重拾动能:印度并购交易的前景

作者: Ravi Shah、Rishabh Shroff,Cyril Amarchand Mangaldas
0
272

虽然地缘政治事件导致交易活动放缓,但印度仍然是一个具有吸引力并不断发展、且拥有强劲的长期发展前景的经济体。

2018年见证了源源不断的重大战略交易和私募股权投资,“印度制造”、“数字印度”等计划推动了许多交易项目,持续自由化的外商直接投资制度,以及间接税法、公司法、破产法和房地产法等法律的系统性改革。

在2018年的交易活动达到了高标准之后,印度在2019年上半年举行了世界上规模最大的一次大选,现任总理纳伦德拉·莫迪赢得了绝对多数选票并获得了连任,这极大地提振了印度国内外投资者的信心。

重要的法律更新

M&A
Ravi Shah
位于艾哈迈达巴德的Cyril Amarchand Mangaldas律师事务所合伙人
T: +91 79 4903 9900
E: ravi.shah@cyrilshroff.com

国际社会对印度的并购交易活动有着浓厚的兴趣。国内的并购活动也获得了动力,企业正在寻求通过整合来扩大规模、提高可扩展性并增加商业模式。

印度的法律和监管环境也发生了重大变化,从颁布2013年《公司法》进行的公司法改革,到颁布2017年《商品和服务税法》和几乎包括了中央和邦一级的所有间接税在内的相关法律,并颁布了涉及公司破产清算相关事宜的2016年《破产法》。

公司法

2013年《公司法》是管理印度的公司和并购交易,并规范证券发行和转让的主要法律。

有趣的是,根据《公司法》的规定,外国公司可以并购印度本地公司,但反过来不允许。根据有关2013年《公司法》第234条的通知,在取得印度储备银行的事先审批并符合2013年《公司法》规定的情况下,印度公司可以并购外国公司,类似于境内的跨境并购。

根据对此类跨境并购进行规范的《公司并购规规定》通知,印度储备银行还于2018年3月20日颁布了2018年《外汇管理(跨境并购)规则》,对“印度公司和外国公司之间的跨境并购”进行规范,包括境内并购和境外并购。进行境内并购或境外并购交易还应当遵守1999年《外汇管理法》。

外汇管理法

M&A
Rishabh Shroff
位于孟买的Cyril Amarchand Mangaldas律师事务所合伙人
T: +91 22 2496 4455
E: rishabh.shroff@cyrilshroff.com

外汇的流入和流出、对印度进行投资或者印度对外投资都受到《外汇管理法》的监管。2019年10月,财政部发布了适用于涉及非居民实体的投资(收购/转让)的《外汇管理法非债务工具规定》取代了此前实施的规定。印度储备银行希望通过该规定进一步简化和精简有关规定,并促进印度营商环境便利度。

为了进一步推进改善营商环境便利度并推进“最小化政府、最大化治理”理念的目标,印度撤销了此前设立的外国投资促进委员会,并设立外国投资便利化门户网站进行替代,简化需要取得政府审批的外商直接投资项目的审批程序。

除了少数禁止外商直接投资的行业(赌博博彩、房地产、烟草、雪茄和香烟制造、铁路运营、核能等行业)之外,印度政府已采取措施开放部分行业允许外商投资根据自动通道规则(即无须取得政府事先审批)进行,大多数行业的投资在部分情况下受限于行业投资上限(即允许外商投资持股上限)和附带条件。

为了增加在印度的外商直接投资,许多行业的投资限制都得到了进一步的放松。比如,自2019年9月2日起,印度政府允许投资中介机构或保险中介机构的外商投资持股上限达到100%。单一品牌零售贸易此前超过49%持股上限的外商投资需要取得政府审批,现在可以在自动通道规则下获得100%的外商投资。印度商业和工业部近期还发布了一份日期为2019年9月18日的新闻通知,修改了许多行业的现行外商直接投资政策。

