英属维尔京群岛接管

作者: Jeremy Lightfoot、James Noble 和 Dhanshuklal Vekaria,Carey Olsen律师事务所
0
168

本期文章将对英属维尔京群岛法院委任接管人的方法以及有关有效临时救济措施的法律进行简要介绍

英属维尔京群岛(BVI),有越来越多人向法院申请委任接管人作为临时救济措施,对诉讼标的的资产“袖手旁观”,并协助判决的公平执行。

在有担保债权人可以针对处于财务困难或者违反债务义务的公司的资产执行担保时,委任接管人是一种更为常用的救济措施。

court
Jeremy Lightfoot
合伙人
T: +852 3628 9016
E: jeremy.lightfoot@careyolsen.com

BVI法院对委任接管人表现出灵活的态度,以及在需要保存或收回资产,或者协助公平执行判决的情况下愿意委任接管人的意愿。回顾法院近期作出的以下判决,可以看出委任接管人是一项不能轻视的救济措施。虽然BVI法院在协助各方对付顽固不化的被告方面保持着灵活的态度,但法院只会在相当严重的情况下才会作出接管令。

Norgulf Holdings Limited Michael Wilson and Partners案概述了适用于委任接管人的原则:

(1)申请人必须有充分的索赔理由。东加勒比海上诉法院对此进行了澄清,是指该案件“……几乎没有严重的争议……”,不一定是申请人有超过50%成功几率的案件。上诉法院指出,委任接管人的门槛标准高于冻结禁令,这与Norgulf案第27段判决相呼应:

“与作出禁令相比,委任接管人更具侵入性、成本更高并且可逆性更小……由于委任接管人常常带来的支出和不便,委任接管人比作出禁令更加苛刻。”

court
James Noble
合伙人
T:+65 6911 8322
E:mail james.noble@careyolsen.com

(2)必须存在资产流失的切实风险。上诉法院在Vinogradova案(围绕一位已故俄罗斯人财产分配的争议案件)中阐明申请人必须证明存在流失的“切实风险”,提供“确凿的证据”支持委任接管人的申请。

(3)上诉法院在Vinogradova案中还强调申请人必须证明委任接管人是“公正和方便的”。如果冻结令能够提供足够的保护,则不应当委任接管人。这也适用于Industrial Bank Financial Limited Leasing Co Ltd Xing Libin案,以及VTB银行(公开股份公司)诉 Miccros Group Ltd Taurus Ltd案。

Mitsuji Konoshita APF Group Co Ltd J Trust Asia PTE Ltd案中,上诉法院审议了由于一审法院对上诉人的资产作出了世界范围的冻结令,并随后作出向APF委任两名接管人的命令所引起的一系列问题。上诉法院被申请裁定,在已经作出冻结令后,一审法院错误地行使其裁量权作出接管令。

court
Dhanshuklal Vekaria
高级律师
T: +852 3628 9002
E: dhanshuklal.vekaria@careyolsen.com

泰国当局对Konoshita提起了刑事诉讼,指控其进行欺诈并挪用了Group Lease的资产,Konoshita是Group Lease的首席执行官。J Trust针对上诉人申请并获得了世界范围内的冻结令,以支持其之情接受以及提供不诚实协助的请求。

为了保护资产,法院随后作出了向APF(由Konoshita控制,并持有Group Lease的控股权)委任两名接管人的接管令,等待有关法律程序的解决。

上诉法院认为,未遵守披露义务(在本案中是根据冻结令)是“判断委任接管人是否公正和方便的一个重要因素。在连续不履行披露义务的情况下,法院会委任接管人。”

尽管有冻结令,法院发现确实存在资产流失的切实风险,未遵守披露义务只是法官依据的一部分证据。上诉法院维持了接管令。

Koshigi Limited Svoboda Corporation Donna Union Foundation案中,上诉法院被再次要求考量一审法院在对Koshigi和Svoboda委任接管人时所行使的自由裁量权。为了支持伦敦国际仲裁院的裁决,法院对Koshigi和Svoboda的资产发出了冻结令。

