中法商标法之比较

作者: 黄晖、康保罗,万慧达知识产权
0
180

中法两国在商标立法的真实使用与容忍度方面各有千秋

2019年11月13日,法国颁布法令修改了商标法,使其与2015年《欧洲商标指令》保持一致。这一变动有着重要的意义,而从真实使用和容忍度两个最重要的方面比较法国新商标法和现行中国商标法,就颇有意义。

真实使用:商标对抗他人的前提条件

第L.716-3条与中国《商标法》第四十九条体现的原则相同:注册商标在一定期限内未使用的,任何人撤销该注册商标的请求,可能导致商标被撤销。而宽限期长短各不相同(欧洲和法国为五年,中国为三年),但原则是一样的:不使用可能导致商标被撤销。

trademark
黄晖
万慧达知识产权高级合伙人

法国的新商标法还对真实使用的缺位规定了另一个严重后果:未使用过的商标不可对抗他人。

实践中,当商标注册超过五年,商标注册人对使用争议商标的第三人提出异议、无效宣告或者提起民事诉讼的,该第三人可以要求商标注册人在一定日期之前证明其确实使用了其商标。如果不能证明真实使用过,将导致商标注册人的请求被拒绝。

需要证明使用的截止日期取决于商标注册人行动的类型。对于异议,该日期为争议商标的申请日(或优先权日)。对于宣告无效的请求,该日期为此请求的申请日和争议商标的申请日(或优先权日),必须证明在这两个时间段内确实使用了该商标。最后,对于侵权之诉,该日期是向法院提起侵权诉讼的日期。

中国法律在一定程度上与上述规则有相似之处。第六十四条规定,侵权诉讼的被告可以要求原告证明其在发起诉讼前三年期间使用了该商标,即使原告的商标注册时间不足三年。未能提供使用证据的结果是免除被告的侵权经济责任,除非原告能够证明存在其他损失。同时,即使原告商标已注册三年以上且仍未使用,法院仍应裁定侵权并责令其停止。

bad faith
康保罗
万慧达知识产权合伙人

中国法与法国新法律有两个主要区别。区别其一在于,在法国,无论是行政还是民事案件,商标的使用是所有案件获得支持的必要条件,而不仅仅是获得损害赔偿的条件。

区别其二在于,法国商标法规定内容不包括商标注册后的头五年,而中国法律则未将这一期限(三年)纳入考虑。这意味着原告根据其新注册(但仍未使用)的商标无法获得任何赔偿。

中国也许能从法国模式中获得一些启发:它可能有助于避免“朽木”商标(之前未使用的商标)同后来商标之间的人为冲突。

容忍与共存

在一定时间内,如果注册商标所有人容忍后注册的相同或类似的商标用在相同或类似的商品或服务上,一旦超过该时间,就不应提起无效或侵权的请求。

容忍的概念是明确的:这个词不言自明。然而,这可能是中国和欧洲/法国法律分歧最大的问题之一。

虽然容忍的概念在欧洲和法国体系中有严格的定义,但在中国商标法中只是间接提及。仅在北京高级人民法院最近于2019年4月24日发布的一份名为“指南”的文件中以非常模糊和开放式的措辞提及。

在欧洲和法国,如果在先商标所有人容忍在后注册的商标连续使用五年,同时知晓这种使用,则不再接受其宣告在后商标无效的请求或提请侵权诉讼(法国商标法L.716-2-8和L.716-4-5)。当然,如果在后注册商标是恶意申请的,则不适用五年限制。

在中国,无论商标是否已经使用,注册五年后即不得提起无效诉讼(《商标法》第四十五条第一款)。五年期限是自动的。唯一的例外情况是,无效宣告请求是由在先驰名商标(即在后商标申请注册时已经驰名的商标)提出的,该在先驰名商标还需要能够证明在后商标是恶意申请注册。

北京高级人民法院《指南》(15.4)提及在后商标注册申请受到质疑的情况,对共存概念作了不同的阐释:

“……若诉争商标的申请人主观并无恶意,且基于特定历史原因诉争商标与引证商标长期共存,形成既定市场格局,当事人主张不会导致相关公众发生混淆的,可以认定不构成近似商标……”

欧盟和法国关注的是先注册商标所有人的态度(如果他容忍这种情况足够长的时间,他就不能再起诉),而中国则要么依赖一个确定的时间(超过这一时间就不可能宣布无效),或者考察一些未定义的“历史原因”或“长期并存”等概念,却没有提及在先商标所有人是否知晓在后商标的使用,或者是否在知情前提下没有采取任何行动,或是否表达反对意见。

黄晖是万慧达知识产权高级合伙人。他的联系方式为电话 +86 10 6892 1000转201 以及电邮 huanghui@wanhuida.com

康保罗是万慧达知识产权合伙人。他的联系方式为电话 +86 10 6892 1000 转388 以及电邮 ranjard@wanhuida.com

bad faith

北京市海淀区中关村南大街一号
友谊宾馆颐园写字楼 邮编:100873
电话: +86 10 6892 1000
传真: +86 10 6894 8030
www.wanhuida.com

French and Chinese trademark laws: A comparison

By Huang Hui and Paul Ranjard, Wanhuida Intellectual Property
0
298

China and France diverge in major aspects of trademark legislation such as genuine use and tolerance.

