恐惧侵权行为的救济措施

作者: DPS Parmar,LexOrbis律师事务所
0
175

权的威胁对专利权人的影响很大,因此专利权人密切关注其专利发明主动和被动的未经授权使用。这并不像看上去那么容易。判断对专利的即发危险是一个复杂的问题,它不仅需要证明危险的存在,还需要证明损害是实质性的,并会造成无法弥补的损失。为了防止这种情况发生,专利权人可以申请预先禁令或者威慑禁令。法院颁发此类禁令限制受到威胁或者即将发生但尚未发生的不法行为。侵权活动尚未发生但专利权人请求禁令的专利案件显著增多。专利权人试图证明竞争者的行为可能会导致未来的侵权。法院在处理受威胁的商标和著作权侵权案件方面拥有丰富的经验,但是在专利案件,特别是涉及药品的专利案件中,寻求预先禁令的趋势是近期的发展。

infringement
DPS Parmar
特别顾问
LexOrbis律师事务所

衡平的参与。预先禁令起源于英国的衡平法院。在Fletcher Bealey案中,Pearson J法官解释了进行一次成功的申请所需要符合的条件。

“威慑诉讼至少有两个必要的要素。如果没有证明存在实际的损害,那么必须有证据证明存在即发的危险,还必须证明一旦发生所预料的损害将是非常严重的。我几乎可以说必须证明它是不可挽回的,因为如果不能证明危险是如此迫在眉睫的,那么没有人会怀疑如果推迟进行补救,就将会遭受损害。我认为必须证明,如果损害确实会随时发生,在这种情况下,如果原告在威慑诉讼中得不到救济,原告将无法保护自己免受损害。”

最高法院在Kuldip SinghSubhash Chander Jain和其他主体案中引用了FletcherBealey案,并补充道“威慑诉讼是衡平法的法案。它是一种具有预防性质的诉讼,是一种旨在防止已预见的错误或已预料到的危害,而不是撤销已经发生的错误或危害的预防性公正。”

受威胁损害。法院在Kuldip Singh案中还引用了《Kerr on Injunctions》书中有关受威胁损害的解释。

“一般来说,在实际的妨害发生之前,法院不会进行干预;但在确认被投诉的行为将不可避免地造成滋扰时,它可能……限制某些行为,这些行为一旦完成就会构成提起诉讼的理由,会在实际的妨害发生之前就进行干预。不过,原告必须提出强有力的证据证明所预见的危害确实会发生,以使得法院进行干预。”

因此,很明显的是原告在声称它有权提出申请前必须证明公正性。原告还必须证明如果法院不干预,将会有严重的妨害或者损害将是实质性的和不可挽回的。

展望未来。法院很了解受威胁损害的有关法律,并且毫不犹豫地在受威胁的专利侵权案件中适用。在面对这类侵权的威胁时,法院不能作为保持沉默的观众,也不能拒绝预防性公正。这些是预防性的措施,不能等到错误或者损害已经发生时进行纠正。不过,不是被告的每个行为都构成侵权的威胁。在Bayer Corporation和其他主体Union of India和其他主体案中,获得强制许可被认为不会构成即发的侵权危险。在Matrix Laboratories LimitedF. Hoffman-La Roche案中,对于被告进行临床试验也做出了类似的判决。

不过,公司采取措施为药品投放广告的行为构成即发的侵权威胁。这些判决表明法院区分了现实和幻想的即发侵权危险。在确定可能的侵权威胁时,如果涉及法律和事实问题,法院可能会推迟作出决定。另一个影响法院的因素是对公正提出需求的申请人必须是清白的。由于在针对非专利药制造商的药品专利案中经常被请求做出,颁布预先禁令可能会受到负面批评。不过,在适当的情况下,法院可以在必要时采取行动防止损害的发生。

DPS Parmar是LexOrbis律师事务所知识产权上诉委员会业务组的特别顾问。

infringement
LexOrbis
709/710 Tolstoy House
15-17 Tolstoy Marg
New Delhi – 110 001
India
Mumbai | Bengaluru
联系我们
电话 : +91 11 2371 6565
传真: +91 11 2371 6556
电邮: mail@lexorbis.com
网站: www.lexorbis.com

