印度基础设施项目的风险管理

作者: Santosh Pai、Ravi Varma,大恒竺成律师事务所
0
211

中国承包商应重视合同与索赔管理,避免落入陷阱

印度,大多数EPC(包含设计、采购、施工的工程总承包)和建筑项目的承包商均靠“最低成本”原则而中标,特别是政府机构的招标项目。此类全球招标吸引了多国竞标者,不出意外,这其中包含了大量中国公司,因为中国公司在成本方面非常具有竞争力。

management
Santosh Pai
合伙人
大恒竺成律师事务所

然而,取得最低成本投标人(L1)的资格仅是实现盈利的开端。激烈的价格竞争导致利润极其微薄,因此承包商需要采取有效的合同管理和索赔管理策略,以维持其作为EPC或建筑承包商在印度市场的业务。

合同管理。许多标准形式如FIDIC(国际咨询工程师联合会)、NEC(英国NEC合同体系)或JCT(英国联合合同委员会)的建筑合同的一个普遍原则是,将特定风险分配给最有能力管理风险的一方。

然而,在印度和许多其他法域,实际情况与这一理论框架并不相符。项目发起人往往将大部分项目风险转嫁给开发商,而开发商则努力通过总承包合同将风险转嫁给承包商。虽然承包商由于商业上的强制业务而正式承担这些风险,但他们不一定有能力或经验来管理这些风险。

management
Ravi Varma
合伙人
大恒竺成律师事务所

施工前的行动必须涵盖合同设计,重点查明可能导致延误的事由,而这些事由会导致违约赔偿金。主要风险可通过购买建筑全险保单来减轻,但仍会存在灰色地带,例如材料及劳工成本上升、不可预见的地下状况、土地征收延误等,这些可能会对项目进度造成重大影响。

在施工期间,与多层承包商签订的众多合同必须管理得当,众多顾问提供的建议也必须得到实时采纳以保持项目正常运转。总之,良好的合同管理流程将带来竞争优势,该过程包括:更好地理解现有的合同义务、给出合同的合理预见情况、识别合同和监管风险并通过标准化流程提高合规程度。

索赔管理。在印度,索赔管理尚未被当做一项专项事务。它被视为开发商或承包商整体合同管理工作的一部分,在发生引发索赔的事件(如延误事件或合同条款的变更或改进)时“启动”。

尽管主动管理索赔能够影响盈亏,但大多数开发商和承包商在过去倾向于以非正式的方式处理索赔(直到产生争议),这是因为提出索赔本身带有污名,而且由于接受索赔的后果往往是增加项目成本或延长完成时间,订约各方不愿讨论索赔。

索赔的成功实现依赖于合同条款,因此订立一份对缔约双方都公平的合同非常重要。正是由于这一原因,有效的索赔管理流程始于建筑合同的起草和谈判过程,甚至在建设开始之前。然而,在印度的语境下,这易说不易做。

在大多数竞争性投标中,特别是那些涉及政府机构的,建筑合同在起草时往往将大部分建筑风险转嫁给承包商,即使他们并非处理这些风险的最佳当事方。而且承包商几乎没有机会就这些合同谈判,因为任何偏离合同的情况都可能被评估为“对投标条款的重大偏离”,从而导致资格被取消。

标准格式合同具有更公平的索偿程序,但在通知和记录方面有严格的要求,因此需要在合同管理小组中配备一名有经验和有能力的索偿经理。但是,在私营建筑合同中,在索赔管理方面采取最佳措施,就有机会避免争端的不利影响。

预防胜于治疗。印度的司法案例经常强调索赔管理的重要性。德里高等法院在Jakki Mull诉Jagdish Thakral一案中维持了仲裁员驳回索赔的决定,理由是会计账簿的质量不高。

印度最高法院亦支持在建筑合同中需要相对复杂的索赔管理程序。在印度国家公路局诉ITD Cementation India Limited一案中,涉案项目使用了FIDIC标准格式合同,但作了某些修改(特殊应用条件,或称COPA),法院认为,索赔人未能证明其索赔达到了预期的满意程度。

如果承包商建立了系统性的索赔管理程序,包括经过合法审查的项目信函、每日/每周/每月进度报告、复盘会议记录,更新、修订方案、测试报告等,上述两个案例中的不幸情况都是很容易避免的。

中国承包商在印度应避免的最后一个陷阱是“例外事项”。简单而言,必须对合同进行彻底审查,以确保合同下产生的所有争议根据相关法律都是可以仲裁的、且根据合同是必须进行仲裁。

仅仅建议在印度采用有效的合同和索赔管理战略作为实现盈利的手段,听起来可能过于简单化。然而,在印度从事钢铁、电力、道路、太阳能、垃圾发电等领域业务的50多家大型中国承包商的共同经验表明,如果及早听取这些建议,他们在实现盈利的过程中可能会少走很多弯路。

Santosh Pai大恒竺成律师事务所的合伙人。其联系方式为电话 +91 90 04265235以及电邮 santosh.pai@linklegal.in

Ravi Varma大恒竺成律师事务所的合伙人。其联系方式为电话+91 9810123476以及电邮ravi@linklegal.in

management

Link Legal India Law Services
Thapar House, Central Wing
First Floor, 124 Janpath,
New Delhi-110 001, India
电话: +91 11 4651 1000
电子邮箱:
santosh.pai@linklegal.in
vinu.peter@linklegal.in
cn.linklegal.in

