对于一些企业来说,疫情成了压垮他们的最后一根稻草,但无论是企业还是个人,都有轻装上阵,重头再来的可能。王雪晴为您解读中国破产和重组领域的最新进展

为中国第一家上市的视频网站,乐视网曾在2015年创下1700亿元的市值历史高点,如今却负债逾百亿并被强制退市。其创始人贾跃亭因为乐视系公司提供个人担保而负债累累,但学习会计出身的他决心用个人破产这一法律工具自救。

5月21日,贾跃亭基于美国《破产法》第十一章申请的个人破产重组方案获得了加州中区破产重组法院的最终确认和通过。

尽管曾被美国司法部下属受托人办公室(US Trustee)指责“持续地进行不诚信行为”,但贾跃亭利用个人破产制度这一行为本身还是为身陷囹吾的企业家提供了借鉴。在中国,由于国家层面的个人破产制度的缺失,“破产”成了许多企业家抵触的词汇,“中国的破产法是半部破产法”的说法由此而来。

“[民营]企业对外融资基本上都有实际控制人做个人连带担保。这导致即使企业可以通过破产清理债务,但企业家本身的担保责任很难在企业破产过程中得到免除,”植德律师事务所北京办公室合伙人张文良说,“没有解决个人破产问题,大量民营企业家很难彻底卸下包袱、轻装上阵。”

浙江省、江苏省的地方法院近来已开始试点具有个人破产实质功能的个人债务集中清理案件制度,而近期《深圳经济特区个人破产条例(征求意见稿)》在深圳市市人大常委会网站上公开征求意见意味着全国首个个人破产立法将可能在深圳实现。

中伦律师事务所上海办公室合伙人乃菲莎·尼合买提认为,这一立法趋势反映出实践先行、自下而上的立法思路,通过总结和归纳试点地区的优秀实践经验,指引全国性的个人破产法律制度的构建。“个人破产制度的出台或许将早于各界此前的预期,”她说。

由于民营中小型企业在疫情中首当其冲,个人破产作为一项旨在拯救“诚实而不幸的债务人”的制度,近来在全国引起了广泛关注。许多企业家因公司破产而陷入财务困境,而在经济下行的背景下,公司破产甚至在疫情之前就已经开始涌现。

据《法制日报》和新华社报道,全国法院2019年受理企业破产案件(包括破产重整)8436件,同比上升14.8%;审结4500件,同比上升174%。单上海一地去年全年共审理破产案件750件,同比上升83.4%。

“曾经很长一段时间,中国企业都处于一个信用宽松的环境中,不少企业发展粗放,通过大量的并购和负债来扩大规模,”张文良说,“而在整体信用环境紧缩后,一些企业由于存在大量‘短债长投’的情况,经营净收入覆盖不了财务成本,而爆发一系列问题。”

在经济下行压力之下,今年的疫情或成为压垮一些企业的最后一根稻草。在面临财务困境时,企业都有哪些出路?参与破产案件的各方应如何为自己争取权益?

审理提速

今年以来,疫情对国民经济影响巨大。常驻北京和广州的竞天公诚律师事务所合伙人徐邦炜预计,将有大量企业因受疫情影响在不久的将来陆续进入破产程序。中国现有的司法资源能否承受住这一挑战值得关注。

“虽然2019年各地已经有八家破产法庭陆续成立,全国多地破产管理人协会陆续建立,破产管理人的数量也在不断增长,但供给的增量能否满足实务中骤增的案件需求,目前还不容乐观,”徐邦炜说。

中咨律师事务所北京办公室合伙人韩传华则表示,破产案件本身的复杂性或许是案件审理速度不能求快的原因。“求快可能质量上就会有欠缺,”他说。

案件骤增的挑战增强了破产相关制度的建设和实施的紧迫性。今年4月,最高院印发《关于推进破产案件依法高效审理的意见》,旨在从多方面提高破产审判效率,降低破产程序成本。

天达共和律师事务所北京办公室合伙人栗健表示,根据该意见,信息化技术将在公告、通知、债权人会议的召开和表决等破产审判程序中被充分运用。“[意见]一方面将疫情期间推行的线上债权人会议方式进行了常态化适用;另一方面,认可了债权人会议非现场表决方式的效力,并对其表决方式与流程进行了规范和细化,”他说。