Recourse measures for apprehension of infringement

By DPS Parmar, LexOrbis
0
34

Threats of infringement weigh heavily on patentees who therefore closely monitor active and passive unauthorized uses of their patented inventions. This is not as easy as it may seem. What constitutes an imminent danger to a patent is a complex issue that demands not only proof of the existence of danger but also proof that the damage is substantial and could cause irreparable harm. To prevent this, the patentee may apply for an anticipatory or quia timet injunction. Courts grant such injunctions to restrain wrongful acts that are threatened or imminent but which have not yet happened. There has been a notable increase in patent cases where infringing activities may not yet have occurred, but the patentee seeks an injunction. The patentee seeks to show that the activities of the competitor will lead to a likely future infringement. Courts are experienced in dealing with cases of threatened trademarks and copyright violations, but the trend of seeking anticipatory injunctions in patent cases, particularly those involving pharmaceuticals, is a recent development.

infringement
DPS Parmar
Special counsel
LexOrbis

The involvement of equity. The origin of the anticipatory injunction lies in English courts of equity. In Fletcher v Bealey, Justice Pearson J explained what is necessary for an application to succeed.

“[T]here are at least two necessary ingredients for a quia timet action. There must, if no actual damage is proved, be proof of imminent danger and there must also be proof that the apprehended damage will, if it comes, be very substantial. I should almost say it must be proved that it will be irreparable, because, if the danger is not proved to be so imminent that no one can doubt that, if the remedy is delayed, the damage will be suffered. I think it must be shown that, if the damage does occur at any time, it will come in such a way and under such circumstances that it will be impossible for the plaintiff to protect himself against it if relief is denied to him in a quia timet action.”

The Supreme Court in Kuldip Singh v Subhash Chander Jain and Ors cited Fletcher v Bealey with approval and added, “a quia timet action is a bill in equity. It is an action preventive in nature and a specie of precautionary justice intended to prevent apprehended wrong or anticipated mischief and not to undo a wrong or mischief when it has already been done.”

Threatened injury. The court in Kuldip Singh also quoted with approval the explanation of threatened injury in Kerr on Injunctions.

“The court will not in general interfere until an actual nuisance has been committed; but it may … restrain acts which, when completed, will result in a ground of action, interfere before any actual nuisance has been committed, where it is satisfied that the act complained of will inevitably result in a nuisance. The plaintiff, however, must show a strong case of probability that the apprehended mischief will in fact arise in order to induce the court to interfere.”

It is clear, therefore, that the plaintiff must show equity before he claims that he is entitled to make an application. The plaintiff must also show that there will be a nuisance of a serious character or that the damage will be substantial and irreparable if the court does not interfere.

Looking forward. Courts are well aware of the law of threatened injury and do not hesitate to apply it in cases of threatened patent infringement. Courts cannot remain mute spectators in the face of such threats of infringements and deny precautionary justice. These are preventive actions, which cannot wait to undo a wrong, or mischief when it has already been done. However, not every action of the defendant will amount to a threat of infringement. In Bayer Corporation & Ors v Union of India & Ors the obtaining of a compulsory licence was held not to be imminent danger of infringement. In Matrix Laboratories Limited v F. Hoffman-La Roche a similar finding was made where the defendant had conducted clinical trials.

However, the actions of companies in taking steps to advertise drug launches were found to constitute an imminent threat to infringement. These findings show that courts distinguish between real and fanciful imminent dangers of infringement. Courts are likely to defer decisions where questions of law and fact are raised in deciding the probable threat of infringement. Another factor influencing courts is the demand of equity that applicants come with clean hands. The grant of anticipatory injunctions may be adversely criticized as they are often sought in pharmaceutical patent cases against generic drug manufacturers. Nevertheless, in proper cases courts can act where necessary to prevent the occurrence of damage.

DPS Parmar is a special counsel with LexOrbis’ IPAB practice group.

infringement
LexOrbis
709/710 Tolstoy House
15-17 Tolstoy Marg
New Delhi – 110 001
India
Mumbai | Bengaluru
Contact details
Tel: +91 11 2371 6565
Fax: +91 11 2371 6556
Email: [email protected]lexorbis.com
Website: www.lexorbis.com