一起干预案件?

0
136

马来西亚联邦法院近期作出的一项判决是否削弱了其仲裁制度下的不干预主义政策?

来西亚联邦法院在Jaya Sudhir JayaramNautical Supreme & Ors案中推翻了上诉法院的判决,认为Keet Gerald Francis Noel John Mahdi Noor & Ors案中的测试在判断仲裁协议第三人申请禁止仲裁协议当事人正在进行的仲裁程序时是合适的测试。

这导致了一个由第三人提起的延迟的诉讼,并且正在进行的仲裁程序被禁止继续进行。这项判决在马来西亚仲裁领域引起了轩然大波,因为最大限度支持并且最小限度干扰的不干预政策似乎已经被摧毁了。该项政策符合为了与《联合国国际贸易法委员会国际商事仲裁示范法》一致,对《1956年仲裁法》进行修订并发布的《2005年仲裁法》,并且在Press Metal SarawakEtiqa Takaful案中得到了联邦法院的支持

案件事实

上诉各方当事人是Jaya Sudhir Jayaram (Sudhir) 诉Nautical Supreme (NSSB), Azimuth Marine (AMSB) 和 Nau­tilus Tug & Towage (NTT)。就本文而言,Jaya Sudhir案中重要的事实是NTT、NSSB和AMSB之间有一份股东协议,其中包括仲裁约定。

federal court
Su Tiang Joo
马来亚高级法院律师(Cheah Teh & Su律师事务所资深合伙人)
电话: +603 6203 6918
电子邮件: Su@ctslawyers.com.my

股东NSSB和AMSB分别持有NTT公司20%和80%的股权。股东协议中有一项条款限制股东未经其他股东书面同意将其持有的股权转让给任何第三方。

不过,AMSB将其持有的10%的NTT公司的股权转让给了仲裁协议的第三方和局外人Sudhir。这导致NSSB称AMSB违反了股东协议,并有权收购AMSB在NTT的所有剩余股权。NSSB根据《2005年仲裁法》对AMSB和NTT提起了仲裁程序。

Sudhir被告知了此事,最初他满足于站在局外。不过,大约10个月之后,在仲裁程序进入聆讯的第二天,Sudhir从高级法院获得了一份禁止仲裁的禁令。该项禁令被上诉法院驳回,但被联邦法院恢复了。

由于联邦法院作出的决定,Sudhir在法院提出的诉求以及NSSB提出的包括诱导违约的侵权行为在内的诉求都将继续进行审理,但是NSSB和AMSB在仲裁程序中对对方提出的请求和反诉请求都被禁止继续进行。

因此,显然的是并非Sudhir在诉讼中提出的每个问题都能够在法院得到解决。最终的结果是仲裁程序被打断了, Sudhir后来提起的诉讼,赶到了NSSB更早提起的、并且已向Sudhir发出相关通知的仲裁程序之前了。

Keet Gerald测试救济?

禁止仲裁禁令的结果是仲裁程序的陌生人提出的诉讼程序在仲裁之前进入审理阶段,给其提供了最后的救济。在作出判决时,联邦法院采用了对临时禁令申请的一般性测试Keet Gerald测试,该测试在马来西亚不提供最后的救济。

在这样做的时候,由于联邦法院采用Keet Gerald测试限制仲裁协议各方当事人进行仲裁,给予Sudhir所寻求的最后救济,支持了它在法院审理并暂停仲裁的请求,联邦法院偏离了它的立场。

拖延本应是致命的

在对Jaya Sudhir案作出判决时,联邦法院推翻了上诉法院的认定,上诉法院认为Sudhir在推进禁止仲裁禁令的申请时拖延得太久了。上诉法院认为,Sudhir自仲裁程序开始就知道这件事已经有10个月之久,它才在仲裁程序聆讯开始前的两个月提交禁止仲裁禁令申请,这对于其申请是致命的。上诉法院的判决与马来西亚其他认为拖延对于禁令申请是致命的,特别是与其他法域禁止仲裁禁令的案例一致。

因此,联邦法院接受Sudhir表示它延迟提交禁止仲裁禁令申请是希望进行谈判达成和解,以及“它需要一些时间来安排,并就它需要采取的行动做出合理的决定”的借口是很不正常的,尽管NSSB希望加速仲裁程序并且主张不得中止程序。

