《商法》在此为您呈献关于中国业务优秀律师的权威名册。王雪晴报道

成为从事中国相关业务的优秀商业律师都需要具备哪些品质?在中国律师制度恢复40周年之际,《商法》进行了年度调研,收到了千余份来自公司法务、高管以及律师同行的推荐,并从中选出了200位中国相关业务的优秀律师(其中100位来自中国所,100位来自外资所)

所有入选的律师都凭借着久经考验的专业知识和与客户的长期合作赢得了客户的信任。百通亚洲(香港)中国区人力资源总监张静在评价常驻北京和香港的权亚律师事务所资深合伙人万以娴时将好律师和好医生作了一个类比,称万律师是“上医治未病”。

张静说,在与万律师超过八年时间的合作中,万律师为公司中国区的业务快速增长提供了强有力的保障。“与前些年比较,2019年我们还没有烦扰万博士太多次,重要原因是在博士和她的团队的指导下,我们逐步从‘治已病’转向‘治未病’,所以我称她为‘上医’,而‘上医治未病’是博士和她的团队在劳动法方面另外一个突出的优势,”她说。“万博士是我合作过最具实力和专业性的劳动法律师。”

除了深厚的专业素养和敏捷的商业思维外,律师在谈判或是庭审时的风采也会给客户留下深刻印象。大成律师事务所上海办公室高级合伙人刘峰就是一位在客户眼中“充满活力、充满战斗力”的人。

上海东浩资产经营有限公司经营开发部总经理杨伟回忆起刘律师在一场集体诉讼中的精彩表现时说:“在整个诉讼中,刘峰律师无形中成了全体代理律师中的主导,大家都认为刘峰律师思路清晰,辩论精彩,在法庭上经常附议刘峰律师的代理观点,很好的维护了我们企业的合法权益。”

陈岩-CHEN-YAN-贝壳找房集团-法务和资本市场副总裁-CN

迎接挑战、不断创新也是精英律师的另一个重要素养。贝壳找房集团法务和资本市场副总裁陈岩在评价常驻香港的富而德律师事务所合伙人王昶舜时说:“王律师在解决问题方面非常出色,能够根据当前的法律框架为客户提供创新解决方案和论据。”

“一个绝佳的案例是王律师代理了业内首个说服香港证券交易所允许子公司级关联人士作为基石投资者认购首次公开募股的交易,这之后一系列类似的首次公开募股交易也随之开展,” 他说。

领域专家

今年,许多资本市场领域的律师得到了客户的认可。摩根路易斯律师事务所香港办公室合伙人陆继锵被评价为“一位卓越的领导者,擅长在打造和激励强大团队的同时,实现商业目标”。

欧凤兰-CHRISTINE-AU-中信建投(国际)金融控股-投资银行部董事总经理-Managing-Director-of-Investment-Banking-Department-China-Securities-(International)-Finance-Holding-CN

中信建投(国际)金融控股投资银行部董事总经理欧凤兰表示:“他能够弥合各方在完成项目方面产生的深刻分歧,并在此过程中尊重他人的想法。”

多位首席财务官和总法律顾问推荐了香港陈冯吴律师事务所创始合伙人冯宝仪,称赞她在香港IPO中表现出色。日清食品(香港)管理有限公司董事木村拓道表示:“我们集团在香港业务上的成功印证了她工作上的深思熟虑和专业水平,这些业务中包括我们集团在香港证券交易所的上市。”

木村拓道-HIROMICHI-KIMURA-日清食品(香港)-管理有限公司-董事-Director-Nissin-Foods-(HK)-Management-CN

大成律师事务所北京办公室高级合伙人李寿双在私募基金、企业并购及上市等业务领域得到了众多国企和民企企业法务和高管的认可。“李律师能够在精通规则要求的同时,从监管趋势、商业选择、基金运营乃至企业管理等多个维度考虑,领导团队为客户形成合规、顺势且实操可行的综合解决方案,体现了优异的个人水平和团队能力,”联想控股法务总监刘昊评价道。

刘昊-LIU-HAO-联想控股-法务总监-Legal-director-Legend-Holdings-Corporation-CN

世辉律师事务所北京办公室合伙人梁宏俊被称为“最懂A股的律师之一”。“梁律师在A股等资本市场领域极其专业且具备令人钦佩的钻研精神,俨然是一本行走的‘A股法规案例库’,”华兴资本高级法务经理陈一琳说。“梁律师也凭借其几乎24小时专业在线服务给予客户充分的‘安全感’。”

