新施行的《外商投资法》及其实施条例为在中国的跨国公司描绘了一幅美好蓝图。但是一些细节上的缺失可能会带来诸多问题。作者:陈逸文

为近30年来最重要的立法变革之一,中央政府终于又进一步,通过实施《外商投资法》和发布《外商投资法实施条例》向国际企业开放市场。常驻香港的霍金路伟律师事务所合伙人麦安吉(Andrew McGinty)表示,这不仅是法律上的变化,而且还代表着“思维方式从专注保护较弱势的本地企业到平等对待所有企业的转变”。这种思维对全球商界言明了中国对投资怀着开放的心态。

常驻上海的方达律师事务所合伙人方健指出:“[该法]是对外商在华投资的全面放宽,也为政策和措施的进一步开放奠定了基础。”

“[外商投资法]为中国管理外商投资奠定了新的框架,并对外资企业相关法律所建立的基本法律制度做出了积极的改变。这意味着外国投资者在中国投资会有更多的确定性和合同自由。”

其中一些变化包括:将公司治理从董事会制转变为股东会制,放宽针对特定行业的外商投资规则,并将并购和间接投资规定整合纳入统一的法律和监管框架下。

尽管《外商投资法》使外商投资制度与国内公司制度更加协调,但对于有意在中国开拓市场的外国投资者而言,仍然存在许多挑战和困难需要该部法律作进一步调整。

专家们对该部法律几期实施条例中的细节提出了疑问,并认为部分地方可能需要后续的细则。而这些细节问题势必会让外国投资者感到担忧。他们指出,此法有需要进一步的说明,并希望这能在下次修订中得到改善。与此同时,此法存在着大量解释的空间,外国投资者应谨慎行事。

新旧模式

“自1979年通过《中外合资经营企业法》和1998年通过《中外合作经营企业法》以来,中国一直对国内和国外投资实体的设立和管理适用分开的规则和程序,” 常驻上海的翰宇国际律师事务所合伙人陆大安(Daniel Roules)说,“那些分开施行的规则并不总是能在法律上平等对待中外实体。”

以前的体制是基于保护主义,仅使本地企业受益,而新法的出台将促进企业间合作和外商投资。“《外商投资法》表明,政府在进一步开放和促进该体系,”方健说。他补充道,政府将保持谨慎并密切关注该法的实施。“回顾历史和实践,中国是接受新形式的外商投资的,除非其对中国经济产生不利影响。”

合资公司的治理和控制。尽管《外商投资法》可能不会对外商独资企业产生重大影响,但对合资企业来说,它将公司治理模式从董事会主导制改为股东主导制,可能会改变公司治理的游戏规则。

在原先的体制下,公司在例如更改公司章程、并购、解散主权资本和解散公司等重要决议上,需获得董事会一致同意。而有国内合资伙伴的外资公司通常受其本地伙伴的支配,因为本地企业伙伴可以在董事会中行使一票否决权使计划流产。在新的股东会治理模式下,重要决议现在可以在股东会三分之二多数同意的情况下获得通过。

“这意味着突然间只要拥有三分之二的股权,你就有了对公司的绝对控制权,” 霍金路伟所的麦安吉说。“以前,合伙人哪怕只有1%的股份就可以阻止决议。现在这种改变会给企业带来有趣的商机。”

现在,有了绝对控制权的概念,曾经的合资伙伴就会尽力建立新的结构以保持对公司的控制权。例如,拥有70:30比例合伙关系的合资企业的大股东拥有绝对控制权。因此,少数合伙人现在处于不利地位,并可能希望提出更多要求。或者在合资企业各方占股比例相等的情况下,其中一位合伙人可能会将其视为机会并购买更多股份,从而获得对业务的绝对控制权。而这可能会引起争议。

对于现存的合资企业,“政府为企业提供了五年的过渡期去适应这种新的治理形式。过渡期结束后,企业将被迫转型,”麦安吉说,“如果他们不遵循新的规定,政府将停止给予批准。许多公司都希望拖到最后一刻,但我们一直在建议客户提早处理。”尽管五年的时间十分充裕,但是谈判过程将花费时间。并且越早开始进行谈判,达成协议的可能性就越高,从而使双方受益。

