不良资产投资中收购方关注要点

作者: 徐邦炜、白力捷、竞天公诚律师事务所
0
231

良债权转让属于中国《合同法》所规范的债权转让,但由于其形成原因的特殊性,实践中相关交易除了适用债权转让的一般性规定之外,还需要关注法律法规中关于国有资产、担保等问题的特别规定,并同时考虑政策性因素。本文根据有关法律法规和政策性规定,结合最高法院在一些判例中的观点,就境内外收购方在不良资产交易中需要重点关注的问题初步整理提示如下:

NPLs
徐邦炜
竞天公诚律师事务所合伙人

特殊因素

债务人为国有企业。国有企业债务人能否以损害国家利益为由主张不良资产转让合同无效,实践中存在不同意见。据此,当债务人系国有企业时,建议不良资产收购方在尽职调查阶段结合具体投资项目情况,评估国有资产管理部门或者国有企业债务人根据《合同法》五十二条的规定,以转让合同价格过低损害国家利益为由,主张转让合同无效的可能性。

债务人或担保人为国家机关。根据最高院在[2018]最高法民再273号判决中的观点,金融资产管理公司转让的不良债权债务人或者担保人为国家机关的,法院应当认定转让合同损害国家利益或社会公共利益,或者违反法律、行政法规强制性规定而无效。此外,即使案涉债权发生时担保人的身份不属于国家机关,而嗣后其性质演变为国家机关,债权转让合同也会因为符合《不良债权转让纪要》第六条的规定而无效。

NPLs
白力捷
竞天公诚律师事务所实习律师

抵贷资产涉及划拨取得的国有土地使用权。如不良债权转让中抵贷资产涉及国有划拨土地使用权,在债权转让协议中,建议收购方关注关于转让标的的约定是债权转让还是土地使用权处分。如果协议明确约定通过处分国有土地使用权实现以物抵债,建议收购方关注是否会由于转让方在未经政府批准、未交纳土地出让金的情况下,擅自用划拨土地使用权与收购方签订以物抵债协议,违反了法律的强制性规定而被认定无效。如果协议约定为债权转让,不涉及出让土地使用权及附着不动产,合同内容不违反国家法律与行政法规的效力性强制规定,通常认定为合法有效。此时收购方还需评估相关土地使用权的价值能否最终实现,尽量避免受让债权后因无法完成土地使用权转让而带来的风险和损失。

越权担保

根据最高院2019年11月发布的《全国法院民商事审判工作会议纪要》(《纪要》),如果公司法定代表人或其他人员违反法定程序,未经股东(大)会或董事会决议擅自以公司名义对外担保,且债权人未审查股东会决议或董事会决议,则对外担保和债务加入大概率会被认定为无效。据此,建议收购方在尽职调查阶段取得担保公司的决议、章程等文件,并审查其有效性以确保担保有效。如担保合同被认定为无效,且担保人存在过错,债权人有权要求其根据过错承担相应赔偿责任。

未登记债权实现

根据《纪要》的规定,若不动产抵押合同依法成立、但未办理抵押登记手续,债权人有权请求抵押人配合办理抵押登记;因抵押物灭失以及抵押物转让他人等原因不能办理抵押登记,债权人有权在不超过抵押权有效设立时抵押人所应当承担的责任范围内,请求抵押人以抵押物的价值为限承担责任。

不可分割性

以资产包形式转让和收购的不良资产,资产包具不可分割性,收购方就资产包中相对优质的资产处置后,请求部分解除不良资产转让合同的通常难以得到法院支持。如需解除不良资产转让合同,应当整体解除并整体返还相关资产。

政策效力

商业银行剥离不良资产的债权转让不同于一般民事主体之间的债权转让,具有政策性强、高风险、高收益等特点。最高院在《不良债权转让纪要》中也明确要求,法院审理此类案件时要兼顾法律规则、国家政策、金融市场监管和社会影响等因素,确保审判的法律效果和社会效果统一。据此,建议收购方在投资决策中结合具体投资项目情况关注相关的政策背景。

综上,不良资产转让交易在合同效力和法律风险防范方面具有其特殊性,建议收购方对此充分关注,并在遇到疑难问题时及时咨询专业律师的意见。

作者:竞天公诚律师事务所合伙人徐邦炜、实习律师白力捷

交通

竞天公诚律师事务所
北京市朝阳区建国路77号
华贸中心3号写字楼34层 邮编: 100025
电话: +86 10 5809 1266
传真: +86 10 5809 1100
直线: +86 10 58091515
电子信箱:
xubangwei@jingtian.com
bai.lijie@jingtian.com
www.jingtian.com

Factors in the acquisition of NPLs in China

By Xu Bangwei and Bai Lijie, Jingtian & Gongcheng
0
43

The transfer of non-performing debts is in nature debt transfer governed by the Contract Law. Unless otherwise provided by laws and regulations, the general rules on debt transfer should apply. However, in practice, in addition to applying the general rules of transfer of creditor’s rights, particular attention should be paid to the special provisions of laws and regulations on state-owned assets, guarantees and other issues, along with the consideration of policy impact.

