新冠疫情对国际贸易合同履行的影响及其应对

0
186
contract

中国法背景下,新型冠状病毒肺炎疫情(新冠疫情)对合同履行的影响涉及不可抗力、情势变更两项制度。

不可抗力。根据中国《合同法》的规定,不可抗力对合同履行主要产生违约责任免除和合同解除两项法律后果。

如果当事人援引不可抗力规则主张免除不能履行合同的责任,应当满足以下条件:(1)疫情及其防控措施属于不可抗力;(2)疫情及其防控措施与当事人不能履行合同之间存在因果关系;(3)当事人对合同履行受到疫情及其防控措施影响没有过错。需注意的是,疫情及政府防控措施具备不可抗力特征,但个案中是否构成不可抗力需要结合当事人预期和疫情发展阶段等情况具体分析,是否产生不可抗力的法律效果,更是必须结合个案情况具体分析疫情及其防控措施是否导致合同不能履行。

如果合同履行受疫情影响,当事人主张解除合同,除需符合上述援引不可抗力规则主张免责的条件外,还应满足不可抗力致使合同目的不能实现的条件。

情势变更。根据《最高人民法院关于适用〈中华人民共和国合同法〉若干问题的解释(二)》第26条的规定,适用情势变更的要件包括:(1)合同成立后,合同基础条件发生重大变化;(2)当事人订立合同时无法预见该等重大变化;(3)重大变化不属于不可抗力且不属于商业风险;(4)继续履行合同对一方当事人明显不公平或者不能实现合同目的。上述各项要件均应结合个案情况具体判断是否构成。如果新冠疫情及其防控措施对特定合同的履行构成情势变更,当事人可以请求法院或者仲裁机构变更或者解除合同。

而在英国法背景下,新冠疫情对合同履行的影响通过两个层次体现,首先适用当事人明示约定的合同内容(通常为不可抗力条款),在没有约定的情况下考虑适用合同目的落空制度。

不可抗力(force majeure)条款。英国法本身不存在不可抗力的概念和制度。以不可抗力条款为基础分析新冠疫情对合同履行的影响不能一概而论,应当结合不可抗力条款对于合同履行障碍情形、障碍对合同履行的影响、作出通知的责任、发生不可抗力事件的后果等事项的约定进行具体分析。

合同目的落空(frustration of contract。合同目的落空是指,合同履行过程中发生了当事人缔约时无法合理预见的突发事件或意外,致使合同目的受阻,当事人得以免除因此而未能履行合同义务的责任。一直以来,英国法的司法取向都是要支持而不是否定合同的有效性,故在英国法下要主张合同目的落空难度极大。除非新冠疫情直接导致合同标的灭失、出口禁运等足以使合同根本无法履行的情形,否则当事人难以通过合同目的落空制度减少自身责任和损失。

对国际贸易企业的建议

在应对新冠疫情影响时,企业不宜贸然依赖不可抗力、情势变更等制度拒绝履行合同甚至要求解除合同,而应做好全面分析、周全规划。

  1. 检视合同约定和法律规范。如果当事人对不可抗力、情势变更的定义、法律后果、责任分担等作出约定,一般应优先适用当事人约定。如果合同没有约定或约定不明,应注意研判合同可能适用的外国法律、国际公约等,明确在域外法背景下企业自身的权利和义务。
  2. 关注相关国家(地区)采取的管制措施。企业应当密切关注与合同履行相关的国家(地区)的最新管制措施并提前进行准备,尽力减小对已签订合同履行的影响。对于将要签约的合同,应当充分考虑相关管制措施可能对合同履行的影响,事先在合同中作出妥当安排。
  3. 及时通知对方当事人并进行沟通协商。受到疫情影响导致合同履行困难的一方当事人,应当及时按照合同约定或法律规定将疫情及其造成的合同履行困难通知对方,以减轻可能给对方造成的损失,也防范自身对损失扩大的赔偿责任。
  4. 尽力维持合同履行,及时采取适当减损措施,防止损失扩大。对于卖方而言,应积极解决履约困难,尽力维持履约。同时,无论是哪一方当事人,均应在发生或知悉合同受疫情影响履行困难后,及时采取适当减损措施,防止损失扩大,避免加重自身责任。
  5. 注意固定和收集证据,为潜在官司做好证据准备。合同主体应当注意固定和收集疫情、防控措施及其造成(或不足以造成)合同履行困难的证据和合同双方沟通协商所产生的证据,特别是受到疫情影响的一方当事人向对方发送通知或重新协商请求的,应注意固定和收集通知或重新协商请求的内容和发送、接收过程。
  6. 密切关注政策形势,及时利用政策便利消减法律风险。当前,中央和地方各个部门、机构均已出台多项政策措施,对受疫情影响的企业提供各方面支持,企业应当注意利用政策便利消减违约风险。
  7. 新签订合同应注意评估疫情影响并作出约定。疫情爆发后拟签订补充协议或新订合同的,应当结合行业、地域和交易本身的实际情况,充分评估疫情及其防控措施可能给合同履行造成的影响,在合同中相关风险责任分配做出明确约定。拟定合同条款时,可以参考相关机构、行业的示范参考文本,避免遗漏风险事项,争取合同利益最大化。