陈一琳-Elaine-Chen-华兴资本-高级法务经理-Senior-Legal-Manager-China-Renaissance-Holdings-CN

目前,国际合规成为了不少中外企业的工作重点。中伦律师事务所上海办公室合伙人高俊在合规领域得到不少公司法务和高管的推荐。

“[高律师]对全球各地区特别是欧洲、北美、澳洲以及一带一路地区的合规有着全面和深入的专业理解,”华润电力控股国际业务部法务经理段泽平说。“高律师不仅对合规工作的细节了如指掌,还具有站在全球地缘政治形势的高度去理解和分析合规和政府监管背后逻辑的宏观视野。”

段泽平-MIKE-DUAN-华润电力控股-国际业务部法务经理-Legal-manager-of-International-Business-Department-China-Resources-Power-Holdings

不少中外企业的法务推荐了常驻北京的铸成律师事务所创始合伙人苍雨春,表示她在知识产权(IP)领域经验丰富。“苍雨春女士对中国远大集团及我本人的帮助是全方位的,”中国远大集团法律安全管理总部高级法务总监张海茹说。“[她]不仅在战术上予以专业的指导,更是在战略高度上予以指引,让我们理解我们这种体量的公司在商标上应该如何布局。”

同样在IP领域,君泽君律师事务所广州办公室合伙人叶俭被评价为“知性沉稳、冷静细致,在知识产权领域经验丰富”。“在案件的处理过程中,[叶律师]能够准确理解客户的需求并提出有价值的法律建议与处理策略。委托叶律师参与案件的处理,既是一次合作,也是一次向叶律师学习的机会,”深圳金信诺高新技术股份有限公司法务合规负责人王颖说。

不少法务和高管还推荐了另一位常驻广州的卓信律师事务所主任及创始合伙人陈健斌,他们大多是陈律师的长期客户。金羚电器审计及法务经理张巩权先生说,陈律师为金羚电器担任常年法律顾问长达九年,期间为公司提供了十分专业、全面、周到的法律服务和保障。

“[陈律师]协助企业多次化解重大法律风险,代理公司的维权案、抵御恶意索赔案、股权变更等重大案件,均显示出陈健斌律师高超的专业水平和宽广的国际视野,是国内少有的顶尖涉外大律师,”他说。

驻北京的天元律师事务所主任合伙人朱小辉则被客户评价为“投资领域最权威的律师”。“除了其对资本运作、国资管理、财税实务的精湛理解外,[他]对产业趋势、行业周期、资本市场变化的洞见,可以帮助投资人更好的完成每一笔交易,”华芯投资管理风险管理部总经理余峰说,“有时只有到了真正退出的时候,才发现当年的投资时点,[是]如此精妙的布局。”

余峰-Frank-Liu-华芯投资管理-风险管理部总经理-General-manager-of-Risk-Management-Department-Sino-IC-Capital-CN

在劳动法领域,驻北京的金诚同达律师事务所高级合伙人梁枫得到了中国五矿集团法律部副部长毕丽艳的推荐。

“梁枫律师法律专业精湛,工作效率优异,头脑泠静、谈判能力和组织能力卓越,曾协助我们在某重大重组项目中稳妥推进民主程序,既确保了员工权益又达成了重组目标,是劳动法领域一位非常值得信赖的擅长解决复杂问题的律师,”她说。

中钢新元矿业发展有限公司总经理李毅说,他与大成律师事务所北京办公室高级合伙人吴立北已合作了五年多,对他深厚的法律功底、丰富的实务经验、全面的解决问题能力印象深刻。“现在,公司重大经营决策或重大项目投资决策时我都会征求他的专业意见,并作为我决策的重要参考依据,”他说。

客户至上

除了丰富的法律知识和实战经验,客户至上的敬业精神也是精英律师们的必备。泰山石膏销售公司副经理车刚说,常驻华盛顿哥伦比亚特区和北京的奥斯顿律师事务所合伙人苏慧伦在工作上的敬业精神给他留下了深刻的印象。

“我感觉苏律师总是在工作状态,随时可以进行沟通交流,甚至影响、提升了我工作的状态和工作态度,”他说,“由于中美法律的差别,苏律师总是从不同角度,利用其专业的知识将复杂的法律问题简单、明了地解释给我们,让我们及时有效的了解案件的进展和状态。”

“脚踏实地、勤奋耐心”,这是华联力宝医疗法律及合规副总裁张敦富对新加坡立杰律师事务所资深国际法律顾问乔丽娜的评价。“鉴于中国各省法规之间的差异,在查找帮助我们决策与计划管理的信息时,乔律师足智多谋,贡献颇多,”他说。

