开曼群岛的法律边界:亚洲基金业的重要趋势

作者: 陈子雅,Appleby
0
121

开曼群岛已经转变成为了重要的离岸金融中心,连接着世界各地的企业家和业务,以及大量的可投资资本。在本系列文章中,来自该地区的顶级律师事务所将探讨新兴趋势,并对开曼群岛的监管框架提供洞见。

曼群岛仍然是亚洲金融业最受欢迎的离岸法域之一,豁免有限合伙企业(ELPs)依然是私募股权基金架构的首选。自2016年推出开曼有限责任公司(LLC)以来,随着基金经理和投资者越来越了解开曼有限责任公司是以特拉华州有限责任公司为基础的特点后,开曼有限责任公司作为一种商业工具的使用在过去几年中也逐步增多。

开曼有限责任公司最常被用为合资工具、超额收益工具、下游隔离工具和投资管理工具。它们还被亚洲基金管理人用为面向投资者募集的基金工具。

Cayman
陈子雅
Appleby律师事务所香港办公室合伙人
电话:+852 2905 5760
电子邮件:[email protected]

目前有数十家中国基金管理着10亿美元或以上的资金,开曼群岛为这些基金管理人提供了它们寻求的国际认可。开曼群岛以其严格和有效、并且符合国际标准的反洗钱和数据保护法制度而闻名。此外,由于设立速度快,开曼群岛结构经常是首选。开曼群岛的基金可以迅速设立,并且与其他法域相比,设立的成本更低。

一些人认为新加坡在2019年推出的可变资本公司(VCC)打造了开曼群岛的一个竞争对手,它可以为所有类型的投资基金设立一个法律实体形式或结构。特别是,可变资本公司的某些特点似乎与开曼独立投资组合公司类似。

虽然新加坡业内人士的兴趣日益增加,并且新加坡金融管理局也进行了大力推广,但可变资本公司仍然处于起步阶段,因此它的全面影响尚有待观察。相比之下,开曼群岛《共同基金法》已经实施多年,总体上更加完善和灵活地适应亚洲基金管理人的需求。看看可变资本公司在2020年将会被如何使用,以及它们是否会在该地区被更广泛地使用,也是件有趣的事情。

贷款方式

与过去几年一样,缴资贷款和缴资通知担保继续主导了2019年亚洲的基金业。这些资金在传统上是向基金提供的短期过渡贷款,直到基金收到投资人的实缴出资,该等实缴出资通常会在发出缴资通知后长达15天内才能收到。

缴资贷款使得基金可以更好地管理其现金流。要求投资人缴纳尚未实缴的出资是合同约定的权利,其转让需要提供担保。担保方式通常包括以投资人将实缴出资存入贷款机构控制的指定银行账户作为担保。缴资贷款的流行意味着通过向投资人发出授予担保权益的书面通知,行使通知缴资的权利的逐步完善已经被市场普遍接受,正如这类通知的形式一样。

在过去一年中,笔者看到了有越来越多有关基金募集中使用其他贷款方式的讨论,但这些讨论似乎都没有取得重大进展。比如,混合贷款被誉为结合了缴资贷款和净值贷款的特点,由基金资产和投资人尚未实缴的出资承诺作为支持。

混合贷款可被用作非标准结构,但由于提供两种不同类型贷款的复杂性,因此混合贷款尚未变得普及。虽然混合贷款在美国市场更常被使用,但在亚洲市场的使用仍然较少,在新的一年里除了缴资贷款之外的贷款方式是否会开始流行仍然有待观察。

经济实质法规

开曼群岛致力于与全球监管标准保持同步,比如开曼群岛近期更新了反洗钱制度和数据保护法制度,以及经济实质法规。这确保了开曼群岛具有以当今法律和全球监管需求为导向,并适应不断变化的环境,以支持亚洲经济的条件。

虽然投资基金不需要遵守经济实质法相关要求,但从事基金管理业务的实体需要遵守相关规定。在开曼群岛近期修订了《证券投资商业法》之后,需要符合经济实质法要求的基金管理人范围有所扩大。

《证券投资商业法》修正案用“登记人士”概念取代了“豁免人士”概念。目前,登记的“豁免人士”在2020年1月15日之后不得继续进行任何证券投资业务,除非在此之前它们已经在开曼群岛金融管理局登记为“登记人士”,或者已经根据《证券投资商业法(2019年修订)》第6条的规定取得了许可牌照。

