全球大流行

0
116
民事法律程序中以影像联系方式提供证据的规则 普通法 中国大陆

语中pandemic一词源于两个希腊词:意为“所有”的pan和意为“民众”的demos。对应地,中文“全球大流行”一词则要直接得多。

在新型冠状病毒肺炎全球大流行期间,社交隔离措施、边境关闭和商业活动(包括在正常经营过程中提供商品和服务)的受限严重扰乱了国内和跨境商业当事方之间的民间合同安排。

与2007-2008年的全球金融危机等其他危机一样,合同双方当事人不可避免地将注意力集中在商业合同的条款以及各自的权利和责任上。在权利方面,相关问题包括他们是否有权终止合同或采取措施保护其经济和商业利益。在责任方面,相关问题包括他们是否对任何迟延或未能履行合同义务承担责任,以及他们可以或应当采取哪些措施以减轻可能发生的任何损失。

参照《商法词汇》旧文,本文从三个方面检视全球大流行对公司和金融交易合同的影响:重大不利变化条款、不可抗力条款和合同落空原则。本文重点讨论普通法法域如何处理以上领域的问题,同时也对其他法域的情况作比较。

重大不利变化条款

商业合同的一个主要目的是在双方当事人之间分配风险,并确定合同签署后,如果由于情势变更或不利事件的发生而导致任何商业或金融风险增加,会产生何种后果。通常,情势变更或不利事件是双方当事人在合同签署之日无法预见的。

一般而言,重大不利变化条款允许一方在发生重大不利变化时行使某些权利(关于重大不利变化条款的讨论,参见《商法》第7辑第1期《重大不利变化条款》)。该条款可能触发相关当事人终止合同、选择不履行或不继续履行合同的权利。由于其可能产生的影响,当事人及其律师常常会就重大不利变化条款进行反复磋商。

重大不利变化条款在贷款协议中很常见。发生重大不利变化,影响借款人履行义务能力的,贷款人有权拒绝向借款人提供贷款,或加速贷款到期,并要求借款人偿还所有已经借出的贷款。除贷款协议外,重大不利变化条款有时也出现在承销协议和收购协议中。

在收购协议中,重大不利变化条款可作为交割的先决条件。卖方倘未能于交割日期前满足这一条件,则买方可以终止收购协议并退出交易。

在普通法法域,重大不利变化条款按照合同法的一般原则解释。也就是说,法院将主要通过参考双方在起草条款时使用的措辞来确定双方的意图。因此,条款起草至关重要,因为它将决定何时可以触发该条款。

如果协议是在疫情全球流行后订立的,触发重大不利变化条款将更加困难。这是因为,相关当事人可以提出,大流行的影响在协议订立之日就可以预见。此外,这将变成一个举证问题,即与全球大流行有关的事件是否导致了条款所界定的重大不利变化。

因疫情全球流行起止时间的不确定,证明该事件有导致重大不利变化的可能便较为棘手。此外,还存在其他相关影响因素,例如,政府采取措施帮助企业从疫情的影响中恢复,能否享受这些措施(包括赠款和贷款)也会造成影响。

pandemics不可抗力条款

如先前文章(见《商法》第8辑第5期《不可抗力)》所述,英语中force majeure一词实际上是一个法语词,意思是“最高的力量”或“最大的优势”。这个词如何进入英语无从考证,不过由于法国《拿破仑法典》使用了该术语,它有可能是熟悉不可抗力这一术语的当事人加入英文商业合同中的。这是一个很有趣的例子,说明了最初在大陆法系法律中采用的概念是如何被使用在英国法管辖的合同中的。

通常来说,“不可抗力”是指不在合同当事人控制范围之内,并导致一方或者多方当事人不能或者延迟履行义务的不能预见的事件。要理解这个概念,需要了解两个根本性的问题:(1)“不可抗力”的定义是什么;(2)不可抗力的法律后果是什么?

