市场导向条件标准:问题与应对

作者: 倪建林,大成律师事务所
0
214

2020年2月20日,美国草拟的《总理事会关于<市场导向条件对世界贸易体系的重要性>的决定》通过WTO散发至所有成员。美国在这项文件中,提出了市场导向条件的八项标准,基本沿袭了美欧日三方发表的七次联合声明中关于市场导向条件的主张。

trade
倪建林
大成律师事务所
高级合伙人

(一)市场经济导向的考量因素。美国此次向WTO提交的文件,明确市场导向条件的八项标准:(1)企业根据市场信号自由决定和作出关于价格、成本、投入、采购和销售方面的决策;(2)企业根据市场信号作出投资决策;(3)资本、劳工、技术和其他要素价格由市场决定;(4)根据市场信号自由决定企业的资本配置;(5)企业接受国际公认的会计准则,包括独立核算;(6)企业受市场导向的且有效的公司法、破产法和私有财产法的约束,并可以通过公正的法律程序(如独立的司法体系)行使其权利;(7)企业能够自由获取相关信息,并以此作为其决策的基础;(8)企业的上述决策无政府的重大干预。对比美欧日关于市场导向的联合声明,笔者发现,美国此次提交的标准在原三方声明上增加了一项:企业能够自由获取相关信息,并以此作为其决策的基础。

美国提出的市场导向条件八项标准,核心问题是企业依据市场信号自由作出决策,生产要素价格由市场决定,并不受政府干预这三项关键的考虑因素。

(二)对WTO改革和下阶段中美贸易谈判的影响。针对WTO目前陷入的困境,美国、欧盟和中国均提出相应的改革方案。笔者发现,美国提出了原则性的改革方案并且部分已经付诸实施(关于发展中成员方问题),优先要求WTO修订规则解决非市场经济体带来的挑战;欧盟和中国的改革方案相对比较全面,着重要求解决迫切性的问题,如WTO上诉机构的危机,没有具体讨论非市场经济体的问题。美国此次在WTO提出的市场导向条件的标准,能否真正推动WTO就此修改规则,还有赖于WTO成员方的磋商和相互博弈。但笔者认为,中国必须清醒地认识到,美欧日在此问题上已基本取得一致意见。

中美之间下一阶段协议谈判涵盖哪些内容,是各方所关注的。从美国贸易代表办公室最近公布的《2019中国WTO合规报告》披露内容来看,国有企业、补贴和产业政策等问题有可能是下一阶段谈判的重点,而这些问题实际上均指向一个根本性的问题,即市场经济问题。可以预见,随着美国不遗余力地在WTO推动制定市场导向条件标准规则,美国一定会在下一阶段的中美贸易谈判中涉及结构性改革和产业政策,而指向所谓的市场导向条件问题。

(三)应对。美国向WTO提交市场导向标准及通过三方联合声明共同确立市场导向标准均意在针对中国。其目的指向中国的结构性改革和产业政策,同时重塑市场经济标准下公平竞争的多边贸易规则,以排斥非市场导向企业的竞争,欲维护既得利益的同时,以此扩大自身优势行业的利益。

为此,笔者认为中国应该做好以下几个方面的应对:

  1. 坚守WTO改革应维护公平竞争原则的底线,促进多边贸易体制的包容性,尊重成员的各自发展模式。针对美国主导修改WTO规则要求建立市场导向条件标准,中国应该据理力争,利用WTO协商一致原则,坚守底线,避免陷入歧视性限制。
  2. 全面推进市场化改革,以更大的改革促开放,深化国有企业改革,营造公平竞争环境,进一步激发民营企业的活力。完善以市场决定资源配置的经济体制,是我们改革的目标,与美方提出的市场导向要求并不存在根本性的冲突。国有企业和补贴问题,将会是中美下一阶段谈判涵盖的内容,也是中国深化体制改革要着力推进的。

3.鼓励企业积极应诉反倾销和反补贴调查,抗辩美欧双反调查中替代国比较价格的歧视性做法。在美国和欧盟的反倾销实践中,美欧对于认定为非市场经济国家的企业,采用了“替代国”的规则,即采用替代国的构造成本来确定中国应诉企业的“正常价值”,并与中国应诉企业的出口价格进行比较。在人为选择替代国并随意确定构造成本的情况下,中国应诉企业的倾销幅度被随意扩大。涉案企业应该积极参加应诉抗辩,在替代国选择上据理力争,争取有利于应诉企业的正常价值确定。

作者:大成律师事务所高级合伙人倪建林

trademark大成律师事务所
上海市浦东新区银城中路501号
上海中心15/16层 邮编: 200120
电话: +86 21 5878 5888
传真: +86 21 5878 6866
电子信箱:
jianlin.ni@dentons.cn
www.dentons.com

‘Market-oriented’ criteria squarely target China

By Ni Jianlin, Dentons
0
89

The Decision of the General Council on the Importance of Market-Oriented Conditions to the World Trading System, drafted by the US, was adopted by the World Trade Organization (WTO) and circulated to all its members on 20 February 2020. In this document, the US puts forward eight elements for market-oriented conditions, which essentially reiterate what is said on market-oriented conditions in the seventh US, EU and Japan joint statement.

