对话苏宁体育集团法务总监刘传涛

0
206

管理法务团队考验着每一位总法律顾问的智慧,在全球面临这场前所未有的疫情危机下尤为如此。苏宁体育集团法务总监刘传涛与我们分享了他在团队管理方面的见解。

我认为可以通过四个象限去看待一个法务的进阶路径,这种路径体现了法务如何进行正确的定位,以及发挥自身价值。

第一象限“技术”:是指以法律技术为核心的包含法律规则理解/解释/适用、合同审核、谈判技术、冲突管理、财务分析及信息技术等系统化的综合技术体系。技术是法务专业化职业化的基础,任何一个法务或法务团队,如果缺乏系统化结构化的技术能力体系,则无从开展任何的服务和管理工作。

第二象限“服务”:是指以服务的理念,理解和满足“客户”的需求。作为法务服务对象的客户包括业务同事、管理层和公司本身。围绕提高服务能力,法务应多深入业务,提前介入或干预项目,走向商务和业务的主阵地,树立经营者思维,使用业务语言,解决业务问题,我们既要输出法律分析方案,更要输出具有商业可行性的商务方案。

第三象限“管理”:如果说服务是处理法务和客户的关系,是以客户为主,那管理则是以我为主,以法务为主开展工作。法务不仅要解决业务问题,还应在管理的象限内致力于包括商事交易管理、项目管理、风险管理、合规管理、公司治理、履约管理、冲突管理等各项管理工作。法务应强化管理意识,保持法务的独立性,从管理的角度贡献法务的应然价值。

第四象限“战略”,法务应建立复合型知识能力结构,学会从更高的维度思考和解决产业链、商业模式、监管与效率、竞争与合作、控制与赋权、管理与人性、文化与治理等相关问题。法务利用自己的知识结构和资源优势,完全有能力也应该去更多承担和担当重大项目合作、商业模式设计和优化等工作,去引领业务拓展和创新、优化公司治理规则、推动和优化行业立法、建设健康商业生态。

由于新冠疫情的发生和扩散,全球体育产业正遭受着巨大的冲击,在新环境下审视和调整交易规则、合理分配商业风险和损失、平衡各方利益、解决各类争议以及促进和保障交易目标的达成等诸多挑战和问题,更要求我们居于商事前沿的公司法务在以上四个象限内审慎观察和思考并设计解决方案。”

以上内容主要来自在11月12日在上海君悦酒店举行的“2019年上海·CBLJ高峰论坛”期间进行的采访。该论坛主题为“共建跨境商机·管控环球风险”。 更多关于会议和论坛视频的信息,请访问“2019年上海·CBLJ高峰论坛”主页

Interview with Tonell Liu, legal director of Suning Sports

0
243

Managing a legal team is a test of a general counsel’s wisdom, especially in the midst of an unprecedented pandemic crisis such as the one the world faces. Tonell Liu, legal director of Suning Sports shares his insight with us on team management

“I think the progression path of an in-house counsel can be viewed through the following four quadrants, which showcases how in-house counsel position themselves and give full play to their value.

The first quadrant is “techniques”, which refers to a systemic and comprehensive technique system that includes the understanding/interpretation/application of legal rules, contract review, negotiation techniques, conflict management, financial analysis and information technology, with legal techniques at the core. Techniques are the basis for the professionalization of an in-house counsel, and any corporate counsel or legal team that lacks a systematic and structured system of technical competencies cannot carry out any service and management work.

The second quadrant is “service”, which refers to understanding and meeting the needs of “clients” with a service mindset. Clients that in-house counsel serve include business colleagues, management, and the company itself. To improve service capability, in-house counsel should go deeper into the business, involve in, and have a timely impact on projects, and engage with the commercial and business frontier. In-house counsel should establish the mindset of business operators, use the language of business, and solve the business problems. We output not only legal solutions, but also commercially feasible business plans.

The third quadrant is “management”. While service deals with the relationship between the in-house counsel and the clients, with clients the main focus, management is self-focused, with in-house counsel the main focus. In-house counsel should not only address business issues, but also commit themselves to commercial transactions management, project management, risk management, compliance management, corporate governance, contract performance management, and conflict management within this quadrant. In-house counsel should strengthen their management awareness, maintain their independence, and contribute their proper value from a management perspective.

The fourth quadrant is “strategy”. In-house counsel should establish a composite knowledge and competence structure, and learn to think and solve related issues such as supply chain, business model, regulation and efficiency, competition and co-operation, control and empowerment, management and humanity, culture and governance from a higher dimension. Using their knowledge structure and resource advantages, in-house counsel are fully capable of, and should take on more, work such as major project co-operation, business model design and its optimization, leading business development and innovation, optimizing corporate governance rules, promoting and optimizing industry legislation, and building healthy business ecosystems.

The sports industry around the globe is suffering a tremendous impact due to the COVID-19 outbreak. The challenges and issues of reviewing and adjusting transaction rules, rationally controlling business risks and losses, balancing the interests of all parties, resolving various types of disputes, and promoting and safeguarding the achievement of transaction objectives in the new environment require corporate counsel at the forefront of business to carefully observe, think and design solutions in the above four quadrants.”

This interview was conducted during the CBLJ Forum at Grand Hyatt Hotel, Shanghai, on 12 November, with the theme “Seizing Cross-Border Opportunities – Managing Global Risks”. For more information about the conference and videos of the forum sessions, please visit our CBLJ Forum 2019 webpage here.