竞争法

印度的竞争法主要由2002年《竞争法》及相关规章条例进行规范。《竞争法》主要旨在规范反竞争协议、滥用市场支配地位和并购行为。印度竞争委员会负责管理并购活动(即达到规定比例的收购或兼并/合并),要求向印度竞争委员会强制申报有关并购交易,并限制未经印度竞争委员会审批即完成并购交易。

为了符合印度政府改善印度营商环境便利度的政策,根据印度竞争委员会于2019年8月13日发布的通知,竞争委员会近期针对特定类型的交易引入了“绿色通道”审批制度的概念。该制度允许符合条件的相关方提交简化版本的I号表格,在向竞争委员会发出通知后立即视为已取得有关交易的审批。

其他重要考虑

负责监管印度上市公司的印度证券交易委员会发布/公布了许多规章条例和公告,对涉及到印度上市公司的并购交易也很重要。

比如,在并购一家上市公司时,在根据2013年《公司法》进行并购程序之前,必须取得印度证券交易委员会或者印度证券交易所的无异议函。

印度证券交易委员会发布的与并购交易相关的重要法规包括:2011年《证券交易委员会(重大股份收购和并购)条例》,限制和规范收购上市公司的股票、投票权和控制权;2015年《证券交易委员会(上市义务和披露要求)条例》,对印度各类上市证券提供了全面的监管框架;2018年《证券交易委员会(发行股本和披露要求)条例》,对已上市公司进行不同类型的发行进行规范;2015年《证券交易委员会(禁止内幕交易)条例》,禁止在持有未公开的、具有价格敏感性信息的情况下进行证券交易,确保一个公平和透明的公开资本市场。

与兼并收购和出售相关的税务事宜主要适用1961年《所得税法》以及商品和服务税(GST)等间接税法的相关规定。

为了促进经济增长和投资,并促进“印度制造”计划的发展,印度政府近期颁布了2019年《税法(修订)条例》显著促进了经济发展,该条例将本国公司的公司税率降低到22%,并为在2019年10月1日或者之后新成立的、对制造业进行新投资的本国公司提供按15%的税率缴纳所得税的选择,且不适用2019年《金融法(第2号)》对外国证券投资者出售其持有的包括衍生品在内的任何证券获得的资本利得而征收的增加费用。

并购交易的前景

从这些法律发展中可以看出,内在主题是简化管理制度并提高印度营商环境便利度。这点从世界银行发布的《2020年营商环境报告》排名中显而易见,印度在过去三年中排名上升了近67位,目前在190个经济体中排名第63位。

凭借印度政府实施的多项经济改革,印度首次成为了南亚地区排名第一的国家,在金砖国家(巴西、俄罗斯、印度、中国和南非)中排名第三。印度和沙特阿拉伯及中国等国家也被世界银行《2020年营商环境报告》提到为“改善最为显著的经济体”。

印度排名上升的一个关键因素是破产法制度,用以解决公司破产的相关事宜。《破产法》的制定旨在合并并修订有关重组和破产清算程序的相关法律。印度政府正在继续努力进一步加强破产制度。

近期于2019年8月16日起实施的2019年《破产法(修正案)》进行了一些修改,力求确保及时完成债务清算程序,并使相关利益者的权利更加清晰。

法律和监管制度的发展加上专注于发展的稳定政府将继续推进印度的并购交易发展,预计能源、通信、银行、制药、基础设施和媒体行业的交易活动将有所增加。涉及不良资产的并购活动也将是来年的一个持续主题。

M&A

Cyril Amarchand Mangaldas
Mumbai Office
Peninsula Chambers,
Peninsula corporate park, gk marg,
Lower parel, mumbai, 400 013, india
电话:+91 22 2496 4455
传真:+91 22 2496 3666
电子邮件:cam.mumbai@cyrilshroff.com

Regaining momentum: Outlook for Indian M&A in UK, Europe

By Ravi Shah and Rishabh Shroff, Cyril Amarchand Mangaldas
0
142

While geopolitical events are slowing deal activity, the country remains an attractive and growing economy with strong long-term prospects

The year 2018 witnessed a steady flow of significant, strategic deals and PE investments, with deal flow boosted by initiatives such as “Make in India”, “Startup India” and “Digital India”, continued liberalization of the foreign direct investment (FDI) regime, and the systemic overhaul of indirect tax laws, corporate laws, insolvency and bankruptcy laws and real estate laws to name a few.

