企业提前解散时的员工安置问题

作者: 刘琦,竞天公诚律师事务所
0
198

对疫情所造成的严重冗员和经营危机,部分企业可能最终不得不选择提前解散。笔者在本文中就提前解散涉及员工安置的关键法律问题进行解答,同时也结合项目经验分享一些实操建议和提示。

法律依据

根据《劳动合同法》第四十四条第五项,用人单位决定提前解散的,员工的劳动合同即可终止。

虽然法律上明确赋予企业作为用人单位在提前解散情况下终止劳动合同的权利,但企业最好能够尝试通过协商解除,利用协议中的放弃或豁免权利主张条款了结员工的各项潜在主张,以最大程度降低诉讼风险。另外,为减少需要协商谈判的员工数量并降低遣散成本,企业可以考虑先行处理一些存在特殊情况的员工(比如违纪员工、退休员工、合同到期员工)。

Employee
刘琦
合伙人
竞天公诚律师事务所

时间节点

用人单位提前解散时,关于劳动合同终止的时间节点,各地可能存在差异,用人单位应准确了解当地的法规及司法实践。从近年的实践来看,目前不少地区的劳动保障行政部门均接受以用人单位最高权力机构作出解散决定或决议后通知终止劳动关系之日作为劳动合同终止日。

此外还应注意,按照《公司法》的相关规定,公司应在公司最高权力机构作出提前解散的决定或决议之日起15日内成立清算组,开展清算工作。因此,笔者建议,为确保遣散和清算计划的顺利进行和妥当衔接,在确定公司权力机构于何日作出解散决议时,应充分考虑该时限要求,确保相关准备工作(比如清算组成员的选定)能够在法定时限内完成。

经济补偿

根据国家法律规定,因用人单位提前解散而劳动合同自动终止的,经济补偿的计算年限应以2008年1月1日作为起算点。就员工在2008年1月1日之前在本单位工作的年限是否需要支付法定经济补偿以及经济补偿标准,用人单位应该遵照当地具体规定。

根据国家和某些地区的地方性规定,如果用人单位提前解散,受到法律特殊保护的员工(如三期女职工、病假员工、工伤员工)有可能获得除经济补偿金之外的额外补偿或补贴。

有关经济补偿金及其他费用的支付问题,笔者建议,公司作为用人单位可以考虑尽可能在解散决定作出后到清算组成立前的15天的时间内(而不是清算启动后)解决。这是因为理论上而言,一旦公司进入清算,员工相应的工资和经济补偿金需要留待清算组清理资产后才能按清算方案予以支付,但这样可能不利于员工安置事宜的及时和妥善解决。

事先通知

虽然法律上并无明文要求,但用人单位最好事先通知员工,就其解散和遣散计划与员工进行充分沟通。用人单位决定提前解散是否需要向当地人社部门、当地工会以及其他政府部门(如公安部门)事先书面报告,全国范围内并无统一要求,主要应参照地方性法规和操作口径。不过,即使地方性法规没有要求,笔者仍然建议用人单位与相关政府部门事先沟通,以便能在劳资纠纷发生时及时获得其帮助和支持。

员工问题

就用人单位提前解散可能引发的员工问题,笔者提供如下建议:

1.听取工会和员工的意见。根据相关法律,公司研究决定经营方面的重大问题时,应当听取工会和职工的意见。笔者建议用人单位在依法提前解散时,与员工进行充分沟通以示管理层对员工的尊重,从而降低争议风险。

2.准备沟通方案和常见问题解答。在解散项目中,制定完备的用人单位与员工之间的沟通方案也很重要。该方案应详述如何进行沟通的步骤、要点及细节。此外,还应提前准备好针对员工的一些常见问题的解答。

3.为潜在的员工抗议做好充分准备。笔者建议,用人单位应选择适当的宣布时间和地点,避免宣告后员工抗议对公司的经营场所和资产造成不利影响。

公司还可考虑向当地公安部门提前报备,请求公安部门在发生暴力行为时介入抗议活动。另外,用人单位也可考虑聘用安保公司提供安保服务。

4.制定媒体/公关策略。为防止公司形象受损,笔者建议用人单位事先制定相关的媒体和公关策略,指定专门人员与媒体进行交涉,并且事先准备好员工遣散相关问题的回答要点。

作者:竞天公诚律师事务所合伙人刘琦

交通

竞天公诚律师事务所
上海市徐汇区淮海中路1010号
嘉华中心45层 邮编: 200031
电话: +86 21 2613 6125
电子信箱:
tracy.liu@jingtian.com
www.jingtian.com

Employee placement in early dissolution of enterprises

By Tracy Liu, Jingtian & Gongcheng
0
269

Some enterprises that have become seriously overstaffed, or sunk into crisis amid the COVID-19 pandemic, may eventually have to be dissolved ahead of schedule. In this article, the author answers questions regarding key legal issues related to employee placement in the case of early dissolution.

