新增标的的境外申请许可要求

作者: Piyush Sharma,LexOrbis律师事务所
0
161

度专利法的一项特殊规定是未经印度专利局的许可,印度居民发明人的发明不得在印度境外发布。特别是1970年《印度专利法》第39条明确了印度专利法的这项规定。在印度首次提交申请时,申请人需要等待六周的时间让印度专利局评估有关发明的技术性质。印度专利局将判断该项发明是否涉及国防应用或原子能等敏感技术,如果这些技术被泄露到境外,可能会对国家利益产生不利影响。印度专利局可以因此发布保密指令,以控制该等发明出口到印度境外。如果印度专利局没有提出任何异议,那么申请人就可以自由地在外国法域提交相应的专利申请。

application
Piyush Sharma
管理律师
LexOrbis

如果申请人希望首先在印度境外提交专利申请,他们必须向印度专利局申请获得境外申请许可。这项要求甚至适用于首先在印度提出申请,但申请人希望在六周内在外国法域提交申请的情况。如果有关发明不涉及敏感技术,印度专利局通常会在两到三周内批准该等申请。如果有关发明可能涉及到敏感技术,印度专利局可能会将有关申请提交给国防部获得批准。

如今,如果申请人希望在印度境外直接提交完整的专利申请,很显然申请人必须在印度境外提交申请前取得境外申请许可。不过,在申请人首先在印度境外提交临时申请,然后在印度境外提交临时后完整(CAP)申请的情况下,有关境外申请许可的要求存在不确定性。虽然申请人在提交临时申请前显然需要先申请取得境外申请许可,但是申请人在提交CAP申请前是否需要取得第二次境外申请许可存在不确定性。

在提交CAP申请时,申请人通常会在说明书中增加附加内容,比如有关实施例、附图和权利要求的详细披露。特别是在CAP申请中包含了这些附加内容时,境外申请许可的要求对于申请人来说变得很困惑。

值得注意的是,该法律并不要求申请人在请求境外申请许可时充分披露有关发明的相关情况。事实上,有关发明的摘要和标题等简要说明通常足以使印度专利局判断有关发明是否涉及敏感技术。

这清楚地表明印度专利局在审查颁发境外申请许可时申请人不需要完整披露有关发明的情况。因此,申请人在提交CAP申请前不需要再取得第二次境外申请许可。这种说法是假定附加内容不涉及敏感技术,而且CAP申请的整体内容都在临时申请范围内,印度专利局已经就该临时申请颁发了境外申请许可。

只有当CAP申请中新增加的内容超出了临时申请的范围或者直接表明有关发明可以用于敏感行业,那么申请人应该考虑提交第二次境外申请许可。这同样适用于就增补专利申请境外申请许可的要求。

为更加清晰,可以考虑一下以下例子,即在就车辆跟踪系统申请获得境外申请许可时提交了有关披露,印度专利局颁发了境外申请许可。在提交CAP申请时,申请人意识到该项发明也可以在战争时用在军用车辆上去追踪坦克的行踪,因此在CAP申请的说明中增加了该实施例。由于该实施例涉及到国防相关的应用,因此这项新增的内容需要经过印度专利局的审查。在这种情况下,申请人应当在提交CAP申请时提交第二次境外申请许可。

因此,如果CAP申请的说明在临时申请说明的范围内,且附加内容不包括有关发明在敏感技术的任何实施例,那么申请人不需要取得第二次境外申请许可。这个策略将降低提交CAP申请的总体成本。同时,它还将消除由于提交第二次境外申请许可而导致提交CAP申请的延误。

Piyush Sharma 是LexOrbis律师事务所的管理律师。

infringement
LexOrbis
709/710 Tolstoy House
15-17 Tolstoy Marg
New Delhi – 110 001
India
Mumbai | Bengaluru
联系我们
电话 : +91 11 2371 6565
传真: +91 11 2371 6556
电邮: mail@lexorbis.com
网站: www.lexorbis.com