After setting the bar high in terms of deal activity in 2018, the first half of 2019 saw India go through one of the world’s largest general elections, which resulted in the incumbent prime minister, Narendra Modi, gaining a clear majority and mandate to continue for another term, giving a significant boost to investor confidence across India and internationally.

Key legal updates

M&A
Ravi Shah
Partner at Cyril Amarchand Mangaldas in Ahmedabad
T: +91 79 4903 9900
E: [email protected]

Deal activity in India has seen interest from various quarters internationally. Domestic M&A has also gained impetus and companies are looking to increase their size, scalability and business models through consolidation.

The Indian legal and regulatory landscape has also undergone significant changes, from the overhaul of the companies law with the introduction of the Companies Act, 2013 (CA 2013), the introduction of Central Goods and Service Tax Act, 2017, and various associated laws that subsumed almost all indirect taxes at the federal and state level, and the introduction of the Insolvency and Bankruptcy Code, 2016 (IBC), to deal with corporate insolvencies and bankruptcies.

Companies Act

The CA 2013 is the primary legislation that governs companies and M&A in India, and regulates the issuance and transfer of securities.

M&A
Rishabh Shroff
Partner at Cyril Amarchand Mangaldas in Mumbai
T: +91 22 2496 4455
E: [email protected]

Interestingly, under the Companies Law, the merger of a foreign company into an Indian company was possible, but the reverse was not permissible. With the notification of section 234 of the CA 2013, an Indian company is also permitted, with the prior approval of the Reserve Bank of India (RBI) and compliance with CA 2013, to merge into a foreign company, similar to inbound cross-border mergers.

Pursuant to the notification of the Companies Amalgamation Rules providing for such cross-border mergers, on 20 March 2018, the RBI also notified the Foreign Exchange Management (Cross-Border Merger) Regulations, 2018 to regulate “cross-border mergers between Indian companies and foreign companies”, including both inbound mergers and outbound mergers. In the case of an inbound or outbound merger, such transactions should also be undertaken in compliance with the Foreign Exchange Management Act, 1999 (FEMA).

Foreign Exchange Management Act

The inflow and outflow of foreign exchange, and investment into/from India is regulated by the FEMA. In October 2019, in supersession of the earlier regulations, the Ministry of Finance issued the FEMA Non-debt Instrument Rules (NDI Rules), which apply in cases of investments (acquisitions/transfers) involving a non-resident entity. With this, the RBI has sought to further simplify and streamline the regulations and to facilitate the ease of doing business in India.

To further the objective of providing ease of doing business and promoting the principle of “maximum governance and minimum government”, the administration abolished the erstwhile Foreign Investment Promotion Board and replaced it with the Foreign Investment Facilitation Portal to streamline the process for vetting and seeking approval of FDI proposals that require government approval.

Barring a few sectors in which FDI is prohibited (gambling, real estate, tobacco and manufacturing of cigars and cigarettes, railway operations, atomic energy, etc.) the government has undertaken measures to open up various sectors for foreign investment in India under the automatic route (i.e., no prior government approval) and investment is permitted in most sectors subject to sectoral caps in some cases (i.e., maximum permissible foreign investment limits) and attendant conditions.

To increase FDI in India, investment limits have been further relaxed in various sectors. For instance, effective from 2 September 2019, the government permits 100% foreign equity investment for intermediaries or insurance intermediaries. Single brand product retail trading, which earlier required government approval beyond an investment of 49%, can now receive 100% foreign investment under the automatic approval route. The Ministry of Commerce and Industry has also recently issued a press note dated 18 September 2019, to amend the extant FDI policy in various sectors.

