国有企业转让商业银行股权要点

作者: 杨光、王瑶,兰台律师事务所
0
164

2018年1月5日出台的《商业银行股权管理暂行办法》(《暂行办法》)秉持“穿透监管”的原则,对商业银行股东数量进行了限制。该《暂行办法》明确规定同一投资人及其关联方、一致行动人作为主要股东参股商业银行的数量不得超过两家,或控股商业银行的数量不得超过一家。

基于上述监管政策的变化,自2018年1月份,部分股东开始清理其超标的商业银行持股,以达到监管要求。在众多抛售者中,国有企业比重较高,其转让商业股权需要履行的程序性义务值得关注。

法规依据

根据《企业国有资产交易监督管理办法》(国资委、财政部令第32号)第六十三条的规定,“金融、文化类国家出资企业的国有资产交易和上市公司的国有股权转让等行为,国家另有规定的,依照其规定”,国有企业转让商业银行股权需要遵守针对金融类国有资产交易的特殊规定。

bank
杨光
兰台律师事务所合伙人

为了规范金融企业国有资产转让行为,财政部于2009年制定了《金融企业国有资产转让管理办法》(财政部令第54号),根据该规定,(1)金融企业国有资产转让按照统一政策、分级管理的原则,由财政部门负责监督管理;(2)拟转让的金融企业国有资产权属关系应当明晰;(3)权属关系不明确或者存在权属纠纷以及法律、行政法规和国家有关政策规定禁止转让的金融企业国有资产不得转让。

金融企业国有资产转让包括非上市金融企业国有产权转让和上市公司国有股份转让。金融企业国有资产转让以通过产权交易机构、证券交易系统交易为主要方式,符合条件的,可以采取直接协议方式转让金融企业国有资产。

转让方需要完成制定转让方案、履行内部决议、经财政部门审批、选择交易方式和场所、审查受让股东资格、签订转让协议、变更登记等一系列流程。

股东变更

bank
王瑶
兰台律师事务所律师

无论国有企业通过产权交易机构、证券交易系统交易转让还是采用直接协议方式转让,根据《商业银行法》和《暂行办法》的规定,其转让之后均应履行如下商业银行股东变更流程:

首先,需经过监管机构核准或向监管机构报告。根据《商业银行法》第二十四条、第二十八条和《中国银保监会中资商业银行行政许可事项实施办法》(2018修正)规定,变更持有资本总额或者股份总额5%以上的股东,应当经国务院银行业监督管理机构批准;变更持有资本总额或股份总额1%以上、5%以下的股东,应当在股权转让后10日内向国务院银行业监督管理机构报告。国有商业银行、邮政储蓄银行、股份制商业银行变更由银保监会受理、审查并决定;城市商业银行变更由所在地省级派出机构受理、审查并决定。

其次,需对受让股东资格进行审查。根据《暂行办法》第十三条的规定,股东转让所持有的商业银行股权,应当告知受让方需符合法律法规和银保监会规定的条件。关于股东资格,银保监会将受让人分为境内金融机构、境外金融机构以及境内非金融机构三类,并规定了不同的资格要求及禁止性规定。需要注意的是,如受让人拟受让商业银行资本总额或者股份总额5%以上股权,成为商业银行主要股东的,还需要满足“主要股东”的资格条件。

最后,需告知银行董事会,履行内部决议程序。根据《中国银监会关于印发商业银行公司治理指引的通知》的规定,非上市银行股东特别是主要股东转让本行股份的,应当事前告知本行董事会。根据商业银行章程的规定,董事会批准股东转让其股权后,银行董事会办公室负责进行股东名册的变更登记,将受让人的名称、地址以及股份数记载于股东名册,通知有关各方,收回转让方股权证,向受让方发放股权证,并配合办理相关工商登记手续。

此外,需要特别注意的是,转让商业银行资本总额或者股份总额5%以上的股权行为属于必须经过批准的行为。根据《合同法》第四十四条及《最高人民法院关于适用<中华人民共和国合同法>若干问题的解释(一)》第九条的规定,法律、行政法规规定合同应当办理批准手续,或者办理批准、登记等手续才生效的,不办理这些手续的法院认定该合同未生效。因此,商业银行股权转让方与受让方应按时履行报批义务,并在股权转让合同中明确报批义务主体及相应违约条款,最大程度避免违约风险。

作者:兰台律师事务所合伙人杨光、律师王瑶

Lantai Partners兰台律师事务所
北京市朝阳区曙光西里甲一号
第三置业大厦B座29层 邮编: 100028
电话: +86 10 5228 7777
传真: +86 10 5822 0039
电子信箱:
yangguang@lantai.cn
wangyao@lantai.cn
www.lantai.cn

Points for SOEs transferring commercial bank equity

By Yang Guang and Wang Yao, Lantai Partners
0
321

The Interim Administrative Measures for the Equity of Commercial Banks, issued on 5 January 2018, adhere to the “penetrative regulation” principle and limit the number of shareholders that a commercial bank may have. The measures specify that the consolidated group of an investor, its affiliates and persons acting in concert, shall neither serve as major shareholders with an equity participation in more than two commercial banks, nor have a controlling share in more than one commercial bank.

Some shareholders began to dispose of their excess holding of commercial bank equity from January 2018 to satisfy the regulatory requirements. Among numerous sellers, state-owned enterprises (SOEs) account for a relatively high percentage, and the procedural obligations that they are required to perform in transferring commercial bank equity are worthy of attention.

