著作权和司法程序

0
95

《商法词汇》在之前的一篇专栏文章中探讨了有关著作权的问题(参见《商法》第5辑第3期:《著作权》)。那篇文章指出,著作权属于我们称之为“知识产权”的一类权利。它赋予所有者经济权利(如复制和出售书面作品的权利)和精神权利(如书面作品的署名权)。

英文词“copyright”的词源十分直接:其字面意思为“复制权”。汉语中有两个词用来表达这一概念: 一是“版权”,与英文相近,意为“印刷权”;二是“著作权”,源自德国法律下“作者权”的概念,是中国的官方用语。

需要认识到的重要一点是,著作权法在范围上是“地域”和国家的概念,不存在“国际”著作权法。因此,一个法域的著作权法只适用于在该法域发生的侵权行为。

之前的专栏文章探讨了律师创造的工作成果,并分析了律师是否对书面文书享有著作权以及著作权赋予的排他性权利,如复制、修改、重新编排和翻译的权利。

本专栏探讨另一个问题是:如果为了司法程序而复制文件,是否侵犯著作权。比如,司法程序的一方希望向法院提供报纸文章或博客的副本,作为支持其案件的证据之一。是否有可能在不侵犯著作权所有者权利的情况下做到这一点?当然,当事人可以提供专家证人报告来支持案件(关于专家证人的讨论,参见《商法》第10辑第4期:《专家证据》)。然而,假设当事人不需要证明某一技术论点,而只是希望向法院提供一份报纸文章的复印件,以解释广义的语境,并增强说服力呢?本专栏旨在探讨选定的普通法法域(即澳大利亚、英国、美国及香港特别行政区)的问题,以及探讨中国大陆的问题。

澳大利亚、香港特别行政区、英国和美国

澳大利亚、香港特别行政区和英国明确承认涉及司法程序的例外情况。

在澳大利亚,1968年《版权法》(英联邦)第43条规定如下:

为司法程序或专业意见而复制文件

(1) 为服务司法程序或司法程序报告所做的任何事情,均不侵犯文学、戏剧、音乐或艺术作品的版权。

第(2)款还承认专业意见的例外情况:

(2) 如公平处理文学作品、戏剧作品、音乐作品或艺术作品的目的是由以下人士提供专业意见,则不构成侵犯该等作品的版权:

(a)法律执业者;或

(b)根据1990年《专利法》注册为专利代理人的人;或

(c)根据1995年《商标法》注册为商标代理人的人。

该法将“司法程序”定义为在法院、法庭或依法有权听取、接受和审查经宣誓的证据的人面前进行的程序。

同样,香港《版权条例》(第528章)第54条规定:

54.司法程序

(1) 为司法程序的目的而作出任何事情,并不属侵犯版权。

(2) 为报导司法程序的目的而作出任何事情,并不属侵犯版权;但这不得解释为授权任何人复制本身是该等程序的已发表报导的作品。

由于涉及司法程序,上述规定与1988年《版权、设计和专利法》(英国)第45条基本相同。

需要指出的是,在上述法域内,适用于司法程序的例外不受合理或“公平处理”要求的限制。只要是为了司法程序的目的而采取的有关行为,例如复制文件,它将有权适用例外情况条款。上述法域的所有立法还承认侵犯著作权的合理使用之例外情况。这些例外情况在几种情形下出现,包括以调查或研究为目的、以批评或评论为目的和以报道新闻为目的之合理使用。

相比之下,美国法律认可对“合理使用”的一般性辩护。如果著作权材料的使用是非商业性的,且著作权所有人无法证明该特定用途是有害的,或可能对该材料的潜在市场产生不利影响,则不承担侵犯著作权的责任。《美国法典》第107条规定了“合理使用”抗辩。法院已经认识到,为司法程序或司法报告复制作品,将满足“合理使用”的要求。

上述普通法法域普遍认为,法律应容许为司法程序之目的复制受著作权保护的材料,以便利司法工作。正如澳大利亚新南威尔士政府在提交澳大利亚法律改革委员会的一份文件中所指出的:

在诉讼中,信件和公司内部文件等著作权材料构成重要证据的情况经常发生,这些证据往往对作者或著作权所有人不利。在其他情况下,可能有必要使用第三方拥有的作品或所有权不确定的作品。提交法院或法庭的所有材料均需要多份副本。