同时,意见还强调严厉打击恶意逃废债行为,这为企业法定代表人、出资人、实际控制人等恶意侵占、挪用、隐匿企业财产,或者隐匿、故意销毁依法应当保存的会计凭证、会计账簿、财务会计报告等违法行为敲响了警钟。中咨所的韩传华表示:“预计不久将来,破产案件中打击逃废债的情况会明显增加。”

在对破产重整支持政策出台的同时,各地法院普遍对因疫情原因造成资金困难的破产案件,持有更加审慎的态度。尚公律师事务所驻北京的高级合伙人孙卫宏表示,部分地方法院出台政策,对主营良好但受疫情影响而暂时不能清偿到期债务的企业,一般不应认定该企业具备破产原因,债权人申请破产的,依法不予支持。因受疫情影响,企业破产重整期间投资者招募困难或者无法制订可行重整计划草案的,破产重整时间可适当延长。

预重整制度

中国《破产法》规定了破产重整、破产和解及破产清算三种程序。此外,发展迅速的预重整制度或将为受疫情冲击而暂时陷入困境、但尚有重整价值的企业带来一丝曙光。预重整的核心思路是在债务人启动正式的破产程序之前,预先征集债权人对重整计划的支持,一旦实现这一目标,就立即启动破产重整程序并同时提交已获得债权人支持的重整计划。

徐邦炜表示,新冠疫情的爆发使很多原本经营状态良好的企业也濒临破产,而这些企业其实很可能随着未来疫情形势的好转、经济的逐步复苏而起死回生,因此具有较高的重整价值。对于这些企业而言,预重整制度有助于“避免企业的商业价值因进入正式破产程序而受到重创,同时促成各方尽快达成重整方案”。

目前,预重整制度已经在全国多个地区付诸实践,北京、浙江、深圳等省市的法院或破产法庭也正式颁布了关于预重整的详细规则。中伦所的乃菲莎表示,预重整模式下,司法机构保持了一定的谦抑性,通常较为尊重债权人债务人共同选定管理人的权利,同时也较为尊重各方在预重整阶段共同达成的商业交易安排。“预重整作为法庭外债务重组,更有利于债务人债权人灵活谈判、达成一致,”她说。

在整体经济形势不佳的情况下,关联企业相继破产的情况也会更为常见。北京市第一中级人民法院近期裁定批准中航世新安装工程(北京)有限公司及中航世新燃气轮机股份有限公司破产重整计划,标志着北京市首例实质合并重整案的审结。徐邦炜提到,该案充分发挥了预重整制度的功能作用,提前就重整计划草案与主要债权人、意向投资人进行磋商,最终从法院受理重整申请到批准重整计划并终止重整程序仅用时43天。

不过预重整制度还有着不完善之处。乃菲莎表示,《全国法院民商事审判工作会议纪要》第115条虽然规定了庭外重组协议能够有条件带入重整计划,但由于目前还没有明确的预重整规则,预重整达成的商业交易在破产程序下存在不能完全得到尊重的风险,这也打击了更多企业选取预重整方式进行债务清理的积极性。

平衡利益

在破产程序中,平衡债权人、破产企业、重整方,以及管理人等各方的利益一直以来是个难题。乃菲莎说,破产程序作为司法程序,整体程序的控制权始终在司法流程的掌控下,并不真正属于某一方:“重整计划的达成是投资人、债务人、债权人(特别是债权人委员会)等多方博弈的结果,各方都存在无法实现其全部商业目标的可能性。”

据她观察,在她近期参与的在华企业破产案件中,债务人意识到了破产重整程序、破产和解程序本质上是司法程序下的商业交易行为,因而有意愿主动进入司法程序集中清理企业债务。另一方面,债务人股东、债权人等各方主体,多数对司法破产程序不再持有抵触或是放弃的态度,而是转为积极争取。

尽管如此,受访专家还是观察到破产程序参与各方主要存在如下问题:

