中美第一阶段经贸协议中的挑战

作者: 倪建林,大成律师事务所
0
438

美两国于2020年1月15日正式签署《第一阶段经贸协议》,历时近两年不断升级并对世界经济造成不确定影响的中美贸易摩擦终于暂缓。

机遇与挑战

从协议约定的具体内容来看,将会带来如下的影响和挑战:

trade
倪建林
大成律师事务所
高级合伙人

(1)中国将会增加对美国工业制成品、农产品、能源产品和服务的进口。由于从美国进口商品的增加,在进出口总体平衡的考量下,可能会导致从其他贸易伙伴的进口相应减少,其他贸易伙伴是否因贸易平衡会采取相应的对等措施,还有待观察。同时,承诺的进口额提升,最终如何通过企业落实完成,也存在着一定的不确定性。

(2)知识产权的国内立法、司法和执法体系将面临调整与修改。协议要求对侵犯商业秘密的举证责任倒置要求,降低侵犯商业秘密案件启动刑事执法的门槛要求,打击盗版与假冒产品的执法要求,都非常具体,国内相关立法、司法和执法体系的调整势在必行。

(3)中国的金融服务业面临着更多外国金融服务提供者进入国内市场的竞争压力。按照WTO服务贸易总协定最惠国待遇原则,中国提供给美国金融服务提供商的优惠待遇,可能会引发WTO其他成员方的相应要求,事实上中央政府宣布的金融服务业开放时间表,是针对所有外国金融服务提供者。如何在金融服务已提前开放的情况下,保证国家的金融安全,也是中国需要迫切考虑的问题。

(4)下一阶段协议谈判何时展开不明朗,已加征关税的退坡不确定性对出口企业仍有较大压力。第一阶段协议的达成并没有完全消除中美之间已互相加征的关税措施,中国输美商品2500亿美元商品仍受加征25%关税和1200亿美元商品仍受加征7.5%关税的影响,第一阶段协议的达成能否减缓中国对美出口下滑趋势还有待观察。

应对与建议

《第一阶段协议》虽然仅限于知识产权、技术转让、农产品贸易、金融服务和汇率问题等有限的议题,但也对相关的国内立法、司法、执法和产业调整产生较大的影响。笔者认为应主动应对,化挑战为机遇,为中国经济的高质量发展赢得更好的发展环境。

(1)加快修订国内相关立法、司法和执法程序,落实第一阶段协议内容。相关立法和执法体系的调整,有利于我们建立更加完善的知识产权保护立法和执法体系,为企业创造更加法治化的营商环境,吸引更多的外国投资者来华投资。

(2)对因受全球供应链调整影响而导致出口下滑的国内制造业和出口企业,应加强跟踪分析研究。推广贸易调整援助试点,对影响较大的重点企业考虑采取国际通行的贸易调整援助,进一步稳定外贸出口和就业形势。同时应密切跟踪可能受影响较大的农业和制造业等相关产业,适时调整国内相关产业政策,提高国内相关产业的竞争力。

(3)加强中美贸易摩擦应对培训,引导相关企业配合其进口商积极开展产品排除申请。产品替代性强且容易受供应链调整影响大的劳动密集型企业,可以考虑合理转移部分产能至综合成本更低的国家和地区,在符合原产地规则的前提下规避部分加征关税措施的影响。

(4)密切关注美国、欧盟和日本已发布的联合声明和CPTPP(《全面与进步跨太平洋伙伴关系协定》)、USMCA(《美墨加三国协议》)等主要区域贸易协定及双边自贸协定的进展。美欧日于2020年1月14日发布的第七次联合声明,内容涉及修改WTO现行产业补贴规则、强制技术转让、市场化条件、电子商务国际规则和发展中国家的先进WTO成员在WTO谈判的承诺问题。补贴、国有企业和产业政策等问题将可能是中美下一阶段协议谈判所涉及的结构性改革的重要议题,中国对此必须做好充分准备。

(5)加快自贸区改革试验,建立对标高标准国际经贸规则的自贸区贸易投资便利化和金融监管政策,以尽快适应更高标准的国际经贸规则。中国目前已建立沿海省份全覆盖、引领中西部发展以及面向地区开放的边境自贸、遍及全国的18个自贸区新格局。中国目前已签署17份双边自贸协定,应推动更多双边自贸协定的谈判以及尽快推动RCEP(《区域全面经济伙伴关系协定》)的签署,以应对复杂多变的国际经贸环境。

作者:大成律师事务所高级合伙人倪建林

trademark大成律师事务所
上海市浦东新区银城中路501号
上海中心15/16层 邮编: 200120 
电话: +86 21 5878 5888
传真: +86 21 5878 6866
电子信箱:
jianlin.ni@dentons.cn
www.dentons.com

Challenges posed by China-US phase one economic and trade agreement

By Ni Jianlin, Dentons
0
205

China and the US officially executed the phase one economic and trade agreement on 15 January 2020, finally calling a truce in China-US trade frictions that had been continually escalating for close to two years, causing uncertainty in the global economy.

