社会信用体系下企业合规的三点建议

作者: 李雄、袁远,锦天城律师事务所
0
160

业合规在中国变得越来越重要,尤其随着社会信用体系(SCS)有望在2020年底在全国范围内全面推行。根据收集到的数据,SCS给予每个实体(包括企业和其他组织、政府官员和个人)一个社会信用评分,分数对应着各种奖惩。当涉及企业时,SCS的主要目的是创造一个公平、透明和可预测的商业环境。

SCS包括不同的评级机制,其中许多机制已经在运作。SCS在全国范围内正式启动时,所有机制将被编织成一个全面、复杂、交叉和相互依存的网络。这意味着企业如果不遵循法律和其他规则,将面临更严格的合规要求和更高的风险。企业应如何应对SCS全面推行所带来的新挑战?本文旨在为企业提供这方面的建议。

SCS
李雄
锦天城律师事务所高级合伙人

立法框架。2014年,中国政府在国务院的指导意见中首次提出了SCS的愿景,目标是在2020年底前全面启动。自那时起,SCS一直在扩大范围和改善,诸多机制被创建并应用于企业。根据国务院办公厅于2019年7月发布的指导意见,随着原定期限的临近,政府当局正在加快建设SCS。

数据来源。政府从三个主要来源收集数据。首先,大部分数据是由企业通过申报提交的。第二是政府通过检查收集数据。虽然现场检查仍然是常规做法,但基于网络的电子化检查越来越普遍(例如实时排放监测)。第三,阿里巴巴等民营公司收集的数据将发挥越来越突出的作用。

评级和要求。根据其规模和范围,企业需要为不同的评分项做准备。核心的关键评分项(例如税收)适用于所有公司。一个特定的评分项包含多个具体的评分要求。此类要求都已体现在相关法规中且公司本需依法履行。虽然大多数评分反映的是常规的监管和合规标准,但SCS有三个非常规的要求。

scs
袁远
锦天城律师事务所律师助理

首先,企业现在需要为其商业伙伴承担责任。即使一家公司满足了所有的法律要求,如果它的供应商被列入黑名单,它仍可能受到处罚。第二,个人和企业信用体系将相互作用。因此,以评分较差的个人名义注册的公司将自动获得较差评分。第三,一些评分要求明确纳入了其他政府机构的评级,从而产生连锁反应,即一个领域的负面评分也会影响公司的其他评分。例如,在海关以外的领域的任何负面评分都会导致海关评分的降低,且相关公司将失去或无法获得AEO(经认证的经营者)认证。

奖励和惩罚。对公司来说,高的评分可能意味着一系列不同的事项,比如更低的税率、更好的信贷条件、更容易的市场准入、快速审批,以及更多的公共采购机会以及更低的检查率或有针对性的审计。

惩罚有各种形式。除罚款、法院命令、高检查率和有针对性的审计、限制发放政府审批外,被排除在优惠政策之外、限制公共采购以及公开点名批评和点名以外SCS同时采用了黑名单机制和联合制裁机制。企业可能因评分较差或特定违规行为而被列入黑名单,且被归为严重不信任的实体。此类信息会在国家企业信用信息公示系统中公示,并通过CreditChina.gov.cn(信用中国)网站公示。

列入黑名单将导致联合制裁,这意味着,政府当局实施制裁不仅将根据其直接负责的评分,而且将基于其所有相关评分领域中的负面评分。例如,作为不受信任的纳税公司的评分将不只影响针对具体税收的制裁,还会影响公司的其他各种事项,包括公司的许可审批。换句话说,即使一个不受信任的公司不因在一个政府部门权限内的原因被列入黑名单,该政府部门仍可以对此公司实施制裁。

建议。我们建议企业通过以下三个步骤为全面实施供应链管理做好准备。首先,企业应进行内部审计,以评估它们在这些要求方面的现状。要做到这一点,企业首先要识别和了解自己需要遵守的所有法律和法规。合规要求可能分散在大量政府文件中,因此,企业必须进行必要的深入分析。然后,企业必须评估需求与现实之间存在的差距。内部审计的最后一步是根据差距分析,设计和实施调整措施并继续监测SCS的变化以与最新的合规要求同步。

其次,企业应进行供应链审计,并对业务合作伙伴进行尽职调查,因为SCS评估中包括合作伙伴的信用程度。出于各种目的,企业可能已经有了一套成体系的供应商筛选机制,现在他们有更多的理由对供应商进行更仔细的监控,因为他们自己的评分会受到供应商行为的影响。

第三,企业可能需要决定其经营业务的披露范围。由于SCS需要通过企业自报收集大量数据,企业需要将数据传输给主管政府部门,其中大部分数据既不敏感且单独存在时也无问题,但结合在一起时,它们可能会完整地披露企业的概况。因此,如果企业希望修改或排除某些数据传输要求,则可能需要与相应的政府部门进行接洽,避免过度披露。

建议企业从现在开始,按照上述三个步骤,在全面启动SCS之前,做好准备。

作者:锦天城律师事务所高级合伙人李雄、律师助理袁远

scs

锦天城律师事务所
上海市浦东新区银城中路501号
上海中心大厦11及12层 邮编:200120
电话: +86 21 2051 1000
传真: +86 21 2051 1999
电子信箱:
carl.li@allbrightlaw.com
yuan.yuan@allbrightlaw.com
www.allbrightlaw.com

Three suggestions for meeting SCS compliance requirements

By Carl Li and Yuan Yuan, AllBright Law Offices
0
363

Corporate compliance is becoming increasingly important in China, especially with the expected nationwide full implementation of the social credit system (SCS) by the end of 2020. SCS assigns social credit scores to each entity (including businesses and other organizations, government officials and individuals) based on the data collected. The scores correspond to various rewards and punishments. The main purpose of SCS, when it relates to businesses, is to create a fair, transparent and predictable business environment.

