公司人格混同如何判定?

作者: 李伟明,天驰君泰律师事务所
0
135

者在过往的法律服务特别是执行案件中,面临较多“穷公司富股东”以及“唯股东无公司”的情况。虽然我国《公司法》早在2005年就引入了公司法人人格否认制度,但实务中除一人有限责任公司外,原则上很难以公司和股东存在财产和人格混同为由追加股东为被执行人。因此,实务中对于如何判定公司法人人格混同变得十分
重要。

2019年11月14日,《全国法院民商事审判工作会议纪要》(《九民会议纪要》)正式发布。其中,《九民会议纪要》第十条对公司法人人格混同的判断标准作出了较为详细、明确的规定:认定公司人格与股东人格是否存在混同,最根本的判断标准是公司是否具有独立意思和独立财产,最主要的表现是公司的财产与股东的财产是否混同且无法
区分。

corporate
李伟明
合伙人
天驰君泰律师事务所

在认定是否构成人格混同时,应当综合考虑以下因素:(1)股东无偿使用公司资金或者财产,不作财务记载的;(2)股东用公司的资金偿还股东的债务,或者将公司的资金供关联公司无偿使用,不作财务记载的;(3)公司账簿与股东账簿不分,致使公司财产与股东财产无法区分的;(4)股东自身收益与公司盈利不加区分,致使双方利益不清的;(5)公司的财产记载于股东名下,由股东占有、使用的;(6)人格混同的其他情形。

在出现人格混同的情况下,往往同时出现以下混同:公司业务和股东业务混同;公司员工与股东员工混同,特别是财务人员混同;公司住所与股东住所混同。人民法院在审理案件时,关键要审查是否构成人格混同,而不要求同时具备其他方面的混同,其他方面的混同往往只是人格混同的补强。

这次《九民会议纪要》对于公司人格混同的认定具有较强的指导意义。

重申标准。这次《九民会议纪要》再次重申与明确“财产混同”是主要的考虑因素,并对人格混同与其他混同作了区分。

在过往案例中,最高院曾明确:“法人股东派员到下属公司任职属正常现象,不能认定人员混同;其次,虽经营范围相同,但生产资料各自独立,不能认定业务混同;最后,由于各公司在结算上各自开具发票、财务相互独立,不能认定财务混同。”

在(2013)最高院民二终字第43号案例中,最高院也认为,“双重职务身份”不违反我国相关法律规定;在没有证据证明公司的业务、财务等其他方面混同时,仅因管理人员相同,也不能认定人格混同。

另外,对于“一套班子、两块牌子”的问题,法院也明确此不为法律禁止。若不存在财务混同情形,则关联单位也不应承担连带责任。同样,对于仅法定代表人与注册地址同一以及财务报表受母公司控制,乃至两家公司实际控制人相同、营业范围相同等,法院也均给出相关行为不等同于公司丧失经营自主权和独立人格,无法证明财产混同,不足以否认法人人格的结论。

《九民会议纪要》在总结法院过往既有认定标准基础上,再次重申和明确判断公司人格混同的实质标准是财产混同。其它形式的混同均不宜单独作为是否构成人格混同的认定依据。这次会议纪要在过往案例的基础上,对认定人格混同作出了进一步细化规定,并对人格混同与人员、业务等其它混同之间的关系作了梳理,具有现实指导
意义。

举证责任分配。公司人格混同认定案件中,如何举证去证明,对于申请人来说往往是十分困难的。现有法律规定中,除了对一人有限责任公司明确适用“举证责任倒置”外,在对公司人格混同案件中,过往的司法实践中多采取较为被动的举证分配模式。

在(2015)民二终字第85号案例中,最高院曾明确,在审理法人人格否认案件时,考虑到债权人处于信息劣势而举证困难等因素,人民法院应合理分配举证责任,并在债权人用以证明股东滥用公司法人独立地位和股东有限责任的证据令人产生合理怀疑的情形下,将没有滥用的举证责任分配给被诉股东。但同时明确,上述调整的前提是作为原告方的债权人已举出盖然性的证据证明股东存在滥用行为并由此产生了损害的结果,而并非是当然的举证责任倒置。

结合上述司法实践,这次《九民会议纪要》对于混同的情形作出了细化规定并指明证明方向,对于减轻申请人的举证压力很有帮助。

作者:天驰君泰律师事务所合伙人李伟明

公司控制

天驰君泰律师事务
中国上海市长宁区长宁路1133号
来福士广场T1幢29层 邮编: 200051
电话: +86 21 5237 7006
传真: +86 21 5237 7009
电子信箱:
[email protected]
www.tiantailaw.com

Making a judgment on confusion of corporate personality

By Li Weiming, Tiantai Law Firm
0
291

In the previous provision of legal services, especially in the enforcement of rulings on cases, the author has frequently encountered issues like “an underfunded company with rich shareholders” and “shareholders in a company without corporate personality”.