债务人。天元律师事务所北京办公室合伙人黄冠提到,在履行管理人职务过程中,存在债务人不配合的情况。“债务人不配合,导致财务资料和破产资产管控无法达到预期,”他说。对此,他希望法院赋予一定的强制力,避免由于债务人不配合导致破产程序不能有效推进。

中伦文德律师事务所北京办公室合伙人刘培峰也表示认同。“我的建议是,从制度设计上,赋予管理人申请公权力协助的权利,或明确规定,管理人履职过程中遇到障碍的,法院接到管理人的申请后,应当提供协助,以帮助管理人顺利履职,”他说。

债权人。有律师认为一些债权人的权利意识还需进一步提高。韩传华表示,任何债权人包括银行债权人、非银行债权人、抵押债权人还是普通债权人,都有权查看管理人手上的资料。但债权人往往认为自己可能在破产案件中间没有话语权,一切由管理人来决定。“所以[债权人]申报债权时可能就不会请律师或者向律师支付合理的价格去帮他维护权利,”他说。

管理人。驻北京的东卫律师事务所副主任崔戎锋表示,虽然管理人通常可以尽到管理职责,但有时还是存在无法按时确认债权,或未向债权人进行定期的汇报与披露的情况。“由于管理人执行职务的费用、报酬作为共益债务,建议建立管理人定期披露项目进展情况工作机制并向债权人汇报管理人履职情况,”他说。

重整方。栗健表示,在破产重整程序中,受破产重整程序法定期限之限制,重整方难以有充沛的时间展开尽职调查,加之部分破产企业和管理人存在信息披露不真实、不全面之情形,最终将致使重整方无法依据真实、全面的信息作出投资决策。“在拟定重整投资协议时,建议强调相关主体的信息披露义务,对未按约定披露信息的,应约定其需承担相应的缔约过失责任。此外,在交易结构的设计上,建议针对此种情形设置相应退出渠道,并以约定的方式实现重整投资人的优先受偿权,”他说。

投资风险与机遇

此次疫情下,交通运输、批发零售、文化娱乐以及住宿餐饮等行业受影响严重,不少企业因缺少营业收入导致资金链断裂,最终因无法清偿到期债务、并且资产不足以清偿全部债务或明显缺乏清偿能力进而陷入破产之境地。

就其中蕴含的风险,栗健表示,若投资人是以财务投资人的身份进行投资,因疫情存在时间上的不确定性和区域爆发的偶然性,破产企业将难以确保后续是否能有足够的利润来支付投资对价;若投资人是以战略投资人的身份进行投资,鉴于疫情下前述行业普遍受损严重,故具备投资能力者多为跨行业人士。此时投资者可能因对相应行业缺乏足够了解而面临较大的投资风险。

但风险中也蕴含着机遇。海润天睿律师事务所北京办公室高级合伙人邢立新说,不良债权的收购、共益债务投资、破产财产的收购和破产重整投资等十分值得重视。她表示,“破产”投资有以下几点优势:(1)破产投资往往因关注较少而性价比高,也即投资收益较高;(2)破产投资由司法程序保障,其安全性较高,交易不能完成的概率小;(3)因破产投资的专业性所致,能实际参与投资的主体较少,且往往国有企业及金融机构基于其决策滞后等因素而无法参与,故竞争并不激烈;(4)准入门槛较低。

乃菲莎表示,破产企业的增多意味着投资人有了更大的选择权,也有更多机会收购破产程序下剥离了债权债务的高性价比资产,特别是一些稀缺的资质证照资源,包括“囿于日益严格的政策与环境影响评价机制、申领门槛日益升高的特殊行业生产经营许可证,如化工类、港口类、采矿类的生产经营资质”。

针对前期经营正常、因受疫情影响才陷入困境、发展前景良好的企业,栗健表示投资者可借助破产重整程序进行投资。对于已进入破产清算程序的企业,可协调破产企业或出资人申请破产清算转破产重整。

“对有能力的互联网企业而言,可采用技术+资金的方式投资教育、医疗、文娱等行业,并充分发挥互联网技术的优势,将互联网与传统产业深入融合,进而实现产业升级,”他说。

For some companies the pandemic was the last straw, but there may yet be redemption and a chance to start again. Frankie Wang explains the latest developments in bankruptcy and restructuring in China

LeTV, a GEM-listed company that in 2015 was worth RMB170 billion (US$24 billion), was the first video streaming company to go public in China, but has now been delisted forcibly with over RMB10 billion in debt. Its founder, Jia Yueting, found himself trapped in a long trail of debt for giving a personal guarantee for LeTV and related businesses. Jia, who once majored in accounting, decided to take advantage of the personal bankruptcy system to survive.

