A team from the National Law School of India University (NLSIU) Bengaluru, emerged as the global winner of the Skadden Arps Foreign Direct Investment International Arbitration moot, which took place at Suffolk University Law School in Boston from 2-5 November.

A total of 104 teams from around the world participated in the competition that saw NLSIU battle a team from Prague’s Charles University in the final.

On the winning team were Prakshal Jain, Aditya Sanjay Mehta and Aditya Dsouza. Mehta also claimed the prize for best speaker in the final.

In addition, a team from the University of Advanced Legal Studies in Kochi was awarded the best respondent memorial prize while Tanesha Singh, a fifth-year student from Amity IP University, received an honourable mention in the global rounds after she was ranked fifth out of a total of 141 individual participants.

Sumeet Kachwaha, the managing partner of Kachwaha & Partners and host of the South Asia regional rounds of the competition, told India Business Law Journal: “The outcome reaffirms the excellence of Indian students on the global stage, especially considering that investment arbitration is a niche subject here and mostly a student-driven initiative where participants must also find the resources for international travel.”

The 2017 FDI moot case was based on how Mercuria, a state faced with a “greyscale” epidemic, had treated a foreign investor – a patent-holder of the active ingredient in an effective greyscale treatment. It examined how the state first breached a supply agreement, which was the basis for the investor’s production facility investments in Mercuria, then failed to enforce the consequent arbitration award and later granted a compulsory licence to a state-owned manufacturer.

The competition attracted teams from Vietnam, the US, Colombia, Turkey, Japan, Kenya, China, Russia and Poland, among others. The other Indian teams which made it into the global rounds came from Institute of Law, Nirma University; National Law Institute University, Bhopal; Symbiosis Law School, Pune; Amity Law School, Delhi; National University of Juridical Sciences, West Bengal; Dr Ram Manohar Lohiya National Law University; Gujarat National Law University; Hidayatullah National Law University; National Law University, Jodhpur; Rajiv Gandhi National University of Law, Punjab; and National University of Advanced Legal Studies, Kochi.