上诉法院认为,未遵守冻结令(禁止资产流失和披露令)的规定,为委任接管人提供了有力的证据。接管令是有条件的,因为在未经法院许可的情况下,接管人无权对Koshigi和Svoboda的股份进行表决,因此对Koshigi和Svoboda的任何干涉都是有限的。

人们认为BVI法院曾设法限制接管人的使用,担心日益增多的接管申请。不过,从Vinogradava和VTB银行案中可以看出,法院只是简单地适用现有标准委任接管人,根据每个案件的事实,作出接管令并不公正和方便。

Vinogradava案涉及一位已故俄罗斯人的财产分配,以及一家塞浦路斯公司向该死者提供贷款的受益人以及控制该塞浦路斯公司的BVI公司之间产生的争议。一项不利于两名受益人、但有利于该塞浦路斯公司的判决在莫斯科作出。在上诉期间,两名受益人申请对BVI公司委任接管人,因为如果上诉失败,俄罗斯判决的收益可能会流失,而相关的瑞士诉讼程序还在继续。上诉法院认为,冻结禁令将提供足够的救济,应当在俄罗斯适当地寻求有关的救济。

VTB银行(公开股份公司) Miccros Group LtdTaurus Ltd案中,VTB银行在BVI进行的独立诉讼中赢得了针对俄罗斯商人和SAHO 集团公司主席Skurikhin总金额约为2200万美元的判决。为了支持判决的执行,VTB银行就Miccros的唯一发行股份委任了临时接管人,据称Miccros向Pikeville公司提供了1900万欧元(2080万美元)的贷款,用于购买多处意大利房产。由于VTB银行申请延长临时接管,由Skurikhin实益所有的Taurus持有Miccros唯一发行股份寻求搁置接管。

BVI法院表示,临时接管令的目的是获得临时救济,没有任何迹象表明如果延长接管,VTB银行会采取实质性措施执行判决。有关担心Miccros干涉Pikeville管理人员变现意大利房产过程的担忧可以通过冻结禁令的有限形式解决。

最近,在Industrial Bank Financial Limited Leasing Co Ltd诉Xing Libin案中,BVI法院重申其立场,在“公正和方便”的情况下,将在适当的案件中委任公平的接管人。在该案中,兴业银行在中国赢得了针对中国商人Xing的判决,Xing持有BVI公司Firstwealth Holdings100%的股权,该公司在香港拥有资产。这些判决在香港得到了承认并随后在BVI获得了承认,并最终对Firstwealth的股权作出了扣押令。

虽然Firstwealth被认为在Xing的控制之下,但Firstwealth的资产却不是在其控制之下,BVI法院表示,“一个公司的资产不是股东的资产,即使是100%的股东,这是一个老生常谈的定律”。不过,BVI法院可以下令委任公平的接管人接管Firstwealth的股份,接管人可以接替Firstwealth的现有董事,并采取措施变现公司的资产。BVI法院认为,香港不太可能拒绝承认对BVI公司的股权进行公平接管人的委任。

虽然一些评论家可能认为,BVI有关委任公平接管人的法律是在变化的,作者认为BVI法院近期的决定突显出相关原则的影响,在适当的案件中仍然会委任接管人。

bermuda

Carey Olsen Hong Kong LLP
Suites 3610-13 Jardine House
1 Connaught Place
Central, Hong Kong
电话: +852 3628 9000
传真: +852 3628 9090
电子邮件: hongkong@careyolsen.com
www.careyolsen.co

Receiverships in the BVI

0
403

Shining a light on the courts of British Virgin Islands’ approach to granting the appointment of receivers, and the state of the law in respect of this powerful interim remedy.

