加工贸易走私隐患的风险排查

作者: 王永亮,锦天城律师事务所
0
93

为企业提供海关事务风险检查中,我们发现,一些加工贸易企业的行为已经触及了走私罪的边缘,却对其中的法律风险浑然不觉。为了避免更多同类企业重蹈覆辙,我们对其中的三个高发风险点进行了梳理。

任意设定进口料件的价格。加工贸易设立的本意在于“两头在外”,即料件的提供商与成品的收购商都在国外,因不介入国内市场的商业竞争,享受国家保税的特别待遇。按照初衷,整个交易过程中并不涉及税收问题,因此料件价格并非海关审查的重点。但一些企业由此认为,申报料件进口价格仅仅是走走形式,“高进低出”、“平进平出”的现象层出不穷。

trade
王永亮
锦天城律师事务所
律师

如果企业真能够做到百分百“两头在外”,那么这种操作没有法律风险。但在实践中,生产导致的残次品,以及国外市场萎缩而被迫转向内销的成品,最终都要折算为进口时的料件价格来核定补税的金额。此时,如果企业还按照低报的原价向海关申请补税,就可能构成走私。

所以,加贸企业应当尤其重视关联企业间进口料件价格的合理设定,在补税前,及时对料件进口价格进行自查,发现价格确实偏低的,主动向海关披露,调整补税金额。《海关总署公告2018年第59号――关于全面推广以企业为单元加工贸易监管改革的公告》第二条第三项规定:“在账册核销周期结束前,企业对本核销周期内因突发情况和内部自查自控中发现的问题,主动向海关补充申报,并提供及时控制或整改措施的,海关对企业的申报进行集中处置。”这为企业的自报提供了明确的法律依据。

将残次品退运出境。一些企业在未向海关申报、补缴税款的情况下,将生产导致的残次品退运出境,以至于最终加工贸易手册无法核销。

根据《海关通关系统常用代码表及说明》,加工贸易项下的残次品复出口不存在对应的海关监管方式。也就是说,该项下进料用于加工后形成的残次品不可以复出口,必须在中国境内销毁或是做内销补税处理。企业的上述行为事实上造成了国家税款的损失,可能构成走私罪。

关于残次品,《中华人民共和国海关关于加工贸易边角料、剩余料件、残次品、副产品和受灾保税货物的管理办(海关总署令第235号)》第二条做出了明确定义:“残次品,是指加工贸易企业从事加工复出口业务,在生产过程中产生的有严重缺陷或者达不到出口合同标准,无法复出口的制品(包括完成品和未完成品)。”这就要求企业的质量监控部门对产品性能做出客观准确的评价,不能为了达到保税出口的目的而人为降低验收标准。

在未经海关批准的情况下将料件或成品内销。《商务部、海关总署公告2016年第45号――关于在全国范围内取消加工贸易业务审批、建立健全事中事后监管机制有关事项的公告》(以下简称《公告》)第一条规定,取消了商务主管部门对加工贸易合同审批和加工贸易保税进口料件或制成品转内销审批,各级商务主管部门不再签发各类有关加工贸易的批准证。

一些企业据此认为,料件与成品内销不再需要经过海关的批准。但这种观点属于典型的断章取义。《公告》仅仅是取消了商务部门对料件和成品内销的审批,却未取消海关方面的审批。

法院也对上述认识做出了明确判定。在(2017)内2501刑初21号判决书中,二连浩特市人民法院认为,“被告单位辩护人出示的《公告》证明依据该规定来料加工贸易及境内销售均无需审批,唯一义务就是在发生境内销售后及时申报缴纳关税,但该公告规定‘取消商务主管部门对加工贸易合同审批和加工贸易保税进口料件或制成品转内销审批’,‘海关特殊监管区域外加工贸易保税进口料件或者制成品如需转内销的,海关依法征收税款和缓税利息’,据此保税进口货物转内销取消的是商务主管部门的审批,但仍需经海关许可且补缴税款和缓税利息,故此对该证据及证明内容不予支持”。最终判决被告人未经海关批准内销保税料件及成品的行为构成走私犯罪。

在新的监管模式下,海关对企业的监管重点由事前转向事后,企业在行为当时的话语权显著增强,但如果纯粹从利己角度去理解法律法规,则事后的法律风险更大。企业应当更多地向主管海关或第三方法律服务机构寻求帮助,以对现行法规以及自身合规作出客观准确的判断。

作者:锦天城律师事务所律师王永亮

宽进严管

锦天城律师事务所
上海市浦东新区银城中路501号
上海中心大厦11及12层 邮编:200120
电话: +86 21 2051 1000
传真: +86 21 2051 1999
电子信箱:
[email protected]
www.allbrightlaw.com

Processing trade compliance: Are you an unwitting smuggler?

By Wang Yongliang, AllBright Law Offices
1
40

When identifying customs affairs-related risks for enterprises, the author has found that certain processing trade enterprises have possibly commited smuggling offences without being aware. To prevent other similar enterprises from making the same mistake, there are three high-risk points to be aware of.