此外,如果“登记人士”是根据《公司法(2018年修订)》设立的公司,它必须至少拥有:(1)两名个人董事;或者(2)一名公司董事。上述均需要遵守2014年《董事注册和许可法》。

修正案的影响之一是原本不在经济实质法适用范围的一类“豁免人士”现在由于将被重新登记为“登记人士”而被纳入该制度的管辖。自2020年1月15日起,它们将需要遵守经济实质法的要求。这可能会吸引许多目前被登记为“豁免人士”的亚洲基金管理人。它们还还需遵守开曼群岛金融管理局的监管和权力下的多项要求。

自2020年起,相关实体需要向开曼群岛税务信息局提交通知,说明其是否从事任何相关活动,如是,该相关实体的全部或部分总收入是否应在开曼群岛以外的法域纳税(附有相应的证据),以及该实体财务年度的结束日期。

市场趋势显示,越来越多的基金和基金经理正在审视基金经理管理证券的自由裁量权程度,并讨论外包这些安排的可能性。应当仔细审查有限合伙协议等文件中的合同条款,以体现所有的实际变化和修改的工作范围。希望在重新登记的截止日期后,市场能够更加清楚基金经理在这方面的决定和整体趋势。

2019年对于基金业来说是多事之秋,除了新加坡推出了可变资本公司之外,立法和监管制度也有一定的发展,对于基金、管理人、投资人和贷款人来说都产生了影响。

虽然地缘政治环境存在着不确定性,但笔者对亚洲基金募集业的前景和开曼群岛基金结构在2020年的持续突出仍然持有乐观态度。笔者预计,除了目前经常使用的缴资贷款之外,贷款人将会更加开放地探索定制的贷款方案,比如净值贷款或混合贷款。

Bermuda

APPLEBY HONG KONG OFFICE
2206-19 Jardine House,
1 Connaught Place, Central, Hong Kong
电话:+852 2523 8123 传真:+852 2524 5548
电子邮件:[email protected]
www.applebyglobal.com

 

Related articlescayman

Legal Frontiers in the Caymans: Key trends in Asian fund finance

By Fiona Chan, Appleby
0
86

The Cayman Islands has transformed itself into a premier offshore financial hub, connecting entrepreneurs and business from across the world, and large pools of investable capital. In this series, top law firms from the region explore emerging trends and provide insights into the regulatory framework in the islands

The Cayman Islands continues to be one of the most popular offshore jurisdictions for the Asian finance industry, and exempted Limited Partnerships (ELPs) remain the private equity fund vehicle of choice. The use of a Cayman Limited Liability Company (LLC) as a business vehicle has also increased steadily over the years since its introduction in 2016, as fund managers and investors become more familiar with its features, which are based on the Delaware LLC.

Cayman LLCs are most commonly used as joint venture vehicles, carried interest vehicles, downstream blockers and investment management vehicles. They have also been used by Asian fund managers as investor-facing fund vehicles.

Cayman
Fiona Chan
Partner, Corporate
Appleby in Hong Kong
Tel: +852 2905 5760
Email: [email protected]

There are dozens of Chinese funds that manage US$1 billion or more, and the Cayman Islands provides the international recognition that many of these managers are looking for. The Cayman Islands is well known for its stringent and effective Anti-Money Laundering (AML) and Data Protection Law (DPL) regimes, which are compliant with international standards. Additionally, Cayman Islands vehicles are often preferred due to the speed of incorporation. A Cayman Islands fund can launch quickly and formation is cost-effective in comparison to other jurisdictions.

Some have suggested that the introduction of the Variable Capital Company (VCC) in Singapore in 2019 created a competitor for the Cayman Islands, with its ability to create a legal entity form or structure for all types of investment funds. In particular, certain features of the VCC seem to be similar to those of Cayman segregated portfolio companies.

Despite growing interest from industry players in Singapore and a heavy push from the Monetary Authority of Singapore, VCCs are still in their infancy, so the full impact is yet to be seen. In contrast, the Cayman Islands Mutual Funds Law has been enacted for a number of years, and overall is better established and flexible to the needs of Asian fund managers. It will be interesting to watch how VCCs are adopted in 2020, and whether they are utilized more widely in the region.

