中国清廉指数排名提升

0
463
CPI

明国际(TI)于2020年1月23日发布了2019年清廉感知指数(CPI)。透明国际的报告显示,亚太地区在反腐败工作方面尚未取得实质性进展。亚太区域平均清廉感知指数为45分,此前连续多年平均指数为44分。因此,透明国际认为该地区反腐工作普遍停滞不前。然而中国的全球清廉感知指数排名提高了七位,分数提高了两分。中国各行各业正持续进行积极的反腐行动。

2019年清廉感知指数亮点

清廉感知指数仍然是企业减轻和管理其在外国业务中腐败风险的重要指标。2019年,清廉感知指数采用了13份调查及专家测评去衡量180个国家和地区的公共部门,对每个国家和地区进行从0(高度腐败)到100(高度廉洁)的评分。

2019年清廉感知指数部分亮点

  • 中国全球排名提升七位至第80名;
  • 澳大利亚提升一位至第12名;
  • 马来西亚排名上升10位至第51名;
  • 印度尼西亚升高了四位,升至第85名;
  • 越南上升11位至第96位;而
  • 新加坡排名下降一名至第四位;
  • 日本下降了两位至第20位;
  • 印度下降了两位至第80位;以及
  • 香港下降了两位,排在第16位。

代表意义

企业应当密切关注那些指数排名靠后的国家和地区,仔细确认先前可能未发现的合规风险。在中国开展业务的公司应保持警惕,注意依赖于第三方关系(例如代理商或中介机构)的政府接触和业务模式所产生的
风险。

中国政府不仅在持续努力打击腐败,而且也扩大了需解决的各种合规不当行为的范围。关键举措有社会信用系统(SCS)下建立的信息共享平台,这将使中国各个监管机构在处理不当及诈骗行为时采取一致行动。另一重要举措为最近出台了关于中国企业的合规管理指南,涵盖了包括贿赂在内的所有风险领域。该指南建议公司在从全局角度审视其合规项目,以便将因不同合规和监管而引起的潜在风险降至
最低。

《商法摘要》由贝克·麦坚时律师事务所协助提供,内容仅供参考之用。读者如欲开展与本栏内容相关之工作,须寻求专业法律意见。读者可通过以下电邮与贝克·麦坚时联系:张大年(上海)danian.zhang@bakermckenzie.com

China’s CPI ranking improves

0
165
CPI

Transparency International (TI) released its 2019 Corruption Perceptions Index (CPI) on 23 January 2020. TI reports that the Asia-Pacific region has not witnessed substantial progress in anti-corruption efforts. With a regional average CPI score of 45, after many consecutive years of an average of 44, TI considers that there is a general stagnation across the region. Nevertheless, China’s global CPI ranking has improved by seven places, while its CPI score improved by two points. China continues to see active anti-corruption enforcement across different industries.

Highlights of 2019 CPI

The CPI continues to be an important gauge by companies in mitigating and managing corruption risks for their businesses in foreign countries. The 2019 CPI draws on 13 surveys and expert assessments to measure public sector corruption in 180 countries and territories, giving each a score from zero (highly corrupt) to 100 (very clean).

Some highlights of the 2019 CPI:

  • China’s global ranking improved seven places to equal No. 80;
  • Australia moved up one rank to No. 12;
  • Malaysia up 10 places to No. 51;
  • Indonesia moved up four places to No. 85;
  • Vietnam moved up 11 places to No. 96; while
  • Singapore moved down one place to No. 4;
  • Japan moved down two places to No. 20;
  • India moved down two places to equal No. 80; and
  • Hong Kong moved down two places to No. 16.

What it means for you

Companies should pay closer attention to those countries and regions that score poorly on the index, and identify any compliance risks that may be previously undetected. Companies doing business in China should remain alert to risks arising from government touch-points and business models that rely upon third-party relationships such as agents or intermediaries.

The central government is not only continuing efforts to combat bribery, but has widened its lens to tackle all manner of compliance misconduct. A key indicator is the establishment of an information sharing platform under the Social Credit System (SCS), which will allow various Chinese regulators to act in concert when tackling various misconduct and fraud. Another important example is the recent guidance on compliance management for Chinese companies covering all areas of risk, including bribery. It is therefore recommended that companies adopt a holistic approach when reviewing their compliance programmes so that potential exposures arising from different compliance and regulatory risks can be minimized.

Business Law Digest is compiled with the assistance of Baker McKenzie. Readers should not act on this information without seeking professional legal advice. You can contact Baker McKenzie by e-mailing Danian Zhang (Shanghai) at danian.zhang@bakermckenzie.com.