约束政府引导基金风险

作者: 乔兆姝,道可特律师事务所
0
264

2015年11月和12月财政部先后颁布《政府投资基金暂行管理办法》(《办法》)和《关于财政资金注资政府投资基金支持产业发展的指导意见》(《指导意见》)。由于政府引导基金特殊的财政属性和杠杆属性,本文仅就其在实践运作中面临着立法本身缺陷、多规适用、合规等风险进行阐述。

立法缺陷风险。政府引导基金兼具政策性和资本逐利性,《办法》和《指导意见》从不同层面和不同角度对政府引导基金运作环节进行限制。相较于政府产投基金,对政府引导基金的限制更为严苛。同时,《指导意见》多次强调“加强顶层设计”,即省级政府可根据自身的实际情况,有针对性地出台、调整本级政府投资管理办法。在此基础上,各省级政府、计划单列市财政部门可结合本地区政府投资基金管理办法及其实践情况,制定本地区实施细则。

guidance fund
乔兆姝
道可特律师事务所
高级合伙人

以管理人为例,《办法》和《指导意见》未对政府作为出资人应满足的投资主体要求进行明确,也未明确托管人资质和准入条件,而是授权各地区根据地区实践设置不同的准入门槛。

多规适用风险。多部门在不同时期先后出台多部法规规章对政府投资基金进行规定,产投基金与政府引导基金相关规定存在许多交叉重叠之处,二者在设立条件、运营管理、资产托管等方面存在诸多重叠之处,在资金来源、投资方式、投资领域、考核评价、禁止性事项及退出安排方面存在显著区别。

《指导意见》第二条第二项规定:“针对产业重点领域和薄弱环节,相机采取创业投资引导基金、产业投资基金等形式予以支持。”实践中,政府引导基金、产业投资基金与其他政府类出资基金的交叉使得各类法规适用也存在交叉重叠,多规适用的复杂性无疑加大了各政府引导基金参与主体的合规风险。

由于《办法》《指导意见》对操作性规范的大面积留白,政府引导基金在目标选择、投资方案确定、投资策略拟定、投资标准遵循及投资流程、后续管理、收益分配和基金清算安排、投后管理、信息披露、退出或应对突发事件过程中缺少具有可操作性的规范指引,容易陷入参照其他政府出资类基金相关规定或是摸着石头过河的风险漩涡中。

审慎合规风险。股权投资是政府引导基金的主要投资方式,“募、投、管、退”都深度涉及到合规,如投资计划、投资结构、投资方案的合规,托管人、基金及目标公司资质合规,登记、备案、审查合规,股权转让、资产出售、担保抵押、资金融通以及退出合规,信息披露、公告的合规,投资项目涉及的潜在利益冲突、投资限制豁免、关键人士变更及替任关键人士等合规。由于政府引导基金的特殊性和限制性,加之《办法》与《指导意见》的原则性概述,上述罗列的合规事项存在合规条款模糊的风险。

风险约束建议。立法层面重限制轻规范意味着现行政府引导基金规范更倾向于对政府这一主体的规范,而忽视对整个政府引导基金运行的规范。在法规政策不明确背景下,律师应在充分分析政府引导基金立法走向、监管态势以及已有案例的基础上,建议政府引导基金各参与主体掌握行业动向,选择更严格的风控标准。

面对多规适用风险,在法规政策背景不明朗的情况下,律师应协助政府引导基金各主体结合自身情境审慎甄别适用法规,主动分析和研究相关基金运营管理案例,掌握区域内立法者和主管部门的监管思路。

针对合规依据不清的风险,《办法》未明确指引的一般性合规事项可参照相关政府出资基金规定,如信用信息公示可参照《政府出资产业投资基金信用信息登记指引(试行)》,而对于《办法》未明确指引的特殊性合规事项如参与主体资质、提前退出,律师应协助政府引导基金各参与主体立足自身实际和发展规划,搜寻和总结本地区、本领域相关政府引导基金案例,与区域内主管部门及时沟通确认,审慎选择合规依据,避免合规风险。

作者:道可特律师事务所高级合伙人乔兆姝

government funds

道可特律师事务所

北京市朝阳区东三环中路5号
财富金融中心56层 邮编: 100020
电话: +86 10 8586 1018
传真: +86 10 8586 3605-8006
电子信箱: dkt06@dtlawyers.com.cn

www.dtlawyers.com.cn

Curtailing government guidance fund risks

By Qiao Zhaoshu, DOCVIT Law Firm
0
24

On November and December 2015, the Ministry of Finance issued the Interim Administrative Measures for Government Investment Funds and the Guiding Opinions on the Funding of Government Investment Funds with Fiscal Funds to Support Industrial Development. Due to the special fiscal and leverage attributes of government guidance funds, this article will only address a legislative flaw, multiple applicable regulation and compliance risks, which such funds face in practical operation.