英国及其他普通法法域的法律并未就不可抗力的概念提供法定定义。与许多大陆法系国家不同的是,它不是一个有法律定义的术语。相反,“不可抗力”是当事人根据其自由意思而决定是否写入合同,因此需要遵守合同解释的原则。

这些原则包括疑义利益解释原则(contra proferentem rule),也就是说,排除一方当事人责任的条款应当予以狭义解释。此外,如果一个条款约定模糊,则应当作出不利于希望援引该条款的当事人的解释。此外,证明发生不可抗力事件的责任由希望援引该条款的当事人承担。

由于不可抗力不受成文法而是由合同当事人约定的合同条款管辖,因此有关条款通常会列出属于不可抗力事件的情形。这些情形可能会包括:(1)自然灾害等天灾;(2)导致无法履行义务的法律规定和法律修改;(3)战争和内战;(4)流行病;(5)罢工。

不可抗力条款的法律后果取决于该条款是如何起草的。比如,不可抗力条款可以约定受影响的一方当事人在不可抗力事件持续期间可以暂停履行义务。或者/并且,不可抗力条款可以约定在一定期限后,一方或者双方当事人有权终止合同。通常来说,不可抗力条款会约定受影响的一方当事人有义务通知另一方当事人并且减小不可抗力的影响。

与上文讨论的重大不利变化条款的立场类似,对不可抗力事件是否因疫情全球流行相关事件而延误或妨碍履约的确定,可能因疫情起止时间以及政府为帮助企业从疫情的影响中恢复所采取的措施(包括赠款和贷款)等其他相关因素的不确定而变得棘手。

在一些国家,在发生具有广泛(超出单个公司)影响的事件的情况下,政府当局会向公司出具不可抗力证明。在受普通法法域法律规管的合同中,这些证明并无任何法律效力,除非不可抗力条款明确是由此类证明的签发触发的。然而,在不可抗力有法律依据的国家,这类证明可能具有证明力。中国国际贸易促进委员会(贸促会)于2020年1月30日宣布,该组织将提供不可抗力证明,以帮助企业处理与外国贸易伙伴因疫情管制措施而发生的纠纷。

合同落空原则

根据合同落空原则,如果发生的事件从根本上影响或阻止了合同的履行,以至于要求当事人履行责任是不公正的,合同将自动终止(关于合同落空的讨论,见《商法》第3辑第6期《“修改”与“变更”》)。

认识到不可抗力与合同落空原则之间的区别十分重要。合同落空要狭义得多,它指的是发生了某种事件,使得在实际上或商业上都不可能履行合同的情况,或将合同义务变更为与合同订立时有关一方所承担的义务全然不同的义务的情况。

合同落空的后果在于,受影响的义务将获得解除。由于适用合同落空的情况存在不确定性,合同双方当事人通常倾向于在合同中纳入不可抗力条款,而非依赖普通法中的合同落空原则。在不可抗力条款中,对已发生的事件作出明确规定的,则不会发生合同落空。此外,不可抗力条款的范围越广,能主张合同落空的范围就越窄。

如果双方在合同订立之时可以预见某一事件,则该事件不应被视为合同落空事件。鉴于2003年发生的“非典”病毒流行、2015年的中东呼吸综合征和2014-2015年的埃博拉病毒疫情,可以辩称,全球大流性不再是不可预见的事件。即便如此,在当前新冠肺炎全球大流行的背景下,相关当事人可能会将大流行的规模、公共卫生反应的严重性无法预见作为辩护理由。

在一些大陆法系国家中,以“艰难情形原则”为基础,当事人一方有权要求就合同重新谈判;若双方无法达成协议,则任何一方均有权诉诸法庭,要求法庭终止合同或变更合同内容。也有一些大陆法系国家在其国内法律中承认了上述原则,但并非所有大陆法系国家都是这样。举例而言,上述原则在德国、意大利和荷兰都获得了认可,但在法国却未被承认。

“艰难情形原则”与普通法法域的“合同落空原则”之间存在一处重大差异:根据“艰难情形原则”,法院有权变更合同内容;但根据“合同落空原则”,法院的权力仅限于裁定合同应予终止。

结语

本文从三个方面概述了全球大流行对公司和金融交易合同的影响:重大不利变化条款、不可抗力条款和合同落空原则。以上讨论既强调了这些概念的复杂性,也强调了它们的执行要受具体情况的影响,即使在新冠肺炎全球大流行的背景下亦是如此。

葛安德 Andrew Godwin

葛安德以前是年利达律师事务所上海代表处合伙人,现在墨尔本法学院教授法律,担任该法学院亚洲法研究中心的副主任。葛安德的著作《商法词汇:法律概念的翻译和诠释》重新汇编了其在本刊“商法词汇”专栏撰写的所有文章。该书由Vantage Asia出版。如欲订购,请即登录 www.vantageasia.com

Pandemics

0
141
video

The English word “pandemic” derives from two Greek words: pan meaning “all” and demos meaning “people”. The Chinese word – 全球大流行 – is much more direct, meaning “great global spread”.