There have been an increasing number of court applications in the British Virgin Islands (BVI) for the appointment of receivers as an interim remedy to “hold the ring” in respect of assets that are the subject of ongoing litigation, and in aid of the equitable execution of judgments.

The appointment of receivers is more commonly used as a remedy by which a secured creditor can enforce its security against assets of a company that is in financial difficulty, or in breach of a debt obligation.

court
Jeremy Lightfoot
Partner
Tel: +852 3628 9016
Email: jeremy.lightfoot@careyolsen.com

The BVI courts have demonstrated a flexible approach to the appointment of receivers and a willingness to appoint receivers in circumstances where there is a need to preserve or recover assets, or in aid of the equitable execution of judgments. As can be seen by the following review of most recent court judgments, the appointment of receivers is a remedy not to be taken lightly. While BVI courts maintain a flexible approach to assisting parties against recalcitrant defendants, they will only make a receivership order in suitably serious cases.

The principles applicable to the appointment of receivers were outlined in the case of Norgulf Holdings Limited v Michael Wilson and Partners:

(1) The applicant must have a good arguable case in respect of the underlying claim. This has since been clarified by the Eastern Caribbean Court of Appeal to mean a case that is “… more than barely capable of serious argument…” and not necessarily a case in which the applicant has more than a 50% chance of success in the underlying claim. The court of appeal noted that the threshold test for the appointment of a receiver is higher than that for a freezing injunction, echoing its findings in the Norgulf case at paragraph 27:

court
James Noble
Partner
Tel:+65 6911 8322
Email: james.noble@careyolsen.com

“The appointment of a receiver is more intrusive, more expensive, and less reversible than the grant of an injunction … The appointment of a receiver is more draconian than issuing a freezing order because of the expenses and inconvenience which often arise with the appointment.”

(2) There must be a real risk of dissipation of assets. The court of appeal in the case of Vinogradova [a dispute case surrounding the distribution of assets of a deceased Russian individual’s estate] clarifies that the applicant must demonstrate a “real risk” of dissipation by virtue of “solid evidence” in support of any application to appoint a receiver.

(3) The court of appeal in Vinogradova – applied in the case of Industrial Bank Financial Limited Leasing Co Ltd v Xing Libin, and VTB Bank (Public Joint Stock Company) v Miccros Group Ltd and Taurus Ltd –also underscored that an applicant must show it is “just and convenient” to appoint a receiver. A receiver should not be appointed where a freezing order would provide adequate protection.

court
Dhanshuklal Vekaria
Senior associate
Tel: +852 3628 9002
Email: dhanshuklal.vekaria@careyolsen.com

In the matter of Mitsuji Konoshita and APF Group Co Ltd v J Trust Asia PTE Ltd, the court of appeal considered a number of issues arising from the first instance decision granting a world-wide freezing order over the funds of the appellants, and a subsequent order appointing two receivers to APF. The court of appeal was asked to find that the first instance court had wrongly exercised its discretion to make a receivership order after the grant of the freezing order.

The Thai authorities filed a criminal complaint against Konoshita for, inter alia, fraud and misappropriation of assets of Group Lease, of which Konoshita was the CEO. J Trust applied for and obtained a worldwide freezing order against the appellants, in support of a claim for knowing receipt and dishonest assistance.

A receivership order appointing two receivers to APF (controlled by Konoshita, and holding a controlling interest in Group Lease) was subsequently made for the purpose of asset protection, pending resolution of the underlying proceedings.

The court of appeal found that a failure to comply with a disclosure obligation (in this case pursuant to the freezing order) was “a significant factor in determining whether it is just and convenient to appoint a receiver. Invariably, where there is a continuous failure to comply with a disclosure obligation, a court would appoint a receiver.”

In spite of the freezing order, the court found there was a real risk of dissipation, and the failure to comply with the disclosure obligation was only part of the evidence on which the judge relied. The court of appeal upheld the receivership order.