On 21 May, the Chapter 11 personal bankruptcy and restructuring proposal filed by Jia was approved by a bankruptcy court in California. Although once being accused of consistently engaging in “untrustworthy behaviour” by the US Trustee of the Department of Justice, Jia’s resort to personal bankruptcy offers lessons to beleaguered entrepreneurs. The lack of a personal bankruptcy regime in China at national level has long been a concern for Chinese entrepreneurs, and the law is often described as “half of a bankruptcy law” in China.

“The actual controllers usually need to be joint, and have several guarantors when the [private] companies raise funds, which means that even though the companies may resort to bankruptcy law, the entrepreneurs are seldom exempted from the debt by virtue of the same proceeding,” says Zhang Wenliang, a partner at Merits & Tree Law Office in Beijing. “A lack of a personal bankruptcy system adds a burden on the private entrepreneurs.”

Local courts have embarked on some relevant experiments, from the pilot programmes of personal debt clearance cases with de facto bankruptcy functions in Zhejiang and Jiangsu provinces, to the consultation draft of Personal Bankruptcy Rules of Shenzhen Special Economic Zone. The latter, now soliciting public opinions on the website of the Standing Committee of the Shenzhen Municipal People’s Congress, if approved, could herald personal bankruptcy legislation in Shenzhen, the first of its kind in China.

Nafisa Nihmat, a partner at Zhong Lun Law Firm’s Shanghai office, believes that this tendency reflects a practice-comes-first and bottom-up legislation logic of China, which means that a national personal bankruptcy system will be built on the best practices of pilot localities. “The personal bankruptcy law might be enacted sooner than expected,” she says.

Personal bankruptcy, which aims to relieve “honest but unlucky debtors”, has drawn a great deal of attention across the nation of late because of the small and medium-sized companies in the private sector that have borne the brunt of damage from the pandemic. Many entrepreneurs are in financial trouble as a result of company bankruptcy, which was an issue even before the pandemic, due to the economic downturn.

As reported by Legal Daily and Xinhua News Agency, the courts nationwide accepted 8,436 company bankruptcy and restructuring cases in 2019 (up 14.8% year-on-year), and closed 4,500 cases (a 174% increase). Shanghai alone has heard 750 bankruptcy and restructuring cases, up 83.4% on the same period the previous year.

“For some time, Chinese companies were blessed with easy money, which was lavished on M&A to shore up their extensive expansions,” says Zhang, from Merits & Tree. “As the short-term loans are invested in long-term projects, the net incomes are not enough to cover the financing cost, and when credit is tightened, the companies are plunged into precarious situations.”

With downward economic pressure, the pandemic has become the last straw for some companies. So, what are the ways out for companies in such dire financial condition? And how do the parties in a proceeding secure their own rights and interests?

ACCELERATED HEARINGS

The pandemic has had a huge impact on the national economy. Xu Bangwei, a partner at Jingtian & Gongcheng based in Beijing and Guangzhou, estimates that a large number of companies will go into bankruptcy proceedings in the aftermath of the pandemic. Whether the current judicial resources are enough to meet this challenge merits attention.

“Eight bankruptcy courts were set up last year, many bankruptcy administrator associations are in place, and more and more bankruptcy administrators have come into service,” says Xu. “But it is still doubtful whether these increments match the explosive increase in cases.”

Han Chuanhua, a partner at Zhongzi Law Office in Beijing, believes that the complexity of the cases is the reason for the slow rate of hearings. “Quality might be compromised if we go for speed,” says Han.

The challenge of this case surge underlines the urgency with which a bankruptcy system should be put in place. In April, the Supreme Peoples’ Court issued the Opinions on the Efficient Hearings of Bankruptcy Cases, which aims to boost the efficiency of hearings and reduce costs on different fronts.

