探析H股‘全流通’制度全面推开

作者: 范兴成,大成律师事务所
0
114

国证监会在2019年11月15日于官方网站发布《H股公司境内未上市股份申请“全流通”业务指引》及《中国证监会就全面推开H股“全流通”改革答记者问》),宣告H股“全流通”制度正式全面推开。

政策解读

H股“全流通”政策主要内容:

full tradability
范兴成
大成律师事务所
高级合伙人

适用对象及基本条件。H股公司(含拟发行H股的公司)可将内资股、未上市外资股申请于香港联交所上市流通。H股公司申请H股“全流通”需满足以下条件:(1)符合外商投资准入、国有资产管理、国家安全及产业政策等有关法律规定和政策要求;(2)公司治理规范,企业内部决策程序依法合规,具备可操作性,能够充分保障股东知情权、参与权和表决权。

内部决策及审批要求。H股公司申请“全流通”应当按照《公司法》《公司章程》等法律法规及公司制度的规定,履行内部决策程序,是否经股东大会/类别股东大会批准取决于《公司章程》等公司治理制度规范的要求;在审批方面,H股公司申请“全流通”应当按照“股份有限公司境外公开募集股份及上市(包括增发)审批”行政许可程序办理。

对于股东资质设置准入要求的公司进行申请H股“全流通”应当事先取得行业监管部门的同意。国有控股公司或涉及国有股份申请“全流通”的,需遵守国有股权监督管理规范。

H股“全流通”政策特点笔者分析如下:

  • 尊重实践经验,发挥市场作用。H股“全流通”政策促使股份分类准确完善、明确未上市股份的流通可选择于公司首发上市或增发时一并申请或单独申请且期限设置灵活,明确了中国证监会和行业监管部门的审批规定,并发布了结合“全流通”事项特点精简优化后的中国证监会申请材料
    目录。
  • 全流通路径畅通,H股上市模式吸引力增加。中国企业H股上市模式比红筹上市模式省却了很多跨境重组的麻烦,当这些企业以H股模式成功香港上市后,他们可以选择回归发行A股或者让未上市股份申请全流通,H股全流通政策使得该全流通路径畅通,可以实现股东股份自由流通的意愿,红筹模式的吸引力相对下降,越来越多的中国企业将会选择H股模式赴港上市。
  • 精简H股“全流通”申请文件,强化监管服务。
  • 激发香港市场活力,短期内可能造成香港市场流动性不足。长远来看,香港市场流通规模扩大,市场活跃度上升,增强了香港市场对国际投资者和境内企业的吸引力。
  • 对中国市场影响有限。H股“全流通”改革只仅针对香港市场上市的单H股公司,且受国资管理、控制权维持和市场估值等多种因素影响,对境内市场影响不大。

政策评议

笔者认为,H股“全流通”政策存在以下不足:

忽视“3+H”规则,制度衔接存在盲点。H股“全流通”政策对“3+H”公司内资股“全流通”事宜只字未提。

H股“全流通”政策忽视“3+H”公司及新三板改革相关业务规则,可以看出该政策仍局限在H股本身,未能与境内多层次的资本市场形成有效衔接。

H股“全流通”申请提交国有股权设置管理批复理据缺失。根据申请文件目录,国有控股H股公司申请“全流通”需提交“国有股权设置管理及国有股份转为境外上市股份的有关批复文件”,经过历年政策变化沿革,H股公司上市时的国有股权设置管理批复的制度基础已经变化,且H股公司首发及增发时均无需提交国有股权设置管理批复,H股“全流通”关于提交国有股权设置管理批复的要求缺乏合理性。

由此,笔者对改政策提出如下建议:

衔接多层次资本市场制度,关注市场制度规则变革。H股“全流通”政策需将“3+H”公司纳入政策制定的考虑范围,就制度衔接作出明确规定,针对“3+H”公司“全流通”审批程序应当进一步简化。

取消国有股权设置管理批复文件。H股“全流通”政策中要求提交国有股权设置管理批复与中国证监会关于H股首发和增发的文件不一致,亦未有合理依据,建议于H股“全流通”申请文件中取消国有股权设置管理批复文件。

作者:大成律师事务所高级合伙人范兴成

full tradability

大成律师事务所
上海市浦东新区银城中路501号
上海中心15/16层 邮编: 200120
电话: +86 21 5878 5888
传真: +86 21 5878 6866
电子信箱: xingcheng.fan@dentons.cn
www.dentons.com

Exploring rollout of H-share ‘full tradability’ system

By Fan Xingcheng, Dentons
0
19

By posting the China Securities Regulatory Commission’s (CSRC) Guidelines for the Application by H-Share Companies for “Full Tradability” of Their Domestic Unlisted Shares, and also the CSRC responses to questions by the press on the comprehensive roll-out of the H-share full tradability reform on its official website on 15 November 2019, the CSRC has announced that the H-share full tradability system is being rolled out on a comprehensive basis. The main details of the H-share full tradability policy follow:

Who it applies to, and basic conditions. H-share companies (including companies proposing to offer H shares) may apply for the listing and trading of their domestic shares and unlisted foreign shares on the HKEx.

full tradability
Fan Xingcheng
Senior Partner
Dentons

An H-share company applying for full tradability of its H shares is required to satisfy the following conditions: (1) comply with laws and policy requirements concerning access by foreign investors, administration of state-owned assets, national security and industrial policy; and (2) have compliant corporate governance and lawful, compliant and practicable internal decision-making procedures, such that they can ensure shareholders’ right to know, right to participate and right to vote.

