中国顶尖金融律师刘大力,是中国改革开放的热情倡导者,也是值此艰难时刻难得的乐观主义者。他在无数重要交易中发挥了关键作用,帮助塑造了当今中国法律市场与银行和金融业的样貌。如今作为国际律师协会中国工作组的联席主席和君合律师事务所的合伙人,他同《商法》分享了自己的职业故事和做一流律师的艺术

[视频]刘大力讲述招商银行信用卡中心交易背后的故事

当招商银行决定终止与信用卡提供商美国运通的合同时,刘大力说服这家中国银行重新考虑其决定。从客户一个看似将终止合作的负面要求中,他成功为双方扭转了局面。刘大力说,商业律师的精髓在于为整体的商业蓝图提供意见,而非仅仅是完成手头的任务。

《商法》在您看来,要成为成功的法律人(律师和法务)最需要的是什么?

刘大力:我认为律师必须能够深刻了解客户的需求,更进一步,要了解客户需求背后的需求。

怎样把客户的问题还原到它所处的行业、企业、交易或者更大的背景中,很深刻地洞察客户的商业需求?在我的书《破局》中有一个例子:当时,招商银行信用卡中心只是想解除一个合同,但是我了解到,解除合同是因为他们商业上的需求变化了。就此,再提出解决方案,就真正帮合同双方解决了真正的问题,令他们重新合作。

律师还应当具备创造性解决问题的能力。这是重中之重的一项能力,尤其对于金融律师,他们应当在交易结构、交易文件和金融产品等方面,进行金融创新。

另一个要点是,律师要真正热爱法律、热爱律师这一职业,热爱这个创造价值、为客户解决问题的职业。真正创造价值,而不只是把它做成一个只是挣钱的工作、一个饭碗。在那些之上,应该还有真正的热爱。

谈到法务,我从来没有做过法务,但是和很多客户的法务、法务总监打过交道。我觉得,一位优秀的法务/法务总监(general counsel)应该具备的能力,第一是深刻了解企业的战略,服务于企业的商业计划,预防、解决法律风险,并且能够为业务部门创造法律价值。

其次,法务要能与外部律师良好地合作。法务对自身行业、企业内部部门设置、企业文化更加了解,而外部律师主要是提供专业服务。一位优秀的法务能够作为桥梁,或者作为协调者,在外部律师和公司的业务部门之间发挥良好作用。

最后,法务要有学习能力、开阔的视野,不局限在自己的一亩三分地、企业所处的比较狭窄的领域。要有一个开放的心态,能学习更新的东西、更迅速发展的市场。

David Liu
2004年,国有银行改革拉开序幕,交通银行率先进行上市重组,引入香港汇丰银行投资。刘大力主导的团队为这一里程碑式的交易提供法律服务。

《商法》:在国际化进程中,中国律师需要重点锻炼的能力是什么?他们应该如何突破困局?

刘大力:对中国律师来说,开放的心态、学习的能力很重要,要在国际化进程中向优秀的国际同行、国际客户、一流的律师事务所、国际投行学习。经过改革开放四十多年的发展,有一批中国律师已经有很大的成长;但是,和欧美一流的律师相比,我觉得中国律师还应该继续提高国际化视野、高水平的能力,以更高的标准要求自己。

良好的职业操守,或称professionalism,非常重要。这不是一个词或某种道德立场,而是一项贯穿在中国律师的执业过程中的品质:怎样能够为客户真正地尽责,保持独立、提供帮助。存在利益冲突的情况下,保持职业操守、为客户保密、尽心尽力维护客户利益;在遵守国际规则的前提下,发挥律师专业能力。

中国迄今通过“一带一路”走到了100多个国家,有大量的投融资、收购和基础设施项目,涉及每年上千亿美金。然而,对于100多个国家不同的法律制度、法律文化、交易习惯和商业文化,我们并非都那么熟悉,这也是一个很大的挑战和困局。

“一带一路”倡议是中国融入全球化的过程,反哺过去在改革开放这么多年、加入WTO之后中国的受益,中国现在是在pay back(回馈)。律师也需要在这个过程中真正突破自己的局限,而非只是把一个交易当成交易,只是找一个当地的律师合作,要真正地提高自己,让自己有一个更开阔的视野、更了解的心,来和各国同行建立关系,走到世界各国发挥自己的作用。

[视频]刘大力:一流律师如何思考和解决问题?

《商法》:一流律师解决问题的方法是怎样的?