Legislative flaw risk. Government guidance funds have both a policy nature and a capital profit-seeking nature, and both the above-mentioned measures and the opinions place limits at the operating stage of government guidance funds, from different levels and different perspectives. Compared to those on government industry investment funds, the restrictions on government guidance funds are much more stringent.

guidance fund
Qiao Zhaoshu
Senior partner
DOCVIT Law Firm

Additionally, the opinions emphasize “strengthening top-level design” multiple times, that is to say, provincial-level governments may, depending on their own circumstances, issue and revise the measures for the administration of government investments at their level. On this basis, provincial-level governments and the finance authorities of municipalities with independent development plans may formulate implementing regulations for their region in light of the measures for the administration of government investment funds and the practical situation in their region.

Taking the manager as an example, neither the measures nor the opinions addresses the investment entity conditions that the government as funder is required to satisfy, nor do either specify the qualifications or access conditions of custodians. Instead, they authorize each region to set different access thresholds in light of their own realities.

Multiple applicable regulation risk. Several authorities have issued several sets of regulations on government investment funds at different times. With these, the regulations on industry investment funds and government guidance funds contain numerous points of overlap in terms of establishment conditions, operation and management, asset custody, etc., but also differing markedly in terms of fund provenance, investment methods, sectors invested in, evaluation, prohibited matters and divestment arrangements.

Item (2) of article 2 of the opinions specifies: “For key industrial fields and weak links, support may be given in the form of venture capital guiding funds, industrial investment funds, or otherwise as the case may be.” In practice, the overlap of government guidance funds, industry investment funds and other government funded funds also causes overlap in the application of the various regulations. The complexity of the application of multiple regulations undoubtedly increases the compliance risks that participants in government guidance funds face.

Due to the immense gaps with operating rules in the measures and opinions, government guidance funds lack practical compliance guidelines for target selection, determination of investment plans, formulation of investment strategies, compliance with investment standards, investment procedures, subsequent management, profit distribution and fund liquidation arrangements, and, in the course of post-investment management, information disclosure, divestment and contingency response. All of these make it easy to fall into the maelstrom of risks that referring to regulations for other government funds, or simply fumbling around, throw up.

Prudential compliance risk. Equity investment is the principal mode of investment by government guidance funds, and each of “fundraising, investment, management and divestment” heavily involves compliance such as: An investment plan, investment structure and investment scheme compliance; custodian, fund and target company qualification compliance; registration, filing and review compliance; equity transfer, asset sale, security mortgage, financing and divestment compliance; information disclosure and announcement compliance; and investment project-related conflict of interest, investment restriction exemption, key personnel change and key personnel replacement compliance.

Given the special nature of, and restrictions on, government guided funds, and the nature of the measures and opinions as general statements of principle, in the above-mentioned compliance matters reside the risks associated with compliance clause ambiguity.

Risk constraint recommendations. That the legislation level emphasizes restriction and downplays regulation signifies that current rules for government guidance funds focus on regulation of the entity that is the government, while ignoring regulation of the overall operations of government guidance funds. Against a backdrop of vague regulations and policies, lawyers should recommend – on the basis of a thorough analysis of the legislative trends in, and regulatory stance toward, government guidance funds and existing cases – that participants in government guidance funds familiarize themselves with industry trends and select more stringent risk control standards.

In the face of multiple applicable regulation risks, and in a situation where the background of regulations and policies is unclear, lawyers should assist the various entities involved in government guidance funds in prudently identifying the applicable regulations in light of their own circumstances, actively analyzing and studying relevant fund operation and management cases, and familiarizing themselves with the regulatory approach of the legislators and regulators in the region.

With respect to the risk presented by unclear compliance, reference may be made to relevant government-funded fund regulations for general compliance matters not expressly addressed by the measures, e.g., for credit information disclosure, reference may be made to the Guidelines for the Registration of Credit Information on Government Funded Industry Investment Funds (for Trial Implementation).

For special compliance matters not expressly addressed by the measures, such as the qualifications of participants and early divestment, lawyers should assist participants in government guidance funds in seeking and summarizing relevant government guidance fund cases in the region and sector in question, as well as timely communication with and confirmation from the regulator in the region, and prudently selecting the compliance basis in light of their own realities and development plans, so as to avoid compliance risks.

Qiao Zhaoshu is a senior partner at DOCVIT Law Firm

government funds

DOCVIT Law Firm
56/F Fortune Financial Center
No.5 East Third Ring MiddleRoad
Chaoyang District, Beijing 100020, China
Tel: +86 10 8586 1018
Fax: +86 10 8586 3605-8006
E-mail: [email protected]

www.dtlawyers.com.cn