NPLs
Xu Bangwei
Partner
Jingtian & Gongcheng

In accordance with relevant laws, regulations and policies, combined with the views of the Supreme Court in some cases, this article discusses some factors for domestic and foreign investors to consider when acquiring non-performing loans (NPLs) in China.

Special factors

The debtor is a state-owned enterprise (SOE). In practice, courts’ opinions vary with respect to whether an SOE debtor can claim the invalidity of an NPL transfer contract on the ground that it impairs the interests of the state. When the debtor is an SOE, therefore, the NPL acquirer is advised to, during the due diligence phase, evaluate the possibility that any related state-owned asset administration, or the SOE debtor, will claim the invalidity of an assignment on the ground that the transfer is made at an unfairly low price that impairs the interests of the state, pursuant to article 52 of the Contract Law, and taking into account investment project particulars.

NPLs
Bai Lijie
Trainee
Jingtian & Gongcheng

The debtor or guarantor is a state organ. According to the Supreme People’s Court’s opinion in its [2018] SPC Civil Retrial Judgment No. 273, where the debtor or guarantor of an NPL transferred by a financial assets management company is a state organ, the court shall hold the transfer contract invalid for impairing the state or public interest, or violating mandatory provisions of laws and administrative regulations. In addition, even if the guarantor is not a state organ, when the debt in question comes into existence but later becomes a state organ, the debt assignment contract will also be deemed invalid under article 6 of the Minutes on Non-performing Loans Assignment.

The loan assets involve the right to use allocated state-owned land. If the loan asset in non-performing credit assignment involves the right to use allocated state-owned land, the acquirer is advised to check whether the subject matter of the assignment agreement is assignment of creditor’s rights or disposal of the land use right. If the agreement explicitly defines the disposal of the state-owned land use right as a form of in-kind debt settlement, the acquirer is advised to evaluate the risk in terms of the probability of enforcement of such an agreement being invalidated for violation of mandatory legal requirements to use allocated state-owned land without obtaining government approval, or without paying the land premium.

If the agreement defines the subject matter of the assignment agreement as the assignment of creditor’s rights, instead of a transfer of the land use right and attached real property, the agreement is usually deemed valid, as long as the contract provisions do not violate the mandatory requirements on validity set out in state laws and regulations. It is advisable to evaluate the realizable value of NPL investment prior to accepting an assignment, and to prevent hidden risks of loss caused by unenforceable creditor’s rights in terms of the transfer of state-owned land use rights.

Unauthorized guarantees

According to the Minutes of the National Courts’ Civil and Commercial Trial Work Conference, issued by the Supreme People’s Court in November 2019, if the legal representative or other staff of a company violates legal or company’s internal procedure to provide external guarantees in the name of the company without a resolution of the shareholders’ meeting or the board of directors, and the creditor does not examine the resolution of the shareholders’ meeting or the board of directors in carrying out due diligence, the external guarantee and debt joining are very likely to be invalidated.

Therefore, the acquirer is advised to review resolutions, articles of association and other relevant documents of the guarantor company during due diligence process, and check the validity of such documents to ensure the validity of the guarantee. If a guarantee contract is held invalid, and the guarantor is at fault, the creditor is entitled to claim compensation from the guarantor proportionate to its fault.

Unregistered creditor’s right

According to the minutes, if a real estate mortgage contract has legitimately come into effect, but the security interest has not been registered on time, the creditor may still proceed to request the mortgagor to co-operate in mortgage registration. If registration is impossible due to the loss of collateral, or transfer of collateral to any third party, the creditor may request the mortgagor to assume liability to the extent of the collateral value within the scope of the mortgagor’s liability, defined when the mortgagee’s right is created by the contract.

Indivisibility

If NPLs are transferred and acquired in an asset portfolio, the portfolio shall be indivisible. Usually a claim for partial termination of an NPL portfolio transfer contract, after purchaser’s disposal of an asset of higher value in the package, will hardly be supported by the court. The contract can only be terminated as a whole, and the portfolio shall be returned in its entirety.

Policy impacts

Unlike the assignment of creditor’s rights between civil subjects, the assignment of creditor’s rights of commercial banks to divest NPLs is featured by strong policy guidance, high risk and high yield. The Supreme People’s Court explicitly requires, in the Minutes on Non-performing Loans Assignment, that the court hearing such cases shall take into account such factors as legal rules, state policies, financial market supervision and social impact, thereby ensuring the legal and social effects of the trial are consistent. Thus the acquirer is advised to consider the relevant policy background of the specific investment project in making its investment decision.

To sum up, NPL transfer has its particularities in terms of contractual validity and legal risk prevention measures to be taken. The acquirer is advised to pay due attention in this regard, and contact legal professionals for advice in complex and challenging NPL transactions.

Xu Bangwei is a partner and Bai Lijie is a trainee at Jingtian & Gongcheng

collateral

Jingtian & Gongcheng
34/F, Tower 3, China Central Place
77 Jianguo Road, Beijing 100025, China
Telp: +86 10 5809 1266
Fax: +86 10 5809 1100
E-mail:
xubangwei@jingtian.com
bai.lijie@jingtian.com
www.jingtian.com