绿色债券发行的法律风险管理

作者: 殷艳红,道可特律师事务所
0
147

绿色债券是指利用债券融资工具,将募集资金投资于符合规定条件的绿色产业项目或资产的直接融资方式。根据发改委《绿色债券发行指引》规定,现阶段绿色债券募集资金支持重点行业为:节能减排技术改造、绿色城镇化、能源清洁高效利用、新能源开发利用、循环经济发展、水资源节约和非常规水资源开发利用、污染防治、生态农林业、节能环保产业、低碳产业、生态文明先行示范实验、低碳试点示范等绿色循环低碳发展项目。

与普通债券相比,发行绿色债券审批实行绿色通道,且发行利率多低于普通债券利率,不受发债指标限制,具有“发行成本低、审批效率快、准入条件低”的特点,成为金融机构、非银行金融机构、公司、企业的重要直接融资方式。新冠肺炎疫情期间,绿色债券市场更成为政府政策大力支持的企业复工复产的直接融资渠道,绿色债券发行期数和发行规模同比均有所增长,2020年第一季度发行期数为53期,发行规模为503.09亿元,同比分别增长26.19%和0.64%。

基于绿色债券的特殊性,本文着重论述在绿色债券发行中应重点关注的风险:

殷艳红
道可特律师事务所
高级合伙人

投资占比

根据监管要求,绿色债券募集资金用途应主要用于绿色项目建设、运营、收购或偿还绿色项目贷款等。发行绿色公司债用于绿色项目的金额应不低于债券募集资金总额的70%,其余部分可以用于补充公司流动资金或偿还借款等。发行绿色企业债券允许企业使用不超过50%的债券募集资金用于偿还银行贷款和补充营运资金。

绿色债券募集资金与项目总投资的比例与一般债券有不同的规定,绿色企业债券募集资金占项目总投资比例放宽至80%(相关规定对资本金最低限制另有要求的除外),绿色公司债券的规定是原则上不超过100%。

使用和管理

为确保绿色债券募集资金能够专项用于绿色产业项目,监管机构要求发行人应就绿色项目在公司内部建立完善的绿色项目管理制度,并制定募集资金使用计划。发行人应对绿色产业项目类别评估及遴选管理、绿色项目决策流程、募集资金使用计划管理、第三方认证及信息披露建设完善制度并细化管理。发行人应在内部对部门职责分工进行清晰界定,建立绿色项目管理机制和流程,明确各部门职责和权限,保证绿色产业项目进展及募集资金使用符合监管机构的监管要求。

独立评估

监管机构要求在募集说明书中,对于披露信息,承销机构及中介机构应当出具核查意见。根据中国绿色金融专业委员会编制的《绿色债券支持项目目录》、沪深交易所发布的《关于开展绿色公司债券试点的通知》,鼓励企业发行绿色公司债券提交第三方独立机构出具认证和评估意见。

同时,根据人民银行、证监会颁布的绿色《绿色债券评估认证行为指引(暂行)》,评估认证机构开展绿色认证机构开展绿色债券评估认证业务,应当具备以下基本条件:(1)建立了开展绿色债券评估认证业务所必备的组织架构、工作流程、技术方法、收费标准、质量控制、职业责任保险等相关制度;(2)具有有权部门授予的评级、认证、鉴证、能源/气候/环境领域执业资质;(3)具有相应的会计、审计、金融、能源、气候或环境领域专业人员;(4)最近三年或自成立以来不存在违法违规行为和不良诚信记录。

信息披露

在信息披露方面,发行人应按照监管机构的要求,真实、准确、充分、及时地对与绿色债券相关信息予以披露。申请发行绿色债券时,募集说明书应当披露拟投资的绿色产业项目类别、项目认定依据或标准、环境效益目标、募集资金使用计划和管理制度等内容。

同时,发行人还应当提供募集资金投向绿色产业项目的承诺函。绿色债券存续期间,发行人应当按照相关规则规定或约定披露绿色债券募集资金使用情况、绿色产业项目进展情况和绿色债券所使用项目实际产生的环境效益信。披露上述内容主要包括定期报告披露、重大事件披露、跟踪信用评级报告披露。

作者:道可特律师事务所高级合伙人殷艳红

government funds

道可特律师事务所
北京市朝阳区东三环中路5号
财富金融中心56层 邮编: 100020
电话: +86 10 8586 1018
传真: +86 10 8586 3605-8006
电子信箱: yinyanhong@dtlawyers.com.cn

www.dtlawyers.com.cn

Legal risk management of green bonds

By Yin Yanhong, DOCVIT Law Firm
0
58

Agreen bond is a direct financing instrument of bond issuance to raise funds for investment in green projects or assets that meet certain conditions. According to the Guidelines on the Issuance of Green Bonds promulgated by National Development and Reform Commission (NDRC), the key areas allowed to use funds raised from green bonds are: Technological transformation for energy conservation and emission reduction; green urbanization; energy cleansing and efficient utilization; new energy development and utilization; circular economy development; water conservation and unconventional development and utilization; pollution prevention and control; ecological agriculture and forestry; energy conservation and environmental protection industry; low-carbon industry; ecological civilization trial and demonstration projects; low-carbon trial and demonstration projects; and other recycling and low-carbon development projects.