负面清单。另一个关于《外商投资法》的重大改变是负面清单的缩短,清单列出了会被禁止、限制或者会受到监管机构严格审查的行业。《外商投资法》缩短了负面清单,放宽了金融服务、汽车、交通、能源和资源等领域的投资限制。

“这当然是受欢迎的。越来越多的领域允许外商投资的进入,禁止和限制外商投资的领域越来越少,”方健表示,“如果我将此(缩短后的负面清单)与美国和欧洲国家等法域,以及其他发展中国家进行比较,那么中国在清单长度方面排名中等……我希望新法出台后,政府将继续致力于缩短清单。”

知识产权转让。媒体上热度居高不下的话题之一就是关于外国公司在中国开展业务前,需将其知识产权转让给其国内合作伙伴的讨论。然而,这其中存在一些误解。

“需要注意的是,没有法律强迫公司转让其知识产权给本地公司,”CMS中国上海代表处管理合伙人邬丽福(Ulrike Glueck)说。“然而,外国企业可能会自愿这么做,因为这样可以争取到更大的议价空间。”

“需要注意的是,如果外国公司是出于对其在合资企业中股权地位的考虑而选择转让技术,以取代以相应比例的资金入股,那就不是强制性的技术转让。”翰宇所的陆大安说。他表示,新法规定:“国家保护外国投资者和外商投资企业的知识产权,保护知识产权权利人和相关权利人的合法权益;对知识产权侵权行为,严格依法追究法律责任。”

然而陆大安说,仅有《外商投资法》和实施条例还远远不够。“它没有提供任何细节,也没有有效手段来禁止行政机构进行强迫性技术转让。”

优势

陆大安说,将上述活动的管理规定整合纳入到统一的法律和法规框架下,将有助于提高透明度。“《外商投资法》适用于各种形式的外商投资。不仅包括企业设立,还涵盖并购和所谓的‘间接投资’,”他表示,“早先,并购和其他投资问题在不同法规中被提及。有些法规对仅适用于特定行业,这经常令人感到困惑。”

方健表示,外商投资的信息报告系统的引入,消除了早先审批流程中的不确定性。他说:“这不仅是因为投资者无需再担心项目是否能获得批准,也是因为外商投资管理部门将无权审查中外股东间特定的业务安排。事后报告系统在以商业意图来决定合作条款方面,给予中外各方充分的自主权。

“例如,原先的逐案审批制中,在转让股权时,期权安排的授予(例如,由一方当事人授予另一方股权的增加)必须获得商业主管部门的批准。然而,关于建立这种安排是否构成合资合同的必要条款,并因此需相关部门进行审批存在意见分歧。该问题本身即缺乏具体标准且比较主观。这给期权安排的建立和行使造成了不确定性,往往会导致当事方被迫放弃或采取其他间接且有争议的手段。”

合同自由。应当指出的是,尽管法律发生了实质性变化,但这些安排在法律性质上仍然属合同性质。“这些是在华外商投资的新模式,但实施形式尚未明确,”方健说,“这将取决于各方之间的合同安排。期待看到在国家层面将如何管控合同安排和间接投资。

“在确保依法管理外商投资的前提下,这将可能提高与外商投资有关的合同的有效性,大大维护投资者的合法利益,并增加对跨境商业安排的司法保护。”

另外需要提醒的是,这些法律同其他法律一样需要被解释。为维护司法原则,最高人民法院可以对《外商投资法》的实际适用作出解释。

最后,CMS中国的邬丽福说:“在选择合作伙伴上,各方应始终保持明智。因为这些法律十分模糊,可能有些情况下无法为外方提供足够的保护。”

鉴于这些法律广泛且有时含糊,方健解释道:“实践上,此法足够宽泛去接受各种类型的外商投资。”

此法可以十分灵活,因此可适用于不同类型的外商投资。这也许意味着“中国有兴趣吸引外商投资,且《外商投资法》 想创造双赢的局面,”邬丽福说。

细节在哪里?