山东睿鹰制药集团总裁助理曾凡洪推荐了天元律师事务所北京办公室合伙人陈胜。“除关注法律风险防范及实现公司明确提出的商业目的外,陈胜律师还能够主动关注交易的财务、税务效果以及交易对公司未来业务开展、资本运作的潜在限制与影响,并提出简捷有效的方案优化建议,”他说。

长鑫存储技术法务副总裁张兴祥推荐了竞天公诚律师事务所上海办公室合伙人奚敏洁。“她是我所知的那种既有法律技能又懂风险管理的律师,善于把合法守规转化为客户的竞争优势。在传统律师业务做的很好以后,又去开拓中国艺术法执业,迅速成为这方面的先锋,”他说。

本次我们依然看到了不少青年律师得到了客户的高度认可,德汇律师事务所北京代表处管理合伙人刘思锐便是其中之一。

“刘律师在中国客户面前更像一个美国本土成长起来的律师,无论是语言还是法律专业知识,丝毫没有任何打折,让人信服和放心,”中意资产管理合规部副总经理李超田说,“作为青年律师,刘律师更像一个老手,其提供的法律意见的专业度和预判非常准确。”

泰和泰律师事务所成都办公室合伙人夏扬受到了众多客户,特别是西部地区客户的提名推荐。“知性、肯于学习、专业”等,是大家对夏律师的评价。

夏扬律师工作认真负责,具有扎实的法律功底和丰富的工作经验,具有较强的判断及逻辑分析能力,”四川宏凌实业集团公司财务中心经理雷晓波说,“[她]对我集团不同的经济法律事务能够提出不同见解的观点与思路。出色地完成了我集团公司交办的各项工作。夏扬是一名优秀的、值得信任的律师。”

Top-100-lawyers-2018

Here are the top private practice lawyers for China business, based on our careful research. Frankie wang reports

What qualities are needed to be an excellent business lawyer for China-related business? On the 40th anniversary of the resumption of China’s lawyer system, China Business Law Journal conducted an annual survey and received thousands of recommendations from corporate counsel, senior executives, and lawyers. Among them, we selected 200 elite lawyers for China practice (including 100 lawyers working in PRC law firms and 100 in foreign firms).

All the lawyers in our A-list have earned the trust of their clients on the basis of their successful long-term relationships and proven legal expertise.

Drawing an interesting analogy between a good lawyer and a doctor, Gray Zhang, HR director, China of Belden Asia (Hong Kong) says Isabelle Wan, senior partner of TransAsia Lawyers based in Beijing and Hong Kong, is like “a top doctor who prevents a disease before its onset”.

According to Zhang, the strong legal team led by Wan has helped the rapid expansion of the company in China over the past eight years. “Compared with previous years, we didn’t bother Isabelle too much in 2019. One of the key reasons is our company is gradually transferring from ‘cure’ to ‘prevention’ and treating ailments early with the help from Isabelle and her team, thus I would call her a ’top doctor‘ who helped us work more on prevention rather than handle tough cases (cure illness) only,” says Zhang. “Isabelle is the strongest labour practice lawyer I have ever worked with.”

In addition to their profound expertise and agile business thinking, lawyers impress their clients with their performance in negotiations or court hearings. In the eyes of clients, Michael Liu, senior partner at Dentons in Shanghai, is an “energetic and ambitious” person.

Recalling Liu’s excellent performance in a class action suit, Yang Wei, general manager of Business Development Department at Shanghai Donghao Asset Management, is all praises for him. “In the whole process, Liu had virtually become a leader of all attorneys. They often agreed with his opinions before the court due to his clear thought and wonderful defense. In doing so, he protected our legitimate rights and interests very well,” says Yang.

Rising up to challenges and always innovating are also key quality for elite lawyers. “Richard is excellent in problem solving and can provide clients with innovative solutions and arguments based on current legal framework,” says Chen Yan, vice president and general counsel of KE.com, about Richard Wang, a partner at Freshfields Bruckhaus Deringer based in Hong Kong.

 

陈岩-CHEN-YAN-贝壳找房集团-法务和资本市场副总裁-EN

“A good example is Richard working on the first transaction convincing the Hong Kong Stock Exchange to allow subsidiary-level connected persons to subscribe in an IPO as a cornerstone investor, which has been followed by a number of subsequent IPOs,” he says.

EXPERTS IN THE FIELD

This year, many capital markets lawyers have received recognition from their clients. Edwin Luk, a Hong Kong-based partner at Morgan Lewis & Bockius, was recommended as “an exceptional leader who excels at accomplishing business goals while building and motivating strong teams”.