Forms of facility lines

As with the past few years, subscription facilities, together with capital call security, continued to dominate the fund finance industry in Asia in 2019. These were traditionally developed as short-term bridging facilities to funds pending receipt of capital contributions from investors, which may often take as long as 15 days to arrive following a capital call.

The availability of subscription facilities allows the funds to better manage their cash flow. The rights to call for uncalled capital are contractual and subject to assignment by way of security. The security package will typically include security over designated bank accounts under the control of the lending institutions into which investors deposit their capital contributions. The popularity of subscription facilities means that perfection over capital call rights by way of delivery of written notice of the grant of security to investors has been generally accepted in the market, as with the form of such notice.

In the past year the author has seen more discussions over the use of other forms of facilities in fund financing, though none seem to have developed in a significant way. Hybrid facilities, for instance, have been hailed to combine features of subscription facilities and net asset value facilities, backed by security over assets of the funds in addition to unfunded commitments of the investors.

Hybrid facilities can be useful for non-standard structures, but have not become commonplace due to complications in underwriting two distinct types of facilities. While hybrid facilities have been used more often in the US market, the uptake remains small in the Asian market, and it is yet to be seen whether facilities other than subscription line will gain in popularity in the year ahead.

Changing climate

The Cayman Islands is committed to keeping pace with global regulatory standards, for example the recent updates to their AML and DPL regimes, and to economic substance regulations. This ensures the jurisdiction is well placed to adhere to today’s legal and global regulatory demands, and adapt to changing climates as they transpire, to support the Asian economy.

While investment funds are not required to comply with economic substance requirements, entities that conduct fund management business are. The pool of fund managers who are subject to economic substance requirements has been widened following recent amendments to the Securities Investment Business Law of the Cayman Islands.

The amendments replace the concept of an “excluded person” with that of a “registered person”. Currently, a registered “excluded person” cannot continue to carry on any securities investment business after 15 January 2020, unless by that date they have been re-registered by the Cayman Islands Monetary Authority as a “registered person”, or have been granted a licence under section 6 of the Securities Investment Business Law (2019 Revision).

Furthermore, if the “registered person” is a company incorporated under the Companies Law (2018 Revision), it is required to have a minimum of: (1) two directors who are individuals; or (2) one corporate director. Each of the above must comply with the Directors Registration and Licensing Law, 2014.

One implication of the amendments is that an “excluded person” who had originally fallen outside the remit of the economic substance legislation will now be brought back into the regime by virtue of its re-registration as a “registered person”. They will now become subject to economic substance requirements from 15 January 2020. This may potentially capture many fund managers in Asia who are currently registered as “excluded persons”. They will also be subject to a number of requirements under the supervision and powers of the Cayman Islands Monetary Authority.

Starting in 2020, a relevant entity will be required to file a notice with the Cayman Tax Information Authority stating whether it is carrying out any relevant activity, and, if so, whether all or any part of the relevant entity’s gross income is subject to tax in a jurisdiction outside Cayman (with supporting evidence), and the end date of the entity’s financial year.

The market trend shows an increase in funds and managers reviewing the level of discretion that the managers possess to manage securities, and reviewing the possibility of outsourcing these arrangements. Contractual terms such as those contained in limited partnership agreements should be reviewed carefully to reflect any factual changes and the revised scope of work. Hopefully the market will have a clearer view on the decisions and overall trend of fund managers in this regard after the re-registration deadline.

2019 has been an eventful year for the fund finance industry; in addition to the introduction of the VCC in Singapore, there have been considerable developments in the legislative and regulatory regimes with an impact on funds, managers, investors and lenders alike.

Despite the uncertainties in the geopolitical environment, the author remains optimistic about the forecast for the Asia fund financing industry and the continuous prominence of Cayman fund structures in 2020. The author expects to see lenders becoming more open to exploring bespoke financing options such as net asset value or hybrid facilities, in addition to the usual subscription facilities currently utilized.

Bermuda

APPLEBY HONG KONG OFFICE
2206-19 Jardine House,
1 Connaught Place, Central, Hong Kong
Tel: +852 2523 8123 Fax: +852 2524 5548
Email: [email protected]
www.applebyglobal.com

 

Related articlesCayman