Setting prices of imported materials and parts arbitrarily

trade
Wang Yongliang
Associate
AllBright Law Offices

The processing trade is based on the principle of “importing raw materials from, and exporting finished products to, foreign countries”. In other words, providers of materials and parts, and purchasers of finished products, are all foreign entities. As they do not participate in business competition in domestic markets, processing trade enterprises are entitled to special preferential tax treatment.

In light of the original intention, no taxation issues are involved in the whole transaction, so the prices of materials and parts are not a focus of customs examination. Some enterprises thus believe that the declaration of the import prices of materials and parts is a mere formality, and consequently, the phenomena of “import at a high price and export at a low price” and “import and export at the same price” emerge one after another.

If an enterprise really “imports raw materials from and exports finished products to foreign countries”, there are no legal risks in such operations. However, in practice, if an enterprise sells defective products in domestic markets instead of foreign markets, or finished products in a domestic market as a result of shrinking foreign markets, it should pay a back tax calculated on the prices of the materials and parts fixed at the time of import.

In such cases, if an enterprise applies to customs for payment of back taxes based on the original under-declared prices of materials and parts, it may constitute smuggling. Therefore, a processing trade enterprise should reasonably set the import prices of materials and parts among its related enterprises, and should check the import prices of materials and parts in a timely manner before payment of back taxes.

If the prices are found to be under-declared, the enterprise should proactively disclose such information to customs, and adjust the amount of back taxes. Article 2 (3) of the Announcement of the PRC General Administration of Customs No. 59, 2018, specifies that: “If an enterprise proactively makes a supplementary declaration to customs in case of an emergencey on problems identified in its internal self-inspection and self-control, and provides timely control or corrective measures prior to the expiry of the account book verification period, customs will process such declarations collectively.” This provides a clear legal basis for self-declaration by an enterprise.

Returning defective products to a foreign country

Some enterprises return defective products, due to fault of their manufacture, to a foreign country without a declaration or payment of back taxes to customs, so that the Processing Trade Manual cannot be finally cancelled after verification and customs cannot perform verification in the Processing Trade Manual.

According to the Common Code Table and Description for the Customs Clearance System, there are no customs supervision methods for the re-export of defective products under processing trade. In other words, defective products made from imported materials and parts under processing trade shall not be re-exported, but shall be destroyed in China, or sold in domestic markets after paying back taxes. In fact, the above-mentioned returning of defective products to foreign countries by processing trade enterprises cause loss of national tax, and may constitute smuggling.

According to article 2 of the Decree of the General Administration of Customs No. 235: “Defective products refers to products (including finished and unfinished products) manufactured in the production process by a trade processing enterprise engaged in processing and re-exporting business, which cannot be re-exported due to their serious defects, or failure to meet the standard specified in an export contract.” This requires the quality control department of an enterprise to make an objective and accurate evaluation of product performance, and to not deliberately lower the acceptance standard for the purpose of bonded export.

Selling materials and parts supplied by foreign clients, or finished products in domestic markets, without customs approval

Article 1 of the Announcement of the Ministry of Commerce and the General Administration of Customs [2016] No. 45 specifies that the former requirement that processing trade contracts, and domestic sale of bonded imported materials and parts, or finished products under processing trade, are all subject to the approval of competent departments of commerce has been cancelled, and that competent departments of commerce at all levels shall cease to issue approvals in relation to processing trade.

Some processing trade enterprises now believe that the domestic sale of materials and parts supplied by foreign clients, and finished products made from such materials and parts, are no longer subject to customs approval. However, this is not the case. Announcement No. 45 only specifies that domestic sale of materials and parts supplied by foreign clients, and related finished products, are no longer subject to the approval of departments of commerce, but customs approval is still required.

Courts have also made a clear determination on the above-mentioned viewpoint. In Judgment (2017) No. 21, Erenhot City People’s Court holds that announcement No. 45 specifies that ‘the requirement that processing trade contracts, and domestic sale of bonded imported materials and parts or finished products under processing trade, are subject to the approval of competent departments of commerce is cancelled’, and ‘domestic sale of bonded imported materials and parts, or finished goods under processing trade outside the zone specially controlled by customs, are subject to paying taxes and tax-deferred interest levied by customs, by law’. Accordingly, domestic sale of bonded imported products is not subject to the approval of departments of commerce, but remains subject to customs approval, back taxes and tax-deferred interest. Therefore, such exhibit and supporting information are rejected.” The court finally ruled that the domestic sale of bonded materials, parts and finished products by the defendant without customs approval constitutes smuggling.

Under the new supervision model, customs shifts its focus from ex ante supervision to ex post facto supervision, so an enterprise has a much greater say at the time of the act, but if laws and regulations are understood only from the perspective of self-interest, legal risks will be higher. An enterprise should ask competent customs or legal advisers more often for help, so as to make an objective and accurate judgement on compliance.

Wang Yongliang is an associate at AllBright Law Offices

AllBright Law Offices

AllBright Law Offices

11-12 Floor, Shanghai Tower,

No. 501 Yincheng Middle Road,

Pudong New Area, Shanghai 200120, China
www.allbrightlaw.com

Contact details:

Tel: +86 21 2051 1000
Fax: +86 21 2051 1999

Email:
[email protected]

Website: www.allbrightlaw.com