Legal basis

According to article 44(5) of the Employment Contract Law, where an employer decides to dissolve itself ahead of schedule, its employment contract with employees can be terminated immediately.

Employee
Tracy Liu
Partner
Jingtian & Gongcheng

Although the law clearly grants an enterprise, as employer, the right to terminate the employment contract in the case of early dissolution, the enterprise should try terminating the employment contract through negotiation, and settling all potential claims of employees via the waiver or exemption clauses in the agreement, so as to minimize the litigation risks.

In addition, to reduce the number of employees to be negotiated with, and cut down the severance cost, enterprises may consider dealing with some employees in special circumstances (such as employees with misconduct, retiring employees and employees whose contracts are expiring) in advance.

The timing

When an employer decides to dissolve early, the timing of employment contract termination varies across local jurisdictions, so the employer should accurately understand the local laws, regulations and judicial practice. As shown in practice in recent years, many local administrations on labour and social security have consistently accepted the date when the notice is given to the employees – which should be after the highest authority of the employer has made the decision to dissolve – as the termination date of the employment contract.

In addition, it should be noted that, according to relevant provisions of the Company Law, a company shall set up a liquidation team to carry out liquidation within 15 days from the date when the highest authority of the company makes the decision, or adopts the resolution on early dissolution.

Therefore, the author suggests that, to ensure the smooth progress of the severance and liquidation plans and their proper linkage, the above-mentioned time limit should be fully factored in determining when the company’s highest authority resolves to dissolve, so as to ensure that relevant preparation (such as the selection of liquidation team members) will be completed within the 15-day statutory time limit.

Compensation consideration

Pursuant to PRC laws, where the employment contract is automatically terminated due to early dissolution of the employer, the financial compensation for employees should start to accrue from 1 January 2008. The employer shall comply with the local regulations as to whether it is obligated to pay financial compensation for the years its employees had worked before 1 January 2008 and, if it is obligated, the local standards shall be followed.

According to the local and national regulations, if the employer is dissolved ahead of schedule, the employees entitled to special protections under the law (e.g., female employees in pregnancy, maternity leave or breastfeeding, employees on sick leave, and employees with work-related injuries) may receive extra compensation or subsidies.

With regard to the payment of financial compensation and other expenses, the author suggests that the employer consider solving the issue within the 15-day period between deciding on early dissolution and setting up the liquidation team (rather than after the liquidation has started). This is because, theoretically, once a company enters the liquidation proceedings, the employees’ wages and financial compensation will not be paid pursuant to the liquidation plan until the liquidation team finishes inventorying of assets. However, this may not be conducive to the timely and proper placement of employees.

Prior notice

Despite the absence of explicit statutory requirements, it is better for the employer to notify the employees in advance, and fully communicate with them about its dissolution and severance plans. There is no uniform national rule as to whether the employer’s decision on early dissolution should be reported in writing, in advance, to the local human resources and social security authority, the local trade union and other government agencies (e.g., the public security authority).

The answer mainly depends on local regulations and standard practices. However, even if the local regulations do not require early notification, the author suggests that the employer communicate with relevant government agencies in advance to ensure availability of their timely help and support when labour disputes occur.

Employee issues

The author provides the following suggestions on the employee issues that may arise from early dissolution of an employer:

(1) Listen to the trade union and employees. According to relevant laws, when deciding on major business issues, a company should listen to the opinions of the trade union and employees. The author suggests that the employer that has made the early dissolution decision make adequate communication with its employees to show the management’s respect for employees, and reduce the risk of disputes.

(2) Prepare a communication plan and answers to FAQs. In the dissolution project, it is also important to formulate a sound plan for employer-employees communication. The plan should elaborate on the steps, main points and details of communication. In addition, some frequently asked questions regarding employee issues and their answers should be prepared in advance.

(3) Prepare for potential employee protests. The author suggests that the employer choose the appropriate time and place for the announcement of early dissolution, so as to protect its premises and assets from being impaired by employee protests triggered by the announcement.

The company may consider prior filing with the local public security authority, and requesting its intervention in the employee protest in case of violence. The employer may also consider hiring a company to provide security guard services.

(4) Develop a media/public relations strategy. To avoid damage to corporate image, the author suggests that the employer develop a media and public relations strategy in advance, designate staff to deal with the media outlets, and script the answers to questions related to employee severance.

Tracy Liu is a partner at Jingtian & Gongcheng

collateral

Jingtian & Gongcheng
45/F, K. Wah Centre
1010 Huai Hai M. Road, Shanghai 200031, China
Tel: +86 21 2613 6125
E-mail:
tracy.liu@jingtian.com
www.jingtian.com