优先清算权的法律效力

作者: 李显希、肖志军,天达共和律师事务所
0
198

先清算权,在中国风险投资、私募股权投资领域频频出现。实践中,笔者也经常遇到关于优清算权法律效力的咨询。

Investment
李显希
天达共和律师事务所律师

定义

优先清算权,是指公司进入清算程序或发生视同清算事件时,特定股东有权优先于其他股东分配剩余财产,并实现清算收益的权利。

触发优先清算权的情形包括两类:一是《公司法》第一百八十条列举的清算事件;二是股东间约定的视同清算事件,包括:公司被收购、控股股东转股、实际控制人变更、公司处分公司重大资产等。

法定清算事件

investment
肖志军
天达共和律师事务所律师助理

《公司法》第一百八十六条第二款规定:“公司财产在分别支付清算费用……后的剩余财产,有限责任公司按照股东出资比例分配,股份有限公司按照股东持股比例分配。”相比《公司法》第三十四条关于分取红利的规定,对于清算,《公司法》仅规定了公司剩余财产按股东出资或持股比例分配,并未作例外规定。

优先清算安排违反上述规定,是否会影响其法律效力?

首先,根据《合同法》第五十二条规定,以及《合同法司法解释(二)》第十四条规定,笔者认为,导致合同无效的效力性规定,是公法进入私法的一条重要通道,具有引致条款效力的意义,故效力性规定往往指公法上的强制性规定。但是,对公法的理解,应从具体条款所调整的法律关系来认定。如,《公司法》第一百八十六条所规定的“清偿公司债务后的剩余财产在股东之间的分配”应属于私法范畴,在所涉股东另行达成分配合意时,应可以排除法律规定的适用。

其次,有人提出,根据《最高人民法院关于审理联营合同纠纷案件若干问题的解答》,保底条款违背联营活动中应当遵循的共负盈亏、共担风险原则,损害了其他联营体债权人的权益,应确认无效;并认为优先清算权条款也应认定无效。但笔者认为,公司清算时,当且仅当存在剩余财产时,投资人方可享有优先清算权,且投资收益能否收回并无保障。即,优先清算权与“投资有风险”并不矛盾。

最后,虽然最高人民法院未就优先清算权的法律效力出台指导性案例,但北京市第三中级人民法院于2019年6月18日对一股权转让纠纷案作出的判决([2019]京03民终6335号)认为,公司清算时,公司支付法定优于股东分配的款项后,赋予特定股东剩余财产优先分配权,系股东内部关于剩余财产分配顺序的约定,未违反《公司法》第一百八十六条规定,应认定有效。

综上,剩余财产分配权,与利润分配请求权类似,均系股东自益权范畴,其调整的是特定财产在股东之间分配的比例和次序,未违反法律强制性规定,亦未损害公司债权人利益,应尊重股东间的意思自治,认定“优先清算权约定”原则上合法有效。

视同清算事件

不同于法定清算事件,视同清算事件发生后,公司无需进入清算程序并履行清算财产分配程序。投资人在公司存续的前提下,要求公司向其分配财产或要求股东对其补偿,与“对赌”有异曲同工之处,皆系约定事件触发时由公司或股东承担对赌义务。

2019年11月8日,最高院印发《全国法院民商事审判工作会议纪要》(九民纪要),针对“对赌”效力,确定如下裁判思路:

1.投资人与股东对赌的,如无其他无效事由,应认定有效。关于视同清算事件项下由特定股东回购或补偿的优先清算权条款,应为有效。

2.投资人与公司对赌的,如公司向股东负有金钱给付义务,应以公司有可分配利润为前提;股东要求公司定向减资回购其股权的,不得影响公司的资本充足。因此,满足上述要求的优先清算权条款,应为有效。

结语

Concord-QR code
“欢迎关注天达共和公众号”

关于优先清算权的效力,尽管实务中各方基于不同立场各执一词,但理论、投资实践及现有司法裁判,均倾向于认为符合条件的“优先清算条款”有效。

不过,笔者建议,从保证投资人权利的角度出发,设置优先清算权条款时,应合理确定协议主体、确保条款明确详尽、核实交易安排契合《九民纪要》之要求。

作者:天达共和律师事务所律师李显希、律师助理肖志军

Reform天达共和律师事务所
北京市朝阳区东三环北路8号
亮马河大厦写字楼1座20层 邮编:100004
电话: +86 10 6590 6639
传真: +86 10 6510 7030
电子信箱:
lixianxi@east-concord.com
xiaozhijun@east-concord.com
www.east-concord.com

The legal effect of liquidation preferences

By Li Xianxi and Xiao Zhijun, East & Concord Partners
0
229

Liquidation preference is frequently used in China’s venture capital and private equity investment sectors. In practice, the legal effect of liquidation preference is also among one of the most frequently consulted legal issues.

The definition

Liquidation preference refers to the priority of specific shareholders over other shareholders to receive the distribution of residual property and realize liquidation income when the company enters into the liquidation procedure, or when a deemed liquidation event occurs.

Liquidation
Li Xianxi
East & Concord Partners
Associate

There are two types of circumstances triggering the liquidation preference: (1) the liquidation events listed in article 180 of the Company Law; and (2) the deemed liquidation events agreed among shareholders, including the acquisition of the company, the transfer of shares of controlling shareholders, the change of actual controllers, and the disposal of major assets of the company.

