优先投资权条款设置要点

作者: 潘界达,国枫律师事务所
0
120

投资界有一句行话:“投资就是投人”。在早期项目的投资中,如何与创始团队建立长久、可持续的合作关系,如何在早期项目失败后用新项目的预期利益来对冲老项目失败的风险,对投资者和律师而言都是一门艺术。优先投资权即是在此背景下催生出的一项较为特别的投资条款。

众所周知,早期创业项目的创业失败率是很高的,此时创始人往往还不具备足够经验、人脉以及团队。不过这些失败都成为了下次创业的资本,使后期的再创业成功率会大大提高,优先权也因此成为投资人保证投资效益的最后一道防线,对于处在种子轮、天使轮的项目显得尤为重要。

优先投资权(优先权)条款应满足的核心要素有两个:(1)优先权的行使条件;(2)明确投资人对新设项目有优先于其他投资人进行投资的约定。但是条款的设置仅仅满足核心要素并不能够最大化地维护投资人的权益,下文将对条款设置各要点进行分析。

条款设置要点

projects
潘界达
律师
国枫律师事务所

优先权行使条件。优先权保障的是投资人对于创始人新项目的投资权,所以条款首要考虑的如何定义新项目。实践中,以下情况通常会促使创始人启动新项目:(1)项目公司无法继续存续,发生清算事宜;(2)创始人或创始团队从项目公司离职;(3)创始人或创始团队得到投资人同意,另行设立企业开展新的项目。

在出现了前述情况后,创始人必须有另行设立或参股其他企业的行为并实际经营。由于促使创始人启动新项目的原因无法穷尽,所以应当被重点关注的是创始人新设企业或者参股其他企业的行为,并将此作为条款中明确的事实节点。在投资人谈判地位强势的情况下,可以笼统的地约定无论任何原因,只要创始人新设企业或者参股其他企业并实际经营,投资人就具备了行使优先权的条件。

创始人通知及通告问题。在实践中,投资人无法完全掌握创始人的行为动向,那么,如何保证创始人能够及时告知投资人也是优先权条款设置时需要重点考虑的一环。

首先,应当关注的是创始人应当告知的时间。这里有两点需要注意,第一,我们认为,创始人无需一直向投资人告知其行为动向,只需在新项目进行首轮融资或者创始人参与新项目后最近一轮融资前告知投资人融资意向,就应当视为履行了相关义务。

其次,有一些事实因素,如投资人与创始人之间的关系不佳或创始人可能有更好的融资方案和选择等,会导致创始人拒绝履行相应的义务,从而使得投资人无法及时行使优先权。为了保护投资人能够顺利行使优先权,在投资人较为强势的情况下,可以考虑就创始人的告知义务设置一定的罚则,以便对创始人进行约束。

优先的范围。优先权之“优先”,一般指存在其他投资方的情况下,投资人在同等条件下有优先入股的权利。常见的情形有以下两种:(1)优先于新项目的其他投资者;(2)优先于老项目中同样有优先权的其他投资者。

优先于其他投资者这点无需累述,但对同样有优先权的投资者的处理,首先应通过对创始人签署的各类协议进行调查并尽可能的在拟投项目的协议中排除其他投资者相同或类似的权益。如谈判中存在困难,亦可考虑就优先权约定一个明确的履行顺位,或在第一顺位的优先投资者中约定按照持股比例划分权利,这与投资协议中常见的回购权、优先清算权类似。

条款行使问题。行使优先权最终目的,是投资人在新项目相关主体中持有实际的份额。如果相关主体为公司,则以增资或者转让的方式获得新项目公司的股权。此时,投资人行使这类投资要遵守公司法对于公司新增股东的相关规定,可能遇到两种情况。

第一类情况是:创始人能够绝对控制新项目公司股东会,包括持有股权比例在50%以上,或者通过其他方式实际控制公司50%以上股权比例。那么,在这种情况下,只要创始人愿意履行相关义务,投资人的优先权就能够得到保障。

第二类情况则是:创始人无法绝对控制公司股东会,这种情况下,投资人可能面临除创始人以外的其他新项目公司股东反对投资人入股的情况。且由于合同相对性原则,其他股东并不受优先权条款的约束。那么在这种情况下,创始人只能够通过协商的方式获得投资机会。

作者:国枫律师事务所律师潘界达

IE控制

国枫律师事务所
北京市东城区建国门内大街26号
新闻大厦7层 邮编:100005
电话: +86 10 8800 4488 / 6609 0088
传真: +86 10 6609 0016
电子信箱:
[email protected]
www.grandwaylaw.com

Constructing pre-emptive rights to new projects

By Pan Jieda, Grandway Law Firm
0
35

There is a saying in the trade that investing in a start-up is essentially investing in the people who start the project. How to build and maintain a long-term and sustainable relationship with the founding team, and how to hedge against the risk of the failure of an early-stage start-up with the expected return on a new project are subjects of art for both investors and lawyers. In this light, a special term of pre-emptive right to the new project is born.