French trademark law was devised by an ordinance dated 13 November 2019, which brought French law in line with the European Trademark Directive of 2015. This implied profound changes and it is interesting to draw a comparison between the new French law and China’s current Trademark Law in two important aspects: genuine use and tolerance.

Genuine use: a prerequisite condition for enforcement of the trademark. Article L.716-3 of the French law poses the same principle as article 49 of China’s Trademark Law: If a registered trademark is not used for a certain length of time, it may be revoked upon the request of any person. The duration of the grace period is different (five years for Europe and France, three years for China), but the principle is the same – no use may cause revocation of the trademark.

trademark
Huang Hui
Senior Partner
Wanhuida Intellectual Property

The new French law provides another drastic consequence to the absence of genuine use – an unused trademark cannot be enforced. In practice, when a trademark has been registered for more than five years, if the trademark registrant files an opposition, an invalidation or a civil litigation against a third party using a contested trademark, such third party may request the trademark registrant to justify that it has genuinely been using its trademark before a certain date. Failure to prove such genuine use will cause the request to be refused.

The date before which the use needs to be proven depends on the type of action. For an opposition, the date is the filing date (or priority date) of the contested trademark. For an invalidation action, the date is the filing date of the invalidation request and the filing date (or priority date) of the contested trademark, and it is necessary to prove that the genuine use had taken place during both periods. And finally, for an infringement action, the date is the filing date of the infringement action before the court.

trademark
Paul Ranjard
Partner
Wanhuida Intellectual Property

The Chinese law shows, to a certain degree, some similarities. Article 64 provides that the defendant to an infringement action may request the plaintiff to prove that it has used the trademark during the three years preceding the introduction of the action, even if the plaintiff’s trademark has been registered for less than three years. Failure to bring such evidence of use results in the defendant’s being exonerated from the financial liability for infringement, unless the plaintiff is able to prove other losses. Meanwhile, the court shall still rule on the infringement and order the activity to stop, even if the plaintiff’s trademark has been registered more than three years and is still not used.

There are two main differences with the new French law. The first is that in France the use condition is a requisite for acceptation of all cases, whether administrative or civil, in their entirety, not just a condition for obtaining damages. The second difference is that, while French law excludes the first five years following the registration of the trademark, Chinese law does not take this period (three years) into consideration. This means that a plaintiff who acts on the basis of its newly registered (but still unused) trademark, cannot obtain any compensation. China might find some inspiration in the French model; it might help avoiding artificial conflicts between dead wood (prior unused trademarks) and later trademarks.

Tolerance and coexistence

When a registered trademark owner tolerates the use of a later identical or similar trademark registered for identical or similar goods or services, during a certain time, it should be precluded from taking invalidation or infringement action, once such time has expired. The concept of tolerance is clear – the word is self-explanatory. Yet, this is probably one of the issues where China and European/French law diverge the most.

While the concept of tolerance is strictly defined in the European and French systems, it is only indirectly mentioned in China’s Trademark Law, in very vague and open terms, in a document called “Guidelines”, recently issued by the Beijing High People’s Court, on 24 April 2019.

In Europe and France, if the earlier trademark owner has tolerated the use of a later registered trademark for a period of five consecutive years, while being aware of such use, it is no longer admitted to request the invalidation of the later trademark or to take infringement action (articles L.716-2-8 and L.716-4-5 in the French law). Of course, if the later trademark has been filed in bad faith, the five-year limit does not apply.

In China, regardless of whether a trademark has been used or not, five years after its registration, no invalidation action is possible (article 45.1 of the Trademark Law). The five-year period is automatic. The only exception is where the invalidation is requested by an earlier well-known trademark (i.e., a trademark that was already well known when the later trademark was applied for registration) that, in addition, is able to prove that the later trademark has been filed in bad faith.

The Beijing High People’s Court Guidance (article 15.4), which concerns cases where the application for registration of a later trademark is challenged, sheds a different light on the concept of coexistence:

“If the applicant of the litigious trademark has no bad faith, and due to specific historical reasons, the litigious trademark and the cited trademark have been coexisting for a long time, so much so that an established market pattern has been formed, where a party concerned claims that the coexistence of the two trademarks will not cause confusion among the relevant public, these trademarks may be determined to be dissimilar…”

Where the EU and France focus on the earlier registered trademark owner’s attitude (if he/she tolerated the situation long enough that he/she can no longer complain), China relates on either a fixed time (beyond which no invalidation is possible), or some undefined concepts such as “historical reasons” or “coexisting for a long time”. No mention is made of whether the earlier trademark owner has known the use of the later trademark, or whether, knowing it, he/she has refrained from taking any action or, on the contrary, has expressed disagreement.

Paul Ranjard is a partner at Wanhuida Intellectual Property. He can be contacted on +86 10 6892 1000 (ext. 388) or by email at ranjard@wanhuida.com

Huang Hui is a partner at Wanhuida Intellectual Property. He can be contacted on +86 10 6892 1000 (ext. 201) or by email at huanghui@wanhuida.com

trademark

Wanhuida Intellectual Property
Yiyuan Office Building, Friendship Hotel
No. 1 Zhongguancun Street South
Haidian District, Beijing 100873, China
Tel: +86 10 6892 1000
Fax: +86 10 6894 8030
www.wanhuida.com