刘大力:我个人有一套方法或者说步骤,我把它称作“一二三四五六七八九”。对任何一个问题(比如法律研究,或者客户有问题让我们来回答),或者合伙人安排事情给到年轻律师做时,我希望这个律师(包括我自己)必须能够做到“一二三”,这是最基本的。“一二三”是什么?比如做一个跨境收购,律师应当能够回答:在外汇管理局这边会碰到什么问题,手续方面(比如汇出、登记或批准)有什么风险。

对于具体的问题,“一二三”要求律师必须很清楚地把握客户问的是什么问题、为什么问这个问题、怎么回应,回复应该包括:从法律法规到政策,到司法实践,到具体惯例。同时,研究层次要分清。做到这些才是一个合格的律师,60分而已。

律师不能停在客户表面的问题上,也不要停在合伙人让你做的assignment上面,而应该了解整个交易、整个案件、客户为什么要做交易。比如刚才的外汇管理问题,就要研究好:客户首先要汇款,现在外管的政策是什么、在实践中是怎么执行的。即便如此,研究这两个问题的前提是充分了解客户讲的是什么钱、在什么情况下汇出,所有的全部研究好了才算完成了“一二三”。

那么,“四五六”研究什么?要研究客户整个交易跨境交易的大结构是什么、各方关系是什么、外汇问题在整个交易中处在什么环节,是前端、中端还是后端?包括定金,包括前面的支付、后面的支付和远期的支付吗?包括汇兑吗?包括人民币换成美元吗?各类问题弄清后,在整个交易结构中你就搞得更清楚了,就有big picture。同样,外汇管理的政策要放到整个外汇管理的体制内去看:这个政策现在怎么执行,按照接下来的发展趋势怎么执行,它在资本项目下和经常项目下的不同是什么——你对这个体系就更了解,对交易体系、背后客户的需求和法律体系/脉络/逻辑。就像中国现在可能会加强监管,交易会变得更困难,不管法规怎么规定,实际窗口指导汇出几乎不可能,交易就会延迟。这样一来,交易的practical risk就需要很清楚地告诉客户。

做到这一步,还只是一个好的律师,还不算是特别优秀的律师。基于前面的第一和第二层,来到第三层:创造性地提出你的建议。比如,我会建议,“在文本中是不是加一些保护性条款”,“是不是可以换一种方式,例如可能现在上海在这个方面控制比较紧,我们了解事务所的其他人在其他地方做的交易(例如在北京)更容易”,等等。

以上一至九,对每个城市的律师,无论一年级两年级还是中级还是资深,都适用。

[视频]刘大力讲述中国金融市场的开放和未来

值此全球经济不确定性达到历史最高点之际,刘大力对中国的金融市场寄予厚望。与其他行业相比,中国金融市场的开放相对滞后。有趣的是,该行业的开放在过去几年中取得了逐步的进展,从保险到债券市场等诸多领域,都取消了对外国投资的限制。对于投资者来说,他们对此应该怀有何种期待?中国政府对这一行业的开放愿意走多远?

《商法》:对于疫情后银行和金融领域的法律服务,您看到哪些机遇与挑战?

刘大力:首先,疫情的冲击,使得不同的行业有大量的企业收购、兼并、重组的机会。中国大约有十二万亿的基金(私募、风险投资)的投资,这十二万亿中大概有50%需要退出,但是由于经济下行没有办法通过IPO退出,那么就要通过收购、兼并退出,而这将会为银行带来大量的并购、融资的业务。企业的重组和破产也会为银行不良资产处置、债务重组业务带来很多的机会。

第二,疫情对经济的一个极大的改变就是online service,即网络经济,同样,网络金融、网络银行的业务在后疫情时期也应该会大大增加。

此外,疫情也会对整个全球化和中国的“一带一路”有很大的影响。中国现在已经加大开放金融领域,应该说在银行、基金、证券这几个行业都已经取消了,都已经允许外资控股,或者取消了持股(包括保险行业持股)的限制,这些方面都会带来一些新的机遇。

david liu
1992年,外国投资者纷纷来到开放不久的上海浦东考察,刘大力(左四)向来一个美国代表团介绍情况当地的税收、土地和投资政策。

《商法》:作为最早的涉外律师,您见证了中国的金融市场从无到有,对这一开放之路,您有怎样的感受和展望?