FFL requirement for newly added subject matter

By Piyush Sharma, LexOrbis
0
40

One of the peculiar provisions of Indian patent law is that an invention involving a resident inventor shall not be revealed outside India without seeking permission from the Indian Patent Office (IPO). Particularly, section 39 of the Indian Patents Act, 1970 (act), deals with this provision of the Indian patent law. Where the application is first filed in India, the applicant is required to wait six weeks for the IPO to assess the technical nature of the invention. The IPO will determine whether the invention relates to sensitive technologies, such as defence applications or atomic energy, which could adversely affect national interests if revealed abroad. The IPO may accordingly issue secrecy directions to control the export of such inventions outside India. If the IPO does not raise any objection, the applicant is then free to file corresponding patent applications in foreign jurisdictions.

application
Piyush Sharma
Managing Associate
LexOrbis

If the applicant wishes to first file the patent application outside India, they must file a request at the IPO for obtaining a foreign filing licence (FFL). This requirement arises even in cases where the application has been first filed in India, but the applicant wishes to file the application in a foreign jurisdiction within this duration of six weeks. The IPO usually grants such requests within two to three weeks, if the invention does not pertain to sensitive technologies. If the invention seems to be relating to such technologies, the IPO may refer the application to the Ministry of Defence for approval.

Now, in cases where the applicant wishes to first file a direct complete application outside India, it is clear that the applicant is required to obtain the FFL before filing the application outside India. There is, however, uncertainty with regard to the requirement of FFL in cases where the applicant first files a provisional application outside India and then files a subsequent Complete After Provisional (CAP) application outside India. While it is clear that the applicant is required to file a request to obtain an FFL before filing the provisional application, it is problematic to ascertain whether the applicant needs to obtain a second FFL before filing the CAP application.

It is quite common for applicants to introduce additional content in the specification, such as detailed disclosure of embodiments, drawings and claims, at the time of filing the CAP application. Particularly, in cases where such additional content is included in the CAP application, the requirement of FFL becomes confusing for the applicants.

It is pertinent to note that the act does not require the applicant to make full disclosure of the invention in the request for the FFL. In fact, brief details of the invention, such as a summary of the invention and the title are usually sufficient for the IPO to determine whether the invention relates to sensitive technologies.

This is a clear indication that the applicant does not have to make full disclosure of the invention when the IPO reviews it before issuing the FFL. Thus, the applicant is not required to obtain a second FFL for the additional content before filing the CAP application. This assumes that the additional content does not relate to sensitive technologies, and that the overall content of the CAP application is within the scope of the provisional application, for which the IPO has already issued the FFL.

Only where the newly added content of the CAP application is outside the scope of the provisional application or directly hints towards the invention being usable in sensitive sectors, should the applicant consider filing the second FFL request. This would equally hold true with regard to the requirement of obtaining FFL for the patent of addition.

For clarity purposes, an example can be considered where the disclosure submitted along with the request for obtaining the FFL related to a vehicle tracking system and the IPO had issued the FFL. While filing the CAP application, the applicant realizes that the invention can also be deployed in military vehicles to track tank movements during battle and thus includes this embodiment in the description of the CAP application. Since this embodiment relates to a defence-related application, such additional content is required to be examined by the IPO. In such cases, the applicant should file a request for a second FFL before filing the CAP application.

Therefore, where the CAP specification falls within the scope of the provisional specification and the additional content does not include any embodiment of the invention in a field of sensitive technology, the applicant is not required to obtain the second FFL. This strategy would reduce the overall cost of filing the CAP application. At the same time, it will also eliminate the delay caused in the filing of the CAP application due to a filing of the second FFL.

Piyush Sharma is a managing associate at LexOrbis.

application
LexOrbis
709/710 Tolstoy House
15-17 Tolstoy Marg
New Delhi – 110 001
India
Mumbai | Bengaluru
Contact details
Tel: +91 11 2371 6565
Fax: +91 11 2371 6556
Email: [email protected]lexorbis.com
Website: www.lexorbis.com