中国商业秘密法律与中美经贸协议

作者: 胡科,竞天公诚律师事务所
0
140

2020年1月15日,中美双方在美国华盛顿签署第一阶段《经济贸易协议》(《协议》)。《协议》第一章第二节就“商业秘密和保密商务信息”的保护提出了很多具体措施。本文以该节内容为主线,将其中保护商业秘密相关的内容与中国大陆《反不正当竞争法》(《反法》)以及其他相关法律相比较,在此基础上展望中国商业秘密保护法律和实践的前景。

侵权主体。《协议》第1.3条规定,侵犯商业秘密的主体应当包括所有自然人、组织和法人。《反法》第九条规定“经营者以外的其他自然人、法人和非法人组织”也可能构成商业秘密侵权,此规定满足《协议》要求。不过,尚不明确政府是否可以成为商业秘密侵权的主体。

胡科
竞天公诚律师事务所
合伙人

侵权行为的类型《协议》第1.4条第二款要求涵盖各类侵权行为,尤其是电子入侵、违反或诱导违反保密义务以及未经授权的披露或使用。《反法》第九条与《协议》基本一致,并且以“其他不正当手段”作为兜底。

《美国法典》第18编第1839条明确排除了“反向工程、独立衍生或其他合法取得”,笔者认为值得《反法》下一步修订参考。

举证责任转移。《协议》第1.5条约定,权利人如已提供包括初步证据合理指向被告方侵权,则举证责任转移至被告方;并且约定,如果权利人提出保密措施的初步证据,则应由被告举证信息是否广为知晓。

《反法》第三十二条不仅规定了司法实践中发展出的“接触+相似-合法来源”判定方法,而且将商业秘密已经被披露、使用、侵犯或者有此类风险的情况下的举证责任转移至被告,此外还规定由涉嫌侵权人证明权利人已经采取保密措施的信息不属于商业秘密,这些规定均已满足《协议》要求。

临时保全措施。《协议》第1.6条约定双方应规定及时、有效的临时措施以阻止使用被侵犯的商业秘密,并且应当将“使用或试图使用”认定为可以颁布临时措施的“紧急情况”。

根据相关司法解释,“情况紧急”原则上仍要求“难以弥补的损害”,包括“商业秘密即将被非法披露”的情形,可能造成商业秘密即将被非法使用不构成“紧急情况”的暗示。对此,可能需要司法解释相应调整。

刑事保护《协议》第1.7条要求降低启动侵犯商业秘密罪的刑事执法的所有门槛,不得要求以造成实际损失为前提;在过渡阶段,应明确将补救措施的成本视为实际损失。

《刑法》规定侵犯商业秘密罪需以“造成重大损失”为前提。按相关司法解释,损失数额在50万元以上的方予以追诉。实践中,权利人和公安机关很难证明损失,而大量恶意侵权行为因刚刚开始、尚未造成实际损失而免于刑事追诉。《协议》要求将显著加强刑事机关在商业秘密保护中的作用,而修改《刑法》也势在必行。

政府机构的保密义务《协议》第1.9条要求双方采取措施,确保刑事、民事、行政或监管程序中提交的未披露信息、商业秘密和保密商务信息不被政府机构或其外部专家、顾问未经授权对外披露,与信息提交方有竞争关系的第三方不会接触到该等保密信息。必须注意的是,该条规定的保密对象不仅包括商业秘密,也包括“未披露信息”和“保密商务信息”。

《反法》第十五条仅规定了市场监管部门对商业秘密的保密义务;而其他部门的保密义务则散见于单行立法或法规规章,比较零散,没有形成系统的政府保密法。实践中,药企在药品临床实验或药品注册过程提交的保密信息,使用计算机程序从事业务活动的企业所使用的源代码,都是相关企业对政府保密义务比较关切的领域。《协议》对政府机构保密义务的要求,势必需要系统的政府保密制度立法予以规范。

《协议》为中国提高商业秘密保护水平、规范政府保密设定了路线图。中国当前商业秘密保护的法律规定与《协议》相较不远,但实践中商业秘密保护力度仍远远不能满足权利人的期待,在修改法律同时还亟待加强商业秘密保护的行政和刑事执法,并为权利人寻求民事救济提供更多便利。

胡科竞天公诚律师事务所合伙人。其联系方式为+86 10 5809 1182以及电邮hu.ke@jingtian.com

Trade secrets law in China and Sino-US Phase One agreement

By Hu Ke, Jingtian & Gongcheng
0
200

On 15 January 2020, China and the US signed the Phase One Economic and Trade Agreement in Washington, in which both sides came up with a variety of specific measures concerning the protection of “trade secrets and confidential business information”, in section B, chapter One. This article will analyze and compare section B with China’s Anti-Unfair Competition Law (AUCL) and other applicable laws, and on that basis envision the prospects for the law and the practice of trade secrets protection in China.