刘大力:中国自1978年开始改革开放,但中国律师尤其涉外律师的发展实际上是从80年代末、90年代初开始的,到现在差不多有30年的时间。这30年中国律师发展非常迅速,他们是跟随着中国改革开放一起发展起来的。我最大的感受是,中国在通过改革开放融入整个世界、全球经济的过程中,从经济基本上快要崩溃的边缘来到世界第二大经济体的位置,在各个领域都经历了巨大的改变,尤其在商业和金融领域。金融律师/商业律师在这个过程中急速成长,参与了整个过程,尤其对金融律师来说,证券市场从无到有,基金、债券、银行、项目融资亦是从无到有、急速发展起来的,给了这一代律师极大的机会来锻炼自己、成长。整个改革开放进程是中国金融律师、涉外律师成长的最好见证。

第二,在高端服务领域,对于涉外律师、金融律师,这一过程是中国律师向国际同行学习的一个过程:从国际同行那里获益,一起合作、谈判,一起做交易,极大地帮助了中国律师的成长,开拓了他们的国际视野,培养了他们专业化的能力。我认为这是一个非常重要的过程。

第三,中国律师与国际同行合作服务于全球五百强客户,每个领域里面的创新从无到有;很多法律,中国也是从无到有。在这样一个万物生长的市场中,这一过程极大激发了中国优秀律师的创新能力。

《商法》:您写《破局》的初心是什么?

刘大力新作《破局》
刘大力新作《破局》

刘大力:最初因为我在华东政法大学律师学院兼任院长,学院想请每位兼职律师、著名的律师写书用作教材,我作为兼职院长和特聘院长,也要带头写作。但是在这个过程中,发现写教材很不容易,我索性就把它写成了我过去正好30年的职业经验总结,重新回顾过去30年一些重要案例、重要的成长节点、一些心得,重新梳理律师在当中所发挥的作用、对当时行业/法律环境的认识。所以,书名“破局”也代表了这一梳理过程。

疫情让我重新认识到,无论哪一个国家,无论国际组织、宗教、民族、文化怎样各自不同,无论科技和医疗发展到了何种程度,在面对病毒时,实际上人类有很大的局限。即,人类也来到了一个要重新认识我们走过的路、我们的局限的境地。人工智能就已经提出这个挑战:人的价值到底是什么?每个生命的价值是什么?同样,我们律师一样面对这个问题,我们会被人工智能取代吗?律师这个职业的价值如何?我们的价值还有所局限,还没有真正找到一个更加根深蒂固的东西。这也是面对疫情,未来人类也要寻找的东西,也是整个银行金融行业也要寻找的东西。

David Liu, one of the most acclaimed financial lawyers in China, is a passionate advocate of the country’s opening-up and a rare optimist in these trying times. He has played a key role in many important transactions that helped shape China’s legal market and its banking and finance industry. The co-chair of the International Bar Association China Working Group and partner at Jun He shares his career stories and some of the artistry of being a top lawyer

[Video] Liu tells the story behind the China Merchants Bank credit card center deal

When China Merchants Bank decided to terminate its contract with credit card provider American Express, Liu counselled the Chinese bank to reconsider its decision. From a seemingly upsetting request that would break the relationship between the two companies, Liu managed to turn the table around for both parties. Liu says the very essence of a business lawyer’s job is to be an advisor for the overall business rather than just completing the task at hand.

China Business Law Journal: What do you need most to be a successful legal professional (both lawyers and in-house counsel)?

David Liu: I think lawyers have to have a deep understanding of clients’ needs and they have to look deeper, beyond the surface needs and the most apparent ones.

For clients’ inquiries, how should lawyers reposition them back to the industry, corporation, transaction, or the larger background where they originated from? In my book Breaking the Game, there is an example that addresses this: At the time, the credit card centre of China Merchants Bank (CMB) wanted to terminate a contract, but I managed to find out that the termination only came up when the business needs of CMB had evolved. I then proposed solutions regarding the altered needs to help both sides of the contract solve their real problems and renew their co-operation.

An outstanding lawyer should also be able to stay up to date with the trends in the industry that they serve, whether it is banking and finance, mergers and acquisitions, capital markets, or intellectual property rights, and have a deeper understanding of the legal environment, changes, trends and policies of the industry, not just around specific cases and transactions.

Lawyers should also have the ability to provide creative solutions. This is a top priority, especially for financial lawyers, who should be able to innovate, when it comes to transaction structures, documents and financial products.

Commitment to the law and legal profession, which creates value and solves problems for clients, is another important aspect. Lawyers should create real value, rather than just make it a job that brings money or pays the bills. There should be true devotion.

As for in-house counsel, I have never been one, but I have dealt with many. In my opinion, the first ability a good in-house/general counsel should have is a deep understanding of the strategy of the company. They should serve its business plan, prevent and remove legal risks, and create legal value for their business departments.

Secondly, they need to have the skill to work well with external lawyers. In-house counsel know better about their own industry, internal department structures and corporate culture, while external lawyers mainly provide specialized services. A good in-house counsel can act as a bridge or coordinator between external lawyers and the business departments of the company.