Although the Company Law introduced the institution of disregarding corporate personality as early as 2005, in practice, except for a one-person limited liability company, it is hard to include the shareholders of a company as parties subject to enforcement, on the ground of the confusion of properties and personality between the company and the shareholders in principle. Therefore, in practice, how to make a judgement on the confusion of corporate personality becomes a significant problem.

corporate
Li Weiming
Partner
Tiantai Law Firm

On 14 November 2019, the Minutes of Working Conference of Courts in China for Civil and Commercial Trials was officially released. Article 10 explicitly specifies the criterion for judging the confusion of corporate personality in detail:

“For determining whether the personality of a company and that of a shareholder are united, the most fundamental test is whether the company has independent will and independent property, and the most important manifestation is whether the property of the company and that of the shareholder are so united as to be indistinguishable from each other.

“When determining whether the confusion of personalities is committed, the following factors should be considered: (1) the shareholder uses the cash or property of the company gratuitously, without keeping financial records; (2) the shareholder pays its debts by using the cash of the company, or permits an affiliate to use the cash of the company gratuitously, without keeping financial records; (3) the books of the company are not separated from the books of the shareholder, rendering the property of the company indistinguishable from that of the shareholder; (4) the property of the company is recorded in the name of the shareholder, and processed and used by the shareholder; (5) the property of the company is recorded in the name of the shareholder, and processed and used by the shareholder; and (6) the personalities are otherwise united.

“The confusion of personalities tends to happen in the following ways: (1) the business of a company and that of any of its shareholders are united; (2) the employees of the company and those of the shareholder are united, especially financial employees; and (3) the domicile of the company and that of the shareholder are united.

When a people’s court tries a case, it is critical to review whether the confusion of personalities is committed, and the confusion in other aspects is not required concurrently, as it often only corroborates the confusion of personalities.”

The minutes serves as a better guide for confirming whether there is a confusion of corporate personality.

Reaffirmation of criteria

The minutes reaffirm and clarify that “confusion of properties” is the main consideration, and distinguish the confusion of personality from confusion in other aspects.

In previous cases, the Supreme People’s Court clearly stated that, “Firstly, the designation of a person by a corporate shareholder to work for a subsidiary of the company is normal and shall not be considered as a confusion of employees; secondly, the same scope of business with independent means of production shall not be considered as a confusion of business; and finally, there is no financial confusion on the ground that companies respectively issue invoices for settlement and are financially independent of each other.”

In case ((2013) ZGYMEZZ No. 43), the Supreme Court also held that, “The same person holding positions in two companies” does not violate relevant laws of China; without the evidence of the confusion of business, financial affairs, etc., between the two companies, the confusion of personality shall not be determined to exist merely on the ground that the same person works as a manager for the two companies.

In addition, the court clearly stated that the issue of “one team working under two different organization names” was not prohibited by law. If there is no confusion of financial affairs, affiliated parties are not required to assume joint and several liabilities. Similarly, the court also held that the mere facts that two companies had the same legal representative and the same registered address, and that their financial statements were controlled by their parent company, and even that two companies had the same actual controller or the same scope of business, neither constituted their loss of the autonomy in management and independent personality, nor proved the confusion of their properties, nor justified the disregarding of their corporate personalities.

Based on summarizing the existing judging criteria of the courts, the minutes reaffirm and clarify that the de facto criterion for determining whether there is a confusion of corporate personality is subject to the confusion of properties. It is inappropriate to take any other forms of confusion as a basis for determining the confusion of personality.

Based on previous cases, the minutes provide more detailed provisions on determining the confusion of personality, and describe the relations between the confusion of personality, employees, business, etc., serving as a guide in practice.

Allocation of the evidential burden

In cases involving determining whether there is a confusion of corporate personality, it is often very difficult for an applicant to produce evidence. In accordance with existing laws, except the application of “reversion of burden of evidence” for a one-person limited liability company, in cases involving the confusion of corporate personality, a more passive mode for allocation of the burden of evidence was frequently adopted in previous judicial practice.

In case ((2015) MEZZ No. 85), the Supreme Court clearly stated that in trying a case involving the disregarding of corporate personality, considering factors including the difficulties of creditors in producing evidence due to their information disadvantages, the people’s courts shall reasonably allocate the burden of evidence, and shall allocate to shareholders who are defendants the burden of disproving the misuse of their independent legal person status and their limited liabilities, if the evidence produced by creditors to prove such misuse raises reasonable doubt.

Meanwhile, the court clearly stated that the above-mentioned adjustment is subject to the premise that creditors as plaintiffs have produced probable evidence of misuse by shareholders that caused the resultant damage, other than the inevitable reversion of burden of evidence.

Based on this judicial practice, the minutes provides detailed provisions on the confusion of personality and a guidance on evidence production, which help reduce the pressure on an applicant in producing evidence.

Li Weiming is a partner at Tiantai Law Firm.

Tiantai Law Firm
29/F, T1 Building, Raffles City
No.1133 Changning Road, Changning District
Shanghai 200051, China
Tel: +86 21 5237 7006
Fax: +86 21 5237 7009
E-mail:
liweiming@tiantailaw.com
www.tiantailaw.com