中国企业境外投资项目申请操作要点(一)

作者: 佘铭、孔焕志,通力律师事务所
0
160

国在2004年就中国企业境外投资(ODI)正式出台规定,而十年后于2014年对ODI监管体系进行了总体调整,完成了从核准制向备案制(即“备案为主,核准为辅”)的转变。2017年,相关部门又在备案制大原则下进一步确立了根据项目性质在实践中分类审查(鼓励类、限制类和禁止类)的监管思路。自此, 无论从总体监管原则还是具体监管措施的角度,中国均已经建立了一套完整的ODI监管法律制度。

ODI
佘铭
通力律师事务所合伙人

尽管如此,与中国企业在全球各地投资及并购交易上越来越得心应手的情况相比,诸多企业仍对ODI项目的申请程序及“实质审查、个案审查”的要求缺乏了解,未适当履行ODI程序或事先未充分准备导致申请失败的情形大量存在。

目前监管制度下,一旦出现ODI程序瑕疵,企业没有事后“补充”和“纠错”的机会。这也使得未适当履行ODI程序的企业可能在经营合规,境外投资项目的后续交易(股权出售或者引进新投资人,以及资金汇回境内),甚至企业未来上市等方面受到影响。

为更好地帮助企业了解ODI监管要求与操作实务,笔者尝试通过本文对ODI申请中最常遇到的一些问题进行分析与梳理,具体包括如下方面:(1)判断项目是否需要办理ODI申请;(2)ODI申请时间点;(3)ODI申请主体(涉及多个申请主体如何处理);(4)“路径公司”的使用;(5)如何界定“境外再投资”;(6)同时收购境外同一控制下多个项目的处理;(7)合资方/交易相对方境外投资程序对ODI申请的影响。

ODI
孔焕志
通力律师事务所合伙人

现行监管体系:三线监管、监管口径多变。现行法律体系下,中国企业开展ODI主要受发展改革部门(发改委)、商务部门(商委)及外汇管理部门(外管局)三线监管。发改委及商委负责ODI项目的审查,外管局则对资金的汇出进行管控。

ODI申请流程中,企业需先分别获得发改委及商委的备案/核准,而后在获批外汇额度内向银行申请资金汇出。一般企业ODI申请程序如右图所示:

主管部门监管思路:个案审查、口径不一、全程监管。就每一个ODI项目,主管部门会从项目的具体投资方式、投资目的地、商业背景、投资额等方面进行全面审查,并据此作出同意备案与否的决定。

例如,对于并购类ODI项目申请,各地主管部门通常会要求提交一份由律所等专业机构针对境外目标公司所作的尽职调查报告,以作为评估项目真实性和合理性的依据。

ODI需注意的是,各地主管部门对于审查尺度的拿捏、法规的理解以及复杂、特殊项目的接受度等方面都存在着差异。

例如,对ODI项目汇出的资金最终汇回境外公司的境内子公司使用,部分地方主管部门倾向持否定态度,而部分地方则不会对此特别关注。建议企业通过与主管部门预沟通或聘请专业的中介进行申请之前的必要了解和准备。

同时,主管部门并非仅在备案/核准的阶段介入及实施监管,就ODI项目,企业负有在事前(项目实施前)、事后(投资完成后)报告的义务,主管部门监管实则覆盖境外投资活动的全过程。企业未充分履行相关报告义务,同样可能导致ODI项目在主管部门留下瑕疵记录。

作者:通力律师事务所合伙人佘铭、合伙人孔焕志

ODI

通力律师事务所
上海市银城中路68号
时代金融中心16楼和19楼 邮编: 200120
电话: +86 21 3135 8666
传真: +86 21 3135 8600
电子信箱:
selena.she@llinkslaw.com
kenneth.kong@llinkslaw.com
www.llinkslaw.com

Overseas project applications by Chinese enterprises (Part 1)

By Selena She and Kenneth Kong, Llinks Law Offices
0
185

In 2004, China formally issued regulations on the outbound direct investment (ODI) of Chinese enterprises. A decade later, in 2014, China made overall adjustments to the ODI regulatory system, transforming from the approval system to the filing system (that is, filing is generally required for normal ODI projects, and approval is only required in special case”). In 2017, under the principle of the filing system, the relevant departments further established a supervision principle based on classification (encouragement, restriction and prohibition) based on the nature of the projects in practice. Since then, both from the perspective of overall regulatory principles or specific regulatory measures, China has established a complete ODI regulatory legal system.

