境外直接投资存量权益登记

作者: 佘铭、孔焕志,通力律师事务所
0
152

对境内主体境外直接投资(Outbound Direct Investment,ODI)的资金汇出及相关情况进行管控,国家外汇管理局(外汇局)要求境内主体按期报ODI相关数据,包括境内企业持股比例、被投资企业资产额等。自2015年起,境外直接投资的外汇年检制度被取消,改为存量权益登记制度。

ODI
佘铭
通力律师事务所合伙人

根据国家外汇管理政策的要求,境内投资主体应每年通过外汇局数字外管平台自行报送上年末ODI存量权益数据,完成年度ODI存量权益登记。在存量权益登记制度下,境内投资主体对其报送数据信息的真实性、准确性负责,外汇局不再逐项审核,而是事后对企业报送的登记内容进行抽查。

对于境外投资活动,在ODI相关登记程序完成后,存量权益登记制度是主管部门持续监管的重要措施之一,从事境外直接投资的境内主体应对此充分关注。

需申报主体

ODI
孔焕志
通力律师事务所合伙人

ODI存量权益登记的申报主体为上一年度12月31日前已办理ODI登记的境外投资企业的境内投资主体。需要注意的是,存量权益登记制度下的ODI应作广义解释,既包括受商务部门、发改部门监管的一般企业对外投资活动,也包括境内金融机构、个人的对外投资活动。相应地,需要进行存量权益登记的主体包括(1)已办理ODI备案/核准程序的境内企业;(2)金融机构;以及(3)外汇局2014年发布的37号文项下特殊目的公司的境内个人股东。

如境外投资企业存在两个及以上境内投资主体,应确定其中一个境内投资主体作为存量权益信息申报主体,由其向境外投资企业登记地外汇局申报相关信息,其他境内投资主体则不再申报。持股比例最大的境内投资主体原则上为申报责任股东;若持股比例相同,可约定其中一个境内投资主体为申报责任股东。

申报时间

每年的具体填报时间以国家外汇局及各地分局下发的相关通知为准,近两年(2019年及2020年)的填报时间为4月1日至6月30日。

申报途径

申报主体应通过国家外汇管理局数字外管平台(http://zwfw.safe.gov.cn/asone/)报送。企业登录机构代码为:营业执照统一社会信用代码第9-17位;用户代码:quanyidj;初始密码:20150101Aa。

申报内容

申报主体需要填报的内容为上年度境外直接投资存量权益数据,具体包括:(1)境内股东持股比例,如果境外投资企业系由境内多个投资主体持股,应合并计算所有中方股东持股比例;(2)按第一层级境外投资企业(含境外特殊目的公司)合并财务报表相关会计科目填写的资产、负债及权益数据;(3)归属于中方股东的权益、未分配利润余额;(4)中方股东享有的净利润;(5)境外投资企业应付中方股利等。

同时,外汇局可能对相关主体进行存量权益抽样调查,如被确定参加抽样调查,则在年度报送之外,该主体还需按季度报送上年度的存量权益数据。报送内容的范围与上述年度存量权益数据一致。

如未按期报送

如申报主体未按规定办理ODI存量权益登记,外汇局将在资本项目信息系统中对其进行业务管控,银行不得为其办理资本项下外汇业务,实践中可能导致其无法汇出后续投资款项、无法办理境外投资企业利润汇回等。如申报主体未按期办理权益登记,其可向外汇局申请进行补登记,该情形下需出具说明函说明理由。经外汇局审查符合要求的,外汇局将取消对其业务管控。

此外,对于无合理理由未按期报送的,特别是非初次未按规定报送权益登记的,外汇局可能对相关申报主体进行行政处罚。根据公开检索,已有境内主体因此遭受处罚,处罚金额一般为人民币数万元。

作者:通力律师事务所合伙人佘铭、孔焕志

ODI

通力律师事务所
上海市银城中路68号
时代金融中心16楼和19楼 邮编: 200120
电话: +86 21 3135 8666
传真: +86 21 3135 8600
电子信箱:
selena.she@llinkslaw.com
kenneth.kong@llinkslaw.com
www.llinkslaw.com

Registration of ODI assets and equity

By Selena She and Kenneth Kong, Llinks Law Offices
0
94

In order to regulate the remittance of funds for outbound direct investment (ODI) by domestic entities, the State Administration of Foreign Exchange (SAFE) requires domestic entities to report the relevant data of ODI on a regular basis, including the shareholding ratio of domestic enterprises and the asset amount of the invested enterprises. Since 2015, the requirement of annual foreign exchange inspection for ODI has been replaced with an annual filing system, through which domestic investors are required to submit their ODI-related asset and equity information.

