中国进一步放宽外汇管制

0
152

国人民银行(央行)和国家外汇管理局(外汇局)在2020年5月7号联合发布了《境外机构投资者境内证券期货投资资金管理规定》(中国人民银行和国家外汇管理局公告[2020]第2号)(“《规定》”),《规定》将于2020年6月6日起生效。

《规定》的发布也呼应了外汇局早前公布的一项举措。在2019年9月,为放宽对合格境外机构投资者的外汇管控,外汇局就宣布将取消合格境外机构投资者(QFII)和人民币合格境外机构投资者(RQFII)(合称“合格投资者”)的投资额度限制。

在该《规定》下,有两项主要发展(见下文第1节和第2节),表明央行和外汇局共同努力,简化境外机构投资者境内证券期货投资资金管理要求。

取消投资额度

在《规定》发布之前,合格投资者在投资中国的证券和期货时受到境内投资额度的限制。对于每一家合格投资者,外汇局根据其管理的资产规模批准一个额度。投资额度代表了该家合格投资者可配置中国证券期货的最大金额。现在《规定》取消了这一额度限制,合格投资者可以根据他们的实际业务需求来决定境内投资额。

一体化管理

在《规定》实施之前,QFII和RQFII受制于两套不同的外汇管理规则。QFII只能用外币投资,而RQFII只能用人民币投资。现在,合格投资者可自行选择汇入外币或人民币或两种币种用于境内投资,并根据其投资的计价货币在中国开立帐户。

其它进展

(1)简化资金汇出手续。根据《规定》,合格投资者在中国已实现的收益可更及时地汇出境外。

  • 合格投资者汇出资金时,不再要求提交由中国注册会计师出具的投资收益审计报告给银行审核。
  • 合格投资者汇出资金时,可向银行提供一份以其名义出具的纳税承诺函(无需税务机关出具的纳税证明)供审核。

(2) 本地托管人数量不限。过去,每一个QFII 只能指定一名本地托管人托管其投资资产,每个RQFII只能指定最多三名本地托管人。但在实务中,一些国际机构投资者(尤其是大规模投资者)在中国境外开展业务时,倾向于指定不同的本地托管人分别托管不同的投资资产,对本地托管人数量的限制让一些合格投资者不得不针对中国市场调整业务模式。

现在,《规定》不再限制合格投资者(无论是QFII还是RQFII)批定本地托管人的数量。这样,合格投资者在中国的业务模式能够与他们的全球模式更一致。

(3) 简化帐户管理。如果合格投资者只想为其在中国的投资开立一个人民币结算帐户,可以直接开立该帐户,而在过去,合格投资者在开立人民币结算帐户前还须开立一个人民币基本存款帐户。

总结

近年来,我们看到,中国监管机构为吸引更多投资到中国市场逐步放开对合格投资者的限制。《规定》是监管机构进一步放宽限制的又一个举措,旨在鼓励更多资金流入境内,提高交易效率。

《规定》将吸引更多来自外国投资者的投资进入中国的证券和期货市场,助力A股的投资渠道从股票市场互联互通机制过渡到合格投资者机制。《规定》有望帮助中国建立一个外国机构投资者更深度参与的更有活力的资本市场。

《商法摘要》由贝克·麦坚时律师事务所协助提供,内容仅供参考之用。读者如欲开展与本栏内容相关之工作,须寻求专业法律意见。读者可通过以下电邮与贝克·麦坚时联系:张大年(上海)danian.zhang@bakermckenzie.com

China further liberalizes currency controls

0
51

On 7 May 2020, the People’s Bank of China (PBOC) and the State Administration of Foreign Exchange (SAFE) jointly issued the Administrative Measures on Funds Used by Foreign Institutional Investors for Domestic Securities and Futures Investment (PBOC and SAFE Announcement [2020] No. 2), which will come into effect on 6 June 2020.

The issuance of the administrative measures echoes an earlier public announcement made by the SAFE, in September 2019, on the proposed repeal of inbound investment quotas applicable to qualified foreign institutional investors (QFIIs) and renminbi-qualified foreign institutional investors (RQFIIs – together with QFIIs, the “FIIs”) with an aim to liberalize the currency control policies over FIIs.

Under the administrative measures, there are two key developments (set out in sections 1 and 2 below) that demonstrate the joint efforts made by the PBOC and SAFE to streamline and simplify the formalities in relation to investments into the PRC securities and futures market by foreign institutional investors.

No more investment quota

Prior to issuance of the administrative measures, the securities and futures investments by FIIs into China were subject to an inbound investment quota. One quota would be approved by the SAFE for each FII, based on the volume of assets under the management of each particular FII. The investment quota is the maximum amount of capital an FII may inject into China for domestic securities and futures investments. Such an investment quota is now repealed by the administrative measures, and FIIs may determine inbound investment amounts based on their actual business needs.

Unified approach

QFIIs and RQFIIs have previously been subject to two separate currency control rules, before the administrative measures were in place. QFIIs were required to invest only in foreign currency, and RQFIIs only in renminbi. Now, an FII may elect to inject foreign currency or renminbi, or both, for its inbound investments at its own discretion, and open accounts in China according to the denomination currency of its investment.

Other developments

(1) Simplified formalities for fund repatriation funds earned by FIIs in China can now be remitted out of China in a more timely manner pursuant to the administrative measures.

  • The audit report of investment earnings issued by a PRC certified public accountant is no longer required for verification by banks when FIIs repatriate funds.
  • An FII can now provide a letter of undertaking issued in its own name (as opposed to a tax payment certificate issued by tax authority) for verification by banks for fund repatriation.

(2) Unlimited number of local custodians. In the past, each QFII has been allowed to appoint only one local custodian for the custody of its investment assets, while each RQFII may appoint up to three local custodians. However, in practice, some international (especially large-scale) institutional investors tend to segregate their investment assets for custody by different local custodians when they undertake businesses outside China, and such restrictions on the number of local custodians made some FIIs adapt their business model specifically for the PRC market.

Under the administrative measures, there is no longer any limitation on the number of local custodians that an FII (be it a QFII or RQFII) may appoint. This new development will enable FIIs to align their business models in China more with their global practice.

(3) Simplified account arrangement. If an FII only desires to open one renminbi settlement account for its investments in China, it may directly open such an account, while in the past, another renminbi basic deposit account was required to be opened before an FII could open its renminbi settlement account.

Conclusions

In recent years, we have witnessed the gradual liberalization in the FII regime by PRC regulators in order to attract more investment into China. The issuance of the administrative measures is another endeavour made for such liberalization, by encouraging more inbound fund flow and enhancing transaction efficiency.

The administrative measures will attract more interest from foreign institutional investors in the PRC securities and futures market, and contribute to the transition of the A-share investment channel from the Stock Connect regime into the FII regime, and hopefully, to a more vibrant PRC capital market with deeper involvement from foreign institutional investors.

Business Law Digest is compiled with the assistance of Baker McKenzie. Readers should not act on this information without seeking professional legal advice. You can contact Baker McKenzie by e-mailing Danian Zhang (Shanghai) at danian.zhang@bakermckenzie.com