“尽管实施条例和其他相关文件在一定程度上提供了有关《外商投资法》 实施的更多细节和指导,但它们在许多方面仍然相当模糊,并且未解决的问题依然存在,” 邬丽福表示。

“例如,《外商投资法》的第二条第三项中,外商投资的定义所指的’新建项目’的含义仍然不明晰。并且很多条款,例如关于安全审查制度和投诉工作机制等规定仍不完整,”她补充道。

这次新法允许建立、解决对政府机构的投诉机制,包括行政复议和行政诉讼。但是,有人认为这些规定含糊不清,律师们希望有关部门能就此类投诉机制如何在现实中运作、实施等问题发布更多举措或通知。

根据实施条例规定:“外国投资者、外商投资企业认为行政行为所依据的国务院部门和地方人民政府及其部门制定的规范性文件不合法,在依法对行政行为申请行政复议或者提起行政诉讼时,可以一并请求对该规范性文件进行审查。”

实施条例还规定:“国务院商务主管部门应当与国务院其他有关部门密切配合、相互协作,建立健全外商投资企业投诉工作机制,及时协调、解决外商投资促进、保护和管理工作中的重大问题。”

陆大安说,这些实施条例对《外商投资法》“并未多加澄清,仍有诸多问题。例如,在《外商投资法》中关于外商投资平等保护(第六条),外商投资服务的持续改进(第八条),参与制定和修订标准的平等权利(第十三条)等大多数条款并没有对《外商投资法》进行有意义的阐述。

“除了规定内容上缺乏清晰度和具体性外,也有几个要点并未被提及。比如,如果内外资实体受到平等对待,目前适用于外资实体的总投资概念是否继续保留?如果保留,它是否会继续成为对外国贷款的限制?

“同样地,商务部现行的并购规定是会予以保留还是被取代?此外,外商投资企业能否继续免税进口器材?我们希望不久能看到关于这些重要问题的澄清。”

邬丽福补充道:“可预见的是相当多的法规、细则在不久的将来会为中国外商投资的体制提供更多的阐释和指导。我们认为,只有在这样的附加法规、细则发布后,《外商投资法》及其实施细则的真正影响才会被看到,只有那时才能评定新的外商投资体制是否在中国的外商投资方面,比旧的体制有显著提高。”

在《外商投资法》下,总体来说,除投资负面清单中明确的领域的企业,外商投资公司与内资公司享有平等的国民待遇。但它的影响对外国投资者来说并非都是积极的。

方健说:“很明显的是内外资企业能在政府采购、标准设定等方面享有同等对待,令外国投资者感到安心,然而一些外国投资者仍对此保持担忧。”

Foreign Investment“新法的某些规定可能对外国投资者缺乏吸引力,”陆大安说,“例如,第八条要求依法建立工会组织,开展工会活动。此外,现行法律规定,如果成立工会,工会必须‘以经济发展为中心,坚持社会主义道路,坚持人民民主专政,中国共产党的领导,马克思列宁主义,毛泽东思想和邓小平理论’”。

另外有些情况下,外国公司与中国公司享有同等待遇,可能会更感到负担和麻烦。他说:“《外商投资法》 和实施细则草案都没有提及对现有外商投资实体的利好政策将会如何。”

“比如,外商投资实体目前可以借入外国贷款,最高可为其投资总额和注册资本之间的差额,而国内公司没有这样的概念和权利。此外,外商投资实体有权免税进口设备,而国内公司则无此权利。”

他说:“另一个外商投资实体可能不欢迎的变化是《外商投资法》规定,外商投资者可以‘依法’自由交易人民币或外币。”

“中国的银行严格执行对国内公司的外汇兑换额度时,有时我们看到外资客户能够在国外兑换和转移资金。如果新《外商投资法》表示外资公司将与内资公司受到同等严格的配额限制,那么就不太有吸引力了。”

与此类似,陆大安说,当局在数据隐私和网络安全要求方面,对外资公司有时比对国内公司更为灵活,但是如果所有公司在法律上真正平等,外国投资者可能会发现自己更渴望过去。

然而,方健秉持乐观的态度。“尽管《外商投资法》还不完善,但是这对在中国外商投资来说,依然是美好蓝图,”他说,“总的来说,人们应该保持乐观。但是考虑到中国的辽阔,不同的政府机关在具体实施时仍有差异。我希望这些问题能被积极解决,不可避免会有挑战。”

The new Foreign Investment Law and its implementation regulations lay out a blueprint full of promise for international companies in China. But the lack of details may present problems, writes Edward Chin

In one of the most important legislative changes in nearly three decades, the central government has finally moved closer to opening its markets to international businesses through the implementation of the Foreign Investment Law (FIL) and the issue of its Implementing Regulations of the Foreign Investment Law.