During the course of the COVID-19 pandemic, the social isolation measures, the closure of borders and the restrictions on business activity (including the provision of goods and services in the ordinary course of business) have seriously disrupted private contractual arrangements between commercial parties on both a domestic and cross-border basis.

As in other crises, such as the Global Financial Crisis of 2007-2008, contracting parties inevitably focus their attention on the terms of commercial contracts and their respective rights and liabilities. In terms of rights, the relevant questions include whether they have the right to terminate contracts, or to take steps to protect their financial and commercial interests. In terms of liabilities, the relevant questions include whether they will be liable for any delay or failure in the performance of contractual obligations, and what steps they can or should take to mitigate any losses that might be incurred.

Drawing on previous Lexicons, this article examines the contractual impact of pandemics on corporate and financial transactions in three areas: material adverse change clauses; force majeure clauses; and the doctrine of frustration. The focus is on the treatment of these areas in common law jurisdictions, but the article also makes comparative reference to the position in other jurisdictions.

Material adverse change clauses

A key purpose of commercial contracts is to allocate risk between the parties, and to identify what consequence should arise if any commercial or financial risks increase as a result of a change in circumstances, or the occurrence of an adverse event after the contract was signed. Often the change in circumstances or the adverse event was not foreseeable by the parties on the date on which the contract was signed.

In general terms, a material adverse change (MAC) clause allows one party to exercise certain rights in the event that a material adverse change occurs (for a discussion about MAC clauses, see China Business Law Journal volume 7, issue 1: MAC clauses). The clause might trigger the right of the relevant party to terminate a contract, or to choose not to perform, or continue to perform, its obligations under a contract. As a result of its potential impact, an MAC clause is often heavily negotiated between the parties and their lawyers.

MAC clauses are common in the context of loan agreements, where a material adverse change that affects the ability of the borrower to perform its obligations allows the lender to refuse to advance funds to the borrower, or to accelerate the loan and demand repayment of all of the funds that have already been lent. In addition to loan agreements, MAC clauses sometimes appear in underwriting agreements and acquisition agreements.

In the context of an acquisition agreement, the MAC clause can operate as a condition precedent to completion, under which the failure to satisfy the condition by the completion date allows the purchaser to terminate the acquisition agreement and to withdraw from the transaction.

In common law jurisdictions, an MAC clause will be interpreted in accordance with the general principles of contract law, namely, the courts will ascertain the intention of the parties primarily by reference to the words that the parties have used to draft the clause. As a result, the drafting of an MAC clause is of critical importance, as it will determine when the clause can be triggered.

If the agreement was entered into after the onset of a pandemic, it will be more difficult to trigger the MAC clause, as it could be argued that the impact was foreseeable on the date of the agreement. In addition, it will be a question of proof as to whether the pandemic-related event has resulted in a material adverse change as defined by the MAC clause.

Proving the likelihood that the event will have a material adverse change will be complicated by uncertainties about the duration of the pandemic and its impact, and other relevant factors, such as the availability of government measures (including grants and loans) to assist businesses to recover from the effects of the pandemic.

pandemicsForce majeure clauses

As noted in a previous article (see China Business Law Journal volume 8, issue 5: Force majeure), the term force majeure, as used in English, is actually a French word that means “superior force” or “superior strength”. It is not certain how the term came to be used in English, but it is likely that it was inserted in English commercial contracts by parties who were familiar with the term as it was used in the French Napoleonic Code. Accordingly, it is an interesting example of how a concept that was originally embodied in the laws of a civil law jurisdiction came to be adopted for use in contracts governed by English law.

In general, force majeure refers to an unforeseen event that is outside the control of the parties to a contract, and prevents or delays the performance of obligations by one or more of the parties. Two questions are of fundamental importance in understanding how the concept works: (1) what is the definition of force majeure; and (2) what are the legal consequences of force majeure?

The laws in England and other common law jurisdictions do not provide a statutory definition of the concept of force majeure. Unlike the position in many civil law jurisdictions, it is not a term of art with a legislative definition. Instead, the concept is incorporated into contracts by the parties based on their own free will and is therefore subject to the principles of contractual interpretation.

These principles include the rule known as contra proferentem, namely, the rule that a clause excluding the liability of a party to the contract should be interpreted narrowly. Further, if the clause is ambiguous, it should be interpreted against the interests of the party who is seeking to rely on it. In addition, the burden of proving that an event of force majeure has occurred is on the party that is seeking to rely on it.

