上市公司破产重整“以股抵债”问题探析

作者: 杨光、王瑶,兰台律师事务所
0
154

产重整以对企业财产及债权债务全方位有效估值为前提,企业财产的估值结果将直接影响债权人清偿率和企业重整方向。以上市公司重整程序中的“以股抵债”为例,对抵债股权的价值评估直接影响债权人在破产重整中可获得清偿债权的变现可能性以及实际变现数额,相应也就影响到有保证担保的债权人可向保证人主张的保证责任数额。上市公司抵债股权价格的确定事关债权人利益,处理不当则易引发纠纷,以股抵债易有名无实。

debt
杨光
兰台律师事务所合伙人

定价方式

在债务困境企业的挽救中,以股抵债是一种常态化的法律手段。以股抵债的最终效果是债权人获得股权,债务人的债务得以消灭或削减。以股抵债交易中最关键的问题是如何确定股权抵偿债权的比例,即如何确定抵债股权的单价。抵债股权单价的确定决定债权人可获得的抵债股权份额和重整程序的清偿率。

实践中,重整企业股权的定价远比正常经营企业的股权定价复杂。目前,重整程序中常用的抵债股权定价方式有:(1)按债务人股权的初始登记价格定价;(2)以债务人最近一次发行股权的价格定价;(3)以债务人股权停牌前的收市价定价;(4)按股票停牌前的加权平均价格定价;(5)以市净率/市盈率定价等。但上述定价方式缺乏公允性。以按市净率/市盈率定价为例,市净率、市盈率等市场乘数法适用于存在多家上市公司与被评估企业在业务性质与构成、企业规模、企业所处经营阶段、盈利水平等方面相似,或同行业近期存在类似交易案例的情形。破产重整企业参照经营良好企业的市盈率和市净率来定价,难以保证公允性。此外,大部分重整计划均未将非控制股权折价作为影响估值的因素,亦缺乏公允性。

debt
王瑶
兰台律师事务所律师

缺乏公允性的影响

(一)债权人高清偿率名不副实,债权人权益遭受二次侵害。抵债股权定价的公允性是保护债权人利益的重要因素。以股抵债的定价不公允,将直接影响债权人在破产重整中可获得清偿债权的变现可能性。债权人依据重整计划获得的股权名义价值远高于其依据市场原则处置抵债股权获得的实际价值。

此外,从债权人“受偿”的法律意义而言,受偿是指债权人能够实现金钱债权,该等受偿所得无论是现金,还是份额,抑或实物,一定具有市场上等价交换的功能。因此,即便债权人接受以股抵债,债权的实际受偿数额应以具有公允性的股权价值为准。如该等受偿以缺乏公允性的评估价为基准,则受偿抵债股权实际根本不能清偿所对应债权,该种清偿实际是损害债权人利益的虚假清偿,是人为的账面清偿(重整计划确定的每股抵债价格与市场公允价格之间的差价即为虚假受偿的部分)。

(二)保证人承担保证责任的数额减少,保证人部分脱保。根据《企业破产法》第一百二十四条的规定,在债权依据破产程序无法全部清偿的情况下,债权人还可以向保证人主张未受清偿部分的债权。但如何确定“未受清偿的债权”,企业破产法及相关法规并未明确。

如以股抵债定价不公允,债权人获得的抵债股权实际价值远低于重整计划所确定的价值,此时债权人“未受清偿的债权”应按照债权人名义上获得的股权价值(重整计划确定的股权价值)计算还是以债权人依据市场原则处置抵债股权后实际获得的价值计算?如按重整计划确定的名义价值计算,债权人可能已经实现了“账面上”的全部清偿,保证人需要承担保证责任的数额为零,保证人则事实上在债权人虚假受偿范围内脱保。

结论

司法实践中,以股抵债存在股权估值方式简单、抵债股权定价不公允等问题,债权人依照重整计划获得的抵债股权价值与其依据市场原则处置抵债股权后实际获得的清偿数额存在较大差距,债权人仅有“纸上富贵”。基于上市公司破产重整中股权估值清偿规则的缺陷,建议立法及司法部门从实体和程序方面明晰破产重整企业的资产估值方法,限制破产管理人、债务人对估值清偿方式的滥用,给予债权人合理的救济路径,维护交易秩序,使以股抵债名副其实。

作者:兰台律师事务所合伙人杨光、律师王瑶

Lantai Partners兰台律师事务所
北京市朝阳区曙光西里甲一号
第三置业大厦B座29层 邮编: 100028
电话: +86 10 5228 7777
传真: +86 10 5822 0039
电子信箱:
yangguang@lantai.cn
wangyao@lantai.cn
www.lantai.cn

Probe in debt for equity swaps during reorganizations

By Yang Guang and Wang Yao, Lantai Partners
0
39

A bankruptcy reorganization is conditional on a multifaceted and effective valuation of the enterprise’s property, claims and debts, as the results of such a valuation will directly affect the creditor repayment rate and the enterprise’s reorganization direction.