SCS
Carl Li
Senior Partner
AllBright Law Offices

The SCS includes different rating mechanisms, many of which are operational already. The official launch of the nationwide SCS will weave together all mechanisms into a comprehensive, intricate and interdependent network. It means that enterprises will face stricter compliance requirements and higher risks if they do not follow laws and other rules. This article aims to provide businesses with suggestions on how to face the new challenges imposed by the full adoption of SCS.

Legislative framework. The government first outlined its vision for the SCS in 2014, in a State Council guideline, aiming for its full launch by the end of 2020. The SCS has been expanding and evolving since then, with many mechanisms being created and applied to enterprises. With the original deadline approaching, government authorities are accelerating their construction of the SCS according to the guiding opinions published by the general office of the State Council in July 2019.

scs
Yuan Yuan
Legal Assistant
AllBright Law Offices

Sources of data. The government collects data from three main sources. First, the majority of data are submitted by businesses through self-reporting. Second, the government collects data through inspection. While on-site inspections remain the norm, web-based, digital inspection is becoming more prevalent, such as real-time emission monitoring. Third, data collected by private companies, such as Alibaba, will play an increasingly prominent role.

Ratings and requirements. Depending on their size and scope, businesses need to prepare for a varying number of ratings. A core set of key ratings, such as tax, applies to all companies. Multiple concrete rating requirements constitute a specific rating. Those requirements are written in the respective regulations that companies are already legally required to comply with. While most ratings reflect standard regulatory and compliance criteria, the SCS features three unconventional requirements.

First, businesses now need to take responsibility for their business partners. Even if a company meets all its legal requirements, it can still receive penalties if one of its suppliers is on a blacklist. Second, individual and corporate credit systems interact. As such, a business registered in the name of an individual with a poor rating will automatically have a poor rating. Third, some rating requirements explicitly incorporate ratings by other government authorities, thus creating a ripple effect through which a negative rating in one area also affects a company’s other ratings. For example, any negative rating in a field other than customs would lead to a downgrading of the customs rating, and the respective company would lose, or would not be able to receive, AEO (authorized economic operator) certification.

Rewards and punishments. High scores can mean a range of different things for companies, from lower tax rates, better credit conditions, easier market access and fast-tracked approvals to more public procurement opportunities and lower inspection rates or targeted audits.

Punishments come in various forms. Other than fines, court orders, high inspection rates and targeted audits, restricted issuance of government approvals, exclusion from preferential policies, restrictions from public procurement as well as public shaming and naming, the SCS also employs blacklisting and joint sanctions. Businesses can fall on a blacklist either from a poor rating or a particular violation, and they will be classified as “heavily distrusted entities”, which are flagged within the National Enterprise Credit Information Publicity System and published via CreditChina.gov.cn.

Blacklisting will lead to joint sanctions, meaning that government authorities will not only levy sanctions based on the rating they are directly responsible for, but also in response to negative ratings in all rated fields. For example, a rating as a distrusted taxpaying company will impact a company’s licence approvals, among others, beyond the imposition of tax-specific sanctions. In other words, a government authority may impose sanctions on a distrusted company even if that company is not blacklisted for reasons within that government authority’s jurisdiction.

Suggestions. The authors suggest that enterprises prepare for the full implementation of the SCS by taking the following three steps. First, enterprises should conduct an internal audit to assess where they stand regarding the requirements. To do so, enterprises should first identify and understand all the laws and regulations they need to comply with. The compliance requirements may be dispersed across a large amount of government documents, so enterprises must conduct the necessary analysis thoroughly. Then, enterprises must assess where gaps exist between the requirements and reality. The last step of internal audit is to design and implement adjustments based on the gap analysis, and to continue monitoring the changes in the SCS to keep abreast with the latest compliance requirements.

Second, businesses should undertake a supply chain audit and conduct due diligence on business partners, given that partners’ trustworthiness is included in the SCS assessments. Enterprises may already have a systematic supplier screening mechanism in place for various purposes, and now they have an extra reason to monitor their suppliers even more carefully, because their own ratings will be affected by the suppliers’ behaviours.

Third, enterprises may need to decide the scope of disclosure of its business operations. Since the SCS requires the collection of massive amounts of data through the enterprises’ self-reporting, enterprises need to transfer data to government authorities, most of which are neither sensitive nor problematic in isolation, but when combined, may create a more complete disclosure of the enterprises’ profiles. Therefore, enterprises may want to engage with respective government authorities should they hope to modify or exclude certain data transfer requirements to prevent excessive disclosure.

Enterprises are suggested to prepare for the full launch of the SCS from now on by following the above-mentioned three steps before full launch of the SCS in a year’s time.

Carl Li is a senior partner and Yuan Yuan is a legal assistant at AllBright Law Offices.

AllBright Law Offices

AllBright Law Offices

11-12 Floor, Shanghai Tower,

No. 501 Yincheng Middle Road,

Pudong New Area, Shanghai 200120, China
www.allbrightlaw.com

Contact details:

Tel: +86 21 2051 1000
Fax: +86 21 2051 1999

Email:
carl.li@allbrightlaw.com
yuan.yuan@allbrightlaw.com

Website: www.allbrightlaw.com