Not only is this a change in law, it represents “a change in mindset and a move away from [the] focus on protecting the weaker local businesses to treating all businesses equally,” says Andrew McGinty, a partner at Hogan Lovells based in Hong Kong. It’s a mindset that says to the global business community that China is open for business.

Notes Fang Jian, a partner at Fangda Partners based in Shanghai: “[The law is] a general relaxation in foreign investment, including in the Chinese market, and lays the foundation for further opening up [of] policies and measures.

“[The FIL] has laid down a new framework for China to regulate foreign investment, and has made positive changes to the basic legal system established by the law of foreign-funded enterprises, which means more certainty and freedom of contract for foreign investors to invest in China.”

Some of these changes include: the shift in governance from a board-driven model to a shareholder model; relaxation of the sector-specific foreign investment rules; and the consolidation of the rules governing mergers and acquisitions (M&A) and indirect investment under a single law and regulatory framework.

But although the FIL is a big step in harmonizing the foreign investment regime with the domestic company regime, there remain many challenges and obstacles the law that still need to be addressed for foreign investors interested in China.

Experts are questioning the detail, or the lack of it, in the law and the implementing regulations, in areas that will undoubtedly concern foreign investors. They point to the need for further clarification, which is expected in further amendments, but in the meantime much is open to interpretation, and foreign investors should proceed with caution.

Foreign InvestmentPast and present

“Since the adoption of China’s Equity Joint Venture Law in 1979, and the Co-operative Joint Venture Law in 1998, China has maintained separate rules and processes for creating and governing foreign- and domestic-invested entities,” says Daniel Roules, a partner at Squire Patton Boggs in Shanghai. “Those separate systems have not always yielded equal treatment under the law.”

The previous regime was protectionist and only benefited local business, whereas the new law promotes co-operation and foreign investment. “This law points to a further opening up and radicalization of the system by the government,” says Fang, adding that the government will be cautious and closely monitor the implementation of the law. “Looking at history and practice, the PRC is receptive to new forms of foreign investment unless it is a disadvantage to the Chinese economy.”

Joint venture corporate governance and control. While the FIL may not have a major impact on wholly foreign-owned enterprises, it could be a game changer for joint venture (JV) companies as it moves from a board-driven governance model to shareholder-driven one.

Under the earlier regime, companies needed unanimous board resolutions on important decisions, such as changes to the articles of association, M&A, dissolution of equitable capital and dissolving the company, and foreign companies with domestic JV partners were often at the mercy of their local partners, who could scuttle plans with one dissenting vote in the board. In the new shareholder-driven system, the important decisions can now be taken with a two-thirds majority of support from the shareholders.

“This means that suddenly you have the concept of absolute control, [with just] two-thirds of the shareholding,” says McGinty. “Previously, a partner could, with as little as a 1% shareholding and a member of the board, block resolutions. This can open up interesting opportunities for businesses.”

Now, with the idea of absolute control, former joint venture partners will be keen on creating structure where they can ensure that they keep control. For example, a JV with a 70/30 partnership has the majority shareholder with absolute control, so the minority partner is now at a disadvantage and may want to demand more. Or in the case of equal JVs, one of the partners may see this as an opportunity to buy more of a stake and thereby gain absolute control of the business, and this could be contentious.

For JVs that already exist, “The government has given a five-year window for companies to shift to this new form of governance, and at the end of the period, companies will be forced to shift,” says McGinty. “If they don’t, the government will stop giving approvals. A lot of the companies will want to kick the can down the road, but we have been advising our clients to deal with [it] earlier,” he says. Although five years is plenty of time, the negotiation process will take time, and the sooner one starts these negotiations, the higher the likelihood that a deal will be struck, benefiting both parties.

The negative list. Another major change in the FIL is the shortening of the negative list, which is a list of sectors where foreign investment into China is either prohibited, restricted, or subject to greater scrutiny by regulators. The FIL has shortened the negative List, relaxing foreign investment restrictions in certain industry sectors such as financial services, automobiles, transportation, energy and resources.

“This is certainly welcome, as more areas have been opened up to foreign investment, and [there are] fewer and fewer areas of prohibition and restriction on foreign investment,” says Fang. “If I compare this [shortened negative list] with other jurisdictions such as the US and European countries, and compare it also to developing countries, China has an average ranking in terms of the length of the list… I expect with the new law, there will be continued efforts to further shorten the list.”