Hu Ke
Partner
Jingtian & Gongcheng

“Actors” of misappropriation. Article 1.3 of the agreement provides that all natural persons, groups of persons, and legal persons could be liable for trade secrets misappropriation. Article 9 of the AUCL is in line with this requirement in defining “natural persons, legal persons and unincorporated organizations other than business operators” as potential trade secrets misappropriators. However, whether the government may be held liable for trade secrets misappropriation is not so clear cut under the AUCL.

Types of misappropriation acts. Article 1.4 of the agreement requires full coverage for the types of trade secrets misappropriation acts, and in particular sets out methods of electronic intrusions, breach or inducement of a breach of confidential duty, and unauthorized disclosure or use. Article 9 of the AUCL shares this requirement and extends the scope by adding a miscellaneous provision of “other improper methods”.

In the US Code, section 1839 of title 18 explicitly excludes “reverse engineering, independent derivation and any other lawful means of acquisition”, which, in the author’s view, is a helpful carve-out, and the AUCL should consider a similar clause.

Shifting of burden of proof. In article 1.5, the agreement stipulates that the burden of proof shall shift to the accused party if the right holder has produced prima facie evidence indicating the accused party’s misappropriation, and that the accused party is obliged to prove whether the information is known to the public if the right holder provides preliminary evidence proving that measures have been in place to keep the information confidential.

In this regard, the AUCL also satisfies the requirement of the agreement. The AUCL has codified the principles of “access plus similarity, minus lawful source”, developed in judicial practice (In a case where the accused party has gained access to the accusing party’s trade secret, the accused party may be presumed to have infringed upon the accusing party’s trade secret if it is proved that the information in the accused party’s possession is substantially similar to the accusing party’s trade secret, and if the accused party fails to prove that the information is legitimately obtained).

Furthermore, it shifts the burden of proof to the accused party in the circumstances that the trade secrets have been, or are in danger of, being disclosed, used, and misappropriated, and it stipulates that the accused party is obliged to prove that the information that the right holder has taken measures to keep confidential does not fall into the scope of trade secrets.

Provisional protective measures. Article 1.6 of the agreement stipulates that parties shall provide for prompt and effective provisional measures to prevent the use of misappropriated trade secrets, and “the use or attempted use” of the claimed trade secret information is regarded as an “urgent situation”, upon which a preliminary injunction can be granted by the judicial authority.

According to the related judicial interpretations of China, in principle, risk of “irreparable harm” is required to create an “urgent situation”; the risk of “imminent disclosure” is specifically mentioned, which might insinuate that “the risk of being used” is not sufficient for an “urgent situation”. Hence, the judicial interpretation needs to be adjusted.

Criminal protection. Article 1.7 of the agreement requires lowering the thresholds for the initiation of criminal enforcement in regards to the trade secrets misappropriation, and eliminates establishing actual losses as a prerequisite, and as an interim step before the revision of the legislation, the remedial costs shall be deemed as the actual losses.

China’s Criminal Law requires “incurring great losses” as a prerequisite to the crime of misappropriation of trade secrets. According to relevant judicial interpretation, criminal investigation will be initiated in the cases that the actual losses exceed RMB500,000 (US$70,500). In practice, it is very difficult for the right holder and the public security organ to prove losses, and so a great number of malicious misappropriation acts went unpunished for being in the preliminary stage without incurring actual losses. The agreement requires prominently enhancing the role of criminal enforcement organs in trade secrets protection, and amendment to the Criminal Law is needed.

Government authorities’ confidentiality obligations. Article 1.9 of the agreement requires both parties to take measures to ensure that the undisclosed information, trade secrets and confidential business information in any criminal, civil, administrative or regulatory proceedings will not be disclosed by government agencies or third-party experts and advisers without authorisation, and any third party in competition with the submitter of the information will not access the confidential information. It is noteworthy that this article extends the confidential subjects to “undisclosed information” and “confidential business information”, beyond trade secrets.

The AUCL only sets out the obligation of market regulation authorities to keep the trade secrets confidential under article 15, while the same obligation of other authorities is scattered in special legislation, and rules and regulations. There is a lack of systematic law defining the confidentiality duties of government. In practice, government confidentiality obligations in relation to the confidential information submitted by pharmaceutical companies in clinical trials or drug registration proceedings, and the source codes by companies that use computer programs for certain business activities, are of great concern to enterprises. Since the agreement has stipulated this obligation of the government authorities, systematic legislation for government authorities’ confidentiality obligation seems inevitable.

The agreement plays as a roadmap for the enhancement of China’s protection for trade secrets and government authorities’ relevant obligations. The gap between China’s existing trade secrets protection legislation and that defined in the agreement is quite narrow. However, in practice, the protection provided for the trade secrets still falls far below the expectation of the right holders.

There is an urgent need to boost the administrative and criminal enforcements concerning trade secrets protection, as well as to revise the existing laws, and efforts shall be made to make it more convenient for the right holders to seek civil remedies.

Hu Ke is a partner at Jingtian & Gongcheng. He can be contacted on +86 10 5809 1182 or by email at hu.ke@jingtian.com