Statutory liquidation events

Paragraph 2 of article 186 of the Company Law provides that, “After paying off the liquidation expenses, wages of employees, social insurance premiums and legal indemnities, the outstanding taxes and debts of the company, the residual properties may, in the case of a limited liability company, be distributed according to the proportion of capital contribution of the shareholders, or, in the case of a joint stock limited company, be distributed according to the proportion of stocks held by the shareholders.”

Liquidation
Xiao Zhijun
East & Concord Partners
Paralegal

Compared with the provisions of article 34 of the Company Law on dividend distribution for liquidation, the Company Law only provides that the residual property of the company shall be distributed in proportion to the capital contribution or shareholding of shareholders, without any provision of exception.

Will a violation of the above-mentioned provisions by liquidation preference arrangement affect the legal effect of liquidation preference? First of all, in accordance with article 52 of the Contract Law and article 14 of the Judicial Interpretation (II) of the Contract Law, the authors are of the opinion that the provisions on validity, which lead to the invalidation of a contract, are an important channel for public law to enter private law, and have the significance of introducing validity provisions of public law into private law. Therefore, provisions on validity often refer to mandatory provisions in public law.

However, the understanding of provisions of public law should be determined by the legal relationship regulated by specific provisions. For example, “the distribution of the residual property among shareholders after paying off the company’s debts”, stipulated in article 186 of the Company Law, shall belong to the scope of private law. When the shareholders concerned reach a separate agreement on distribution, the application of the provisions should be excluded.

Secondly, it is proposed that, in accordance with the Answers of the Supreme People’s Court on Several Issues Concerning the Trial of Disputes over Joint Operation Contracts, the return-guarantee clause violates the principle of sharing profits and losses and risks to be followed in joint venture activities, and impairs the rights and interests of other creditors of the joint operation, so it should be declared invalid. The liquidation preference clause should also be considered invalid.

But the authors believe that when a company is under liquidation, if, and only if, there is residual property can the investor enjoy the liquidation preference, and there is no guarantee that the investment income can be recovered. That is to say, there is no contradiction between liquidation preference and “investment with risks”.

Finally, although the Supreme People’s Court has not yet issued any guiding case on the legal effect of the liquidation preference, the judgment of Beijing No.3 Intermediate People’s Court on a dispute over the transfer of equity interest on 18 June 2019 holds that when a company is under liquidation, after the company pays the amount legally prioritized over the amount to be distributed to shareholders, specific shareholders are granted distribution priority of the residual property, which is an agreement among shareholders on the distribution order of the residual property, does not violate the provisions of article 186 of the Company Law, and should be deemed valid.

To sum up, the right to distribution of residual property, similar to the right to profit distribution, falls into the category of a shareholder’s self-benefit right. It adjusts the proportion and order of distribution of specific property among shareholders, does not violate the mandatory provisions of law, and does not undermine the interests of creditors of the company. Therefore, the autonomy of will among shareholders should be respected, and the “agreement on liquidation preference” should be deemed legal and effective in principle.

Deemed liquidation events

Different from that of the statutory liquidation events, after the occurrence of the deemed liquidation events, the company is not required to enter the liquidation procedure and perform the liquidation property distribution procedure. Under the premise of the existence of the company, investors’ requests of the company to distribute property to them, or of shareholders to compensate them, is similar to the case of a value adjustment mechanism (VAM). In both cases, it is agreed that the company or shareholders shall bear the VAM obligations when a certain event is triggered.

On 8 November 2019, the Supreme Court issued the Minutes of the National Working Conference on the Trial of Civil and Commercial Cases by Courts, and established the following principles to decide on the validity of a VAM:

(1) If there are no other invalid reasons for a VAM between investors and shareholders, it shall be deemed valid. The liquidation preference provisions regarding repurchase or compensation by specific shareholders under the deemed liquidation event shall be effective; and

(2) For a VAM between investors and the company, if any amount is due from the company to shareholders, on the premise that the company has distributable profits, if the company is required to reduce its capital and repurchase its equity, the capital adequacy of the company shall not be affected. Therefore, the liquidation preference provisions meeting the above-mentioned requirements shall be effective.

Conclusion

Concord QR code
“Welcome to follow Concord official account”

As for the validity of the liquidation preference, although different parties hold different opinions based on different positions in practice, theories, investment practices and existing judicial decisions tend to believe that the qualified “liquidation preference provisions” are effective.

However, it is advisable, for the benefit of investors, that when liquidation preference provisions are devised, the parties to such an arrangement should be reasonably determined, the provisions should be clear and detailed, and the transaction arrangements should be verified to meet the requirements of the minutes.

Li Xianxi is an associate and Xiao Zhijun is a paralegal at East & Concord Partners

Reform

East & Concord Partners
20/F, Landmark Building Tower 1
8 East 3rd Ring Road North
Chaoyang District, Beijing 100004, China
Tel: +86 10 6590 6639
Fax: +86 10 6510 7030
E-mail:
lixianxi@east-concord.com
xiaozhijun@east-concord.com
www.east-concord.com