ODI
Selena She
Partner
Llinks Law Offices

Nevertheless, against a background of an increasingly well-placed situation for Chinese enterprises in investment and M&A transactions around the world, many of them still lack understanding of the application procedures of ODI projects and the requirements of “substantive review” and “case-by-case review”, and there are a large number of cases where the applications fail due to the improper implementation of ODI procedures or inadequate preparation.

Under the current regulatory system, once there are flaws in the ODI procedure, enterprises do not have the opportunity to “supplement” materials and “correct” mistakes afterwards. This may also affect enterprises that fail to properly implement ODI procedures in terms of compliance in operation, follow-up transactions of overseas investment projects (equity sale or introduction of new investors, and repatriation of funds), and even future listing of enterprises.

ODI
Kenneth Kong
Partner
Llinks Law Offices

In order to better help enterprises understand the regulatory requirements and operational practices of ODI, this article analyzes and sort some of the most frequently encountered problems in ODI applications, including the following: (1) assessing whether the project needs to apply for ODI; (2) ODI application timing; (3) ODI applicant (how to deal with multiple applicants); (4) use of “route company”; (5) how to define “overseas reinvestment”; (6) simultaneous acquisition of multiple projects under the same control abroad; and (7) the impact of the JV party/counterparty’s overseas investment procedure on the ODI application.

The current supervision system: three-way supervision and varied dimensions of review. Under the current legal system, the ODI projects carried out by Chinese enterprises are mainly supervised by the National Development and Reform Commission (NDRC), the Ministry of Commerce (MOFCOM) and the State Administration of Foreign Exchange (SAFE).The NDRC and the commissions of commerce are responsible for the review of ODI projects, while SAFE controls the remittance of funds.

In the ODI application process, enterprises need to obtain the approval of or file with the NDRC and MOFCOM, and then apply to banks for remittance of funds within the approved quota of foreign currency. The general enterprise ODI application procedure is shown in the figure below:

ODISupervision principles of ODI authorities: case-by-case review, varied dimensions and full and whole-process supervision. For each ODI project, the competent authorities will conduct a comprehensive review of the specific investment mode, investment destination, business background, investment amount of the project, etc., and make a decision on whether to agree to file or not. For example, for merger and acquisition ODI project applications, local authorities usually require the submission of a due diligence report by professional institutions such as law firms for overseas target companies as a basis for evaluating the authenticity and rationality of the project.

It should be noted that there are differences in the strictness of review, the understanding of laws and regulations, and the acceptance of complex and special projects among the local competent authorities. For example, some local authorities tend to hold a negative attitude towards the final remittance of funds from ODI projects to the domestic subsidiaries of overseas companies, while some will not pay special attention to it. It is suggested that enterprises should understand the differences and prepare before applying by communicating with the competent authorities or consulting professional advisers.

The competent authorities will not only intervene and implement supervision at the stage of filing/approval. Enterprises also have the obligation to report to ODI authorities in advance (before the implementation of the project) and afterwards (after the completion of the investment) for ODI projects, and the supervision of the competent authorities actually covers the whole process of overseas investment activities. Enterprises’ failure to fully fulfil the relevant reporting obligations may also lead to defective records of ODI projects with the competent authorities.

Selena She and Kenneth Kong are partners at Llinks Law Offices.

ODI

Llinks Law Offices
16F / 19F, ONE LUJIAZUI, 68 Yin Cheng Road Middle
Shanghai 200120, China
Tel: +86 21 3135 8666
Fax: +86 21 3135 8600
E-mail:
selena.she@llinkslaw.com
kenneth.kong@llinkslaw.com
www.llinkslaw.com