Because the concept is not governed by written law, but instead by the contractual terms between the parties, the relevant clause often lists the events that qualify as events of force majeure. These may include the following events: (1) an act of God, such as a natural disaster; (2) laws and changes in law that prevent the performance of obligations; (3) war and civil disturbance; (4) epidemics; and (5) strikes.

The legal consequences of a force majeure clause will depend on how the clause is drafted. For example, the clause may suspend the performance of obligations by the affected party for the period that the event of force majeure continues. Alternatively, or in addition, the clause may provide that one or both of the parties have the right to terminate the contract after a certain period of time. In general, the clause will provide that the affected party has an obligation to notify the other party, and to mitigate the effects of the force majeure.

Similar to the position with an MAC clause as discussed above, a determination of whether a force majeure event has delayed or prevented performance as a result of a pandemic-related event may be complicated by uncertainties about the duration of the pandemic and other relevant factors, such as government measures (including grants and loans) to assist businesses to recover from the effects of the pandemic.

In some countries, government authorities issue companies with force majeure certificates in circumstances where an event has occurred that has a broad impact (i.e., an impact beyond an individual company). These do not have any legal effect under contracts governed by the law of common law jurisdictions, except where the force majeure clause is expressly triggered by the issue of such a certificate. They are, however, likely to have probative force in countries where force majeure has a legislative basis. The China Council for the Promotion of International Trade (CCPIT) announced on 30 January 2020 that it would offer force majeure certificates to help companies deal with disputes with foreign trading partners arising from epidemic control measures.

Doctrine of frustration

Under the doctrine of frustration, a contract will automatically be terminated if an event occurs that so fundamentally affects or prevents the performance of the contract that it would be unjust to require the parties to perform their obligations (for a discussion of frustration, see China Business Law Journal volume 3, issue 6: Amend or modify?).

It is important to be aware of the difference between force majeure and the doctrine of frustration. Frustration is much narrower and refers to the situation where an event occurs that renders it physically or commercially impossible to perform the contract, or changes the obligation into a radically different obligation from that undertaken by the relevant party at the time the contract was entered into.

The consequence of frustration is that the affected obligations are discharged. Because of the uncertainty concerning the circumstances in which frustration applies, the parties to a contract usually prefer to include a force majeure clause in the contract rather than rely on the common law doctrine of frustration. Where express provision has been made in the force majeure clause for the event that has occurred, the contract will not be frustrated. Further, the wider the scope of the force majeure clause, the narrower the scope for frustration to be argued.

An event will not be held to be a frustrating event if it was foreseeable, or in the contemplation of parties when they entered into the contract. In light of the 2003 SARS-CoV, the 2015 MERS-CoV and the 2014–2015 Ebola virus outbreaks, it might be argued that a pandemic is no longer an unforeseeable event. That said, it may be possible for parties in the context of the current COVID-19 pandemic to argue frustration on the basis that the scale of the pandemic and the severity of the public health response could not have been foreseen.

In some civil law jurisdictions, the doctrine of hardship provides a basis for permitting a party to request that a contract be renegotiated or, failing agreement with the other party, to request a court to terminate or modify the contract. Some, but not all, civil law jurisdictions recognise this principle in their domestic law. For example, it is recognised by Germany, Italy and the Netherlands, but not in France.

There is an important difference between the doctrine of hardship and the doctrine of frustration as recognised in common law jurisdictions. Under the doctrine of hardship, a court has the power to modify a contract if it would be reasonable to do so. Under the doctrine of frustration, on the other hand, the court only has the power to declare that a contract has come to an end.

Conclusion

This article has provided a high-level overview of the contractual impact of pandemics on corporate and financial transactions in three areas: MAC clauses, force majeure clauses and the doctrine of frustration. The discussion highlights both the complexities of these concepts and also the extent to which their operation is subject to specific circumstances, even in the context of the COVID-19 pandemic.

Commercial courts
葛安德
Andrew Godwin

A former partner of Linklaters Shanghai, Andrew Godwin teaches law at Melbourne Law School in Australia, where he is an associate director of its Asian Law Centre. Andrew’s new book is a compilation of China Business Law Journal’s popular Lexicon series, entitled China Lexicon: Defining and translating legal terms. The book is published by Vantage Asia and available at www.vantageasia