中企伦敦上市:海外资本近在眼前

作者: 王汉齐、Nikolas Colbridge ,大成律师事务所
0
254

海证券交易所(上交所)与伦敦证券交易所(伦交所)于2019年6月达成互联互通安排,启动沪伦通机制。据此,上交所A股中国企业可在伦交所发行代表A股的全球存托凭证(GDR),伦交所上市公司可在上交所发行中国存托凭证(CDR)。这一安排分为西向业务(中国公司寻求在伦敦上市)和东向业务(英国上市公司寻求在上海上市)。

西向业务。在沪伦通开展之前,英国投资者仅在极少数情况下可参与A股交易,通常而言,英国投资者无法参与A股交易,而沪伦通的一大创新是允许英国投资者开展A股交易
(交易方式见下文)。

London
王汉齐
合伙人
大成律师事务所

沪伦通与沪港通的主要不同之处在于,在沪伦通机制下,中国发行人可以通过伦敦上市筹集一级资本,而沪港通平台仅支持二级市场交易。此举允许中国企业在境外筹集人民币资金,并且可将资金专用于境外收购或投资战略。与之形成鲜明对比的是,上交所上市公司要想在境外投资,必须遵守外汇管控限制,方能开展以非人民币货币结算的交易。

沪伦通西向业务主要面向蓝筹股发行人,要获取伦敦上市资格,中国发行人在上交所的市值必须不低于200亿元人民币(29亿美元)。

对习惯了为海外公司处理GDR上市业务的业者而言,对于英国相关流程应该并不陌生。GDR应根据中国企业和存托行按照《中华人民共和国合同法》签订的合同(存托协议)开立,并按照英国的《上市规则》及欧盟的《招股说明书规定》上市。

GDR获准在英国上市监管局维护的正式清单中的标准板块上市,并且在伦交所主板市场的沪伦通板块(欧盟受规管市场)进行交易。一旦成功上市,中国公司即需要在始终遵守中国法律规定的义务的同时,与在伦敦上市的GDR的境外发行人遵守同样的要求。

London
Nikolas Colbridge
合伙人
大成律师事务所

沪伦通利用指定跨境转换机构完成GDR和基础A股的跨境交易。指定跨境转换机构被授权通过沪伦通机制在中英两国进行证券交易,从而确保该机制的互联互通

沪伦通的特色之一是设有可供境内外投资者开展交易的单一A股交易平台。投资者可以:(1)购买GDR:要求指定跨境转换机构通过沪伦通购买A股,再指示其存托行开立代表该等A股的GDR;并且 (2) 出售GDR:要求指定跨境转换机构赎回GDR,并在上交所出售相应的基础A股。

东向业务。在过去,中国投资者除在个别情况下可投资伦交所上市公司外,并无其他方式参与到伦交所市场交易中,而沪伦通为中国投资者提供了投资伦交所上市公司的机会。

为保护市场秩序,沪伦通设置了投资门槛。有意参与CDR交易的中国个人投资者必须满足以下要求:(1) 在申请CDR交易前20个交易日,证券账户及资金账户内的日均资产价值不低于300万元人民币(不包括通过融资融券交易获得的资金和证券);(2) 不存在严重的个人不良诚信记录;(3) 不存在因中国法律、上交所市场规则或任何其他原因被禁止或限制参与证券交易的情形。

合格的伦交所上市公司可在上交所主板发行CDR。

拟在上海发行CDR的发行人必须符合以下条件:(1) 市值不低于200亿元人民币;(2) 在伦交所上市满三年,且在主板高级上市版块上市满一年;(3) 申请上市的CDR数量不少于5000万份且对应的基础股票市值不低于5亿元人民币;(4) 持有或购买足够的基础股票(禁止通过新筹资本发行CDR);并且(5) 取得中国证券监督管理委员会许可,遵守上交所要求。

在考虑是否发行CDR时有一个重要的商业考量,即伦交所上市公司不得通过发行与新股挂钩的CDR直接在上交所筹集资金。只有代表现有股份的CDR可以在上交所主板发行。

CDR将视为中国境内A股,并且将替代伦敦的基础股票。CDR将由中国投资人在中国交易时间进行交易,并在中国证券登记结算公司系统内清算和结算。

鉴于中英两国有着不同的法律、语言和文化,为了提高沟通和监管的效率,海外发行人必须在中国建立证券事务机构。该等机构必须符合以下条件:(1) 雇佣熟悉中国规则和要求的国内代表负责CDR上市期间的信息披露和监管联络事宜;(2) 建立与投资者、监管机构和上交所有效沟通的渠道;并且(3) 保护国内投资人的合法权利和权益。

沪伦通有潜力打造一个充满活力的中英金融生态系统,潜在发行人和投资人对此兴趣浓厚。沪伦通符合两国的利益,无疑具有巨大的潜力。

现在,中国公司有了更多机会打入欧洲主要资本市场,伦交所上市公司也有了更多机会进入世界经济增长大国。无论当前形势如何变化,这些基础都难以动摇。

作者:大成律师事务所合伙人王汉齐、 Nikolas Colbridge。大成合伙人尉柳明、律师Ben Lloyd及实习律师曾海轩对文章亦有贡献。

trademark

大成律师事务所
上海市浦东新区银城中路号
上海中心/层 邮编: 
电话: +86 21 5878 5888
传真: +86 21 5878 6866
电子信箱:
hanqi.wang@dentons.cn
nikolas.colbridge@dentons.com
www.dentons.com

Access to capital for Chinese businesses through London listings

By Michael Wang and Nikolas Colbridge, Dentons
0
36

Launched in June 2019, the Shanghai-London Stock Connect scheme is a reciprocal arrangement between the Shanghai Stock Exchange (SSE) and London Stock Exchange (LSE) that allows Chinese entities with A Shares listed on the SSE to list global depositary receipts (GDRs) representing such A shares on the LSE, and LSE-listed companies to list Chinese depositary receipts (CDRs) on the SSE. The reciprocal arrangements may be characterised as Westbound listings (for PRC entities seeking listings in London) and Eastbound listings (for UK listed entities seeking listings in Shanghai).

