乘风破浪

0
110

本市场逆势而行,在外部环境频繁波动的大背景下,呈现出一派不同寻常的生机。本期《商法》探讨充满不确定性的市场中的确定因素,并为商业领袖和企业法务提供深入分析,以期在2020年的波澜中度过难关。

从去年科创板在上海证券交易所的横空出世、今年新《证券法》的重磅落地,到创业板注册制改革在深圳证券交易所吹响号角,境内资本市场在改革的康庄大道上一路高歌猛进。

cover香港交易所亦不遑多让。除为采用同股不同权架构的创新产业公司、未有收入或盈利的生物科技企业洞开大门外,其上市制度的改革亦令身处焦点中心的中概股公司得以重返亚洲资本市场。封面故事《百舸争流》综合来自境内外知名律所资深律师的意见,分析比较各大交易所的优势和局限。至于这一回归历程具体如何实现?法律专家撰写了系列文章阐释其中的实践路径和经验。

另一深受各方变动影响的领域是资产管理。2018年4月,资管新规正式落地,标志着全行业被纳入统一监管的“大资管”时代拉开序幕,资管机构都或快或慢开始了整改、转型。中金公司预计,2025年中国资产管理行业规模有望达到139万亿元,较2018年底的72万亿元增长近一倍。百万亿规模的中国资产管理行业都经历了哪些变化,又将何去何从?《横渡“大资管”时代》梳理了今年以来资管机构的资产配置偏好与合规要点,并探讨了科技赋能这一未来发展方向。

与此同时,市场上资产证券化产品的类型和交易架构在不断创新和多样化,房产投资信托基金(REITs)在基础设施领域进行试点。本文一并汇集了法律专家对资产证券化领域重要监管动态的回顾,并探讨本次REITs新规中的亮点。

值此艰难时刻,中国顶尖银行与金融律师刘大力和《商法》通过网络会议面对面,毫无保留地分享了他职业生涯的故事和做一流律师的艺术。《慷慨赠良言》记录了他如何看待后疫情时代银行与金融法律服务领域的机遇与挑战,并介绍了他集合诸多里程碑式交易的新书《破局》。

疫情之下,网络安全与个人隐私显得尤为重要。《隔屏有眼》中,来自德勤的James Nunn-Price和Manish Sehga检视了疫情下个人与企业面临的网络风险与挑战。

Ride with the tide

0
34

Against a pervasive global economic downturn, the capital market has manifest itself with active transactions in response to ongoing disruptions. This issue explores the certainties among the uncertainties in the market for business leaders and legal counsel to navigate through the stranger tides of 2020.

With the launch of the Star Market in Shanghai last year, the implementation of the newly amended Securities Law this year, and much-awaited registration-based initial public offering (IPO) reforms on Shenzhen’s start-up board, ChiNext, China has embarked on a sweeping capital market overhaul.

coverHong Kong Exchanges & Clearing (HKEx) is also on a wave of reforms. Apart from opening a gateway for companies from emerging and innovative sectors with weighted voting rights structures and assistance for pre-revenue biotechnology companies, its listing reform also enables Chinese companies listed overseas to return to Asia’s capital markets.

Our cover story, Surfing boards, combines the views of senior practitioners from leading domestic and international law firms, and compares the strengths and limitations of these major exchanges.

Another area heavily affected by change is asset management. In April 2018, the Guidelines on Regulating the Asset Management Business of Financial Institutions officially marked commencement of the era of “mega asset management”, with the entire industry under regulation. Since then, institutions have been in transition. The China International Capital Corporation estimates that the size of assets under management will reach RMB139 trillion by 2025, nearly double the RMB72 trillion at the end of 2018.

What has changed, and what does the future hold for the massive asset management industry in China? Beyond the ‘mega’ era looks at asset allocation preferences and key compliance points for asset managers this year, and discusses how technology may empower the industry’s future.

Meanwhile, the types of asset securitization products and transaction structures in the market are evolving with innovation and diversity. The much-anticipated public real estate investment trusts (REITs) are also undergoing pilot testing in the infrastructure sector. We bring together legal experts’ reviews of key regulatory developments in the industry and examine the highlights of the new rules for REITs.

In these trying times, David Liu, one of China’s most prominent banking and finance lawyers, sat down with China Business Law Journal to share his career stories and the artistry of being a top-notch lawyer. A wealth of advice records how Liu views the opportunities and challenges for legal services in a post-pandemic era, and introduces his new book, Breaking the Game, a collection of landmark transactions in his career.

In the face of covid-19 and tracing technology, cybersecurity and privacy rights have never been more important. In Are you being watched? James Nunn-Price and Manish Sehgal from Deloitte look at the risks and challenges for individuals and businesses.