天同律师事务所高级合伙人、仲裁业务负责人朱华芳,律师郭佑宁。本文章由贸仲征集并推荐

建言献智

《商法》欢迎您对“争议摘要”栏目的内容提出宝贵意见。我们力求将该栏目打造成意见交流、案例分享及时事互动的平台,因此我们诚邀您提供稿件,长度最好在900英文字或1500中文字上下。请将稿件发至我们的邮箱editor@cblj.com。《商法》将于每月甄选出版最好、最贴近时事热点的文章。

COVID-19’s impact on international trade contracts

0
350
contracts

Under PRC law, the impact of the COVID-19 pandemic on contract performance involves two regimes: force majeure and rebus sic stantibus (change of circumstances).

Force majeure. According to the Contract Law, force majeure has two main legal consequences for the performance of the contract, namely, the exemption from liability for breach of contract, and the termination of contract.

If parties invoke the force majeure clause to exonerate themselves from liability for failure to perform the contract, the following conditions should be met: (1) the pandemic and its prevention and control measures constitute force majeure; (2) there is a causal relationship between the pandemic, and its prevention and control measures, and the party’s failure to perform the contract; and (3) the party has no fault in the performance of the contract affected by the pandemic and its prevention and control measures.

It should be noted that the pandemic and the government’s prevention and control measures have the characteristics of force majeure, but whether it constitutes force majeure in a case needs to be analyzed in conjunction with the parties’ expectations and the stage of development of the pandemic. To decide whether it has the legal effect of force majeure, it is necessary to analyze the pandemic situation in combination with the case situation, and whether the pandemic and its prevention and control measures have rendered the contract impossible to perform.

If the performance of the contract is affected by the pandemic, and the parties demand termination of a contract, they must satisfy the condition of force majeure rendering the purpose of the contract impossible to achieve, in addition to the above-mentioned conditions of invoking force majeure to claim an exemption from liability.

Doctrine of change of circumstances. According to article 26 of Interpretation II of the Supreme People’s Court on Several Issues concerning the Application of the Contract Law of the People’s Republic of China, applicable requirements of change of circumstances include: (1) a significant change in the underlying conditions of the contract after its formation; (2) such a significant change could not have been foreseen at the time the parties entered into the contract; (3) the significant change is not force majeure and is not a commercial risk; and (4) the continued performance of the contract is manifestly unfair to one of the parties, or fails to achieve its purpose.

Each of these elements should be judged on its own merits. If the pandemic, and its prevention and control measures, constitute a change of circumstances for the performance of a particular contract, the parties may request the court or arbitration body to change or terminate the contract.

Under English law, the impact of the pandemic on contract performance is manifested at two levels: first, the contractual content expressly agreed by the parties is applied (usually force majeure clauses); and second, in the absence of an agreement, the regime of the frustration of contract is considered.

Force majeure clause. There is no concept and regime of force majeure in English law itself. The analysis of the impact of the pandemic on contract performance based on the force majeure clause cannot be generalized. It should be specifically analyzed in the context of the agreement on the impediments to contract performance, the impact of the impediments on contract performance, the duty to give notice, the consequences of the occurrence of force majeure, etc.