Finally, in-house counsel should have the ability to learn and have a broad vision not confined to their own turf or the relatively narrow field of their company, and keep an open mind and be able to learn newer things in a rapidly developing market.

David Liu
The reform of state-owned banks kicked off in 2004, with Bank of Communications taking the lead in pre-IPO restructuring by bringing in Hong Kong’s HSBC. The team led by Liu advised on the milestone transaction.

CBLJ: When going international, what are the capabilities that Chinese lawyers need to enhance?

David Liu: For Chinese lawyers, an open mind and the ability to learn are very important, which means to learn from international peers, international clients, first-class law firms and international investment banks. After more than 40 years of China’s reform and opening-up, a number of Chinese lawyers have made great progress. However, compared with the first-class lawyers in Europe and the US, I think Chinese lawyers should continue to improve their global vision and polish their skill sets, and challenge themselves to higher standards.

Good professional ethics, or professionalism, is very important. This is not a fancy word or a moralistic stance, but an important trait that runs through the career of lawyers – how to be truly responsible, independent and helpful to your clients. In the case of a conflict of interest, they must maintain professional ethics, confidentiality for their clients and make every effort to safeguard the interests of their clients while abiding by international rules.

China has so far reached more than 100 countries through the Belt and Road Initiative, with a large number of investment and financing, acquisition and infrastructure projects involving hundreds of billions of US dollars a year. However, we are not all familiar with the legal systems, legal cultures, transaction practices and business cultures of more than 100 countries. This is a great challenge.

The Belt and Road Initiative is China’s effort to pay back the benefits that it received following reforms, opening-up and accession to the World Trade Organization. Lawyers also need to truly break their limitations in this process, rather than take a transaction literally, or simply find a local lawyer to get it over with. They need to truly improve themselves, so that they have a broader vision and a better understanding. They should build relationships with their international peers so as to render their services around the world.

[Video]David Liu talks about how first-class lawyers approach questions

CBLJ: What are some of the methods adopted by first-class lawyers?

David Liu: I have a method or set of steps that I call “one to nine”. For any question (such as legal research, or if the client has a question for us), or when a partner assigns a task to a young lawyer, I would want the lawyer (myself included) to be able to do “one, two and three”. What’s “one, two and three”? Taking a cross-border acquisition deal as an example, the lawyer should be able to answer: what problems will be encountered when dealing with administrations of foreign exchange, and what the risks are in terms of the procedures (such as remittance, registration and approval).

For specific questions, “one, two and three” means that the lawyer must have a very clear grasp of what the client is asking, why they ask, how to respond and what the response should include – laws and regulations, policies, judicial practice and feasible practices. At the same time, the analysis should be clearly structured. This is 60% of the work.

They should not stop there at the surface level of clients’ questions, nor be limited to the assignment that the partners ask them to do. Instead, they should try to make sense of the whole transaction, the whole case and why the client is doing the transaction. Going back to the foreign exchange example, this means that they must know what the current foreign exchange policy is, and how it is executed in reality, if the client wants to do an outward remittance. Even so, there is knowledge that they should grasp before everything – what type of payment the client is talking about, and under what circumstances it is remitted.

Now, what does “four, five and six” mean? That is to examine what the broader structure of the entire cross-border transaction is, what the relationship is between the parties, and where the foreign exchange issues lie in the overall transaction. Is it at the beginning, the middle or the end? Does it include the deposit, upfront payments, back-end payments and long-term payments? Does it include bank remittance? Does it include converting renminbi to US dollars?

Once going through these various issues, you get a much clearer picture of the whole deal structure. Likewise, lawyers must see the foreign exchange policy in the context of the whole foreign exchange management system, how this policy is now implemented, how it will be implemented following the current trend, and, under it, what the different requirements are between the capital account and current account – you’ll know the system better, which includes the trading system, the needs of the client beneath the surface needs and the legal system/architecture/rationale. Like now, as China may strengthen regulation, trading will become more difficult regardless of the terms, and in reality window guidance for remittance of the regulators is almost impossible. Therefore, transactions will be delayed. These practical risks of the transaction must be made very clear to the client.

Having done these steps, one is still only a good lawyer, not yet an outstanding one. Based on the first and second layers above, the third layer is: being creative with your advisory. For example, I would probably propose to the client: “Why not add some protective clauses in the agreement?”; “Maybe we can switch to a different front to do the transaction, for example, maybe now the controls in Shanghai are tighter in this field, it is much easier for our colleagues from my firm doing this type of transaction elsewhere (e.g. in Beijing)”, and so on. The above “one to nine” method applies to lawyers in every city, junior or senior.