Li Jian, a Beijing-based partner at East & Concord Partners, says that, according to the opinions, information technology will be used in full during proceedings, from making announcements and notices, to the convention of creditors’ meetings and voting. “The opinions extend the use of online creditors’ meetings beyond the pandemic and into normal time, and it also acknowledges the validity of absentee voting and provides further clarification of the rules of absentee voting,” says Li.

The opinions also emphasize a crackdown on mala fide defaults, raising red flags to the legal representatives’, investors’ and actual controllers’ illegal possession, embezzlement and hiding of corporate assets, or the conduct of hiding and intentional destruction of accounting documents, accounting books and financial books, which should be kept and maintained as required by law. “Crackdowns on mala fide defaults in bankruptcy cases are expected to shoot up,” says Han, from Zhongzi.

Along with supportive measures, the local courts take a more prudent approach toward companies going into bankruptcy because of the financial difficulties caused by the pandemic. Sun Weihong, a senior partner at S&P Law Firm in Beijing, says that some local courts have issued relevant policies where companies that have sound main business operations but fail to repay due debts because of the pandemic will not be deemed to meet the conditions of bankruptcy, and the courts will not support the creditors’ bankruptcy filings. Also, the bankruptcy and restructuring proceedings may be extended for the companies that find it difficult to raise funds or produce feasible restructuring plans.

PRE-PACKAGED RESTRUCTURING

The Bankruptcy Law has provided for three proceedings, namely, bankruptcy restructuring, conciliation and liquidation. In addition, a pre-packaged restructuring system gaining momentum of late provides a prospective solution for companies that are dragged into difficulties because of the pandemic, and are worth a reorganization.

Pre-packaged restructuring is a step taken before the official proceeding, with the aim of debtors securing the creditors’ support. Restructuring will be kicked off once that goal is attained, and the supported plan will be submitted at the same time.

Xu points out that otherwise healthy and sound companies may bounce back as the pandemic ends and the economy recovers. With pre-packaged restructuring, “the commercial value of these companies will not dip as they enter the official bankruptcy proceeding, and relevant parties will be urged to come up with restructuring plans”.

Pre-packaged restructuring systems have been put into practice in many places, with detailed rules promulgated by local courts in Beijing, Shenzhen and Zhejiang province, among others. Nihmat, of Zhong Lun, says that judicial organs are more restrained with this system, tend to respect the right of the debtors and creditors to appoint administrators, and respect their commercial arrangement agreed upon during the pre-packaged restructuring period. “As a debt restructuring tool outside of court, it helps facilitate the negotiation among the debtors and creditors,” she says.

Associated companies going into bankruptcy in succession is also a common phenomenon when the overall economy shrinks. Beijing No.1 Intermediate People’s Court recently approved the restructuring plan of Zhonghang Shixin Installation Engineering (Beijing) and Zhonghang Shixin Gas Turbine, marking the close of the first merged restructuring case in Beijing.

Xu, from Jingtian & Gongcheng, says that pre-packaged restructuring played a significant role in this case, with the debtor allowed to negotiate the restructuring plan with the main creditors and would-be investors in advance, and the whole proceeding, from establishment of the case to the approval of plan and end of restructuring, taking only 43 days.

But there is room to improve. Nihmat points out that although article 115 of the Minutes of Meetings on Courts Civil and Commercial Hearings allows the outside-court agreement to be brought into the restructuring process, the lack of clear rules puts these agreements in jeopardy, which can dampen companies’ enthusiasm.

BALANCE THE INTERESTS

How to balance the interests of creditors, the bankrupted company, the restructuring party and the administrator has always been the trick. Nihmat says that the bankruptcy proceeding is under the umbrella of judicial process, not under the sway of any one party. “The restructuring plan is a result of the compromise and fighting of the investors, debtors, creditors [creditors committee in particular] and other relevant parties,” she says. “Any one party might find their goals not fully realized.”

In her experience in recent bankruptcy cases in China, she observes that debtors have now realized that bankruptcy restructuring and conciliation are in essence commercial dealings under judicial process, so they are now more willing to begin the proceedings. The shareholders and creditors also no longer find the proceedings hopeless, and are active in fighting for their interests.