上面的引用为在司法程序中承认版权侵权的例外理由提供了一个有用的解释。在澳大利亚,有人建议将例外情况扩大到包括行政程序和司法程序。

中国大陆

在中国大陆,著作权受中国《著作权法》管辖,该法于1990年颁布,随后于2001年和2010年进行了修订。法律承认侵犯著作权的某些例外情况,这方面的主要规定是第二十二条。本条并不认可在司法程序中侵犯著作权为例外情况。然而,它在第七款中承认国家机关,包括法院,为履行其官方职责,可以使用已出版的作品:

第二十二条 

在下列情况下使用作品,可以不经著作权人许可,不向其支付报酬,但应当指明作者姓名、作品名称,并且不得侵犯著作权人依照本法享有的其他权利:

……

(七)国家机关为执行公务在合理范围内使用已经发表的作品;

……

中国大陆的法律不像美国那样承认一般性的“合理使用”抗辩,这一直是学者们辩论的主题,其中一些人认为应采用这种抗辩。同时没有具体的例外或抗辩允许司法程序中的一方为此目的复制受著作权保护的作品。因此,如果一方当事人未经著作权拥有人的许可,为了在司法程序中支持其案件而复制作品,这很可能会构成侵犯著作权。

也许有人会说,在中国大陆的司法程序中没有例外规定问题不大,因为中国法院有广泛收集证据的权力。中国《民事诉讼法》第六十四条规定(见下页引文一):

因此,中国法院似乎可以根据《著作权法》第二十二条第(七)项,收集和复制受著作权保护的作品。然而,根据《民事诉讼法》第六十四条,人民法院只能收集它认为审理案件所必需的证据。与上文概述的其他法域的法律相比,这种做法提供的确定性较低。

葛安德 Andrew Godwin

葛安德以前是年利达律师事务所上海代表处合伙人,现在墨尔本法学院教授法律,担任该法学院亚洲法研究中心的副主任。葛安德的著作《商法词汇:法律概念的翻译和诠释》重新汇编了其在本刊“商法词汇”专栏撰写的所有文章。该书由Vantage Asia出版。如欲订购,请即登录 www.vantageasia.com

Copyright and judicial proceedings

0
157

A previous column in Lexicon explored issues concerning copyright (China Business Law Journal volume 5, issue 3: Copyright). As that column noted, copyright belongs to that category of rights that we refer to as “intellectual property rights”. It confers both economic rights on the owner (e.g., the right to copy and sell a written work) and moral rights (e.g., the right to claim authorship of a written work).

The origin of the term “copyright” in English is quite straightforward: the word literally means “the right to copy”. There are two words that have been used in Chinese to express this concept: banquan, which is close to the English word and means “printing rights”, and zhuzuoquan, which derives from the concept of the “right of authorship” under German law and is the statutory term used in China.

An important point to recognise is that copyright law is “territorial” and national in scope, and there is no “international” copyright law. As a result, the copyright law of a jurisdiction will only apply to acts of infringement that occur in that jurisdiction.

The previous column explored the work products that lawyers create and considered whether lawyers enjoy copyright in relation to written documents and, accordingly, whether they enjoy the exclusive rights that copyright confers, such as the right to copy, revise, re-arrange and translate.

This column considers a different issue: whether copyright is infringed if documents are copied for the purposes of judicial proceedings. Let’s say, for example, that a party to a judicial proceeding wants to provide copies of a newspaper article or blog to a court as part of the evidence in support of its case. Is it possible to do this without infringing the rights of the copyright owner?

Of course, it might be possible for the party to provide an expert witness report to support its case (for discussion of expert witnesses, see China Business Law Journal volume 10, issue 4: Expert evidence). However, let’s say that the party does not need to prove a technical point, but simply wishes to provide a copy of a newspaper article to the court to explain the general context, and to strengthen its case. This column considers the issues in selected common law jurisdictions (namely, Australia, the UK, the US and Hong Kong SAR) and then explores the issues in mainland China.

Australia, HK SAR, UK and US

Australia, Hong Kong SAR and the UK expressly recognise an exception in circumstances involving judicial proceedings. In Australia, section 43 of the Copyright Act 1968 (Commonwealth) provides as follows:

Reproduction for purpose of judicial proceedings or professional advice

(1) The copyright in a literary, dramatic, musical or artistic work is not infringed by anything done for the purposes of a judicial proceeding or of a report of a judicial proceeding.

Subsection (2) also recognises an exception in the case of professional advice:

(2) A fair dealing with a literary, dramatic, musical or artistic work does not constitute an infringement of the copyright in the work if it is for the purpose of the giving of professional advice by:

(a) a legal practitioner; or

(b) a person registered as a patent attorney under the Patents Act 1990; or

(c) a person registered as a trademarks attorney under the Trade Marks Act 1995.

