华人法律先锋

0
379
在英语和汉语中正义概念的术语

期《商法》标志着本月刊创刊10周年,是具有重要里程碑意义的一期。本期专栏作为第100期《商法词汇》专栏也同样极具标志性意义。我在此真诚感谢我们的读者在过去10年给予我们的支持和关注。

在本期《商法》出刊之际,我们刚刚走过2019年,2019年是中华人民共和国成立70周年。新华社在2019年10月1日写道:“今天,让我们…向共和国的英雄和先锋致敬。”

本期专栏也本着同样的精神向奋斗在普通法系国家和地区的华人法律先锋致敬,即,在历史上在澳大利亚、英国、美国和加拿大这些普通法系国家的法律行业奋斗的华人先锋。本期文章将首先解释“先锋”一词在中文和英文中的含义,以及如何定义法律先锋。然后我们将讨论几位最知名的华人法律先锋,列举他们的开拓性成就和特点。

先锋的含义

中文的“先锋”一词包含两个字:“先”(意指“第一”或者“前面”)和“锋”(意指“锐利或尖端的部分,比如剑或者刀”)。“锋”和“前”(意指“前面”)组合成“前锋”一词,指一支军队的先头部队或尖兵。

英文的“先锋”(“pioneer”)一词来源于古法文单词“peonier”,指步兵。“步兵”的同意词就是“尖兵”(“vanguard”),这个英文单词也来源于古法语单词,字面意思是“在守卫的前面”。它最开始用来形容“先遣部队”,即一支军队中的领头部队。

You must be a subscriber to read this content, or you can register for free to enjoy the current issue.

该部分内容仅提供予《商法》订阅会员。你可以订阅去解锁所有内容。你也可以免费注册去浏览最新一期的内容。

葛安德 Andrew Godwin

葛安德以前是年利达律师事务所上海代表处合伙人,现在墨尔本法学院教授法律,担任该法学院亚洲法研究中心的副主任。葛安德的著作《商法词汇:法律概念的翻译和诠释》重新汇编了其在本刊“商法词汇”专栏撰写的所有文章。该书由Vantage Asia出版。如欲订购,请即登录 www.vantageasia.com

Chinese legal pioneers

0
75

This issue of the China Business Law Journal is a significant milestone as it marks the 10th anniversary of the journal. Similarly, this column is a significant milestone as it is the 100th column of Lexicon. I am sincerely grateful to readers for their support and interest over the past decade.

The issue also comes just after the end of 2019, which was the year that marked the 70th anniversary of the founding of the People’s Republic of China. As reported by Xinhua News on 1 October 2019: “Today enables us to pay tribute to the heroes and pioneers of the Republic”.

In a similar vein, this column pays tribute to Chinese legal pioneers in common law jurisdictions; namely, Chinese people who have been pioneers of the legal profession in the common law jurisdictions of Australia, the UK, the US and Canada. The column commences by outlining the meaning of “pioneer” in Chinese and English, and how the term might be applied to legal pioneers. It then discusses some of the most famous Chinese legal pioneers by highlighting their pioneering achievements and characteristics.

Meaning of pioneer

The Chinese term for “pioneer” (先锋) consists of the character xian (先), meaning “first” or “front”, and feng (锋), meaning the point or sharp edge of a tool such as a sword or knife. When feng is combined with the character qian (前), meaning “front”, the resulting compound qianfeng (前锋) refers to the spearhead or vanguard of an army.

Similarly, the English word “pioneer” is derived from the Old French word “peonier”, which means a foot soldier. A synonym of “pioneer” is “vanguard”, which is also based on Old French and literally means “before guard”. It was first used to refer to the “advance guard”; namely, the leading unit at the front of an army.

You must be a subscriber to read this article, or you can register for free to enjoy the current issue.

该部分内容仅提供予《商法》订阅会员。你可以订阅去解锁所有内容。你也可以免费注册去浏览最新一期的内容。

Commercial courts
葛安德
Andrew Godwin

A former partner of Linklaters Shanghai, Andrew Godwin teaches law at Melbourne Law School in Australia, where he is an associate director of its Asian Law Centre. Andrew’s new book is a compilation of China Business Law Journal’s popular Lexicon series, entitled China Lexicon: Defining and translating legal terms. The book is published by Vantage Asia and available at www.vantageasia.com.