第一阶段经贸协议后的最新关税调整

0
141
Tariff

中美贸易紧张局势下,针对美国对中国商品实施的301关税措施,国务院关税税则委员会(税委会)在过去两年宣布了三轮针对美国商品的反制关税措施。

为缓解贸易冲突,两国在万众期待中于2020年1月15日签订经贸协议(第一阶段协议)。在本阶段协议中,双边同意或实施各项措施,包括:

  • 美国301条款4A清单中商品加征关税从15%降至7.5%;
  • 暂缓对美国301条款4B清单中商品加征关税;以及
  • 中国将在2020年至2021年再购入2000亿美元美国商品和服务(以2017年购入额为基准)。

对此,中央政府最近也公布了针对美国商品的反制关税的重要调整。

2020年2月6日,税委会发布公告[2020]1号,宣布从2月14日起降低税委会公告[2019]4号附件1所列商品的反制关税,具体如下:

  • 第一、二部分所列税目商品的加征税率从10%降至5%;以及
  • 第三、四部分所列税目商品的加征税率从5%降至2.5%;

本次关税降低只适用于第三轮反制关税,并不影响早前的措施。

为履行中国在第一阶段协议所做的购买承诺(采购排除),2020年2月17日,税委会发布公告[2020]2号,开展新一轮相关商品采购排除工作。这一特别流程与此前的商品排除程序不同,在此规定下,企业成功申请后,根据核准的采购金额,特定产品将被免除反制关税 。

合资格的申请主体:拟自美采购并进口符合条件的商品(见下文描述)的任何中国境内企业,只要其采购的商品没有被排除在此前的反制关税清单外的,即可提交商品排除申请,不论企业此前是否已提交申请。

符合条件的商品:税委会发布了一份共列有696个八位税则号列(税号)的合条件商品清单。对清单外商品,申请主体可提出增列排除商品的申请。

采购排除范围:税委会将根据申请主体的采购计划和其它情况对所申请的采购金额进行审查,准许一定金额范围(根据商品价格决定)内的采购排除。一旦准许后,自核准之日起一年内,申请主体进口的核准采购金额范围内的商品不再加征反制关税。除非申请主体成功申请核准采购金额上调,否则超出部分仍须加征反制关税。

采购排除仅适用于申请成功的企业,其它企业即使进口相同商品也无法获得采购排除。核准前已加征的反制关税税款不予退还。

在核准之后,申请主体必须根据已核准的采购金额就采购协议进行谈判,并向主管部门提交成交信息,包括实际采购金额。如成交金额超过核准的金额,申请主体可在规定时间内追加排除申请。但当期未成交的金额将自动失效,不可结转至下期。

申请流程。相关主体可通过财政部网站提交申请。申报系统于2020年3月2日起开放,目前尚未公布截止日期。

申请主体可针对一个税号商品,每月填报一份采购计划,并提交一次申请。在申请过程中,申请主体应提交相关支持信息,包括计划采购量和金额。申请增列排除商品的,申请主体还须说明反制关税对其业务带来的负面影响。

《商法摘要》由贝克·麦坚时律师事务所协助提供,内容仅供参考之用。读者如欲开展与本栏内容相关之工作,须寻求专业法律意见。读者可通过以下电邮与贝克·麦坚时联系:张大年(上海)danian.zhang@bakermckenzie.com

Tariff updates respond to phase one deal

0
101
Tariff

Amid the trade tensions with the US, China’s Tariff Commission of the State Council in the past two years announced three batches of retaliatory tariff measures on US goods to counter a flurry of section 301 tariffs imposed by the US on Chinese goods.

In a bid to de-escalate the trade conflict, the two countries entered into a much-anticipated trade agreement on 15 January 2020 (the phase one deal). In connection with this deal, the following measures, among others, were agreed upon or given effect:

  • Reduction of US section 301 tariffs on list 4A goods, from 15% to 7.5%;
  • Suspension of US section 301 tariffs to be imposed on list 4B goods; and
  • Purchase by China in 2020-21 of an additional US$200 billion in US goods and services (above the 2017 baseline amount).

In response to these commitments, the central government has recently announced important developments affecting its retaliatory tariff measures on US goods.

On 6 February 2020, the tariff commission announced, through circular [2020] No. 1, that effective from 14 February retaliatory tariffs imposed on goods listed in the first tariff list attached to tariff commission circular [2019] No. 4 will be reduced as follows:

  • Tariff rate applicable to products in parts 1 and 2 is reduced from 10% to 5%; and
  • Tariff rate applicable to products in parts 3 and 4 is reduced from 5% to 2.5%.

This reduction only applies to the third batch of retaliatory tariffs and does not affect the earlier measures.

On 17 February 2020, the tariff commission announced, in circular [2020] No. 2, a new product exclusion process to help China fulfill its purchase commitments under the phase one deal (the purchase commitment exclusion). This unique process differs from the previous product exclusion processes and is targeted to exempt successful applicants from retaliatory tariffs imposed on specific goods, based on the approved purchase amount.

Eligible applicants: Any Chinese domestic enterprise seeking to purchase and import the eligible products (as described below) from the US may submit a product exclusion application, as long as the products have not been excluded from retaliatory tariffs in earlier lists. It does not matter whether previous applications were made.

Eligible products: The tariff commission has published a list of 696 Chinese tariff codes at the eight-digit level that are eligible for the exclusion process. Enterprises may request to additionally include products that are not currently on the list.

Scope of the purchase commitment exclusion: Subject to the discretion of the tariff commission, an exclusion may be granted to the applicant for a specified purchase amount (based on value), which will be determined in part based on the applicant’s purchase plan. Once granted, any importation by the applicant within the approved purchase amount will be exempted from retaliatory tariffs within one year from the date of approval. Any imports exceeding the approved purchase amount will still be subject to retaliatory tariffs unless an increase in the approved purchase amount is obtained.

Exclusions under this process are only granted to successful applicants, and other importers of the same products cannot benefit from this process. Also, any retaliatory tariffs paid prior to the issuance of the approval will not be refunded.

Subsequent to the approval, applicants must negotiate the purchase agreement according to the approved purchase amount and provide the transaction information, including the actual purchase amount, to the authorities. If an applicant has entered into a transaction that exceeds the approved purchase amount, then it may timely file a supplemental application to increase its approved purchase amount. That said, unused approved purchase amounts cannot be carried forward after expiration.

Application process: Interested parties may file their applications through the Ministry of Finance website. The application process is open from 2 March 2020, and there is currently no published deadline.

An applicant may submit one application per month, with one purchase plan pertaining to each tariff code. The relevant supporting information to be submitted during the application process includes the planned purchase quantity and value. For requests to add a new product onto the eligible list, an applicant is required to explain and show how the applicable retaliatory tariffs adversely impact its business.

Business Law Digest is compiled with the assistance of Baker McKenzie. Readers should not act on this information without seeking professional legal advice. You can contact Baker McKenzie by e-mailing Danian Zhang (Shanghai) at danian.zhang@bakermckenzie.com.