market-oriented
Ni Jianlin
Dentons
Senior Partner

The market economy-oriented elements. In this document submitted to the WTO, the US sets out the following eight elements for market-oriented conditions: (1) decisions of enterprises on prices, costs, inputs, purchases and sales are freely determined and made in response to market signals; (2) decisions of enterprises on investments are freely determined and made in response to market signals; (3) prices of capital, labour, technology and other factors are market-determined; (4) capital allocation decisions of, or affecting, enterprises are freely determined and made in response to market signals; (5) enterprises are subject to internationally recognized accounting standards, including independent accounting; (6) enterprises are subject to market-oriented and effective corporation law, bankruptcy law, competition law and private property law, and may enforce their rights through impartial legal processes such as an independent judicial system; (7) enterprises are able to freely access relevant information on which to base their business decisions; and (8) there is no significant government interference in enterprise business decisions described above.

As compared to the US, EU and Japan joint statement on market-oriented conditions, the author notes that the elements submitted to the WTO by the US include one not found in the joint statement, i.e., enterprises are able to freely access relevant information on which to base their business decisions.

The core issues of the eight elements proposed by the US are the following three key consideration factors: enterprises freely determining and making their decisions based on market signals; production factors and prices are market-determined; and no interference by the government.

Impact on WTO reform and the next phase of Sino-US trade negotiations. The US, EU and China have all put forward reform plans for the difficulties that the WTO is currently facing. The author notes that the US has proposed a reform plan of principle, part of which has already been implemented (concerning the issue of developing members), placing priority on the WTO revising its rules to meet the challenges posed by non-market economies, whereas those of the EU and China are more comprehensive, focusing on resolving urgent issues, e.g., the crisis in the WTO’s appellate body, without specifically discussing the issue of non-market economies.

Whether the elements for the market-oriented conditions proposed to the WTO by the US can genuinely spur the WTO to revise its rules accordingly will depend on negotiations, and the mutual give-and-take among WTO members. However, the author would argue that China needs to be clearly aware that the US, EU and Japan have essentially achieved a consensus on this issue.

What the next phase of the agreement negotiations between China and the US will cover is of concern to all parties. From the information disclosed in the 2019 Report on China’s WTO Compliance, recently published by the Office of the US Trade Representative, it can be seen that such issues as state-owned enterprises (SOEs), subsidies and industrial policy are likely to be the focus of the next phase of negotiations. But in truth all of these issues converge on one fundamental issue, namely the market economy issue. It can be anticipated that, with the unstinting US efforts to press for the formulation of market-oriented condition and criteria rules at the WTO, it is almost certain that the US will emphasize the so-called market-oriented conditions issue when structural reform and industrial policy are touched upon in the next phase of Sino-US trade talks.

Response. Both the market-oriented criteria submitted to the WTO by the US and the market-oriented criteria jointly established by way of the tripartite joint statement are targeted at China. They take aim at China’s structural reforms and industrial policy, while revamping the multilateral trading rules for fair competition under the market economic criteria, so as to exclude competition from non-market-oriented enterprises, and, while seeking to protect vested interests, they rely on this to expand the interests of their own favoured industries.

In consequence, the author would argue that China should respond in the following ways:

(1) Cleave to the baseline that WTO reform has to protect the principle of fair competition, promote the inclusiveness of the multilateral trading system, and respect the various development models of the members. With respect to the efforts to revise the WTO rules, and to demand the establishment of market-oriented conditions and elements led by the US, China should stand on reason, leverage the WTO’s decision-making by consensus , cleave to the baseline, and avoid falling into discriminatory restrictions.

(2) Comprehensively promote market-oriented reform, promote opening with broader reforms, intensify the reform of SOEs, forge a fair competition environment and further stimulate the vitality of private enterprises. Improvement of an economic system where resource allocation is determined by the market, which is the objective of our reforms, does not fundamentally conflict with the US demand for a market orientation.

The issues of SOEs and subsidies, which will be subjects covered in the next phase of the talks between China and the US, are also elements that China will vigorously promote in its intensification of system reform.

(3) The author encourages enterprises to actively respond to anti-dumping and countervailing investigations, and argue against the discriminatory US and EU method of comparative surrogate prices used in investigations. In US and EU anti-dumping practice, the two use the “surrogate country” rule when rendering a finding on enterprises from non-market economy countries, that is to say, they use the constructive cost of a surrogate country to determine the “normal value” of a Chinese respondent enterprise, and compare that with the Chinese respondent enterprise’s export price.

Where the surrogate country is artificially selected, and the constructive cost arbitrarily determined, the Chinese respondent enterprise’s dumping margin is arbitrarily enlarged. The enterprise in question should actively participate in the response and arguments, and vigorously present its views on the selection of the surrogate country on the basis of reason, so as to secure a determination of normal value that is favourable to the respondent enterprise.

Ni Jianlin is a senior partner at Dentons

tradeDentons
15th/16th Floor, Shanghai Tower
501 Yincheng Road (M), Pudong New Area
Shanghai 200120, China
Tel: +86 21 5878 5888
Fax: +86 21 5878 6866
E-mail:
jianlin.ni@dentons.cn
www.dentons.com