“拆红筹”十问

作者: 徐劲科、范建红,大成律师事务所
0
161

于科创板、创业板注册制的推出,当年搭建境外持股架构的众多创业公司纷纷计划改变上市目的地。如果要在A股上市,可能会需要拆掉境外持股架构,即“拆红筹”。要不要拆?怎么拆?需要考虑哪些重要的问题?我们提供了一张简短的清单:

徐劲科Xu-Jingke-Dentons-大成律师事务所-red-chip
徐劲科
大成律师事务所
高级合伙人

红筹到底拆不拆?

红筹并不是非拆不可。如果符合相应条件,可以直接用境外主体在境内上市,例如华润微电子和九号机器人。科创板和创业板就境外红筹架构企业直接在境内上市列出了一系列财务和非财务指标要求,可以审慎对照考虑。

红筹架构是直接持股类型的,还是协议控制(VIE)类型的?

按照境外持股平台控制境内运营实体的方式,红筹可以分为两种,一种是“直接持股红筹”;另一种是俗称的“VIE架构”。不同红筹类型的企业拆除架构的路径和考虑要点有巨大差异,需结合实际谨慎设计。

拆VIE架构时,如何选择将来的上市主体?

VIE架构中有两个境内公司,一个是境外持股平台在境内的全资子公司,另一个是通过协议控制的境内运营实体。在考虑以哪个主体作为上市主体的时候一般需要考虑:(1)公司所处行业、主营业务是否限制或者禁止外商投资;(2)VIE协议是否已经实际履行;(3)VIE和外商独资企业(WFOE)的相对体量(资产分布、业务经营、财务指标、业务收入);(4)控制权和管理层的变更与否等。

范建红 Fan-Jianhong-Dentons-大成律师事务所-red-chip
范建红
大成律师事务所
合伙人

境内居民自然人37号文是否已登记?境内居民企业境外直接投资(ODI)手续是否已办妥?

设立境外持股公司的境内居民需根据规定(全称为“《国家外汇管理局关于境内居民通过特殊目的公司境外投融资及返程投资外汇管理有关问题的通知》”)办理37号文登记。类似的,如果境内企业法人在红筹架构的境外企业中持有股份,那么境内企业法人需要办理境外投资所需的各项(包括发改委、商委和银行)审批/备案手续。

境外投资人一起回来吗?

如果境内拟上市主体从事的业务是外商投资负面清单范围内的,那么境外投资人无法回来直接持股,必须通过创始人回购、其他投资人受让等方式先行退出公司。当然,该境外投资人也可以安排其境内平行基金或者其境内关联投资人在拟上市主体持股,并办理相应的股权转让或增资等手续。

税务问题?

拟上市公司需做到税务合规,这不仅包括境外架构的搭建、历次变更中的税务合规,还包括在红筹架构拆除过程中的税务合规。在拆红筹的过程中,需要尽力优化方案,减少实际控制人、投资人等的税务负担和税基损失。

资金规划问题?

在拆红筹的过程中,尤其是如果境外投资人必须或者选择退出时,可能需要实际控制人用资金回购投资人的股权,境内外各个公司之间的关联资金占用可能也需要资金来流转解决。应当合理利用好各个公司的现存资金,同时可能需要引进新的投资人或者借用过桥贷款来解决资金问题。

拟上市公司实际控制人、董事和高管是否符合稳定性要求?

境内IPO要求拟上市公司的实际控制人在最近两年或三年内没有发生变化、董事和管理层最近两年内没有发生重大变化、其中科创板额外要求核心技术人员在最近两年内没有发生重大变化。在拆红筹过程中,可能会涉及到拟上市主体的股权比例、表决权比例调整,以及董事会变更等等,应尽量避免触发实际控制人的变更和董事、高管、核心技术人员的重大变化。

主营业务稳定性的问题?

在拟上市主体重组过程中,如果同一控制下被重组方重组前一个会计年度末的资产总额或前一个会计年度的营业收入或利润总额达到或超过重组前境内上市主体相应项目100%的,则发行人在重组后运行一个会计年度后方可申请上市。因此,在VIE架构拆除时选择上市主体以及进行上市前重组的过程中,需综合拟申报上市的时间表及被重组方业务性质、财务指标等进行考虑。

是否已经有员工持股计划(ESOP)?是否已经行权?

如果境外平台已经设立ESOP,并且员工已经行权,那么需要重点核查员工在境外持股是否办理了37号文外汇登记。同时,在终止境外平台ESOP之后,境内拟上市主体ESOP落地的时点,一般考虑放在投资人落地之前,并需充分考虑股份支付对公司业绩的影响。

徐劲科是大成律师事务所高级合伙人。他的联系方式为电话+86 139 1660 7001 以及电邮bailey.xu@dentons.cn

范建红是大成律师事务所合伙人。她的联系方式为电话+86 185 1669 2183 以及电邮jianhong.fan@dentons.cn

范建红 Fan-Jianhong-Dentons-大成律师事务所-red-chip大成律师事务所
上海市浦东新区银城中路501号
上海中心15/16层 邮编: 200120
电话: +86 21 5878 5888
传真: +86 21 5878 6866
电子信箱:
bailey.xu@dentons.cn

jianhong.fan@dentons.cn
www.dentons.com

Ten questions about ‘dismantling the red chips structure’

By Xu Jingke and Fan Jianhong, Dentons
0
48

Due to the introduction of the registration system of the Star Market and Growth Enterprise Market (GEM), many startups that set up an overseas shareholding structure plan to change their listing destinations one after another. To carry out an A-share listing, a company might need to dismantle the overseas shareholding structure, that is, “dismantling red chips”. Should a company dismantle the structure or not? If so, how? What are the important issues to consider during the process? Here we provide a short list:

red chips 徐劲科Xu-Jingke-Dentons
Xu Jingke
Dentons
Senior Partner

To dismantle red chips or not? Red chips don’t have to be dismantled. If the corresponding conditions are met, overseas entities such as CR Micro and Ninebot can be directly listed on domestic markets. The Star Market and the GEM have listed a series of financial and non-financial indicator requirements for overseas red-chip enterprises to be listed directly in China, which can be carefully compared.

