对话碧迪医疗器械中国助理法务总监张鹰峰

0
158

管理法务团队考验着每一位总法律顾问的智慧,在全球面临这场前所未有的疫情危机下尤为如此。碧迪医疗器械中国助理法务总监张鹰峰与我们分享了他在团队管理方面的见解。

在公司里,法务是业务的支持部门。我所在的医药领域监管很严,如果我们没有给业务部门足够的提醒的话,可能会给企业带来灾难。因此法务和业务部门是在同一条船上的,业务部门是掌舵人,引领方向;法务部门是保证船平稳运行,不会有翻船风险。

道理虽是如此,但现在竞争压力大,业务部门面临着年报、半年报、季度报等的压力以及各种挑战,作为法务我们如何能契合进去?首先,你必须对这个行业非常了解,知道业务部门的痛点以及其中涉及到的法律问题。要能和业务部门对上话才行。

其次,法务经过特殊训练,会看得更广更远,而且一直在这个行业工作的话,能看得出未来的趋势和方向,以及风险点。业务部门是非常需要你的,在他们只看到眼前的一些利益的时候,你要告知往这个方向走的机遇是什么?风险是什么?如果觉得机遇大于风险那就往前走,但我们要告诉他们注意的事项。这样业务部门在前进时会更有底气。

任何一个商务决策都是要冒风险的,业务部门也了解这一点。但如果你告诉他,我帮你分析一些风险,甚至我帮你分析之后觉得方向可行,我会帮你背书。这样可以加深业务部门的信心,他也会更加相信你。双方通过合作减少风险后,工作也会更容易开展。

受到新冠疫情的影响,医院疫情防控以外的诊疗业务量大幅下降,必然影响医药企业的销售;同时,医保控费、带量采购等医改措施的持续推进,使得医药企业面临着利润下滑的压力;最后,为了控制疫情的传播,传统的线下拜访、线下市场活动无法召开,逼迫医药企业必须转换思路,开拓线上的数字营销模式。作为企业法务,我们必须支持业务部门拥抱新的技术、尝试新的业务模式并帮助企业拓展互联网医院等新的商业机会。

然而,在环境变化、商业转型的喧嚣中,企业法务也必须保持冷静,及时发现并提醒业务部门其中的风险。疫情迟早会过去,我们要避免成为退潮后的裸游者。”

以上内容主要来自在11月12日在上海君悦酒店举行的“2019年上海·CBLJ高峰论坛”期间进行的采访。该论坛主题为“共建跨境商机·管控环球风险”。 更多关于会议和论坛视频的信息,请访问“2019年上海·CBLJ高峰论坛”主页

Interview with Max Zhang, assistant general counsel of Becton Dickinson Medical Devices China

0
119
The interview is in Chinese

Managing a legal team is a test of a general counsel’s wisdom, especially in the midst of an unprecedented pandemic crisis such as the one the world faces. Max Zhang, assistant general counsel of Becton Dickinson Medical Devices China shared his insight with us on team management

“The legal department serves as the support unit of the business department. The pharmaceutical sector I’m in is heavily regulated, and sometimes the company can suffer a lot if we don’t give enough warning to the business. Therefore, the legal and business departments are on the same ship, where the business is at the helm and leading the way, and legal is ensuring the ship runs smoothly without the risk of capsizing.

That being said, there is a lot of competitive pressure nowadays. Business is under performance pressure from annual reports, half-yearly reports, quarterly reports, etc., among other challenges. How can we fit in as in-house counsel?

First, you must understand the industry well enough to know the pain points of the business, and the legal issues involved. You need to be able to talk to the business in their language.

Second, in-house counsel have been trained to see far beyond the current situation. If you have been working in this industry for long, you will be able to see the future trends and directions, as well as the potential risks. And the business is very much in need of you. When they see some business benefits close at hand, you need to inform them of the risks and opportunities of going that direction. If opportunities outweigh the risks, then move forward. But we need to tell them the things they should watch out for. In this way, the business will be more confident when going forward.

All business decisions are taken at a risk, and the business knows that. If you tell them you can help to analyze some of the risks, or if you think the way is practicable after your analysis and endorse the decision, it will deepen the confidence of the business and they will trust you more. The work progress will also go smoother when you reduce the risks through co-operation.

Due to the impact of COVID-19, the volume of diagnosis and treatment, excluding pandemic prevention and control measures in the hospitals, has dropped significantly, which inevitably affects the sales of pharmaceutical enterprises. Meanwhile, the implementation of healthcare reform measures such as budget controls for social health insurance schemes, and procurement of drugs with target quantity, have seen pharmaceutical enterprises face the pressure of declining profits.

To control the spread of the pandemic, traditional offline visits and offline marketing activities cannot occur, forcing pharmaceutical enterprises to change their thinking and develop online digital marketing models. We as in-house counsel must support the business in embracing new technologies and experimenting with new business models, and help them explore new business opportunities, such as internet hospitals.

However, in the midst of a changing environment and business transformation, in-house counsel should also remain calm, identifying and alerting business to the risks involved. Sooner or later the pandemic will pass, and we should avoid becoming the ones “swimming naked” after the tide goes out.”

This interview was conducted during the CBLJ Forum at Grand Hyatt Hotel, Shanghai, on 12 November, with the theme “Seizing Cross-Border Opportunities – Managing Global Risks”. For more information about the conference and videos of the forum sessions, please visit our CBLJ Forum 2019 webpage here.