Competition Act

Competition law in India is governed by the Competition Act, 2002, and its rules and regulations. The Competition Act primarily seeks to regulate anti-competitive agreements, abuse of dominance and combinations. Combinations (i.e., acquisitions or merger/amalgamations meeting the prescribed thresholds) are regulated by the Competition Commission of India (CCI), by providing for mandatory notification of such combinations to the CCI, and by restricting the consummation of combinations without CCI approval.

Keeping in line with the government’s policy to improve ease of doing business in India, the CCI recently introduced the concept of a “green channel” approval route for certain types of transactions, pursuant to its notification on 13 August 2019. This route allows eligible parties to file a simplified version of Form I and receive deemed approval of the transaction immediately upon notifying the CCI.

Other key considerations

The Securities and Exchange Board of India (SEBI), which is the nodal authority regulating publicly listed entities in India, issues/notifies various rules, regulations and circulars that are also relevant in the context of M&A deals involving listed Indian entities.

For instance, in the case of a merger of a listed company, a no-objection/observation letter has to be obtained from the SEBI or stock exchanges in India prior to undertaking the merger process set out under the CA 2013.

Some of the key SEBI regulations relevant in the context of deal activity include: the SEBI (Substantial Acquisition of Shares and Takeovers) Regulations, 2011, which restrict and regulate the acquisition of shares, voting rights and control in listed companies; the SEBI (Listing Obligations and Disclosure Requirements) Regulations, 2015, which provide for a comprehensive framework governing various types of listed securities in India; the SEBI (Issue of Capital and Disclosure Requirements) Regulations, 2018, which regulate different types of offerings by a public listed company; and the SEBI (Prohibition of Insider Trading) Regulations, 2015, which prohibit dealing in securities when in possession of unpublished price-sensitive information, ensuring a fair and transparent public capital market.

Matters of taxation in connection with mergers, acquisitions and disposals are primarily governed by the provisions of the Income Tax Act, 1961, as well as the indirect tax laws governed primarily by the GST.

With a view to promote growth and investment, and provide a boost to the “Make in India” initiative, the government recently introduced the Taxation Laws (Amendment) Ordinance, 2019, offering a significant boost to the economy by slashing corporate tax rates for domestic companies to 22%, providing the option to pay income tax at the rate of 15% to any new domestic company incorporated on or after 1 October 2019, making fresh investment in manufacturing, and non-applicability of the enhanced surcharge levied by the Finance (No. 2) Act, 2019 to capital gains arising on the sale of any security, including derivatives, in the hands of foreign portfolio investors.

M&A outlook

As can be seen from these various legal developments, the underlying theme is to streamline the regulatory regime and improve the ease of doing business in India. This is evident from the World Bank’s ease of doing business rankings 2020, where India has jumped almost 67 rankings in the past three years to now rank 63rd among 190 nations.

With this, India becomes the top-ranked country in South Asia for the first time, and third among the BRICS (Brazil, Russia, India, China and South Africa) nations, on account of multiple economic reforms undertaken by the government. India, along with countries such as Saudi Arabia and China, also secured a mention in “economies with the most notable improvement” in the World Bank’s Doing Business 2020 report.

One of the key drivers for improved rankings was the IBC regime, which provides for resolving corporate insolvencies. The IBC was enacted with the objective of consolidating and amending laws relating to reorganization and the insolvency resolution process. Continual efforts are being made by the government to further strengthen the insolvency regime.

The Insolvency and Bankruptcy Code (Amendment) Act, 2019, which recently came into force from 16 August 2019, has introduced amendments that seek to ensure the timely completion of the debt resolution process and provide more clarity on the rights of stakeholders.

Developments in the legal and regulatory regime, coupled with a stable government focused on development, will continue to drive M&A in India, with increased deal activity expected in energy, telecoms, banking, pharmaceuticals, infrastructure and media. M&A involving stressed assets will also be a continuing theme in the coming year.

M&A

Cyril Amarchand Mangaldas
Mumbai Office
Peninsula Chambers,
Peninsula corporate park, gk marg,
Lower parel, mumbai, 400 013, india
Tel: +91 22 2496 4455
Fax: +91 22 2496 3666
Email: [email protected]