Westbound listings

London
Michael Wang
Partner
Dentons

One of the key innovations of the Shanghai-London Stock Connect is that it allows investors in the UK to trade A shares (in the manner described below) which, prior to the Shanghai-London Stock Connect was not possible, other than in very limited circumstances.

A key feature that distinguishes the Shanghai-London Stock Connect from the Hong Kong Stock Connect is the ability of the PRC issuer to raise primary capital through the London listing (in contrast to Hong Kong, where the platform supports secondary trading only). This innovation allows PRC companies to raise RMB from outside the PRC, which may be ear-marked for any overseas acquisition or investment strategy of its group. Contrast this with an SSE-listed company attempting to roll out its overseas investment strategy that must comply with exchange control restrictions to implement any transaction settled in a currency other than RMB.

The Westbound Shanghai-London Stock Connect is reserved for blue-chip issuers, and to be eligible to list in London the PRC issuer must have a minimum market capitalisation on the SSE of RMB20 billion (US$2.9 billion).

London
Nikolas Colbridge
Partner
Dentons

The UK process is familiar for practitioners used to dealing with GDR listings for overseas entities. The creation of the GDRs is pursuant to contract (a depositary agreement), entered into between the PRC entity and the depositary bank under the PRC Contract Law, and their listing is pursuant to the UK Listing Rules and the EU’s Prospectus Regulation.

The GDRs are admitted to listing on the standard listing segment of the UK Listing Authority official list, and to trading on the Shanghai segment of the main market of the LSE, which is an EU regulated market. Once listed, the PRC entity is subject to ongoing requirements as with any overseas issuer with GDRs listed in London, while at the same complying with its ongoing obligations under PRC law.

The Shanghai-London Stock Connect uses designated brokers to enable the cross-border trading of GDRs and the underlying A Shares. Designated brokers ensure the fungibility of the scheme as they are authorised to deal in securities via the stock connect in both jurisdictions.

One of the features of the stock connect is that there is a single pool of liquidity relating to A Shares in which investors (overseas or Chinese) can trade. Investors will be able to: (1) buy GDRs by requesting a designated broker to buy A Shares on the stock connect and instructing their depositary to create GDRs representing such A Shares; and (2) sell GDRs by requesting a designated broker to redeem their GDRs and sell the underling A Shares on the SSE.

Eastbound listings

The Shanghai-London Stock Connect provides an opportunity for PRC investors to invest in companies listed on the LSE, which was previously not possible, other than in very limited circumstances.

An investment threshold is set in order to protect an orderly market. Therefore, any PRC-based individual investor who wishes to trade CDRs must satisfy the following requirements: (1) the daily average value of assets in the investors’ securities account and funds account over the 20 trading days before applying for trading CDRs must be no less than RMB3 million (excluding any funds and securities acquired from margin trading and short-selling transactions); (2) the investor must have no record of a serious breach of personal integrity; and (3) the investor must not be prohibited or restricted from trading securities by the provisions of Chinese law, the market rules of the SSE, or for any other reason.

Eligible companies listed on the LSE can issue CDRs on the Main Board of the SSE.

In order to list CDRs in Shanghai, issuers must: (1) have a minimum market capitalisation of RMB20 billion; (2) be listed on the LSE for at least three years, with a minimum of one year on the premium segment of the main market; (3) issue a minimum of 50 million units of CDRs representing RMB500 million worth of underlying shares; (4) hold or acquire sufficient underlying shares (new capital raising is not permitted for CDRs); and (5) obtain permission from the China Securities Regulatory Commission (CSRC) and comply with Shanghai Stock Exchange requirements.

An important commercial consideration when considering whether to issue CDRs is that LSE-listed companies are not permitted to directly raise funds on the SSE through the issuance of CDRs linked to new shares. Only CDRs representing existing shares can be issued on the Main Board of SSE.

CDRs will be treated like domestic Chinese A Shares and will be fungible with the underlying share in London. They will be traded during Chinese trading hours by Chinese investors, with clearing and settlement taking place in the China Securities Depository and Clearing Corporation system.

Due to the differences in laws, languages and cultures between the PRC and the UK, and in order to improve the efficiency of communication and supervision, overseas issuers are required to establish securities affairs institutions within China. They must: (1) employ domestic representatives who are familiar with PRC rules and requirements to be responsible for information disclosure and regulatory liaison during the listing of the CDRs; (2) set up channels for effective communication with investors, regulators and the SSE; and (3) protect the legitimate rights and interests of domestic investors.

The stock connect has the potential to create a vibrant UK-China financial ecosystem, and therefore potential issuers and investors have taken a keen interest in it. The stock connect undoubtedly has potential, however, based as it is to the two countries’ mutual advantage.

Chinese companies now have increased access to Europe’s major capital market, and LSE-listed companies to the world’s major growth economy. Whatever the vagaries of the moment, these fundamentals do not seem likely to change.

Michael Wang and Nikolas Colbridge are partners at Dentons. Dentons’ partner Willow Wei, associate Ben Lloyd and trainee associate Zeng Haixuan also contributed to this article.

trademark

Dentons
15th/16th Floor, Shanghai Tower
501 Yincheng Road (M), Pudong New Area
Shanghai 200120, China
Tel: +86 21 5878 5888
Fax: +86 21 5878 6866
E-mail:
[email protected]dentons.cn
[email protected]dentons.com
www.dentons.com