“He is capable of bridging the deep divides between parties to complete projects and is respectful of others’ ideas in the process,” says Christine Au, managing director of investment banking department at China Securities (International) Finance Holding.

欧凤兰-CHRISTINE-AU-中信建投(国际)金融控股-投资银行部董事总经理-Managing-Director-of-Investment-Banking-Department-China-Securities-(International)-Finance-Holding-EN

Bowie Fung, founding partner of CFN Lawyers in Hong Kong, was recommended by multiple chief financial officers and general counsel for her excellent performance in Hong Kong IPOs. “Her thoughtful and impressive work is strongly substantiated by the group’s successful business in Hong Kong, which include our group’s IPO on the Hong Kong Stock Exchange,” says Hiromichi Kimura, director of Nissin Foods (HK) Management.

In practice areas such as private funds, M&A, and listing, David Li, senior partner of Dentons in Beijing, is well recognized by corporate counsel of both state-owned and private enterprises.

木村拓道-HIROMICHI-KIMURA-日清食品(香港)-管理有限公司-董事-Director-Nissin-Foods-(HK)-Management-EN

“While fully understanding rules and requirements, Li led his team to devise comprehensive solutions that are compliant, convenient, operational and pragmatic for clients from multiple perspectives, such as regulatory trends, business choice, fund operation, and even business management, which reflects his outstanding personal competence and team work,” says Liu Hao, legal director at Legend Holdings Corporation.

Darren Liang, a Beijing-based partner at Shihui Partners, is recognized as “one of the lawyers who knows A-shares best”.

刘昊-LIU-HAO-联想控股-法务总监-Legal-director-Legend-Holdings-Corporation-EN

“Liang is extremely professional in capital market fields such as A-shares and has an admirable spirit of inquiry. He is like a walking A-share legal case library,” says Elaine Chen, senior legal manager at China Renaissance Holdings. “Liang almost provides 24-hour professional online services, giving his clients full ‘sense of security’. ”

At present, international compliance has become the focus of many enterprises at home and abroad. In the field of compliance, Gary Gao, partner at Zhong Lun Law Firm based in Shanghai, has been recommended by corporate counsel and senior executives from multiple enterprises.

陈一琳-Elaine-Chen-华兴资本-高级法务经理-Senior-Legal-Manager-China-Renaissance-Holdings-EN

“Gao has a comprehensive and in-depth professional understanding of compliance in various regions of the world, especially in Europe, North America, Australia and the countries and regions along the Belt and Road,” says Mike Duan, legal manager of International Business Department at China Resources Power Holdings. “He not only knows the details of compliance work very well, but also has a macro vision to understand and analyze the logic behind compliance and government regulations from the global geopolitical perspective.”

段泽平-MIKE-DUAN-华润电力控股-国际业务部法务经理-Legal-manager-of-International-Business-Department-China-Resources-Power-Holdings-EN

Corporate counsel of companies at home and abroad recommend Spring Chang, Beijing-based founding partner at Chang Tsi & Partners, for her expertise in the field of intellectual property. “Chang helped both China Grand Enterprises and me in an all-round way,” says Helen Zhang, senior director of the Department of Legal Security Management at China Grand Enterprises.

“She not only gave us professional guidance at the tactical level, but also guided us at the height of strategy. Thanks to Chang, we started to understand how we should make our layout in terms of trademark as such a large company,” says Zhang.

Danny Ye, partner of JunZeJun Law Offices in Guangzhou, is another lawyer rated as “wise, calm and meticulous, and experienced in the IP field”.

“In dealing with cases, he could accurately understand the client’s demand and make valuable suggestions and strategies. It is really a good opportunity to cooperate with and learn from Ye by engaging him to deal with cases,” says Bonnie Wang, legal manager at Kingsignal Technology.

Dozens of corporate counsel and senior executives recommend James Chen, director and founding partner at Zhuoxin Law Firm, another Guangzhou-based lawyer, and many of them are his long-term clients. Zhang Gongquan, audit and legal manager at Jinling Electrical, says that Chen has acted as a long-term legal counsel for the company for nine years, during which time he provided the company with professional, comprehensive and considerable legal service and support.

“Chen helped the company resolve major legal risks several times and represented the company in significant cases, including legal rights protection, defending malicious claims and changes in shareholding. In all of these cases, he showcased superb professionalism and broad international vision. He is a rare top foreign lawyer in China,” he adds.