Intellectual property transfer. One of the most debated areas in the media last year was the discussion about foreign companies requiring to transfer their intellectual property (IP) to domestic partners before being able to do business in China. However, there are some misconceptions.

“It should be noted that there is no law that forces companies to transfer their IP rights over to a local company,” says Ulrike Glueck, managing partner of CMS China’s Shanghai office. “However, foreign companies may voluntarily do it because it gives them more bargaining power.”

Roules, at Squire Patton Boggs adds, “It is important to accept that if a foreign company chooses to transfer technology in consideration for its equity position in a joint venture, rather than contributing its proportionate share of cash, that is not a forced technology transfer.” He says the new law states that, “The state shall protect the intellectual property rights of foreign investors and foreign-funded enterprises, and protect the legitimate rights and interests of holders of intellectual property rights and relevant right holders; in case of any infringement of intellectual property right, legal liability shall be investigated strictly … in accordance with the law.”

However, the FIL and the implementing provisions do not go far enough, says Roules. “It fails to offer any details, nor are there effective means to enforce the prohibition on forced technology transfers by administrative agencies.”

foreign investmentThe advantages

Roules says the consolidation of the rules governing the above-mentioned activities under a single law and regulatory framework will enhance transparency. “The FIL applies to foreign investment in all forms, covering not only formation, but also M&A and so-called ‘indirect investment’,” he says. “Earlier, M&A and other investment topics were addressed in various regulations, some unique to particular industries, which was convoluted and confusing.”

The introduction of a post-reporting system of foreign investment removes the uncertainty attached to the earlier approval process, notes Fang, “not only because investors need not worry about whether the project will eventually be approved, but also because the Foreign Investment Management Department will not have the right to review the specific business arrangements between Chinese and foreign shareholders. An after-the-fact reporting system would give the Chinese and foreign parties full autonomy in determining the terms of their co-operation in accordance with commercial intent.

“For example, because of the original approval system, the granting of an option arrangement [such as an increase in equity interest granted by one party to the other] is subject to approval by the commercial authorities at the time of the transfer of equity interest. There is a difference of opinion as to whether the establishment of such an arrangement constitutes an essential provision of the joint venture contract and, therefore, requires approval by the authorities, which in itself lacks specific criteria, and is subjective. This creates uncertainty in the establishment and exercise of such option arrangements, often resulting in the parties being forced to abandon it, or doing it through other indirect and controversial means.”

Autonomy of contract. It should be noted that although there are substantial changes to the law, these arrangements are still contractual in nature. “These are new modes of foreign investment, new modes of owning investments in China, and adopting it has not been carved out,” says Fang. “This will depend on the contractual arrangement between the parties. It will be interesting to see how contractual arrangements and how indirect investment will be controlled at the domestic level.

“Under the premise of ensuring the management of foreign investment in accordance with the law, it is possible to promote the validity of contracts related to foreign investment, which will greatly safeguard the legitimate interests of investors and increase the judicial protection of cross-border commercial arrangements.”

There is one additional caveat. These laws, like any laws, are all subject to interpretation. The Supreme People’s Court is able to issues interpretations on the application of the FIL in order to uphold the principals of the law.

In the end, “parties should always choose their partners very wisely, as these laws are quite vague and may not afford adequate protection of foreign parties in all circumstances,” says Glueck.

To the view that the laws are broad and sometimes vague, Fang offers the following explanation: “In practice, the law is broad enough to entertain different types of foreign investment.”

The law can be quite flexible, so it can adapt to different types of foreign investment. Possibly, this may just demonstrate that “China is interested in getting foreign investment and the FIL wants to create a win-win situation,” says Glueck.

foreign investmentWhere is the detail?

“While the implementing regulations and other supporting documents have, to some extent, provided further details and guidance regarding the implementation of the FIL, they are still rather vague in many aspects and there are still open issues,” says Glueck.

“For example, the meaning of ‘new projects’ as referred to in the definition of foreign investment in article 2, paragraph 3 of the FIL is still unclear, and many provisions, for example the ones regarding the safety review system and complaints mechanism, still appear incomplete,” she says.