The parties involved in bankruptcy proceedings mainly have the following problems, as observed by legal experts:

Debtors. Huang Guan, a partner at Tian Yuan Law Firm in Beijing, expresses concern about the reluctance of debtors to co-operate when the administrators perform duties. “The financial documents and assets in question cannot be managed as expected if they do not co-operate,” he says, adding he hopes that courts can grant some sort of coercive power so that the proceedings will not be hindered.

Liu Peifeng, a partner at Zhonglun W&D Law Firm’s Beijing office, agrees with Huang. “I suggest that the administrators are given power by regulation to ask for the assistance of public organs, or courts are required by explicit rules to provide assistance when the administrators’ work is hindered, to ensure the full performance of their duties.”

Creditors. Some lawyers believe that creditors’ awareness of their own rights should be improved. Han Chuanhua, of Zhongzi, says any creditors – be they banks, non-banks, secured or unsecured creditors – have the right to access the documents in administrators’ hands, but they sometimes leave everything to the administrators in the belief that they do not have a say in the case. “So they fail to engage lawyers with proper fees to help them fight for their rights,” he says.

Administrators. Cui Rongfeng, the deputy director of Dongwei Law Firm in Beijing, says that problems happen now and then as the administrators fail to confirm the creditorship as scheduled, or fail to report to, or disclose information to, the creditors regularly. “The fees incurred as the administrators perform duties, and their compensations, are debts of common interest,” he says. “I suggest that a working scheme is established in which administrators are required to disclose their progress regularly and report to the creditors.”

Restructuring Party. According to Li from East & Concord, the restructuring party does not have ample time to conduct due diligence, as there is a statutory time limit to the restructuring process. And some bankrupted companies fail to provide complete and honest disclosure to the administrators, hence the restructuring party cannot make informed investment decisions.

“The restructuring investment agreement should emphasize relevant parties’ obligations to disclose information, and provide for liabilities for the failure to do so,” he says. “Exit routes should be designed, and the restructuring investors should be given priority of claim in the agreement.”

INVESTMENT RISKS, OPPORTUNITIES

Transportation, wholesale and retail, culture and entertainment, and hospitality and catering sectors have all been hit hard by the pandemic. Many companies have run out of cash and come to the brink of bankruptcy as they fail to repay due debts, and their assets are not enough to cover the full debt or they are obviously incapable of repaying that debt.

Li says that financial investors should be aware that there is no certainty as to when the pandemic will end, and which areas or regions might be more or less affected. Bankrupted companies cannot guarantee sufficient profit to pay the consideration of investment. And in the case of strategic investment, as the hit is felt industry-wide, investors may come from other industries, but there is risk as they lack full knowledge of the other industry.

But opportunities come along with risks. Xing Lixin, a senior partner of Hai Run Law Firm in Beijing, believes that acquisitions of distressed creditorship, investment in debts of common interest, acquisitions of bankrupted assets, and investments in restructuring merit attention. In her view, the above-mentioned investments have the following advantages: They are cost-efficient, with high return on investment; they are highly secure, guaranteed by judicial process, and the possibility of deals being foiled is low; they are a highly focused professional field and thus less competitive, and state-owned companies and financial institutions tend not to involve themselves because of their lagged decision-making; and their threshold is low.

Nihmat says that with more companies entering bankruptcy proceedings investors have more options, including opportunities to acquire assets separated from the debt, and, in particular, some certificates and licences in short supply, including “hard-to-obtain production and operation licences in special industries facing increasingly stringent regulation and environment impact assessment, such as chemicals, ports and mining sectors”.

Li suggests that investors take advantage of restructuring proceedings to invest in otherwise sound and promising companies. As for companies already in liquidation proceedings, investors may co-ordinate with the bankrupted enterprises, or the funders, to apply to shift to restructuring.

“Capable internet companies are suggested to invest in education, healthcare, culture and entertainment sectors through technology and cash pump-in,” he says. “They may play their technological advantages to the full and proceed with ‘internet plus conventional sector’ transformation, so as to upgrade the traditional industries.”