Beijing-based Zhu Xiaohui, managing partner of Tian Yuan Law Firm, is rated by clients as the “most authoritative investment lawyer”.

“In addition to his exquisite understanding of capital operation, state-owned assets management and fiscal and taxation practices, his insight into industrial trends, industrial cycles and changes in the capital market can help investors to better complete each transaction,” said Frank Liu, general manager of the Risk Management Department at Sino IC Capital. “Sometimes only when it’s really time to exit did we find that the investment timing in the past was such a delicate choice.”

余峰-Frank-Liu-华芯投资管理-风险管理部总经理-General-manager-of-Risk-Management-Department-Sino-IC-Capital-EN

In the field of labour law, Liang Feng, senior partner of Jincheng Tongda & Neal based in Beijing, is recommended by Bi Liyan, deputy general manager of the Legal Division at China Minmetals Corporation.

“With profound knowledge of law, high efficiency and quality, Liang is a calm lawyer and excels in negotiation and organization. He helped us in steadily implementing ‘democratic procedures’ in a major restructuring project, ensuring the rights and interests of employees and reaching the restructuring goal at the same time. He is a reliable labour lawyer good at solving complex problems,” she says.

The legal director of a financial services company says that Wu Libei, senior partner of Dentons in Beijing, has a unique understanding of finance. “He is good at quickly summarizing relevant legal issues in a complicated business arrangement, while ensuring the realization of the business objective by legal means or measures. He is an excellent finance and business lawyer,”
he says.

Li Yi, general manager of Sinosteel Epoch, says that he has worked with Wu for more than five years and was very impressed by his deep legal foundation, rich practical experience and comprehensive problem-solving ability. “Now, I will ask for his professional opinions when making major business decisions or major project investment decisions, and regard them as an important reference for my decision-making,” he says.

CUSTOMER FIRST

In addition to profound legal knowledge and practical experience, the dedication of “customer first” is essential to elite lawyers. Che Gan, deputy manager of sales and marketing company of Taishan Gypsum, says that Washington DC and Beijing-based Helen Su, partner of Alston & Bird, impresses him with her dedication
to work.

“She is always working and ready to communicate at any time. Her dedication improves my work attitude,” he adds. “As there are differences between Chinese law and American law, she tries to explain complicated legal issues in a simple and concise way from multiple perspectives using her professional knowledge. Therefore, we are kept updated about the progress of cases.”

“Down to earth, diligent, patience”, these are the words Victor Chong, vice president, Legal & Compliance at OUE Lippo Healthcare, uses to describe Linda Qiao, senior international counsel at Rajah & Tann, Singapore.

“Given the different rules and requirements imposed by authorities in various provinces in the PRC, Linda is also resourceful when it comes to retrieving information we require to facilitate our management in decision-making and planning,” he says.

Zeng Fanhong, assistant president at Shandong Ruiying Pioneer Pharmaceutical, recommends Chen Sheng, partner of Tian Yuan Law Firm in Beijing. “In addition to paying attention to preventing legal risks and realizing business objectives clearly stated by the company, Chen also pays attention to the financial and tax effects of the transactions, as well as the potential restrictions and impacts of such transactions on the company’s future business development and capital operations. He always gives us simple and effective optimization proposals,” he says.

Zhang Xingxiang, VP for Legal, Compliance and IP ChangXin Memory Technologies, recommends Angell Xi, partner at Jingtian & Gongcheng in Shanghai. “She is the kind of lawyer I know who has both legal skills and knowledge of risk management. She is good at transforming legal compliance into a competitive advantage for clients. In addition to preforming well in the conventional lawyer business, she explored the practice of Chinese art law and quickly became a pioneer in this field,” he says.

This time we also see that many young lawyers are highly recognized by their clients, including Ray Liu, managing partner of Dorsey & Whitney’s Beijing office. “Liu is more like an American native lawyer when providing legal services for Chinese clients. He is convincing and reliable in both languages and legal knowledge,” says Li Chaotian, deputy general manager of Compliance Department at Generali China Asset Management. “As a young lawyer, Liu is more like a veteran and his legal opinions are very accurate.”

Xia Yang, the partner of Tahota Law Firm in Chengdu, is nominated by many clients, especially those from western China. She is hailed as “bright, willing-to-learn, and professional”.

“She is diligent with solid legal knowledge and rich experience and good judgment and logical analysis,” says Lei Xiaobo, manager of Financial Department at Sichuan Hongling Corporation. “She could contribute her views and thoughts on different aspects to our different economic and legal affairs. She completed all tasks we handed her. She is an excellent and reliable lawyer.”