Risk management in Indian infrastructure projects

By Santosh Pai and Ravi Varma Link Legal India Law Services
0
95

Chinese contractors involved in construction should pay close attention to contract and claim management to avoid falling into traps

Contractors for most EPC (engineering procurement construction) and construction projects in India, especially those tendered out by government agencies, are selected on “lowest cost” basis. Such global tenders attract bidders from many countries and, unsurprisingly, include a significant number of Chinese companies due to their cost competitiveness.

management
Santosh Pai
Partner
Link Legal India Law Services

However, qualifying as the lowest cost bidder (L1) is only the beginning of the journey towards profitability. Aggressive price competition leads to extremely thin margins, so contractors need to employ effective contract management and claims management strategies in order to sustain their business as an EPC or construction contractor in the Indian market.

Contract management. One universal principle in many standard forms of construction contracts – such as FIDIC (International Federation of Consulting Engineers), NEC (new engineering contract), or JCT (Joint Contracts Tribunal) – is that a specific risk is allocated to that party that is in the best position to manage it.

management
Ravi Varma
Partner
Link Legal India Law Services

However, in India, and many other jurisdictions, the practical realities do not match this theoretical framework. The project sponsors tend to pass most project risks to the developers, who in turn endeavour to pass them on to contractors through turnkey contracts. Although the contractors formally assume such risks due to commercial compulsion, they might not necessarily have the ability or the experience to manage these risks.

During construction, numerous contracts with multiple tiers of contractors must be administered smoothly, and advice provided by a slew of consultants must also be assimilated in real time to keep the project ticking. In summary, a good contract management process is one that leads to competitive advantage through better understanding of existing contractual obligations, developing foresight into the contracts, uncovering contractual and regulatory risks, and improving compliance through standardised processes.

Claims management. In India, claims management has not been regarded as a specialised activity. Instead, it has been seen as a part of the overall contract management effort of developers or contractors, to be “activated” upon the happening of an event that triggers a claim, such as a delay event or a change or variation in the contract terms.

Even though proactive management of claims can make a difference between profit and loss, most developers and contractors have in the past preferred to deal with claims in an informal manner (until a dispute occurs), given the stigma attached to making claims and the reluctance of the contracting parties to discuss claims, as the effect of admitting claims is often an increase in cost or time for completion of a project.

Due to the reliance on contractual conditions for the successful realisation of claims, it is important to have a contract that is fair to both contracting parties. It is for this reason that an efficient claims management process begins with the drafting of the construction contracts and the negotiation process, even before the commencement of construction. However, in the Indian context, this is easier said than done.

In most competitive bids, especially those that involve government agencies, construction contracts are often drafted to pass most of the construction risks to contractors, even if they are not the best placed party to handle those risks, and there is little chance to negotiate the contract, as any deviation from the contract can be assessed to be a “material deviation to the terms of the tender”, thus inviting disqualification.

Standard form contracts have a more equitable claims process, however they impose strict requirements in terms of notices and records, necessitating the inclusion of an experienced and competent claims manager in the contract management team. In private sector construction contracts, however, there exists an opportunity to avoid the debilitating effect of disputes by adopting best practices in the area of claims management.

Prevention trumps cure. Indian judicial pronouncements have often highlighted the importance of claims management. Delhi High Court, in Jakki Mull v Jagdish Thakral, upheld the decision of the arbitrator to reject claims on the grounds that appropriate books of accounts of adequate quality were not maintained.

The Supreme Court of India also endorses the need for a fairly sophisticated claims management process in construction contracts. In the case of National Highways Authority of India v ITD Cementation India Limited, where a FIDIC standard form contract with certain changes (conditions of particular application, or COPA) was used, it was held that the claimant had failed to prove his claim to the expected degree of satisfaction.

Both these sets of unfortunate circumstances were easily avoidable if contractors had put in place a systematic claims management process that included legally vetted project correspondence, daily, weekly and monthly progress reports, minutes of review meetings, updated/revised programmes, test reports, etc.

One last trap that Chinese contractors should avoid in India is that of “excepted matters”. Simply put, an exhaustive review of the contracts must be undertaken to ensure that all disputes arising under the contract are legally arbitrable and are contractually subject to arbitration.

A mere suggestion to adopt effective contract and claims management strategies in India as a means to achieve profitability might sound overly simplistic. Yet the collective experience of more than 50 major Chinese contractors operating in India in the fields of steel, power, roads, solar, waste to energy, etc., suggests that their path to profitability could have been much shorter if they had heeded such advice sooner, rather than later.

Santosh Pai is a partner at Link Legal India Law Services. He can be contacted on +91 9004265235 or by email at santosh.pai@linklegal.in

Ravi Varma is a partner at Link Legal India Law Services. He can be contacted on +91 9810123476 or by email at ravi@linklegal.in

management

Link Legal India Law Services
Thapar House, Central Wing
First Floor, 124 Janpath,
New Delhi-110 001, India
Tel: +91 11 4651 1000
Email:
santosh.pai@linklegal.in
ravi@linklegal.in
cn.linklegal.in