用知识产权综合策略实现商业目的

作者: 刘建强,天驰君泰律师事务所
0
226

帮助企业在中国的知识产权确权和维权过程中,结合不同类型行动方案及不同类别知识产权的综合策略往往对顽固侵权人及复杂侵权状况具有良好的效果。其实,无论综合策略还是根据策略安排的行动,最终都是为实现企业商业目的提供支持。

以商标为例,维权行动在对权利人商业目的支持方面主要有两个作用,即提高企业的品牌知名度和提升产品的市场占有率。

ipr protection
刘建强
合伙人
天驰君泰律师事务所

商业目的对策略的影响。虽然宏观上,不同企业在提高品牌知名度和提升市场占有率的目的方面的要求几乎没有太大差异,但就具体企业而言,因企业组织形式、发展阶段、规模大小、产品性质以及进入中国市场的时机等因素各异,其具体的商业目的侧重点也会有所不同。

例如,主推时效性很强的快速更替型潮流产品的企业面临商标或专利被侵权,基于其产品生命周期的限制,卷入旷日持久确权或维权纠纷可能是无法承受的代价。在这种情况下,在争取纠纷权利的基础上充分利用企业现有知识产权,制定以高效快速打击行动为主、以谈判及严厉打击手段震慑潜在侵权人为辅的综合策略,可能对在潮流产品的有效生命周期获得最大限度的市场份额及商业利润会有比较积极的作用。

相反,对于中国市场经营多年已经具有较高知名度和稳定市场份额的传统行业企业,“短、平、快”的行动方案虽然可能短期内有效,但可能难以满足企业长期稳定市场份额及不断提升品牌知名度的商业要求,并可能对长期商业目标起到负面作用。这时,稳健且包括日常常规行动、高效快速行动以及能够震慑潜在侵权人的较复杂行动的综合策略可能对企业稳步增长份额及逐步提高知名度的商业需求更为有效。

对于其他介于两类之间或有特殊商业安排的企业,也需要根据其不同的商业目的安排知识产权综合策略。

谨慎使用模式化方案。在看重效率的当今社会,大量总结之前经验所积累的知识产权确权和维权方案当然有用,而且的确能起到大大提升效率和节省时间的目的。然而,任何事物都有两面性。实践中因为使用模板经常出现的问题之一,就来自为了节省时间而针对看似同类实则不同的案件批量使用同一个模板。在这种情况下,如果幸运碰到与之前同样的对手和场景,模式化方案就会起作用,但如果遇到的对手或场景有所不同,可能就会出现预料之外的偏差,甚至大相径庭的结果。

这是因为,模式化方案其实仅仅是解决案件的基础工具,而非全部。如果没有对案件本身的深入调研分析和对行动目标的充分了解,贸然使用模板如同赌博,结局超出预测不足为奇。

因此,模式化方案应仅作为参考工具使用。策略、方案的灵魂,仍然在于对案件综合信息充分把握分析之后,量身定做方案。在这个过程中,经过认真审核的模板的确能起到节省时间的作用,但需要注意,无论如何,模板仅仅是一个工具。在这一认知基础上使用模板,才能起到在不影响案件效果的前提下,节省时间、提升效率。

综合策略的优势。在实践中,正确运用综合知识产权策略,无论在协助企业在中国建立完整有效的知识产权体系方面,还是在应对顽固且经验老道的侵权人方面,均起到了良好的效果。在实践中,也多次成功为企业夺回之前因知识产权侵权而失去的市场份额,并同时提升了企业及其品牌在中国市场的知名度。

关注重点。企业若想借力知识产权综合策略实现其商业目的,需要注意:(1)知识产权综合策略虽然有效但并非万能,实现企业的商业目的最核心的还是要依靠长期稳定的优质产品或服务质量;(2)知识产权综合策略对企业而言是一个常规方案,而非一劳永逸之举;(3)打击侵权不能只靠自我感觉立场正义,侵权人在经过多年被打击之后,也积累了越来越多对抗权利人规避被惩罚的经验。只有在技术方案上全面超越并压制侵权人,才能实现知识产权综合策略的应有效果。

综上所述,企业为自身量身定做知识产权综合策略,再结合原本就具备的长期稳定提供优质产品或服务的能力,笔者相信一定能够在中国市场实现其商业目的。

作者:天驰君泰律师事务所合伙人刘建强

商标

天驰君泰律师事务所
中国上海市长宁区长宁路1133号
长宁来福士广场T1幢29层 邮编: 200051
电话: +86 21 5237 7006
传真: +86 21 5237 7009
电子信箱:
frankliu@tiantailaw.com
www.tiantailaw.com

Using integrated IP strategies to realize business objectives

By Frank Liu, Tiantai Law Firm
0
172

When helping enterprises to establish and protect intellectual property rights(IPR) in China, an integrated strategy combining different types of action plans and different IPR can often achieve good results when it comes to persistent infringers and complex infringements.