这开创了一个尴尬的先例允许申请人可以以不确定采取何种行动,并且/或者希望依赖于通过谈判达成和解的理由而为其延误进行开脱,尽管另一方明确表示不应该中止仲裁程序。

立法政策和意图

联邦法院在对Jaya Sudhir案作出判决时,并没有考虑《2005年仲裁法》背后的整体立法意图,而是将《2005年仲裁法》第8条和第10条作为独立的条款进行解释,并对其进行了纯粹的文字解释。

1948年和1967年《法律解释法》第17A条规定,在解释法律的某一条款时,促成某个行为目的的解释总是比不促成目的的解释要更好。

这正是联邦法院在Press Metal案中采取的方法,它鼓励和支持《2005年仲裁法》中的不干预主义政策。令人惊讶的是,联邦法院在Jaya Sudhir案中作出的一致决定是由两名曾经组成Press Metal案法庭成员的资深法官组成的法庭作出的,其中一名法官在Press Metal案中作出了开创性的判决,支持不干预主义政策。

事实上,在Jaya Sudhir案仅仅三个半月后的一个判决中,由上述两名法官中的至少一名法官组成的联邦法院法庭在解释《1974年街道、排水和建筑法》第70A条时认为,虽然语言是清晰和明确的,但法院不能仅仅审查标签本身去确定“立法机关的意图和法规的性质”。

冒昧地说,联邦法院在Jaya Sudhir案中已经背离了现行《2005年仲裁法》的立法政策,以及它在Press Metal案中支持的不干预主义政策。

2005年仲裁法》之前的案件

在联邦法院对Jaya Sudhir案作出判决时,它信赖了Bina Jati Sum-Projects (Brothers)Chase PerdanaPekeliling Triangle & Anor案。冒昧地说,这种信赖是错误的,因为这些案件都是在《2005年仲裁法》之前做出的判决。其他同样以《联合国国际贸易法委员会国际商事仲裁示范法》为其仲裁法基础的法域的司法机构大多认为程序的不一致性和多重性不再是授予禁止仲裁禁令的理由。

拒绝遵循Jarvis测试

联邦法院采用Keet Gerald测试是以J Jarvis & Sons Blue Circle Dartford Estates案中的测试为代价的。

Jarvis案认为如果“禁令不会对仲裁申请人造成不公正,并且继续进行仲裁将是压迫、无理取闹、不合理或者滥用程序的”,那么法院可以有权发出禁止仲裁的禁令(Jarvis测试)。

法院在Jarvis案中还认定,作出任何禁止仲裁禁令的裁量权都必须谨慎行使,并且应当适当考虑未决仲裁、有关行为的目标和原则。

在批评上诉法院对Jarvis测试的信赖时,联邦法院认为不同于Jarvis案中的申请人是仲裁协议的一方当事人,Sudhir对仲裁协议并不了解。

不过,联邦法院的论证与其对Bina Jati案的信赖并不一致,Bina Jati案中的申请人是仲裁协议的一方当事人。关键在于如果信赖Bina Jati案,意味着申请人是否为仲裁协议的一方当事人并不重要。

那么就会得出上诉法院在Jaya Sudhir案中适用Jarvis案更高标准的测试是正确的,即使禁止仲裁禁令的申请人对于仲裁协议并不熟悉。

结论

联邦法院对Jaya Sudhir案作出判决的结果是它偏离了它较早时在落实以《联合国国际贸易法委员会国际商事仲裁示范法》为基础的《2005年仲裁法》立法意图的立场,这种偏离削弱了(法院)最大限度支持、最小限度干预的不干预主义政策,应当重新进行审视。

federal court

Cheah Teh & Su
L-3-1, No. 2 Jalan Solaris
Solaris Mont’ Kiara
50480 Kuala Lumpur
电话:+603 6203 6918
传真:+603 6203 6928
电子邮件:litigation@ctslawyers.com.my
www.ctslawyers.com

A case of intervention?

0
554

Has a recent Malaysian federal court decision watered down the non-interventionist policy enshrined within its arbitration regime?