Frustration of contract. Frustration of contract refers to the occurrence of unexpected events or accidents in the course of the performance of the contract that could not have been reasonably foreseen by the parties at the time of the conclusion of the contract, which frustrates the purpose of the contract and exempts the parties from liability for failure to perform their contractual obligations.

The judicial responses of English law have always been to support, rather than negate, the validity of contracts, and it is therefore extremely difficult to claim the frustration of contract under English law. Unless the pandemic directly results in circumstances such as the loss of the contract subject, or an export embargo, which are sufficient to render the contract impossible to perform at all, it will be difficult for parties to reduce their liabilities and losses through the frustration of contract regime.

Advice to international traders

When dealing with the impact of the pandemic, companies should not be too quick to rely on force majeure, change of circumstances and other regimes to refuse to perform the contract, or even ask for its rescission, but instead should do a comprehensive analysis and thorough planning.

(1) Review the contractual agreements and legal regulations. If the parties have agreed on the definition, legal consequences, and allocation of responsibility, among others, of force majeure and change of circumstances, the agreement of the parties shall generally take precedence. If there is no such agreement in the contract, or the agreement is unclear, attention should be paid to foreign laws and international conventions that may apply to the contract to clarify the rights and obligations of the company itself in the context of extraterritorial law.

(2) Pay attention to the control measures adopted by relevant countries or regions. Companies should pay close attention to the latest control measures in the countries or regions that concern the contract performance, and make preparations in advance to minimize the impact on the performance of the concluded contract. Appropriate arrangements should be made in advance for the contract to be concluded, taking full account of the possible impact of the relevant control measures on the performance of the contract.

(3) Notify the other party in a timely manner and conduct communication and consultation. A party affected by the pandemic and experiencing difficulties in contract performance should promptly notify the other party of the resulting difficulties in contract performance, in accordance with the contractual agreement or the law, to mitigate the losses that may be caused to the other party and to prevent its liability for increasing losses.

(4) Make every effort to maintain the performance of the contract and take appropriate and timely mitigating measures to prevent the increase of losses. The seller should actively resolve the performance difficulties and make every effort to maintain performance. At the same time, either party should take appropriate mitigation measures in a timely manner to prevent losses from increasing, and to avoid increasing its liability after the occurrence of, or when it becomes aware of, difficulties in the performance of contracts affected by the pandemic.

(5) Pay attention to fixing and collecting evidence to prepare for potential lawsuits. The contracting parties should pay attention to fixing and collecting evidence of the pandemic, of the prevention and control measures, and the evidence that caused (or are insufficient to cause) the difficulties in the performance of the contract, as well as evidence from communication and consultation between the parties. In particular, if the party affected by the pandemic sends a notice or request for renegotiation to the other party, attention should be paid to fixing and collecting the content of the notice or request, and the process of sending and receiving.

(6) Pay close attention to newly released policies to mitigate legal risks. At present, various government departments and agencies at central and local levels have introduced several measures to support companies affected by the pandemic in various ways, and companies should pay attention to the use of policies to facilitate the risk reduction of breach of contract.

(7) New contracts should be concluded with attention to assessing the impact of the pandemic and making agreements. If supplementary agreements or new contracts are to be concluded after the outbreak of COVID-19, they should fully assess the possible impact of the pandemic and its prevention and control measures on the performance of the contract – taking into account the actual situation of the industry, the region and the transaction itself – and make clear agreements on the allocation of relevant risks and responsibilities in the contract. When drafting contract terms, model reference texts of relevant institutions and industries can be referred to, avoiding omission of terms on risks, to strive for maximizing contract benefits.

Mary Zhu is a senior partner and head of arbitration practice, and Guo Youning is an associate at TianTong Law Firm. This article is solicited and recommended by CIETAC.

JOIN OUR FORUM

China Business Law Journal welcomes your responses to articles that appear in the Dispute Digest section. In line with our desire to make this section a regular forum of ideas, cases and observations, we also invite you to contribute. Articles should ideally be about 900 English words and 1,500 Chinese characters in length. Please send them to editor@cblj.com. We will publish the best and most topical articles each month.