Internal decision-making and approval requirements. An H-share company applying for full tradability is required to carry out internal decision-making procedures in accordance with the provisions of such laws and company systems as the Company Law, Company Articles of Association, etc.

Whether approval is done through the shareholders’ general meeting/class shareholders’ general meeting depends on the requirements of the corporate governance systems, such as the Company Articles of Association. In terms of approval, an H share company applying for full tradability is required to do so by way of the administrative permission procedure for “approval for an offshore public offering and listing of shares (including additional offering) by a joint stock limited company”.

A company having access requirements in respect of the qualifications of its shareholders that applies for the full tradability of its shares is required to secure the prior consent of the industry regulator. Applications for full tradability by state-controlled companies or those involving state-owned shares are required to comply with regulations on the supervision and administration of state-owned equity.

The author’s analysis of the fine points of the H-share full tradability policy follows:

  • Respecting practical experience and leveraging the market’s role. The H-share full tradability policy promotes accuracy and improvement in share classification, provides that the tradability of unlisted shares may be applied for together with an initial offering, or additional offering, or applied for separately with flexible timing, sets out the provisions on the approvals by the CSRC and industry regulators, and provides the concise and optimized CSRC list of application materials that takes into account the features of full tradability matters;
  • The path of H-share full tradability is smooth, which increases the attractiveness of a H-share listing model. H-share listing avoids the trouble of cross-border restructuring for overseas listing, compared with a red-chip model listing. When Chinese domestic enterprises successfully list in HKEx, they can choose to issue A shares in the China stock market or apply for H-share full tradability of the unlisted shares, due to the smooth path of H-share full tradability, so the intention of their shares to trade freely can be realized. Compared with H-share listing, the attractiveness of the red-chip model is dropping, and an increasing number of Chinese enterprises will opt for the H-share model and list in Hong Kong;
  • Concise H-share full tradability application documents and enhancement of regulatory services;
  • Stimulation of Hong Kong market activity, potentially creating a liquidity crunch in the Hong Kong market in the short term. In the long term, the size of the Hong Kong market will increase and market activity will rise, making the Hong Kong market more attractive to international investors and mainland enterprises; and
  • Limited impact on the Chinese market. As the H share full tradability reform is limited to companies that only have H shares and are listed on the Hong Kong market, and is affected by numerous factors such as administration of state-owned assets, control maintenance and market valuation, it will only have a minor impact on the mainland market.

In the author’s opinion, H-share full tradability has some shortcomings.

Ignoring the “3+H” rules and creating a blind spot in system convergence. The H-share full tradability policy makes no mention of full tradability of the domestic shares of “3+H” companies. From the H-share full tradability policy’s ignoring of the 3+H company and New Third Board reform-related business rules, it can be seen that the policy is limited to H shares only, making effective convergence with the multi-tiered capital market on the mainland impossible.

Lack of reasonable basis for requiring submission of official reply concerning management of state-owned equity structure when applying for full tradability of H shares. According to the application document list, a state-controlled H-share company applying for full tradability is required to submit official reply documents concerning management of its state-owned equity structure and the conversion of state-owned shares into offshore listed shares.

However, after many years of policy evolution, the system basis for an official reply concerning management of state-owned equity structure when a H-share company lists has changed, and H-share companies are no longer required to submit such official replies when carrying out an IPO or additional offering. Accordingly, the requirement for the submission of such an official reply for H-share full tradability is unreasonable. Accordingly, the author would recommend the following policy changes:

Convergence with a multi-tiered capital market system and attention to the evolution of market system rules. The H-share full tradability policy needs to consider 3+H companies in policy formulation, set out clear provisions on system convergence, and further simplify the full tradability approval procedure for 3+H companies.

Abolition of requirement for an official reply on management of the state-owned equity structure. The requirement in the H-share full tradability policy for the submission of an official reply on management of the state-owned equity structure is devoid of a system basis, and is inconsistent with the CSRC’s requirements for H-share IPO and additional offering documents. Accordingly, the author would recommend the removal of such an official reply from the application documents for H-share full tradability.

Fan Xingcheng is a senior partner at Dentons.

full tradability

Dentons
15th/16th Floor, Shanghai Tower
501 Yincheng Road (M), Pudong New Area
Shanghai 200120, China
Tel: +86 21 5878 5888
Fax: +86 21 5878 6866
E-mail: [email protected]dentons.cn
www.dentons.com