In overturning the Court of Appeal’s deci­sion, the Malaysian Federal Court, in Jaya Sudhir Jayaram v Nautical Supreme & Ors, held that the test in Keet Gerald Francis Noel John v Mahdi Noor & Ors is the appropriate test to be employed when a stranger to an arbitration agreement applies to injunct ongoing arbitration proceedings undertaken by the parties to the arbitration agreement.

This resulted in a belated curial action initiated by the stranger proceeding and the ongoing arbitration proceedings was injunc­ted from continuing. The decision is sending shock waves throughout the Malaysian arbitration sector, because the non-inter­ventionist policy of maximum support but minimum interference – consistent with the amendments to the Arbitration Act 1956, leading to the Arbitration Act 2005 (AA 2005) to make it in line with the UNCITRAL Model Law, and endorsed by the Federal Court in Press Metal Sarawak v Etiqa Takaful – seems to have been decimated.

The facts

The parties in the appeal were Jaya Sudhir Jayaram (Sudhir) against Nautical Supreme (NSSB), Azimuth Marine (AMSB) and Nau­tilus Tug & Towage (NTT). For the purpose of this article, the salient facts in Jaya Sudhir were that there was a shareholders’ agree­ment between NTT, NSSB and AMSB, which included an arbitration agreement.

federal court
Su Tiang Joo
Advocate & Solicitor of the High Court in Malaya
(Senior Partner at Cheah Teh & Su)
Tel: +603 6203 6918
Email: Su@ctslawyers.com.my

The shareholders were NSSB holding 20%, and AMSB holding 80% of the equity in the corporate vehicle, NTT. The sharehold­ers’ agreement had a clause restricting the transfer by a shareholder of its equity to any third party without the written consent of the other shareholder.

However, AMSB transferred 10% of its shares in NTT to Sudhir, a third party and a stranger to the arbitration agreement. This resulted in NSSB claiming breach of the shareholders’ agreement, and to be entitled to buy over all of AMSB’s remaining equity in NTT. NSSB commenced arbitration pro­ceedings against AMSB and NTT pursuant to the AA 2005.

Sudhir was given notice of this, and he was initially content to stay on the side-lines. However, some 10 months later, with the arbitration proceeding entering its second day of hearing, Sudhir secured an anti-ar­bitration injunction from the High Court. The injunction was set aside by the Court of Appeal, but reinstated by the Federal Court.

By reason of the Federal Court’s decision, Sudhir’s claim in the court, and NSSB’s claim against him for among other things the tort of inducing a breach of contract, proceeded to trial but with the claims and counter­claims by NSSB and AMSB against each other in the arbitration proceedings being injuncted from proceeding.

It is, therefore, clear that not every issue in the curial proceedings brought by Sudhir could be determined in court. The end result was that proceedings were truncated; with Sudhir’s claims that were brought later, moving ahead of the arbitration proceedings, initiated by NSSB much earlier, of which notice had been given to Sudhir.

Keet Gerald test relief?

The result of the anti-arbitration injunction is that it provides final relief to the stranger in the curial proceedings, with his claim proceeding to trial ahead of the arbitration. In coming to its decision, the Federal Court had applied the Keet Gerald test, which is the general test for interlocutory injunction applications, which does not provide final relief in Malaysia.

In doing so, the Federal Court has departed from this position as it has applied the Keet Gerald test to restrain the parties to the arbitration agreement from arbitrating by granting Sudhir the final relief sought by him, which is for his claim in court to be heard and the arbitration stayed.

Delay should have been fatal

In coming to its decision in Jaya Sudhir, the Federal Court had overturned the Court of Appeal’s findings that there was inordinate delay by Sudhir in moving his application for an anti-arbitration injunction. The Court of Appeal had held that the fact that Sudhir had been aware for as long as 10 months since the arbitration proceedings were initiat­ed – before he filed his application for the an­ti-arbitration injunction two months before the commencement of the hearing of the Arbitration Proceedings – was fatal to his ap­plication. The Court of Appeal’s findings are in line with Malaysian cases on delay being fatal to injunction applications generally, and specifically to anti-arbitration injunctions in other jurisdictions.

It was, therefore, rather atypical for the Federal Court to accept Sudhir’s excuse that his belated application for an anti-arbitration injunction was because he wanted to nego­tiate a settlement and that “he would need some time to arrange and make a reasoned decision on the approach that he would need to take”, despite NSSB wanting to expedite the arbitral proceedings and asserting there was to be no stay in the proceedings.

