would impair their ability to carry out work effectively. As a result, the court ordered that the JPLs nominated by the company be appointed.

These decisions highlight the importance the Bermuda court will place on the JPL’s independence and neutrality, and their ability to work effectively with both the company management and significant creditors.

Recognition of soft touch provisional liquidation onshore. A key issue for companies and creditors intending to commence soft touch provisional liquidation is the extent to which, and the circumstances in which, the JPLs would be recognized in key onshore jurisdictions. There are now several decisions that clearly set out the relevant principles applied by each jurisdiction and suggest that JPLs appointed in Bermuda and other offshore jurisdictions over insolvent companies are capable of obtaining recognition in key onshore jurisdictions.

Hong Kong

In Re Joint and Several Provisional Liquidators of China Oil Gangran Energy Group Holdings [2020], Justice Jonathan Harris, of the Court of First Instance in Hong Kong, granted the recognition order in relation to Cayman Islands court-appointed soft touch JPLs, and approved the court’s past practice of recognizing foreign soft touch provisional liquidation.

Similarly, in Re Joint Liquidators of Supreme Tycoon [2018], Justice Harris granted a recognition order and assistance to liquidators appointed by the Supreme Court of the British Virgin Islands in a creditors’ voluntary winding-up. Although this case has widened the scope of recognition and assistance to liquidators in a creditors’ voluntary liquidation, this would not extend to solvent liquidations. As pointed out by Justice Harris, a foreign solvent liquidation is not a collective insolvency proceeding, and is more akin to the private arrangement referred to by the privy council in Singularis Holdings v PricewaterhouseCoopers [2014].

England and Wales

While not a case that concerns soft touch JPLs, Re Sturgeon Central Asia Balanced Fund Ltd sets out clearly the circumstances in which Bermuda-appointed joint provisional liquidators will be recognized by the English courts. In a first instance decision on an application made ex-parte by the JPLs, the English High Court granted recognition, however, this was later discharged on the application of a director. The English High Court refused the recognition of the company’s liquidation in Bermuda as a foreign main proceeding under the Cross-Border Insolvency Regulations, 2006 (UK), because the company had been solvent and was wound up on just and equitable grounds. The court held that the Cross-Border Insolvency Regulations 2006 (UK) only related to debtors that were insolvent or in severe financial distress.

The United States

In Re Olinda Star, the US Bankruptcy Court confirmed that an offshore soft touch joint provisional liquidation may qualify as a foreign main proceeding, and joint provisional liquidators may qualify as foreign representatives under chapter 15 of the US Bankruptcy Code, confirming that soft touch provisional liquidation is capable of recognition under the US bankruptcy regime.

Judge Martin Glenn, of the US Southern District Bankruptcy Court, considered a petition for recognition by the soft touch joint provisional liquidator of a British Virgin Islands incorporated company that had been appointed with limited powers to oversee the exercise of power of the sole director of the company outside the ordinary course of business, and ultimately implement a restructuring. Despite the circumscribed scope of the JPLs’ powers, Judge Glenn granted recognition as sought by the JPLs.

This decision provides an important precedent for creditors and directors of companies with US-situated assets, or US law-governed debt obligations that are considering commencing soft touch provisional liquidation in the company’s offshore place of incorporation.

guernsey

Carey Olsen Hong Kong
Suites 3610-13
Jardine House, 1 Connaught Place
Central, Hong Kong
Tel: +852 3628 9000
Email: hongkong@careyolsen.com
www.careyolsen.com