冠状病毒疫情爆发:中国法下的不可抗力

0
184
force majeure

2020年1月30日,世界卫生组织宣布新型冠状病毒肺炎疫情已构成国际公共卫生紧急事件。笔者看到,疫情所引发的连锁反应正在持续影响我们的客户,包括业务和运营的中断。

中国法下存在不可抗力制度,并在《合同法》中有明确规定。本文旨在从中国法的角度讨论如何处理由中国法管辖的合同,并提供相应的建议。

中国法下的不可抗力制度规定于《中华人民共和国民法总则》第一百八十条及《中华人民共和国合同法》第一百一十七条,其定义为不能预见、不能避免且不能克服的客观情况(事件)。

如果合同中没有约定不可抗力条款,则该法定原则应根据《合同法》自动适用。如果合同中对不可抗力有特别约定,则应在不抵触或减损《合同法》规定的一般原则的情况下,适用合同中的特别约定。

主要原则

中国合同下的不可抗力主张。当不可抗力事件导致:i) 合同目的不能实现;或ii) 一方当事人无法依约履行合同时,应适用不可抗力的规定。同时需要满足下列条件:

  • 不可抗力事件与合同无法履行之间必须存在因果关系,即不可抗力事件必须是合同无法履行的原因;
  • 主张不可抗力的一方必须立即或及时通知对方;以及
  • 主张不可抗力的一方必须证明不可抗力的存在,以及对履约的影响,并提出免责主张。针对新型冠状病毒疫情,当事人可提供中国政府采取防疫措施的相关政策文件,以此证明不可抗力的存在。同时,中国国际贸易促进委员会(“中国贸促会”)于2020年1月30日发布通告,公司法人可就国际贸易合同向其申请出具不可抗力证明。

不可抗力原则的例外情形。不可抗力原则不适用于下列情况:

  • 不可抗力事件发生后订立的合同;
  • 金钱给付义务;以及
  • 不可抗力事件发生在迟延履行之后。

不可抗力的法律后果。如不可抗力主张成立,法律后果为:

  • 民事责任的免除:一方当事人因不可抗力不能履行合同义务的,其不履行义务的民事责任可免除,包括全部或部分不履行,或不能及时履行合同义务的情形;
  • 解除权:根据《合同法》第九十四条,因不可抗力致使合同目的不能实现的,当事人可以请求解除合同;以及
  • 变更合同的可能性:法律并没有规定当事人可以不可抗力为由要求变更合同。但是,根据2003年SARS疫情中所确立的司法原则,中国法院似乎愿意授予债权人单方面修改合同的权利。

减轻损失的义务。根据中国《合同法》,如守约方没有采取适当措施而致使损失扩大的,其不得就扩大的损失部分要求赔偿。在不可抗力情形下,此原则亦应适用。受不可抗力事件影响的双方均应采取适当措施以减少损失。

其他选择

情势变更原则。在中国法下,当事人还可以主张情势变更。如果该事件的影响是致使合同无法履行,则应主张不可抗力;如果履行仍有可能,但会“明显不公平”,则应主张情势变更。主张情势变更的,当事人可以请求变更或解除合同。

主张情势变更与主张不可抗力,在司法程序上存在不同。主张情势变更,应当先向法院提起诉讼,否则当事人的行为可能构成违约。此外,法院在适用情势变更原则时,应报请高级法院审核批准,在某些情况下还需要层报最高人民法院批准,而主张不可抗力则不需要经过该等程序。因此在实践中,主张情势变更是更为困难的。

可采取的措施

我们建议各方采取切实可行的措施以减轻目前疫情的影响,包括考虑是否存在替代性的履行方式(例如寻找其他供应商)。

同时,各方应审查其签署的合同是否受中国法律管辖,并就下列问题寻求协助和
建议:

  • 是否可以主张中国法下的不可抗力;
  • 合同中是否约定了不可抗力条款,以及该等条款是否符合《合同法》下的法定规则;
  • 如何准备不可抗力事件的通知(该通知必须立即或及时地发出);
  • 如何证明不可抗力事件的存在;以及
  • 有哪些可供选择的方案,合同的变更或终止是否恰当,以及应适用何种司法程序。

保持业务的持续运转是处理危机的关键。如各方希望保持业务关系,应尽早与对方进行协商并争取达成各方均可接受的解决方案,以便共同解决各自所面临的问题。

《商法摘要》由贝克·麦坚时律师事务所协助提供,内容仅供参考之用。读者如欲开展与本栏内容相关之工作,须寻求专业法律意见。读者可通过以下电邮与贝克·麦坚时联系:张大年(上海)danian.zhang@bakermckenzie.com

COVID-19: Force majeure from a PRC law perspective

0
160
force majeure

On 30 January 2020, the World Health Organization (WHO) declared the COVID-19 outbreak a public health emergency of international concern. The authors continue to see the ripple effects of the outbreak, including business and operational disruptions, impacting many of our clients.