Is the red-chip structure a direct shareholding or a Variable Interest Entity (VIE)? According to overseas shareholding platforms controlling domestic operating entities, red chips can be divided into two types: “direct shareholding red chips” and the commonly known VIE structure. There are also great differences in the paths and considerations for dismantling the structure of different red-chip enterprises, which requires a prudent arrangement with practical considerations.

red chips
Fan Jianhong
Dentons
Partner

How to choose the future listed entity when dismantling the VIE structure? There are two domestic companies in the VIE red-chip structure, one is a whollyowned subsidiary of the overseas shareholding platform in China and the other is a domestic operating entity controlled through an agreement. When considering which entity is to be used as a listed entity, it is generally necessary to consider: (1) whether the industry of the company and its main business restrict or prohibit foreign investment; (2) whether the VIE agreement has been implemented into effect; (3) the relative volume of the VIE and wholly foreign-owned enterprise (WFOE), e.g. its asset distribution, business operation, financial indicators, business income; (4) change of control rights and management.

Has domestic resident or natural person gone through registration according to Document No.37? Have the formalities for overseas direct investment (ODI) of domestic resident enterprises been completed? Domestic residents who set up overseas shareholding companies need to go through the initial registration according to Document No.37 (the full name is “Notice of the State Administration of Foreign Exchange on Relevant Issues Concerning Foreign Exchange Control of Overseas Investment and Financing and Return Investment of Domestic Residents through Special Purpose Companies”). Similarly, if a domestic enterprise as a legal person holds shares in an overseas enterprise with a red-chip structure, then it needs to go through all the examination and approval/filing procedures (with the National Development and Reform Commission, and the Ministry of Commerce banks) required for overseas investment.

Will overseas investors come back? If the business of the entity to be listed in China falls within the negative list of foreign investment, the overseas investor cannot come back to directly hold shares, and must withdraw from the company first through a repurchase by the founder and transfer to other investors. Of course, the foreign investor can also arrange for its domestic parallel fund or its domestic related investors to hold shares in the entity to be listed, and go through the corresponding procedures of equity transfer or capital increase.

Tax issues? Companies to be listed need to meet tax compliance, which includes not only in the establishment of an overseas structure and previous changes, but also tax compliance in the process of dismantling a red-chip structure. In the process of dismantling red chips, the company should try to optimize the scheme, and reduce the tax burden and tax base loss of actual controllers and investors.

Fund planning issues? In the process of dismantling red chips, especially if the overseas investors have to or choose to withdraw, the actual controller may need to buy back the investors’ equity with funds, and the occupation of related funds between domestic and foreign companies may also need to be solved through fund flow. The existing funds of each company should be made good use of and new investors may need to be introduced or a bridge loan needs to be established to solve the funding problem.

Do the actual controllers, directors and officers of the companies to be listed meet the stability requirements? Domestic IPOs require that the actual controllers of companies to be listed have not changed in the past two or three years, no significant changes in directors and management in the past two years and the Star Market additionally requires that key technical personnel have not changed significantly in the past two or three years. In the process of dismantling red chips, it may involve the adjustment of the equity ratio and voting rights ratio of the entities to be listed, and the change of the board of directors, etc., so the company should try to avoid triggering the change of actual controllers and significant changes of directors, officers and key technical personnel.

The stability of the main business? The issuer can apply for listing only after operating the entity to be listed one fiscal year following restructuring. This applies if the total assets of the restructured parties under the same control, or their business income or total profit of the previous fiscal year reaches or exceeds 100% of the corresponding items of the domestic listed entities before restructuring. Therefore, in the process of selecting the listed entity when the VIE structure is dismantled and restructured before listing, it is necessary to consider comprehensively the timetable for listing, as well as the business nature and financial indicators of the restructured parties.

Is there an Employee Stock Ownership Plan (ESOP)? Have employees exercised their rights? If an ESOP has been set up on the overseas platform and the employees have exercised their rights, it is necessary to check whether the employees have completedthe foreign exchange registration of Document No.37 when holding shares overseas. At the same time, after the termination of the ESOP on overseas platforms, the ESOP of domestic entities to be listed is generally placed before the investors are determined, and the impact of share-based payment on the company’s performance should be fully considered.

Bailey Xu is a senior partner at Dentons. He can be contacted on +86 139 1660 7001 or by email at bailey.xu@dentons.cn

Yuna Fan is a partner at Dentons. She can be contacted on +86 185 1669 2183 or by email at jianhong.fan@dentons.cn

tradeDentons
15th/16th Floor, Shanghai Tower
501 Yincheng Road (M), Pudong New Area
Shanghai 200120, China
Tel: +86 21 5878 5888
Fax: +86 21 5878 6866
E-mail:
bailey.xu@dentons.cn
jianhong.fan@dentons.cn

www.dentons.com