green bonds
Yin Yanhong
DOCVIT Law Firm
Senior partner

Compared with general bonds, the green bond issuance goes through green channels for approval process, with mostly lower interest rates and beyond the limitations of the bond index, and it has the characteristics of “low issuance cost, fast approval and low entry conditions”. Therefore, it has become an important direct financing tool for financial institutions, non-banking financial institutions, corporations and enterprises.

During the covid-19 pandemic, the green bond market is further regarded as a direct financing channel strongly supported by government policies for the sake of business reopening. Both the number and size of green bond issuances have increased on a year-on-year basis. In the first quarter of 2020, 53 green bonds were issued and the issuance size was RMB50.3 billion, demonstrating an increase of 26.19% and 0.64%, respectively, compared to the same period last year.

Since green bonds have some special traits, this article focuses on the risks that deserve attention throughout issuance.

Investment proportion

According to regulatory requirements, funds raised by green corporate bonds and overseen by the China Securities Regulatory Commission (CSRC) should be mainly used for the construction, operation or acquisition of a green project, or for the repayment of green project loans, accounting for no less than 70% of the total funds. The rest can be used to supplement the company’s working capital, or to repay loans. For green enterprise bonds, overseen by the NDRC, funds used for supplementing the enterprise’s working capital, or to repay loans, should be no more than 50% of the total funds.

Different from general bonds, for green enterprise bonds, the limit on the proportion of funds invested in the project to total investment has been lifted to 80% (except when there is a minimum capital requirement by the relevant provisions), and not more than 100% in principle for green corporate bonds.

Use and management

In order to ensure that the funds raised by green bonds can be used exclusively for green industry projects, regulators require that issuers should establish a sound management mechanism for green projects within the company, and formulate plans for the use of funds.

Issuers should establish a thorough system and refine its management on project category evaluation and selection, the project decision-making process, fund usage management, third-party verification, and information disclosure. Issuers should have a clear division of responsibilities for departments, establish a management mechanism and procedure, clarify the responsibilities and access of each department, and make sure that regulatory requirements are met throughout the project, and on the usage of funds.

Independent assessment

Regulators require that underwriters and intermediaries should give assessment opinions on disclosed information in the prospectus. Enterprises are encouraged to submit independent third-party certification and assessment opinions for green corporate bonds issuance, according to the Green Bond Endorsed Project Catalogue compiled by the Green Finance Committee of China Society of Finance and Banking, and the Notice on the Pilot Project of Green Corporate Bonds issued by the stock exchanges of Shanghai and Shenzhen.

Meanwhile, in accordance with the Green Bond Assessment and Certification Guidelines (Provisional), promulgated by People’s Bank of China and the CSRC, an assessment and certification agency should meet the following basic conditions: (1) it has established the organizational structure, working process, technical methods, charging standards, quality control, professional liability insurance and other related necessary regimes; (2) it is equipped with the qualifications of rating, certification and verification, and the professional qualifications in the fields of energy, climate or environment granted by the competent department; (3) it has professionals in accounting, auditing, finance, energy, climate or environment; and (4) there are no violations of laws or regulations, nor bad credit records in the past three years, or since its establishment.

Information disclosure

Information related to green bonds should be disclosed truthfully, accurately, fully and in a timely manner in accordance with the requirements of the regulatory authorities. When applying for the issuance of green bonds, in the prospectus, issuers are required to disclose matters such as the category of the proposed green project, verification basis or standards, the environmental benefit objectives, a usage plan of the raised funds, and the management regime.

At the same time, issuers should also provide a letter of commitment for investing in green projects with the funds to be raised. For the duration of green bonds, issuers should disclose the use of funds, project progress and the actual environmental beneficial effect in accordance with relevant rules or agreements, which mainly include regular reports, major events and follow-up credit rating reports.

Yin Yanhong is a senior partner at DOCVIT Law Firm

green bonds

DOCVIT Law Firm
56/F Fortune Financial Center
No.5 East Third Ring MiddleRoad
Chaoyang District, Beijing 100020, China
Tel: +86 10 8586 1018
Fax: +86 10 8586 3605-8006
E-mail: yinyanhong@dtlawyers.com.cn

www.dtlawyers.com.cn