ODI
Selena She
Partner
Llinks Law Offices

According to the national foreign exchange policy, domestic investors should submit their ODI-related asset and equity data as of the end of the previous calendar year through the digital platform of SAFE every year. Under the filing system, domestic investors are responsible for the authenticity and accuracy of the data submitted. SAFE will no longer review the filing item by item, but conduct spot checks on the submissions.

For outbound investment activity, after completion of the relevant registration procedure of ODI, the annual filing system is one of the important measures for the continual supervision of the competent authorities, to which relevant domestic entities should pay full attention.

ODI
Kenneth Kong
Partner
Llinks Law Offices

Filing entities

The filing entities are domestic PRC investors in offshore enterprises that have gone through the ODI procedure before 31 December of the previous calendar year. It should be noted that ODI under the filing system should be interpreted in a broad sense, including not only the general outbound investment activities of enterprises regulated by commercial, development and reform departments, but also those of domestic financial institutions and individuals. To be specific, the filing entities include: (1) domestic enterprises that have gone through the ODI filing/approval procedure; (2) financial institutions; and (3) domestic individual shareholders of special purpose vehicles (SPVs) under SAFE circular No. 37, issued in 2014.

If two or more domestic PRC investors co-establish or control an offshore enterprise, one of them should be the filing entity, and the relevant information should be reported to the foreign exchange bureau where it has gone through the ODI procedure. The other domestic investors are then not required to file. In principle, the largest shareholder among domestic investors shall bear the filing responsibility. If the shareholding ratios are the same, it can be agreed upon that one of the domestic investors be the filing shareholder.

Timing, channel, content

The specific time for filing each year is subject to the relevant notices issued by the SAFE and its local branches. The filling time in the past two years (2019 and 2020) ranged from 1 April to June 30.

The filing entity shall submit through the digital platform of SAFE (http://zwfw.safe.gov.cn/asone/). For enterprise login, the required institution code is nine to 17 digits of the unified social credit code on the business licence; the user code is: quanyidj; and the initial password is: 20150101Aa.

The content to be filed includes the data of the asset and equity of ODI in the previous calendar year, including:

(1) The shareholding ratio of domestic PRC shareholders. If the offshore enterprise is held by more than one domestic investor, the shareholding ratio of all PRC shareholders shall be consolidated;

(2) Assets, liabilities and equity according to the relevant accounting subjects from the consolidated financial statements of the first-tier offshore enterprises (including offshore SPVs);

(3) Equity and the balance of undistributed profits attributable to Chinese shareholders;

(4) The net profit that belongs to Chinese shareholders; and

(5) Dividends payable to Chinese shareholders.

At the same time, the foreign exchange bureau may conduct spot checks on filing-related entities. If chosen, the entity should also submit the data of the previous calendar year on a quarterly basis, in addition to the annual submission. The scope of filing content is consistent with the above-mentioned annual filing.

Failure to file

If the filing entity fails to submit ODI-related asset and equity data according to the regulations, the SAFE will impose restrictions on its business in its capital account information system, and the bank shall not handle its foreign exchange business under the capital account, which in practice may lead to its inability to remit subsequent investment funds and repatriate profits from offshore enterprises. If the filing entity fails to submit on time, it may apply to the SAFE for supplementary submission, in which case an explanatory letter shall be presented for such delay. If the requirements are met after a SAFE examination, the restrictions on its foreign exchange business will be lifted.

In addition, for those who fail to file on time without reasonable cause, especially those who repeatedly fail to file, the SAFE may impose administrative penalties on the relevant filing entities. According to public information, some domestic entities have already been punished for this reason, and the penalty amount is generally several tens of thousands of renminbi.

Selena She and Kenneth Kong are partners at Llinks Law Offices

ODI

Llinks Law Offices
16F / 19F, ONE LUJIAZUI, 68 Yin Cheng Road Middle
Shanghai 200120, China
Tel: +86 21 3135 8666
Fax: +86 21 3135 8600
E-mail:selena.she@llinkslaw.com
kenneth.kong@llinkslaw.com
www.llinkslaw.com