debt
Yang Guang
Partner
Lantai Partners

Taking a debt for equity swap in the reorganization procedure for a listed company as an example, the appraisal of the value of the equity to be swapped for the debt directly affects the probability of the realization of the claims for which the creditors can obtain repayment during bankruptcy reorganization, and the actual amount realized, and likewise affects the amount of the guaranteed liabilities that secured creditors can claim against guarantors. Such a procedure immediately concerns creditors’ interests, and improper handling can easily trigger disputes, making it impossible to genuinely realize the claims of rights and interests.

debt
Wang Yao
Associate
Lantai Partners

Pricing methods

In the rescue of debt-troubled enterprises, debt for equity swaps have become a normalized legal means. The ultimate outcome of such swaps is the acquisition of equity by the creditors and extinguishment, or reduction, of the debtor’s debts. In a debt for equity transaction, the most crucial issue is how to determine the percentage at which the claims will be swapped for equity, i.e., how to determine the unit price of the equity to be swapped for debt. The determination of this price establishes the shares of the equity that the creditors can acquire, and the repayment rate of the reorganization procedure.

In practice, the pricing of the equity of an enterprise undergoing reorganization is more complex than the pricing of the equity of a normally operating enterprise. The common methods of pricing equity to be swapped for debt used in reorganization procedures include: (1) pricing based on the initial registered price of the debtor’s equity; (2) pricing based on the price of the debtor’s most recent offering of equity; (3) pricing based on the closing market value of the enterprise’s equity before the suspension of trading; (4) pricing based on the weighted average price of the stocks before the suspension of trading; and (5) pricing based on price-to-book ratio/price-earnings ratio.

However, the problem with the above-mentioned pricing methods is the lack of fairness. Taking (5) as an example, such market multiplier methods as price-to-book ratio, price-earnings ratio, etc., apply where there are multiple listed companies that are similar to the appraised enterprise in terms of business nature, size, the enterprise’s phase of operation, profit level, etc., or where there have recently been similar transactions in the same industry.

The reference by an enterprise undergoing bankruptcy reorganization to the price-to-book ratio or price-earnings ratio of well-run enterprises for pricing hardly ensures fairness. The failure of the great majority of reorganization plans to take the discount on non-controlling equity as a factor that affects a valuation also contributes to the lack of fairness.

Impact of lack of fairness

(1) The high creditor repayment rate is inconsistent with reality, causing a second insult to creditors’ rights and interests. The fairness of the pricing is a key element in protecting creditors’ interests. Any unfairness will directly affect the probability of the realization of the claims for which the creditors can obtain repayment during bankruptcy reorganization. The nominal value of the equity acquired by the creditors based on the reorganization plan will be far higher than the actual value that they could obtain by disposing of the equity based on market principles.

Furthermore, looking at the term “repayment” from a legal perspective, it means that a creditor can realize its claim in cash, and regardless of whether such repayment is made in cash, or in shares, or in kind, they all have the function of being exchangeable on the market at the same value. Accordingly, even if creditors accept a debt for equity swap, the actual repayment amount received by the creditors should be determined by the fair value of the equity.

If the repayment is based on a valuation that lacks fairness, then the equity received as repayment cannot truly discharge the claims in question, and such a repayment is in fact a false repayment that harms the creditors’ interests and is an artificial book repayment.

(2) The amount of guarantee liability borne by guarantors is reduced, allowing guarantors to escape part of their liability. Pursuant to article 124 of the Enterprise Bankruptcy Law, where a claim cannot be fully discharged in a bankruptcy procedure, a creditor may additionally seek repayment of the unpaid portion of its claim from the guarantor. However, neither the Enterprise Bankruptcy Law nor related regulations address the issue of how to determine an “unpaid claim”.

If an unfair price is set for a debt for equity swap, the actual value of the equity acquired by the creditors is far lower than the value determined in the reorganization plan. In such a case, should the creditors’ “unpaid claims” be calculated based on the nominal value of the equity acquired by the creditors (i.e., the equity value determined in the reorganization plan), or by the actual value that the creditors would obtain by disposing of the equity based on market principles?

If the answer is the former, the creditors may have already realized full repayment of their claims “on paper”, making the amount of the guarantee liabilities bearable by the guarantors zero, which translates into the guarantors escaping their liabilities to the extent of the false repayment to the creditors.

Conclusion

In judicial practice, such issues as simplistic methods of valuing equity, unfair pricing of the equity, etc., plague debt for equity swaps, with the repayment amount that creditors would actually obtain from disposal of the equity based on market principles differing substantially from the value of the equity acquired based on the reorganization plan.

Based on the flaws in the rules for the valuation of, and repayment with, equity in listed company bankruptcy reorganizations, the authors recommend that the legislative and judicial authorities clarify the method of valuing the assets of companies undergoing bankruptcy reorganization from the perspective of entities and procedures, restrict the abuse of the valuation and repayment methods by bankruptcy administrators and debtors, accord creditors reasonable means of seeking relief, and safeguard transaction order so that debt for equity swaps fully live up to their name.

Yang Guang is a partner and Wang Yao is an associate at Lantai Partners

Lantai Partners

Lantai Partners
29th Floor, Tower B, Disanzhiye Mansion
A1 Shuguang Xili, Chaoyang District
Beijing 100028, China
Tel: +86 10 5228 7777
Fax: +86 10 5822 0039
E-mail:
yangguang@lantai.cn
wangyao@lantai.cn
www.lantai.cn