Opportunities, challenges

From the specific provisions of the agreement it can be seen that it will have the following effects and pose the following challenges:

trade
Ni Jianlin
Senior Partner
Dentons

(1) China will increase its imports of American industrial manufactured products, agricultural products, energy products and services. Due to the increase of imports from the US, under considerations of maintaining an overall import and export balance, imports from other trading partners may decrease accordingly. It remains to be seen if other trading partners will take corresponding countermeasures in consequence of the trade balance. Additionally, how the import increase committed to will ultimately be implemented through enterprises is somewhat uncertain;

(2) The domestic legislative, judicial and law enforcement systems relating to intellectual property will face adjustments and revisions. The agreement requires shifting of the burden of proof for trade secret misappropriation, lowering of the threshold for initiating criminal enforcement in trade secrets misappropriation cases, and enforcement combating the pirating and counterfeiting of products, all of which are very specific and will necessarily result in adjustments in the relevant domestic legislative, judicial and law enforcement systems.

(3) China’s financial services industry will face competitive pressures from the entry of more foreign financial services providers into the domestic market. Based on the most favoured nation principle in the WTO’s General Agreement on Trade in Services, the provision by China of favourable treatment to US financial services providers could trigger similar demands from other WTO members. In fact, the timetable for opening up the financial services industry announced by the central government is aimed at all foreign financial services providers. How to ensure the financial security of the state where financial services are opened up ahead of schedule is a question that China needs to urgently address.

(4) When the negotiations on the next-phase agreement are to commence is unclear, and the uncertainty as to when the additional tariffs that have been imposed will be lifted is still weighing quite heavily on export enterprises. The phase-one agreement that has been reached has not completely eliminated the tariffs that China and the US imposed on each other, with US$250 billion worth of goods shipped to the US from China still affected by duties of 25%, and US$120 billion worth of US goods still affected by duties of 7.5%. It remains to be seen whether the phase-one agreement will put a brake on the slide in Chinese exports to the US.

Response, recommendations

Although the phase-one agreement is limited to a small range of issues such as intellectual property, technology transfer, trade in agricultural products, financial services and exchange rates, it nonetheless has a relatively large impact on relevant domestic legislation, adjudication, law enforcement and industrial adjustment. The author would argue that it is necessary to respond proactively, transform challenges into opportunities, and win a better development environment for the high-quality development of China’s economy.

(1) Accelerate the revision of relevant domestic legislative, judicial and law
enforcement procedures, and implement the provisions of the phase-one agreement. Adjustment of the relevant legislative and law enforcement systems would be conducive to the establishment of sounder intellectual property protection legislative and law enforcement systems, creation of a more legally grounded business environment for enterprises, and attraction of more foreign investors to invest in China.

(2) Domestic manufacturing and export enterprises whose exports have decreased due to the impact of global supply chain adjustments should strengthen their tracking analysis and study. Promote a pilot trade adjustment assistance project and consider adopting internationally accepted trade adjustment assistance for key enterprises that are relatively influential, so as to further stabilise the foreign trade export and employment situation. Additionally, such relevant industries as agriculture and manufacturing, which may have been relatively seriously impacted, should be closely tracked, and relevant domestic industrial policy adjusted as appropriate so as to enhance the competitiveness of the relevant domestic industries.

(3) Strengthen training on how to respond to China-US trade friction and guide relevant enterprises in co-operating with their importers in actively filing product exclusion requests. Labour-intensive enterprises with products that are easily substituted, and that tend to be relatively seriously impacted by supply chain adjustments, can consider rationally moving part of their production capacity to countries or regions where overall costs are lower and, while complying with rule of origin, avoiding the impact of certain higher tariff measures.

(4) Pay close attention to the joint statements issued by the US, EU and Japan, and the progress of major regional trade agreements such as the CPTPP (Comprehensive Progressive Trans-Pacific Partnership), USMCA (US-Mexico-Canada Agreement), etc., and bilateral free trade agreements. The contents of the seventh joint statement issued by the US, EU and Japan on 14 January 2020 touch upon such issues as revision of the current WTO industrial subsidy rules, enforced technology transfers, market-oriented conditions, international e-commerce rules, and the commitments by developing countries to advanced WTO members in WTO negotiations.

Such issues as subsidies, state-owned enterprises and industrial policy could be major topics of structural reform touched upon in the negotiations for the next-phase China-US agreement, for which China must adequately prepare.

(5) Accelerate the free trade zone pilot reforms and adopt free trade zone trade and investment facilitation, and financial regulation policies that align with the high standards of international economic and trade rules, so as to be able to rapidly adapt to international economic and trade rules of even higher standards. As of now, China has established 18 free trade zones that fully cover new border-free trade zones and the littoral provinces, lead the development of central and western China, and are aimed at regional opening up. China is now a contracting party to 17 bilateral free trade agreements (FTAs) and should push for negotiations on more such bilateral agreements, as well as push for the execution of the RCEP (Regional Comprehensive Economic Partnership) as soon as possible, so as to respond to the complex and ever-changing international economic and trade environment.

Ni Jianlin is a senior partner at Dentons.

tradeDentons
15th/16th Floor, Shanghai Tower
501 Yincheng Road (M), Pudong New Area
Shanghai 200120, China
Tel: +86 21 5878 5888
Fax: +86 21 5878 6866
E-mail:
jianlin.ni@dentons.cn
www.dentons.com