Legal basis

bank
Yang Guang
Managing Partner
Lantai Partners

Pursuant to article 63 of the Measures for the Regulation of Transactions Involving the State-Owned Assets of Enterprises (order No. 32 of the State-Owned Assets Supervision and Administration Commission of the State Council and the Ministry of Finance [MoF]), “where the state provides otherwise in respect of transactions involving the state-owned assets of financial and cultural enterprises to which the state has made a capital contribution, and the transfer of the state-owned equity of listed companies, such provisions shall be complied with”. When an SOE transfers commercial bank equity, it is required to comply with special regulations for transactions involving finance-type state-owned assets.

The MoF formulated the Administrative Measures for the Transfer of the State-Owned Assets of Financial Enterprises (MoF order No. 54) in 2009. Under this order: (1) the public finance departments shall be responsible for the supervision and administration on the transfer of state-owned assets of financial enterprise according to the principle of unified policies and level-to-level management; (2) the ownership of the state-owned assets of financial enterprises to be transferred shall be clear; and (3) unclear and disputed titles, or those where the transfer of which is prohibited by laws and state policies, may not be transferred.

bank
Wang Yao
Associate
Lantai Partners

Transfers of state-owned assets of financial enterprises include the transfer of state-owned property rights of non-listed financial enterprises, and the state-owned shares of listed companies. Such transfers are mainly accomplished through property rights exchange institutions and securities trading systems. Alternatively, where the conditions are satisfied, such transfer can be accomplished by way of an agreement.

The transferor is required to complete a series of procedures, including the transfer plan formulation, internal resolution, securing approval of the public finance departments, selecting the transaction method and venue, qualification review on the acquiring shareholders, signing the transfer agreement, and change of registration.

Change in shareholders

Regardless of whether the transfer is accomplished through a property rights exchange institution, a securities trading system, or by an agreement, it is, pursuant to the Commercial Bank Law and the measures, required to carry out the following procedures for a change in the shareholders of the commercial bank after the transfer.

First, it is required to secure the approval of, or report to, the regulator. Pursuant to articles 24 and 28 of the Commercial Bank Law and the Implementing Measures of the China Banking and Insurance Regulatory Commission (CBIRC) for the Administrative Licensing Items Concerning Chinese-Funded Commercial Banks (amended in 2018), a change of shareholders who control more than 5% of the total capital, or total shares, requires the approval of the State Council’s banking regulator, and a change of shareholders who hold at least 1%, but not more than 5%, of the total capital, or total shares, requires reporting to the State Council’s banking regulator within 10 days of the equity transfer. Changes in a state-owned commercial bank, postal savings bank or joint stock limited commercial bank are accepted, reviewed and decided on by the CBIRC, and changes in an urban commercial bank are accepted, reviewed and decided on by the provincial-level agency of the place where the bank is located.

Second, it is required to review the qualifications of the acquiring shareholder. Pursuant to article 13 of the measures, where a shareholder transfers its commercial bank equity, it is required to inform the transferee that it, the transferee, is required to satisfy the legal conditions and the CBIRC regulations. The CBIRC divides transferees into three categories – domestic financial institutions, foreign financial institutions, and domestic non-financial institutions – and specifies different qualification requirements and prohibitive provisions. It should be noted that if a transferee proposes to acquire equity representing at least 5% of the commercial bank’s total share capital, or total shares, and become a major shareholder of the bank, it is required to satisfy the qualification conditions for a “major shareholder”.

Finally, it is required to inform the board of the bank for internal resolution. Pursuant to the Notice of China Banking Regulatory Commission on Issuance of the Guidelines for the Corporate Governance of Commercial Banks, where a shareholder, particularly a major shareholder, of an unlisted bank is to transfer shares of the bank, it is required to inform the board of that bank in advance. Pursuant to the articles of association of the commercial banks, once the board approves the transfer of equity, the office of the board will be in charge of carrying out the change of registration in the share register including recording the name, address and number of shares of the transferee, notifying relevant parties, recovering the transferor’s equity certificate, issuing an equity certificate to the transferee, and offering its co-operation in the relevant business registration.

Furthermore, a transfer of equity representing at least 5% of the total capital, or total shares, of a commercial bank needs approval. Pursuant to article 44 of the Contract Law and article 9 of Interpretation 1 of the Supreme People’s Court of Several Issues Concerning the Application of the Contract Law of the People’s Republic of China, where laws or administrative regulations require approval for a contract, or specify that a contract enters into effect only upon approval and registration, the court shall determine a contract ineffective without going through these procedures.

Hence, the transferor and transferee of commercial bank equity are suggested to perform their approval obligations in a timely manner and expressly specify the entities bearing the approval obligations, and the corresponding provisions on breach of contract, in the equity transfer contract to minimize the default risk to the greatest extent possible.

Yang Guang is a partner and Wang Yao is an associate at Lantai Partners.

Lantai PartnersLantai Partners
29th Floor, Tower B, Disanzhiye Mansion
A1 Shuguang Xili, Chaoyang District
Beijing 100028, China
Tel: +86 10 5228 7777
Fax: +86 10 5822 0039
E-mail:
yangguang@lantai.cn
wangyao@lantai.cn
www.lantai.cn