It is well known that the failure rate of early-stage start-ups is quite high, as founders may lack sufficient experience, connection and human resources. But failures can crystalize as a foundation for the next start-up project, significantly increasing the success rate of later projects.

projects
Pan Jieda
Associate
Grandway Law Offices

Thus, a pre-emptive right to the new project becomes the last defence for the investor to guarantee its investment return. Its role is particularly important in projects in seed-round and angel-round financing.

A pre-emption right clause shall comprise two core elements, i.e., the conditions for the exercise of the right, and the agreement specifying that the investor has the right, to invest in the new project before other investors. However, these two core elements are not enough to construct a clause sufficient to maximize the rights and interests of the investors. This article will analyse how to construct a pre-emption right clause.

Key points of the clause

Conditions for exercise of the right. This pre-emptive right is aimed to safeguard the investor’s right to invest in the new project. Therefore, a priority of the clause is to define the new project.

In practice, the situations prompting the founders to start a new project include: (1) the existing company is no longer feasible and liquidation takes place; (2) the founder or the founding team leave the existing company; and (3) the founder or the founding team establish a new company to carry out a new project with the consent of the investors.

With these situations, there must still be the acts of the founder of establishing a new company, or investing in the equity of another company and the actual operation. The reasons impelling the founder to have a new undertaking may be many and varied, and it may be difficult to include all these reasons, so the focus should be on the acts of the founder to set up or invest in a new company, and these acts shall be specified in the clause.

If the investor is in an advantageous position in the negotiation, the clause can be generalized as “the conditions for the exercise of the right would be satisfied as long as the founder starts a new company or makes an equity investment in another company, irrespective of the reasons”.

Founder’s notice. Practically, the investors cannot have the full details of the movements of the founders, so a key consideration when constructing the clause is to ensure that the founder timely informs the investor of his/her acts. In this regard, a first consideration should be the notifying time, and there are two points to consider.

First, in the author’s view, there is no need for the investor to stay informed about the movement of the founder. As long as the founder gives notice to the investor before the first financing of the new project, or the latest round of financing of the new project after the founder makes investment in it, the founder is deemed to have performed its obligations.

Second, there are some issues that may mean the founder refuses to perform relative obligations, and render the investor unable to exercise the pre-emption right in time as a result.

These issues include, for example, that the investor is not in a good relationship with the founder, or the founder has better financing plans or options. To guarantee the exercise of the right, when the investor is in an advantageous position, it is recommended to specify a punishment when constructing the notice obligation to bind the founder.

The scope of the pre-emption right. The pre-emption clause grants to the investor the right to buy the equity at the same conditions before other investors. There are two common situations: the first is that the investor enjoys the right to first buy the equity before other investors of the new project, and the second is before the other investors of the old project with pre-emption right.

The tricky part is to deal with other investors with the pre-emption right. First and foremost, the investor shall conduct a thorough review of all the agreements signed by the founder, and then try to exclude other investors from enjoying the same or similar rights in the term sheet of the intended project. If the investor finds it difficult to negotiate the terms, it is recommended to add an exercise sequence in the agreement, or to partition the rights among the preferred investors of the first order on a pro rata basis, which is similar to the redemption right and liquidation preference clauses that are common in term sheets.

How to exercise the right. The ultimate goal of the right is to secure certain equity shares in the new entity owning the new project for the investor. If that new entity is a corporation, the equity in the new project company may be obtained through new issues or stocks transfer. In this case, the investor shall comply with the provisions on new shareholders in the Company Law, and there are two situations.

First, the founder has absolute control over the shareholders meeting of the new project company, which means that the founder holds more than 50% of the shares of the company, or the founder otherwise has actual control of more than 50% of the equity of the company. In this situation, the pre-emption right can be guaranteed as long as the founder is willing to perform the relative obligation.

Second, when the founder does not enjoy the absolute control over the shareholders meeting, the investor’s investment might be rejected by other shareholders of the new project company. Due to the principle of relativity of contract, other shareholders are not bound by the pre-emption right clause. Thus, the investment opportunity can only be earned through negotiation.

Pan Jieda is an associate at Grandway Law Firm

domestic capital

Grandway Law Offices
7/F, Beijing News Plaza
No. 26 Jianguomennei Dajie
Beijing 100005, China
Tel: +86 10 8800 4488 / 6609 0088
Fax: +86 10 6609 0016
E-mail:
[email protected]
www.grandwaylaw.com