[Video] Liu talks about the opening-up of China’s financial sector and its future

Liu has high hopes for China’s financial market, at a time when economic uncertainty has reached an all-time high globally. Compared with other sectors, China’s financial market lags behind in its reform and opening-up. Interestingly, the sector has made gradual progress over the past few years with restrictions on foreign investment being lifted in industries ranging from insurance to bond market. What should investors expect from the reforms? How far is Chinese government willing to go in this regard?

CBLJ: What opportunities and challenges do you see for legal services in banking and finance in the post-pandemic era?

David Liu: To start with, there will be a large number of M&A and restructures across industries due to the pandemic. There are about RMB12 trillion (US$1.72 billion) of (private equity, venture capital) investment in China, of which about 50% needs an exit. However, they can no longer exit through IPOs because of the current economic downturn, which only leaves them an M&A exit. This will bring a lot of M&A and financing business to banks. Restructuring and insolvency will also bring numerous opportunities for the disposal of non-performing assets (NPA) and debt restructuring businesses for banks.

Secondly, one great change that the pandemic introduced to the economy is online services. Internet finance and online banking businesses in the post-pandemic era should also immensely increase.

In addition, the pandemic will also have a great impact on globalization and China’s Belt and Road Initiative. China opened up its financial sector to more foreign investment. It is fair to conclude that restrictions in banking, funds, securities and other industries have been lifted, and foreign investors are allowed to be the controlling shareholders (including in the insurance industry). These changes will bring some new opportunities.

david liu
In 1992, foreign investors flocked to Pudong New Area, Shanghai, when the district had just opened its doors to foreign investment. David Liu (fourth from left) was introducing local tax, land and investment policies to American delegates.

CBLJ: As one of China’s earliest lawyers specialized in foreign-related matters, you have witnessed the emergence of China’s financial market from scratch. What in your opinion are the prospects for the sector?

David Liu: China began its reforms and opening-up in 1978, but the development of the Chinese legal profession, especially lawyers specialized in foreign-related matters, actually began in the late 1980s and early 1990s, and it has been almost 30 years since then. In the past 30 years, Chinese lawyers have grown along with China’s reforms and opening-up. I feel most strongly about the tremendous change that China has gone through during the course of integrating into the world and global economy through reforms and opening-up, from the brink of near economic collapse to the world’s second largest economy. Changes in all fields are formidable, especially for business and finance sectors. Financial lawyers/business lawyers gained exceptional growth in this process and participated in the whole journey, especially for financial lawyers. The securities market has developed from scratch; funds, bonds, banks and project financing have also developed rapidly, granting this generation of lawyers great opportunities to test themselves and grow. The whole process of these reforms and opening-up is the best witness for the growth of Chinese financial lawyers and lawyers specialized in foreign-related matters.

Secondly, in the field of high-end services, for lawyers specialized in foreign-related matters and financial lawyers, this was a process for Chinese lawyers to learn from international peers: to learn from them, to cooperate and negotiate with them and do transactions together, which helped Chinese lawyers greatly, broadening their international vision and cultivating their professional capabilities. I think this is a very important process.

Thirdly, Chinese lawyers cooperate with international peers to serve global Fortune 500 clients, and in each field innovation grows out of nothing; many laws in China also came into being. This process has greatly stimulated the innovation by lawyers in China.

CBLJ: What was your goal in writing your book, Breaking the Game?

David Liu’s new book Breaking the Game
David Liu’s new book Breaking the Game

David Liu: At first, because I was the part-time dean of the Lawyers Institute of the East China University of Politics and Law, the institute wanted to invite every part-time lawyer and acclaimed lawyer to write textbooks and I had to take the lead. But in the process, I found that it was not easy to write textbooks, so I simply wrote it as a summary of my professional experience for the past 30 years, reflecting on some important deals, milestones and personal logs, and re-examining the role of lawyers and my understanding of the industry/legal environment at the time. Therefore, the title of the book, Breaking the Game, also represents my revisit.

The pandemic makes me realize that human beings have great limitations when faced with the virus, regardless of countries, international organizations, religions, nationalities and cultures, or the advancement of technology and healthcare. That is to say, human beings have come to a point where we must rediscover the roads we have travelled and our limitations. Artificial intelligence has already put forward this challenge: what is the value of human beings? What is the value of the life of individuals? Similarly, we lawyers also face this problem. Will we be replaced by artificial intelligence? What is the value of the legal profession? Our values are still very limited, and we have yet to find more deep-rooted ones. This quest is for future human beings, and naturally for the entire banking and financial industry.