The new regime allows for a mechanism to resolve complaints with government institutions. This consists of administrative reconsideration and administrative lawsuits. However, the argument has been that these stipulations are vague, and lawyers expect that the authorities will issue additional measures or circulars on how such a complaint system will actually work and be implemented in practice.

According to the implementation regulations, “A foreign investor or a foreign-invested enterprise may, if it believes the normative documents as the basis for any administrative action that are formulated by a department under the State Council or a local people’s government and its department to be illegal, request an examination of such normative documents concurrently while filing a lawsuit against the administrative action in accordance with the law.”

The implementation regulations also state that, “The competent department for commerce under the State Council shall, in collaboration with other relevant departments under the State Council, establish a foreign-invested enterprise complaint working mechanism and promptly handle issues with significant impacts nationwide.”

Roules says these implementing regulations “add little clarification to the broad statements of the FIL. The regulations leave open many questions. For example, most of the statements regarding equal protection for foreign investment (article 6), continuous improvement of foreign investment service (article 8), equal right to participate in the formation and revision of standards (article 13) do not meaningfully elaborate on what was already in the FIL.

“In addition to the lack of clarity and specificity in the content of the regulations, several important topics are not addressed at all. For example, with foreign and domestic-invested entities treated equally, will the concept of total investment currently applicable to foreign-invested entities be retained? And if so, will it continue to serve as a constraint on foreign loans, as it has in the past?

“Similarly, will the currently applicable M&A regulations promulgated by the Ministry of Commerce be retained or replaced? Further, will foreign-invested companies continue to be permitted to import equipment duty-free? We look forward to seeing, in the future, clarifications of these important issues.”

Adds Glueck: “It is expected that considerably more rules and regulations will be issued in the nearer future to provide more clarity and guidance on the new foreign investment regime in the PRC. In our view, only after the publication of such additional rules and regulations will the real impact of the FIL, and the implementing regulations, be seen, and only then it can be assessed whether the new foreign investment regime brings along significant improvements for foreign investment in the PRC compared to the old system, or not.”

While under the FIL, generally foreign-invested companies will be entitled to equal national treatment, except when investing in those industries specified on the negative list, it is not all positive generalities.

“It is clear that equal treatment of domestic and foreign investment in terms of government procurement, standard setting, etc., is a reassuring thing for foreign investors, although many foreign investors still have doubts about this,” says Fang.

Foreign Investment“Some provisions of the new law may be unattractive to foreign investors,” notes Roules. “For example, article 8 requires the establishment of a trade union, and conducting trade union activities in accordance with applicable law. The applicable law specifies, among other things, that if established, a labour union must ‘take economic development as their central work, keep to the socialist path, uphold the people’s democratic dictatorship, the leadership of the Chinese Communist Party, Marxism-Leninism, Mao Zedong Thought and Deng Xiaoping Theory’.”

There may also be other situations where foreign companies find that being treated as the equal of their Chinese counterparts is more burdensome and problematic, he says. “Neither the FIL nor the draft implementation rules address what happens with any existing preferences available to foreign-invested entities [FIEs].

“For example, FIEs presently have the ability to borrow foreign loans to the extent of the difference between their total investment amount and their registered capital. Domestic companies have no such concept and no such right. Further, an FIE has the right to import equipment duty-free, whereas a domestic company does not.

“As another example of changes that may not be welcomed by FIEs, the FIL also provides that a foreign investor may, ‘according to the law’, freely transfer into or out of China renminbi or foreign currency,” he says.

“In times when PRC banks were strictly enforcing forex conversion quotas on domestic companies, we have sometimes seen foreign-invested clients that were able to convert and transfer moneys abroad. If the new FIL means that foreign-invested companies will now be subject to the same rigid quotas as domestic companies, it is likely to be less desirable.”

Similarly, Roules says the authorities have sometimes been more flexible in applying data privacy and cybersecurity requirements to foreign-invested companies than domestic ones, but if all companies are truly equal under the law, foreign investors may find themselves longing for the past.

Fang, however, is optimistic. “The FIL is far from perfect, but it is a beautiful blueprint for foreign investment in China,” he says. “The overall message is that people should be optimistic. But given how big China is, there will be hiccups in the actual implementations of dealing with various government authorities. I am hopeful that this can be resolved actively. There will be challenges.”