疫情期间的网络诈骗风险及损失追回

0
111
cyber fraud

着全球经济因新冠疫情而放缓,世界各地的网络诈骗案件数量激增。自疫情爆发以来,香港警方、英国Action Fraud(英国国家欺诈和网络犯罪统计中心)和澳大利亚网络安全中心所记录的与新冠疫情相关的网络诈骗案件数量均大幅增加。

从与采购个人防护装备相关的买卖欺诈,到以最容易受到供应链中断影响的公司为目标的企业电子邮件黑客攻击事件——诈骗分子利用此次疫情所造成的恐慌心理和不确定性,在诈骗案件中展示出了高度成熟的技术和水平。网络诈骗会造成十分严重的后果,从而导致巨额损失。

网络诈骗是一种数量庞大且瞬息万变的全球现象。我们的团队在香港和中国大陆已经成功处理了超过100起网络诈骗案件。本文将重点讨论由当前现状所引发的最新风险,以及如何追回资金和进行网络诈骗风险管理。

常见的网络诈骗类型

常见的几种类型包括:

首席执行官诈骗。在这种情形下,个人(通常是财务团队中的个人)受到诈骗分子冒用公司高层的电子邮件(通常伴有电话沟通)施加的压力或误导,认为公司正在开展“高度保密”或“秘密”的交易,需要绕开常规内部控制流程完成资金支付,因而未经内控审核而将大笔资金转入诈骗分子指定的账户。

供应商诈骗或银行变更诈骗。供应商的电子邮件被黑客入侵或模仿,从而误导受害人更改付款指令并向诈骗分子进行实际的支付。同样地,银行/金融机构也可能会收到来自“客户”的欺诈性邮件指令而做出错误的支付。

通过入侵复杂的系统直接窃取。通常的情况是,诈骗分子入侵金融机构的系统,并假借银行现有客户的名义发布欺诈性的SWIFT指令,将巨额资金转移至海外账户。银行可能只会在次日进行日常对账时才能发现该操作的异常。

使公司/银行遭遇此类诈骗情形的突破口通常是,公司/银行员工无意中点击或下载了嵌入了恶意软件的链接或网络钓鱼邮件的附件。

新风险

需要注意新冠疫情爆发所引发的各种新风险,例如:

假冒的供应商。受害者为购买个人防护产品(例如消毒凝胶和口罩),而向假冒供应商的诈骗分子支付数百万美元的货款。

欺诈性慈善机构。利用网络钓鱼电子邮件,冒充非政府卫生机构募集款项。

虚假的政府退税。使用包含虚假政府退税信息的网络钓鱼邮件,引诱个人点击嵌入了恶意软件的链接(伪装成能获取退税资金的链接),从而向诈骗分子发送个人财务和税务信息。

其他有关“点击此处”的诈骗。很多网络钓鱼诈骗的目的是从受害者处获取有价值的信息,从而利用这些信息获取经济利益或其他利益。常见的策略是,利用看似有可靠来源的(如非政府组织、医学专家或行业专家)关于治疗、疫苗、保护和预防措施或行业冲击的相关信息和专题信息,引诱个人点击链接或文件。一旦点击,系统将会自动下载恶意软件,使诈骗分子可以轻松访问存储在受害者电脑中的信息。

以下实用贴士或可帮助企业降低卷入网络诈骗案件的风险,或在不幸遭遇网络诈骗时最大程度地追回损失:

  • 迅速应对。这对于最大程度追回损失至关重要:(1)通知您的银行,要求其撤销交易并通知收款银行退还或冻结相关资金;(2)报警;以及(3)联系律师事务所,采取包括提起诉讼在内的必要措施来追回资金。
  • 培训员工和优化IT系统。网络诈骗风险是瞬息万变的,企业需要开展有关网络诈骗风险的内部培训,并优化IT系统以防范最新的风险,以及制定在发生可疑诈骗事件时应遵循的流程以最大程度地减少公司的损失。企业还可以通过模拟网络钓鱼测试和基准风险评估来测试网络安全措施的有效性。
  • 合同和保险条款。在进行合同谈判和评估保险条款的适宜性时,需要同时考虑网络诈骗的风险因素。例如:当供应商被黑客攻击时,由谁来承担相应的损失?
  • 考虑监管义务。除了财务损失以外,网络诈骗的主要后果还包括造成重要数据的丢失,以及引起监管机构不必要的关注。公司应当时刻明确其所要承担的监管义务,例如数据保护、证券、货币及其他政府部门向其施加的义务。

新冠疫情正在改变我们的工作方式。在一个由技术驱动的世界中,这些前所未有的时代背景正在放大网络诈骗带来的风险。诈骗分子热衷于利用IT系统的漏洞和不可靠性牟利。尤其当人们远程工作时,诈骗行为更有可能无法被迅速识别。因此,公司必须做好充分的准备,以应对网络诈骗的冲击。

《商法摘要》由贝克·麦坚时律师事务所协助提供,内容仅供参考之用。读者如欲开展与本栏内容相关之工作,须寻求专业法律意见。读者可通过以下电邮与贝克·麦坚时联系:张大年(上海)danian.zhang@bakermckenzie.com

Cyber fraud risk and recovery during covid-19

0
56
Cyber fraud risk and recovery during covid-19 | China Business Law Journal

With the slowdown in economic activity globally due to covid-19, the number of cyber fraud cases from around the world has surged. The Hong Kong Police, as well as Action Fraud (the UK’s national fraud and cybercrime reporting centre), and the Australian Cyber Security Centre have all recorded a significant increase in covid-19-related incidents reported since the outbreak of the crisis.