The legislation defines a “judicial proceeding” as a proceeding before a court, tribunal or person having by law the power to hear, receive and examine evidence on oath.

Similarly, section 54 of the Copyright Ordinance (Cap. 528) of Hong Kong provides as follows:

54. Judicial proceedings

(1) Copyright is not infringed by anything done for the purposes of judicial proceedings.

(2) Copyright is not infringed by anything done for the purposes of reporting such proceedings; but this is not to be construed as authorizing the copying of a work which is itself a published report of the proceedings.

As it relates to judicial proceedings, the above provision is substantially the same as section 45 of the Copyright, Designs and Patents Act 1988 (UK).

It is relevant to note that in the above-mentioned jurisdictions, the exception that applies in the case of judicial proceedings is not subject to a fairness or “fair dealing” requirement. So long as the relevant act, such as copying a document, is undertaken for the purposes of judicial proceedings, it will be entitled to the exception. All of the legislation in the above-mentioned jurisdictions additionally recognise fair dealing exceptions to copyright infringement. These exceptions arise in a number of situations, including: fair dealing for the purpose of research or study; fair dealing for the purpose of criticism or review; and fair dealing for the purpose of reporting news.

By contrast, US law recognises a general defence of “fair use”, under which a person will not be liable for copyright infringement if the use of copyright material was non-commercial and the copyright owner is unable to prove that the particular use was harmful, or that it could adversely affect the potential market for the material. Section 107 of the US Code makes provision for the “fair use” defence. Courts have recognised that “fair use” will be satisfied when a work is copied for judicial proceedings or judicial reports.

It is generally accepted in the above-mentioned common law jurisdictions that the law should allow copyright material to be copied for the purpose of judicial proceedings in order to facilitate the administration of justice. As the New South Wales government in Australia noted in a submission to the Australian Law Reform Commission:

It is frequently the case that copyright material, such as correspondence and a company’s internal documents, constitute important evidence in litigation, often to support points that may be detrimental to the author or copyright owner. In other cases, it may be necessary to use works owned by third parties, or in which ownership is uncertain. Multiple copies are needed of all material brought before a court or tribunal.

The above quote provides a useful explanation of the reasoning behind recognising an exception to copyright infringement in the case of judicial proceedings. In Australia, it has been suggested that the exception should be expanded to include administrative proceedings as well as judicial proceedings.

Mainland China

In mainland China, copyright is governed by the Copyright Law, which was promulgated in 1990 and subsequently amended in 2001 and 2010. The law recognises certain exceptions to infringement of copyright. The main provision in this regard is article 22, which does not recognise an exception to copyright infringement in the case of judicial proceedings. However, it recognises in sub-article (7) that a state organ, which would include a court, may use a published work for the purpose of fulfilling its official duties:

Article 22

In the following cases, a work may be exploited without permission from, and without payment of remuneration to, the copyright owner, provided that the name of the author and the title of the work shall be mentioned, and the other rights enjoyed by the copyright owner by virtue of this law shall not be prejudiced:

(7) Use of a published work, within proper scope, by a state organ for the purpose of fulfilling its official duties;

The law in mainland China does not recognise a general “fair use” defence, as in the case in the US, and this has been the subject of debate among scholars, some of whom argue that such a defence should be adopted. Nor is there a specific exception or defence that allows a party to judicial proceedings to copy a work that is subject to copyright for the purposes of those proceedings. Accordingly, if a party were to copy a work for the purpose of supporting its case in judicial proceedings without obtaining the permission of the copyright owner, it is likely that this would constitute an infringement of copyright.

It might be argued that the absence of an exception in the case of judicial proceedings is less problematic in mainland China for the reason that PRC courts have broad powers to collect evidence. Article 64 of the Civil Procedure Law provides as follows (see Citation 1):

Accordingly, it appears that a PRC court may collect and copy a work that is subject to copyright pursuant to article 22(7) of the Copyright Law. However, under article 64 of the Civil Procedure Law, a people’s court may only collect evidence where it deems that the evidence is necessary for the trial of the case. This provides less certainty than the laws in the other jurisdictions as outlined above.

Commercial courts
葛安德
Andrew Godwin

A former partner of Linklaters Shanghai, Andrew Godwin teaches law at Melbourne Law School in Australia, where he is an associate director of its Asian Law Centre. Andrew’s new book is a compilation of China Business Law Journal’s popular Lexicon series, entitled China Lexicon: Defining and translating legal terms. The book is published by Vantage Asia and available at www.vantageasia