In the matter of Koshigi Limited and Svoboda Corporation v Donna Union Foundation, the court of appeal was again asked to consider the exercise of discretion by the first instance court in appointing receivers over Koshigi and Svoboda. A freezing order was granted over the assets of Koshigi and Svoboda in support of a London Court of International Arbitration award.

The court of appeal held that a failure to comply with the terms of a freezing order (being a prohibition against dissipation of assets and a disclosure order) provided cogent evidence to justify the appointment of receivers. The receivership order was conditional in that the receiver had no power to vote the shares of Koshigi and Svoboda without leave of the court, so any interference to Koshigi and Svoboda would be limited.

It was thought that the BVI court had sought to curtail the use of receivers, noting its concern with the increasing number of receivership applications. However, it can be seen from both the Vinogradava and VTB Bank cases that the court was simply applying the existing test for the appointment of receivers, and on the facts of each case it was not just and convenient to make a receivership order.

Vinogradava involved the distribution of assets of a deceased Russian individual’s estate and a dispute arising between the beneficiaries in relation to loans made by a Cypriot company to the deceased, with a BVI company controlling the Cypriot company. A judgment was issued in Moscow against two of the beneficiaries in favour of the Cypriot company. Pending appeal, the two beneficiaries applied for receivers to be appointed over the BVI company, because if the appeal failed there was a risk that the proceeds of the Russian judgment would be dissipated, while related Swiss proceedings remained extant. The court of appeal found that a freezing injunction would provide adequate relief and that the relief should be properly sought in Russia.

In the case of VTB Bank (Public Joint Stock Company) v Miccros Group Ltd and Taurus Ltd, VTB Bank obtained judgment in the BVI in separate proceedings against Skurikhin, a Russian businessman and chairman of SAHO group of companies, in the sum of about US$22 million. VTB Bank, in support of the execution of the judgment, had an interim receiver appointed in respect of the single issued share in Miccros, which was said to have lent €19m (20.8 million) to a company called Pikeville, to purchase multiple Italian properties. Taurus, being beneficially owned by Skurikhin, held the single issued share in Miccros and sought to have the receivership set aside, with VTB Bank applying to extend the interim receivership.

The BVI court said the purpose of an interim receivership order was to obtain interim relief, and nothing indicated that VTB would take substantive steps to enforce the judgment if the receivership was extended. Any concerns as to Miccros interfering in the process of the realisation of the Italian properties by the administrators of Pikeville could be addressed by a limited form of freezing injunction.

Most recently, in Industrial Bank Financial Limited Leasing Co Ltd v Xing Libin, the BVI court reaffirmed its position that equitable receivers would be appointed in appropriate cases where it would be “just and convenient” to do so. In this case, Industrial Bank obtained judgments against Chinese businessman Xing in the PRC, who owned 100% of Firstwealth Holdings, a BVI company that owned assets in Hong Kong. The judgments were recognised in Hong Kong and subsequently recognised in the BVI, with a charging order ultimately made over the shares of Firstwealth.

While Firstwealth was considered to be under the control of Xing, the assets of Firstwealth were not, the BVI court stating that, “it is trite law that the assets of a company are not the assets of even a 100% shareholder”. The BVI court could, however, order the appointment of an equitable receiver over the shares of Firstwealth, who in turn could replace the existing director of Firstwealth and take steps to realise the assets of the company. It was the view of the BVI court that it was unlikely that Hong Kong would refuse to recognise the appointment of an equitable receiver over the shares of a BVI company.

While it may be considered by some commentators that the law in the BVI as to the appointment of equitable receivers is in flux, it is the view of the authors that the BVI courts’ recent decisions have had the effect of underscoring the relevant principles, and that the appointment of receivers continues to be available in appropriate cases.

bermuda

Carey Olsen Hong Kong LLP
Suites 3610-13 Jardine House
1 Connaught Place
Central, Hong Kong
Tel: +852 3628 9000
Fax: +852 3628 9090
Email: hongkong@careyolsen.com
www.careyolsen.co