From supply scams related to bulk purchases of personal protective equipment to business email hacking incidents targeted at companies across sectors most susceptible to supply chain disruption – fraudsters have demonstrated a high level of technical and economic sophistication as they exploit the fear and uncertainty created by the pandemic. These frauds can be significant, leading to losses of tens of millions of dollars.

Cyber fraud is a high-volume and fast-changing global phenomenon. Our team has handled well over 100 cyber fraud incidents in Hong Kong and China. This article focuses on the latest risks arising from the current situation, and how you can recover your money and manage the impact of cyber fraud.

Common cyber frauds

Some of the schemes being perpetrated include:

CEO fraud. In this scenario, individuals (often in the finance team) are pressured or misled by email imposters (often coupled with telephone contact) into transferring significant sums of money to fund typically “highly confidential” or “secret” transactions that are said to necessitate bypassing regular internal controls.

Supplier fraud or change of bank fraud. A supplier’s emails have been hacked or spoofed, misleading the victim to change payment instructions and pay actual invoices to the fraudster. Similarly, this may also apply to banks and financial institutions that accept fraudulent email instructions from a customer.

Direct theft via hacking into sophisticated systems. Typically here, the fraudster hacks into a financial institution’s system and issues fraudulent SWIFT instructions under the guise of an existing bank customer, to transfer huge sums of money to overseas accounts. This may only be discovered by the bank the next day during its daily reconciliation exercise.

The initial breach that exposed the victim corporation or bank to these scenarios may have come from a malware-embedded link or phishing email attachment that an employee inadvertently clicked into or downloaded.

New risks

Beware of a variety of new scenarios arising out of the covid-19 outbreak, such as:

Fake vendors. These schemes relate to non-delivery of bulk purchases of personal protective products such as sanitizer gels and face masks, in which millions of dollars have been paid to the fraudsters.

Fraudulent charities. Using phishing emails that mimic non-government health agencies soliciting donations to help fight covid-19.

False government tax refunds. These schemes use phishing emails containing information relating to false tax rebate initiatives by governments, designed to trick individuals into clicking onto a malware embedded link (dressed up as a link that can access rebate funds) and providing personal financial and tax-related information to the fraudsters.

Other “click here” scams. Many phishing scams are designed to extract valuable information from victims, which can then be misused for financial gain or otherwise. A common tactic in these schemes is luring individuals to click on a link or document to access relevant and topical information regarding cures/vaccines/protective measures and precautions/industry disruptions, from what appear to be trustworthy sources such as NGOs, medical or industry experts. Once clicked, malware that gives the fraudster easy access to information stored on the victim’s computer will be automatically downloaded.

Companies also need to stay vigilant and be aware of potential phishing scams relating to the latest release of multibillion-dollar economic relief packages by governments.

The following practical tips may help minimize risk or maximize the prospect of recovery in the unfortunate event of a cyber fraud incident:

  • React quickly. This is vital to maximizing the chances of recovery: (1) inform your bank; ask it to reverse the transaction and notify the recipient bank to return/freeze the funds; (2) file a police report; and (c) contact a qualified law firm that can follow through with the necessary steps including court action to recover the proceeds.
  • Staff training and IT system enhancement. These are fast-changing risks. Roll out internal training on the risks involved in cyber fraud, and enhance IT systems to safeguard against the latest threats. Prepare protocols to follow in the event of a suspected fraud to help minimize the loss for the company. Test the efficiency of cybersecurity measures with mock phishing tests and baseline risk assessments.
  • Contracts and insurance policies. Factor in these risks when negotiating contracts and considering the suitability of insurance policies. For example, if a vendor is hacked, who bears the loss?
  • Consider regulatory obligations. Apart from financial loss, other major implications of cyber fraud are the potential loss of valuable and important data, and unwarranted attention from regulators. Companies should keep front of mind the range of regulatory obligations to which they are subject, such as those imposed by privacy, securities, monetary and other authorities.

The covid-19 crisis is changing the way we work. In an already technology-driven world, these unprecedented times are amplifying the risks posed by cyber fraud. Fraudsters are eager to capitalize on fallibilities and on flaws in IT systems. Fraud may be detected less swiftly as people work remotely. It is imperative that companies are well prepared to manage the impact of cyber fraud.

Business Law Digest is compiled with the assistance of Baker McKenzie. Readers should not act on this information without seeking professional legal advice. You can contact Baker McKenzie by e-mailing Danian Zhang (Shanghai) at danian.zhang@bakermckenzie.com