The doctrine of force majeure is recognized under PRC law and is defined in the Contract Law. This article provides a PRC perspective on dealing with contracts governed by PRC law.

Force majeure exists as a doctrine under article 180 of the General Rules on the Civil Law and article 117 of the Contract Law. It is defined as an objective event or situation that is unforeseeable, unavoidable and insurmountable.

Where contracts have no provision on force majeure, the doctrine applies automatically under the Contract Law. Where the contract has a specific provision on force majeure, the contract provision will apply to the extent that it does not conflict or derogate from the general principles set out under the Contract Law.

Key principles

Invoking force majeure in PRC contracts. The doctrine applies where an event of force majeure: (1) renders the object of the contract impossible to achieve; or (2) hinders the ability of a party to perform under the terms of the contract. There are a few elements which need to be fulfilled:

  • Cause must be established between the force majeure event and non-performance of the contract, i.e., the force majeure event must be the cause of the non-performance;
  • The invoking party must notify the counterparty promptly or in a timely manner; and
  • The invoking party must provide proof of existence of force majeure, proof of impact of force majeure on performance, and state their claim for exemption from liability under the contract. For COVID-19, existence of force majeure may be proved by providing examples of epidemic precautionary measures adopted by the central government. Meanwhile, the China Council for Promotion of International
    Trade (CCPIT) issued a notice on 30 January 2020 that, in relation to international trade contracts, the company can apply to the CCPIT for issuing certificates of force majeure.

Exceptions to the principle of force majeure. Force majeure does not apply in the following circumstances:

  • Where a contract is concluded after the force majeure event;
  • Monetary payment obligations; and
  • Where the performance is already
    delayed, and the force majeure event took place during the period of delayed performance.

Consequences of invoking force majeure. If force majeure is successfully invoked, the following are the consequences:

Exemption from civil liability: If a party cannot perform its contractual obligations as a result of a force majeure event, it is absolved of civil liability for such failure to perform, including non-performance in whole or in part, or failure to render timely performance;

Right to terminate: Under article 94 of the Contract Law, a party may request to terminate the contract, where the purpose of the contract cannot be realised because of force majeure; and

Possibility of modification: The law does not provide that parties may have the right to modify the contract as a consequence of force majeure. However, based on the relevant judicial principles set out in the wake of the 2003 SARS outbreak, PRC courts appear to be willing to grant creditors the right to unilaterally modify the contract.

Obligation to mitigate. As provided by the Contract Law, the non-breaching party that fails to take appropriate preventive measures, and thus causes the loss to be aggravated, may not claim compensation for the aggravated portion of the loss. This principle should still apply when there is force majeure. Both parties suffering from force majeure shall take appropriate preventive measures to mitigate losses.

Other options

Doctrine of change of situation. Under PRC law, an alternative option is to consider a change of situation claim. If the impact of the supervening event is such that the contract cannot be performed, then force majeure should be invoked. If performance is possible but is “obviously unfair”, then a claim should be made under the change of situation regime. When claiming under the change of situation, a party may request to modify or terminate the contract.

The judicial process in bringing a change of situation claim is different from that for invoking force majeure. In a claim for change of situation, a judicial court proceeding must be initiated, otherwise a party’s conduct may constitute a breach of contract. Further, when the court applies the doctrine of change of situation, it must request for the review and approval from the provincial-level high court. Sometimes this may escalate and require the approval of the Supreme People’s Court. A claim based on force majeure does not need such a precondition. Therefore in practice, it is more difficult to make a change of situation application.

Actions to consider

It is recommended that parties take practical steps to mitigate the effects of the present situation, including considering whether there are alternative ways of performing their contractual obligations (e.g., sourcing another supplier).

Meanwhile, parties should check their existing contracts as to whether these are governed by PRC law, and seek assistance and advice in relation to:

  • Whether force majeure can be invoked under PRC law;
  • Whether a force majeure clause is in place, and, if so, whether this is consistent with the principles under the Contract Law;
  • Preparation of the notice of the force majeure event, which must be given in a timely manner;
  • Proving the existence of the force majeure event; and
  • Available options, whether modification or termination of the contract may be suitable, and what judicial procedures may apply.

Maintaining operational continuity is key to crisis management. If parties wish to maintain business relations, it may be useful to negotiate a compromise with the counterparty at the earliest opportunity so that the joint effort may lead to a resolution of any issues.

Business Law Digest is compiled with the assistance of Baker McKenzie. Readers should not act on this information without seeking professional legal advice. You can contact Baker McKenzie by e-mailing Danian Zhang (Shanghai) at danian.zhang@bakermckenzie.com