This sets an awkward precedent to excuse delays grounded on an applicant being unsure of which course of action to take, and/or wanting to rely upon an intention to negotiate a settlement despite the other party making it clear that there should be no stay in proceedings.

Legislative policy and intent

Instead of taking into account the legislative intent behind the AA 2005 as a whole, the Federal Court, in coming to its decision in Jaya Sudhir, had interpreted sections 8 and 10 of the AA 2005 as standalone provisions, and gave them its pure literal interpretation.

Section 17A of the Interpretation Acts 1948 and 1967 provides that in the interpre­tation of a provision of an act, a construction that promotes the purpose or object under­lying the act should always be preferred to a construction that does not.

This was the approach taken by the Federal Court in Press Metal, which had encouraged and endorsed a non-interven­tionist policy that underlaid the AA 2005. It is surprising that the unanimous decision of the Federal Court in Jaya Sudhir was delivered by a coram comprising two of the learned judges who formed part of the coram in Press Metal, with one of them having de­livered the seminal judgment in Press Metal endorsing the non-interventionist policy.

In fact, in a later decision delivered just three-and-a-half months after Jaya Sudhir, the Federal Court, comprising at least one of these two learned judges, in interpreting section 70A of the to Street, Drainage and Building Act, 1974, held that although the language is clear and unequivocal, the court must examine more than the label itself to determine “the intent of the legislature and the nature of the statute”.

With all due respect, the Federal Court in Jaya Sudhir has departed from the legisla­tive policy underlying the current AA 2005, as well as the non-interventionist policy endorsed by itself in Press Metal.

Cases before the AA 2005

In coming to its decision, the Federal Court in Jaya Sudhir had placed reliance on the cases of Bina Jati v Sum-Projects (Brothers) and Chase Perdana v Pekeliling Triangle & Anor. With all due respect, such reliance is misplaced, as these cases had all been decid­ed prior to the AA 2005. Case authorities in other jurisdictions that have also premised their arbitration statutes on the UNCITRAL Model Law have in the main decided that in­consistency and multiplicity of proceedings are no longer grounds to grant an anti-arbi­tration injunction.

Refusal to follow Jarvis test

The Federal Court’s application of the Keet Gerald test was at the expense of the test laid down in J Jarvis & Sons v Blue Circle Dartford Estates.

Jarvis held that the court’s power to grant an anti-arbitration Injunction may be exer­cised if “the injunction does not cause injus­tice to the claimant in the arbitration, and the continuance of the arbitration would be oppressive, vexatious, unconscionable or an abuse of process” (the Jarvis test).

It was also held in Jarvis that any discre­tion to grant injunctions against arbitration must be exercised sparingly, and with due regard to any pending arbitration, and the objectives and principles of the act.

In criticising the Court of Appeal’s reliance on the Jarvis test, the Federal Court reasoned that Sudhir was a stranger to the arbitration agreement, unlike the applicant in Jarvis, who was a party to the arbitration agreement.

However, the Federal Court’s reasoning is at odds with its reliance upon the authority of Bina Jati, where the applicant (in Bina Jati) was a party to the arbitration agreement. The point is that if Bina Jati was relied upon, then it would follow that it would make no difference as to whether the applicant is, or is not, a party to the arbitration agreement.

It would have followed that the Court of Appeal in Jaya Sudhir was correct in applying the higher threshold test in Jarvis, even when the applicant for the anti-arbitration injunction was a stranger to the arbitration agreement.

Conclusion

The effect of the Federal Court’s decision in Jaya Sudhir is that it has departed from its earlier position of giving effect to the legislative intent of the AA 2005, which was anchored upon the UNCITRAL Model Law, and this departure has watered down the non-interventionist policy of maximum support but minimum interference [by the courts], and ought to be re-visited.

federal court

Cheah Teh & Su
L-3-1, No. 2 Jalan Solaris
Solaris Mont’ Kiara
50480 Kuala Lumpur
Tel: +603 6203 6918
Fax: +603 6203 6928
Email: litigation@ctslawyers.com.my
www.ctslawyers.com