In fact, either an integrated strategy, or an action arranged according to the strategy, is ultimately to provide support for the realization of the business goals of enterprises. Taking trademarks as an example, there are two main purposes of protection rights in supporting the business objectives of the right holders, namely, improving the brand awareness of enterprises, and enhancing the market share of the product.

ipr protection
Frank Liu
Partner
Tiantai Law Firm

The impact of business objectives on strategies. At a macro level there is little difference in the need of improving brand awareness and market share among different enterprises. But for specific enterprises, due to the different organizational forms, development stages, scale, nature of products, and timing of entering the Chinese market, business objectives will also be different.

For example, based on the limits of their product life cycles, enterprises that feature fast-changing and time-sensitive trendy products and face trademark or patent infringements may find the cost of getting involved in protracted disputes on rights establishment or protection unbearable.

In this case, making full use of the existing IPR of enterprises and formulating an integrated strategy that takes efficient and rapid action, supplemented by negotiation, and severe strikes to deter potential infringers, may have a more positive effect on maximizing market share and commercial profits for their products.

For traditional industry enterprises that have been operating in the Chinese market for many years with high reputation and stable market share, such an action plan conducted in a quick and low-cost manner may be effective in the short term, but it may be difficult to meet business requirements of long-term stable market share and continual improvement of brand awareness, and may have a negative impact on long-term business objectives.

On this occasion, an integrated strategy that is robust and includes routine daily tasks, efficient and fast action, and more complex actions that can deter potential infringers, may be more effective for the business needs of steadily increasing its share and gradually increasing its visibility.

For other enterprises in between, or with special business arrangements, it is also necessary to arrange integrated IP strategies according to different business objectives.

Use template strategies with caution. In today’s society, which attaches great importance to efficiency, a large number of IPR establishment and protection programmes based on experience are useful, and can really play a role in immensely improving efficiency and saving time.

However, a coin has two sides. One of the problems that often arises in practice comes from the use of template strategies designed to save time by applying the same template in batches for seemingly similar cases – yet they are different in reality. In this context, if the right holder encounters the same infringer and scenario as before, the template strategy will work. But if the infringer or scenario is different, the outcome is likely to deviate from expectations.

This is because template strategies are just a basic tool, not the whole kit. Without in-depth research and analysis of the case itself, and full understanding of the objectives of action, the hasty use of template strategies is a gamble, and it is not surprising they will meet with unexpected outcomes.

Therefore, template strategies should be regarded only as a reference. The essence of a strategy or plan still lies in a tailor-made strategy, after fully grasping and comprehensively analyzing the case. In this process, carefully reviewed templates can save time, but it is important to note that the template is only a tool. Only by recognizing this can the use of template strategies save time and improve efficiency without hurting the case.

The advantages of an integrated strategy. In practice, the proper use of an integrated IP strategy has worked well in helping enterprises to establish a complete and effective IP mechanism in China, as well as in dealing with persistent and experienced infringers. In practice, it has also successfully regained the market share lost by IP infringement many times, while also enhancing the visibility of enterprises and their brands in the Chinese market.

POINTS TO NOTE

If an enterprise wants to achieve its business objectives with the help of an integrated IP strategy, it should understand that: (1) The integrated IP strategy is effective but not omnipotent, and the core of achieving business objectives of an enterprise relies on their stable high-quality products or services for a long period of time; (2) The integrated IPR strategy is a routine strategy for enterprises, but not a once and for all move; (3) For right holders, it is not enough to rely on the sheer feeling that justice is on his or her side in fighting against infringements.

After years of being cracked down upon, the infringers have accumulated more and more experience against right holders, to avoid being punished. Only by surpassing and suppressing infringers with a technical strategy can the desired effect of the integrated IP rights strategy be achieved.

To sum up, by customizing an integrated IPR strategy, combined with the ability to provide high-quality products or services in a long-term and stable manner, the author believes enterprises will be able to achieve their business purposes in the Chinese market.

Frank Liu is a partner at Tiantai Law Firm

trademarks

Tiantai Law Firm
29/F, T1 Building, Raffles City
No.1133 Changning Road, Changning District
Shanghai 200051, China
Tel: +86 21 5237 7006
Fax: +86 21 5237 7009
E-mail:
frankliu@tiantailaw.com
www.tiantailaw.com